ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers.
UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Access Engineering (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Britannica E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowBritannica eBooks cover the entire curriculum, from language arts, math, science and social studies, to sports, music, art, and many other subjects, including Spanish and bilingual titles.
Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
GSW (GeoScienceWorld) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive Internet resource for research across the geosciences, built on a database of peer-reviewed journals and integrated with GeoRef.
Encyclopedia of Geomagnetism and PaleomagnetismThis link opens in a new windowThis e-Encyclopaedia provides easily accessible information about Earth and Environmental Science, including subjects as:
· Earth Sciences
· Geophysics and Geodesy
· Statistics for Engineering
· Computer Science
· Chemistry and Geosciences
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Knovel (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
Introducing Mineralogy (Online, Knovel) by John Mason (Contribution by)People have been fascinated by minerals since prehistory. The attractions of minerals lie in their colours, their beautiful crystals and the discoveries of their uses and the metals that can be obtained from them. Minerals receive attention from a wide variety of people: mining executives, collectors, prospectors and scientists unravelling their molecular structure and origins. But, for someone new to mineralogy, the subject can appear to be overwhelmingly complex. In Introducing Mineralogy John Mason considers the essence of mineralogy in a clear and logical manner. The book begins with the basic chemistry of minerals and the way in which the mineral kingdom is classified. It then considers mineral occurrences, both typical, such as the minerals that largely make up common rocks like granite, and atypical, such as concentrations of rare metals in ore-deposits. The ways in which minerals are studied using microscopes and the importance of careful observation and interpretation are discussed and the topics of mineral collecting and related issues are addressed. The final chapters explore the uses of minerals, both industrial and scientific, and take a look at environmental issues associated with mineral extraction and usage Lavishly illustrated in colour and complete with a glossary, the book is aimed at students embarking on courses in the Earth Sciences and at the amateur collector who wants to find out more about the colourful rocks they may find when out walking.
Publication Date: 2015
Proceedings of the 11th International Congress for Applied Mineralogy (ICAM) (Online, SpringerLink + Print) by Faqin Dong (Editor)These proceedings comprise the peer-reviewed contributions submitted to the 11th International Congress for Applied Mineralogy (ICAM) held July 5-10, 2013, at the Southwest University of Science and Technology (SWUST) in Mianyang, China. The biennial ICAM is the most important gathering of applied mineralogists, organized every other year by the ICAM-Council. The multidisciplinary research presented in this book will be of interest to scientists and professionals dealing with topics like environmental and medical mineralogy; industrial minerals; bio-minerals and biomaterials; advanced materials; process mineralogy; mining and metallurgy; cultural heritage; the interaction of minerals with microorganisms; and solid waste treatment and recycling, including genetic mineralogy. "The field of applied mineralogy has been able to match society's pace by continuously reinventing itself, quickly adopting new technologies and instrumentation as they became available and putting them to work for the service of mankind living in a world that heavily relies on minerals. Over the past few decades, applied mineralogy has evolved into a cutting- edge discipline that leads the way for science, engineering and research and development to benefit society. Contrary to popular belief, mineral resources are limited, and we have an obligation to our heirs to use them responsibly." Dr. Maarten A.T.M. Broekmans Post-President ICAM Council
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 549 INTE
Publication Date: 2015
Medical Geology Online Books
Essentials of Medical Geology (Online, Springer) by Olle Selinus (Editor);Essentials of Medical Geology reviews the essential concepts and practical tools required to tackle environmental and public health problems. It is organized into four main sections. The first section deals with the fundamentals of environmental biology, the natural and anthropogenic sources of health elements that impact health and illustrate key biogeochemical transformations. The second section looks at the geological processes influencing human exposure to specific elements, such as radon, arsenic, fluorine, selenium and iodine. The third section presents the concepts and techniques of pathology, toxicology and epidemiology that underpin investigations into the human health effects of exposure to naturally occurring elements. The last section provides a toolbox of analytical approaches to environmental research and medical geology investigations. Essentials of Medical Geology was first published in 2005 and has since won three prestigious rewards. The book has been recognized as a key book in both medical and geology fields and is widely used as textbook and reference book in these fields. For this revised edition, editors and authors have updated the content that evolved a lot during 2005 and added two new chapters, on public health, and agriculture and health. This updated volume can now continue to be used as a textbook and reference book for all who are interested in this important topic and its impacts the health and wellbeing of many millions of people all over the world. · Addresses key topics at the intersection of environmental science and human health · Developed by 60 international experts from 20 countries and edited by professionals from the International Medical Geology Association (IMGA) · Written in non-technical language for a broad spectrum of readers, ranging from students and professional researchers to policymakers and the general public · Includes color illustrations throughout, references for further investigation and other aids to the reader
Publication Date: 2013
Medical Geology: Effects of Geological Environments on Human Health (Online, Science Direct) by Miomir M. KomatinaGeology, one of the basic natural sciences, is proving to be of outstanding importance in solving problems relating to: agriculture exploitation of the Earth's mineral resources environmental issues soil preservation water energy and other resources protection against natural disasters (landslides, floods, volcanic eruptions and earthquakes) as well as human health. The main objective of the book Medical Geology: Effects of Geological Environments on Human Health is to show how the geological environment affects human health and to explore preventative methods for improvement. This monograph consists of the following five segments: Introduction Geological and other factors and their influence on the human health Subject, tasks and methods of geomedical discipline Regional medical geology Applied medical geology The topics covered in this book will be of interest to a wide circle of readers, including geologists, doctors, biologists, ecologists, planners and many others who are dedicated to the quality and protection of human health.
Publication Date: 2004
Geology of Southwest Gondwana (Online; Springer) by Siegfried Siegesmund (Editor); Miguel Basei (Editor); Pedro Oyhantçabal (Editor); Sebastian Oriolo (Editor)This book focuses on the geological evolution of Southwest (SW) Gondwana and presents state-of-the-art insights into its evolution. It addresses the diachronic assembly of continental fragments derived from the break-up of the Rodinia supercontinent later amalgamated to build SW Gondwana during the Neoproterozoic-Cambrian transition, which on a global scale includes parts of present-day South America, Africa and Madagascar. The book presents 24 state-of-the-art reviews including the most crucial controversies. Most experienced scientists about the geology of SW Gondwana from Europe, Africa, South America and Australia present contributions on key areas addressing the interactions between the main cratons and fold belts on both sides of the South Atlantic Ocean. Chapters related to the geology of the major Archean- Paleoproterozoic cratons and Neoproterozoic Brasiliano/Pan-African fold belts enable readers to gain an in-depth understanding of the tectonometamorphic and magmatic evolution of SW Gondwana. The book covers a wide range of issues including metallogenetic, sedimentary, paleobiological and paleoclimatic processes and allows a deep insight into this key period of the Earth's evolution.
Publication Date: 2018
The Precambrian Earth: Tempos and Events (Online, Science Direct) by P. G. Eriksson (Editor); W. Altermann (Editor); D. R. Nelson (Editor); W. U. Mueller (Editor); O. Catuneanu (Editor)In this book the editors strive to cover all primary (i.e. non-applied) topics in Precambrian geology in a non-partisan way, by using a large team of international authors to present their datasets and highly divergent viewpoints. The chapters address: celestial origins of Earth and succeeding extraterrestrial impact events; generation of continental crust and the greenstone-granite debate; the interaction of mantle plumes and plate tectonics over Precambrian time; Precambrian volcanism, emphasising komatiite research; evolution and models for Earth's hydrosphere and atmosphere; evolution of life and its influence on Precambrian ocean chemistry and chemical sedimentation; sedimentation through Precambrian time; the application of sequence stratigraphy to the Precambrian rock record. Each topic is introduced and a non-partisan closing commentary provided at the end of each chapter. The final chapter blends the major geological events and rates at which important processes occurred into a synthesis, which postulates a number of "event clusters" in the Precambrian when significant changes occurred in many natural systems and geological environments. Also available in paperback, ISBN: 0-444-51509-7
Publication Date: 2004
Sedimentology & Stratigraphy Online Books
Stratigraphy: a Modern Synthesis (Online; Springer) by Andrew D. MiallA Comprehensive review of modern stratigraphic methods. The stratigraphic record is the major repository of information about the geological history of Earth, a record stretching back for nearly 4 billion years. Stratigraphic studies fill out our planet's plate-tectonic history with the details of paleogeography, past climates, and the record of evolution, and stratigraphy is at the heart of the effort to find and exploit fossil fuel resources. Modern stratigraphic methods are now able to provide insights into past geological events and processes on time scales with unprecedented accuracy and precision, and have added much to our understanding of global tectonic and climatic processes. It has taken 200 years and a modern revolution to bring all the necessary developments together to create the modern, dynamic science that this book sets out to describe. Stratigraphy now consists of a suite of integrated concepts and methods, several of which have considerable predictive and interpretive power. The new, integrated, dynamic science that Stratigraphy has become is now inseparable from what were its component parts, including sedimentology, chronostratigraphy, and the broader aspects of basin analysis.
Publication Date: 2015
Principles of Sequence Stratigraphy (Online, ProQuest + Print) by Octavian CatuneanuPrinciples of Sequence Stratigraphy provides an in-depth coverage and impartial assessment of all current ideas and models in the field of sequence stratigraphy. Even though widely popular among all groups interested in the analysis of sedimentary basin fills, both in academia and in the industry, sequence stratigraphy is yet a difficult undertaking due to an overwhelming jargon and the persistence of conflicting approaches as to how the sequence stratigraphic method should be applied to the rock record. This textbook examines the relationship between such conflicting approaches from the perspective of a unifying platform, demonstrating that sufficient common ground exists to eliminate terminology barriers and to facilitate communication between all practitioners of sequence stratigraphy. This work is not only a review of past and current literature, but also includes key original viewpoints and is illustrated with new graphic material and numerous field examples of outcrop, core, well log and 3D seismic data in full colour. The book is addressed to anyone interested in understanding and applying the method of sequence stratigraphic analysis, from students to geologists, geophysicists and reservoir engineers. Sequence stratigraphy remains the most recent paradigm in the broad field of sedimentary geology, with tremendous potential to deciphering the record of global change and to improving the success of economic exploration. * Offers theoretical guidelines of how the facies and time relationships are expected to be under specific circumstances such as subsidence patterns, sediment supply, topographic gradients, etc. * Contains numerous high-quality and full-color diagrams, photographs and illustrations, virtually on every aid in comprehension of the subject * Features a dedicated chapter on discussions and conclusions incorporating all previous chapters with references, basic principles and strategies * Provides an extensive list of references for further reading, as well as an author and subject index for quick information access
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 551.7 CATU
Publication Date: 2006
Applied Sedimentology (Online; ProQuest + Print) by Richard C. SelleyA revised edition of the text on applied sedimentology, first published in 1988. Like its precursor, it describes sediments from sand grains to sedimentary basins. Part One, Rock to Sediment, introduces the concept of the sedimentary cycle, describes weathering and soil formation, and the fundamental physical properties of a sediment -texture, porosity and permeability. Part Two, Sediment Sedimented, begins by describing the transportation and deposition of sediment, and the resultant sedimentary structures. Part Three, Sediment to Rock, opens by describing how pressure, temperature and fluid processes control petroleum and oil formation. The last chapter describes the different types of sedimentary basin, their origins, depositional fill, and the evolution of their fluids.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 551.304 SELL
Publication Date: 2000
Petrology of Sedimentary Rocks (Online; Cambridge) by Sam BoggsPetrology of Sedimentary Rocks is an advanced textbook describing the physical, chemical, and biologic properties of the major types of sedimentary rocks, as revealed by petrographic microscopy, geochemical techniques, and field study. It covers the mineralogy, chemistry, textures, and sedimentary structures that characterise sedimentary rocks
Publication Date: 2009
Introducing Sedimentology (Online, Knovel) by Dorrik A. V. Stow; Stuart J. JonesSediments and sedimentary rocks are fundamental to our understanding of the Earth and the array of environments that characterize its surface. Since some 70% of the rocks on the Earth's surface are sedimentary in origin and sediments are of great economic importance, there is a very good chance that we encounter a sedimentary rock or an associated sedimentary process at some point very day of our lives. Introducing Sedimentology covers all of the rudimentary aspects of sedimentology including different types of sedimentary rocks, sedimentary structures and environments of deposition of sediments. The application of sedimentology in the search for hydrocarbons and other valuable economic resources is explained. Written for students, amateur enthusiasts and professional geologists, Introducing Sedimentology provides a succinct and accessible introduction to the science of sedimentology. It is generously illustrated with many explanatory line diagrams and colour photographs. Technical terms are kept to a minimum throughout the book, but a glossary of the terms used is provided.
Publication Date: 2015
The Geography of South Africa (Print + Online; Springer) by Jasper Knight (Editor); Christian M. Rogerson (Editor)This edited collection examines contemporary directions in geographical research on South Africa. It encompasses a cross section of selected themes of critical importance not only to the discipline of Geography in South Africa, but also of relevance to other areas of the Global South. All chapters are original contributions, providing a state of the art research baseline on key themes in physical, human and environmental geography, and in understanding the changing geographical landscapes of modern South Africa. These contributions set the scene for an understanding of the relationships between modern South Africa and the wider contemporary world, including issues of sustainable development and growth in the Global South.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 5 916.8 GEOG
Publication Date: 2018
Atlas of Structural Geology (ScienceDirect) by Soumyajit Mukherjee (Editor)This second edition of Atlas of Structural Geology features a broad and inclusive range of high-quality mesoscale and microscale full-color photographs, descriptions, and captions related to the deformation of rocks and geologic structures. It is a multicontributed, comprehensive reference that includes submissions from many of the world's leading structural geologists, making it one of the most thorough and comprehensive references available to the geoscience community. All types of structures are featured, including those related to ductile and brittle shear zones, sigma and delta structures, mineral fish, duplexes and trapezoids, shear-related folds, and flanking structures in the mesoscale and microscale. This second edition features new and expanded coverage, including seismic-image interpretation, landslide deformations, flowing glacial structures, and more than 150 new full-color images to illustrate the geologic features. A stunning collection of the world's most beautiful and arresting geologic structures, this book is the ideal resource to illustrate key concepts in geology.
Publication Date: 2020
Geologic Time Scale 2020 (Online; Science Direct) by F. M. GradsteinThe Geologic Time Scale 2012, winner of a 2012 PROSE Award Honorable Mention for Best Multi-volume Reference in Science from the Association of American Publishers, is the framework for deciphering the history of our planet Earth. The authors have been at the forefront of chronostratigraphic research and initiatives to create an international geologic time scale for many years, and the charts in this book present the most up-to-date, international standard, as ratified by the International Commission on Stratigraphy and the International Union of Geological Sciences. This 2012 geologic time scale is an enhanced, improved and expanded version of the GTS2004, including chapters on planetary scales, the Cryogenian-Ediacaran periods/systems, a prehistory scale of human development, a survey of sequence stratigraphy, and an extensive compilation of stable-isotope chemostratigraphy. This book is an essential reference for all geoscientists, including researchers, students, and petroleum and mining professionals. The presentation is non-technical and illustrated with numerous colour charts, maps and photographs. The book also includes a detachable wall chart of the complete time scale for use as a handy reference in the office, laboratory or field. The most detailed international geologic time scale available that contextualizes information in one single reference for quick desktop access Gives insights in the construction, strengths, and limitations of the geological time scale that greatly enhances its function and its utility Aids understanding by combining with the mathematical and statistical methods to scaled composites of global succession of events Meets the needs of a range of users at various points in the workflow (researchers extracting linear time from rock records, students recognizing the geologic stage by their content)
Publication Date: 2020
Landscapes and Landforms of South Africa (Online; Springer) by Stefan Grab (Editor); Jasper Knight (Editor)This book presents a beautifully illustrated overview of the most prominent landscapes of South Africa and the distinctive landforms associated with them. It describes the processes, origins and the environmental significance of those landscapes, including their relationships to human activity of the past and present. The sites described in this book include, amongst others, the Blyde River Canyon, Augrabies Falls, Kruger National Park, Kalahari desert landscapes, the Great Escarpment, Sterkfontein caves and karst system, Table Mountain, Cape winelands, coastal dunes, rocky coasts, Boer War battlefield sites, and Vredefort impact structure. Landscapes and Landforms of South Africa provides a new perspective on South Africa's scenic landscapes by considering their diversity, long and short term histories, and importance for geoconservation and geotourism. This book will be relevant to those interested in the geology, physical geography and history of South Africa, climate change and landscape tourism.
Publication Date: 2015
Structural Geology: The Mechanics of Deforming Metamorphic Rocks by Bruce E. Hobbs; Alison OrdStructural Geology is a groundbreaking reference that introduces you to the concepts of nonlinear solid mechanics and non-equilibrium thermodynamics in metamorphic geology, offering a fresh perspective on rock structure and its potential for new interpretations of geological evolution. This book stands alone in unifying deformation and metamorphism and the development of the mineralogical fabrics and the structures that we see in the field. This reflects the thermodynamics of systems not at equilibrium within the framework of modern nonlinear solid mechanics. The thermodynamic approach enables the various mechanical, thermal, hydrological and chemical processes to be rigorously coupled through the second law of thermodynamics, invariably leading to nonlinear behavior. The book also differs from others in emphasizing the implications of this nonlinear behavior with respect to the development of the diverse, complex, even fractal, range of structures in deformed metamorphic rocks. Building on the fundamentals of structural geology by discussing the nonlinear processes that operate during the deformation and metamorphism of rocks in the Earth's crust, the book's concepts help geoscientists and graduate-level students understand how these processes control or influence the structures and metamorphic fabrics--providing applications in hydrocarbon exploration, ore mineral exploration, and architectural engineering.
Publication Date: 2014
Geological Atlas of Africa: With Notes on Stratigraphy, Tectonics, Economic Geology, Geohazards and Geosites of Each Country (Online; ProQuest) by Thomas Schluter; Martin H. Trauth (Contribution by)T is atlas is intended primarily for anybody who is in-some background for the arrangement of how the terested in basic geology of Africa. Its originality lies atlas was done. T e second chapter is devoted to the in the fact that the regional geology of each African history of geological mapping in Africa, necessary nation or territory is reviewed country-wise by maps for a fuller appreciation of why this work in Africa is and text, a view normally not presented in textbooks worth doing. Chapter 3 provides an executive s- of regional geology. It is my belief, that there has long mary on the stratigraphy and tectonics of Africa as a been a need in universities and geological surveys, whole, i. e. in the context of no political boundaries. both in Africa and in the developed world, for sum- T e main part of the atlas lies in Chapter 4, where in marizing geological maps and an accompanying basic alphabetical order each African country or territory text utilising the enormous fund of knowledge that is presented by a digitized geological overview map has been accumulated since the beginning of geologi- and an accompanying text on its respective strat- th cal research in Africa in the mid-19 century. I hope raphy, tectonics, economic geology, geohazards and that, in part, the present atlas may satisfy this need. geosites. A short list of relevant references is also a- ed.
Publication Date: 2008
The Ore Minerals under the Microscope (Online; Science Direct) by Bernhard PracejusThe Ore Minerals Under the Microscope: An Optical Guide, Second Edition, is a very detailed color atlas for ore/opaque minerals (ore microscopy), with a main emphasis on name and synonyms, short descriptions, mineral groups, chemical compositions, information on major formation environments, optical data, reflection color/shade comparison with four common/standard minerals of a similar color or grey shade, and up to five high-quality photos for each mineral with scale. In addition, the atlas contains a compilation from some of the prominent publications in the field of ore microscopy presented on a list of 431 minerals. Concise, full-color pictorial reference for scientists and geologists Explains how to describe and identify microscopic samples of minerals Draws material from prominent literature yielding more than 400 different minerals
Publication Date: 2015
Understanding Geology Through Maps (Online EbscoHost) by Graham BorradaileUnderstanding Geology through Maps guides young professional geologists and students alike in understanding and interpreting the world's dynamic and varying geological landscapes through the liberal use of visual aids including figures, maps, and diagrams. This highly visual reference introduces the skills of interpreting a geological map and relating it to the morphology of the most important types of geological structure. Thoroughly revised, and with more international examples, it is ideal for use by students with a minimum of tutorial supervision. Maps of geological structures provide all of the realism of a survey map without the huge amount of data often present, so readers can develop or hone their skills without becoming overwhelmed or confused. In particular, emphasis is placed throughout on developing the skill of three-dimensional visualization so important to geologists. Authored by a master geologist with more than 40 years of experience in research and instruction Features more than 130 figures, diagrams, and illustrations-many in full color-to highlight major themes and aid in the retention of key concepts Leads to a broad understanding of Earth's geology through the use of real and theoretical map Exercises conclude each chapter, making it an ideal tool for self-guided and quick study