Access Science (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOnline reference tool that provides easy access to authoritative information in all major areas of science and technology. Combines the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology, and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.
Access Science includes articles, research reviews, definitions, biographies, downloadable images, embeddable animations, videos and curriculum maps.
Online Reference Databases
Credo Reference OnlineCredo Reference is an interactive online reference library. It provides full text access to around 300 quality reference titles, e.g.: dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases on every major subject. Up to 57+ of the best known publishers in the world collaborate with Credo Reference.
Credo also covers images, videos and sound files. It includes tools and gadgets to do quick reference, e.g. conversions, concept and interactive maps, crossword solvers and calculations, etc.
Coverage: Current reference works
Encyclopedia of Parasitology (Online; Springer) by Heinz Mehlhorn (Editor, Editor)Knowledge in the field of parasitology must be kept at a high level and up to date in order to fight a parasitosis as quickly and effectively as possible. This work, one of Springer's renowned and authoritative Major Reference Works, contributes to these goals in several ways. First, it comprises a number of entries, consisting of both in-depth essays and definitions. Secondly, the content has been improved even more by adding additional tables and high-quality figures. Thirdly, the extensive linking between definitions and essays facilitates information within a minimum of time. The Encyclopedia of Parasitology contains clearly structured essays in alphabetical order with extensive cross-references between definitions and related entries. International contributors, who are well-known specialists in their fields, give a comprehensive review of all parasites and therapeutic strategies in veterinarian and human parasitology. This 4th edition presents all important parasites of humans and animals in detail and the less important ones in short. Each parasite has its own large "chapter" with all subheadings (life cycle, morphology, treatment etc.). Topics common for other parasites and/or transmitted agents of diseases are presented in separate topics, which altogether are listed alphabetically. Furthermore all important parasitological and medical terms are explained as separate topics and are cross-linked to the chapters/topics, where they are explained intensively. Existing entries are updated and presented in the light of the latest knowledge.
Gaither's Dictionary of Scientific Quotations (Online, SpringerLink) by Carl C. Gaither (Editor);This unprecedented collection of 27,000 quotations is the most comprehensive and carefully researched of its kind, covering all fields of science and mathematics. With this vast compendium you can readily conceptualize and embrace the written images of scientists, laymen, politicians, novelists, playwrights, and poets about humankind's scientific achievements. Approximately 9000 high-quality entries have been added to this new edition to provide a rich selection of quotations for the student, the educator, and the scientist who would like to introduce a presentation with a relevant quotation that provides perspective and historical background on his subject. Gaither's Dictionary of Scientific Quotations, Second Edition, provides the finest reference source of science quotations for all audiences. The new edition adds greater depth to the number of quotations in the various thematic arrangements and also provides new thematic categories.