Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UJLink: Library Catalogue
Before you start writing for publication, there are certain factors you should consider:
- Is your work novel?
- Have you added a new dimension to existing theories?
- How much is currently known about your research area?
- What journals have published similar work?
- What are the impact factors of the journals?
- Do any of the journals charge authors for submissions?
- Does your University or department publish an undergraduate journal?
- Have you consulted with your supervisor about publishing?
- Has your research involved collaboration with industry?
- If your research involved industry or funding bodies, are you permitted to publish?
- Will you be available in several months to respond to referees comments?
Where to Publish? To consider:
- Accredited Journals
- High Impact Jurnals
- Top Journals in a field
- Open Access Journals
- Conference proceedings
Publisher's instructions for Authors
Once you have selected a journal from a specific publisher, you can then visit their website with instructions to "Authors". These are a few publishers:
Getting Published in the Journal "Science)
How to Publish papers in "Nature"
Publish in Accredited Journals
2022 Accredited DHET Journal List
How to use
Select the buttons below to hide certain columns. Use the search function to search through any particular column. The Reload Data button will reload the data from the data set on the server. The CSV will download the data set to your device as CSV. Please note the set is large and it will appear as if the browser has malfunctioned, please allow 2 mins to download the complete set before a refresh is done. The preferred browsers to use is Firefox, Chrome and Edge. Other browsers not tested. Note: This data set is published once a year
In South Africa, only articles published in accredited journals are considered for subsidy. Journals included in the lists below are considered "accredited" by the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) and will be taken into account for government subsidy and NRF evaluation.
Find high impact journals: SCImago Journal Rank
Journal Metrics by Elsevier
Elsevier now provides three alternative, transparent and accurate views of the true citation impact a journal makes:
SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) is a prestige metric based on the idea that 'all citations are not created equal'. With SJR, the subject field, quality and reputation of the journal have a direct effect on the value of a citation. SJR is a measure of the scientific influence of scholarly journals that accounts for both the number of citations received by a journal and the importance or prestige of the journals where such citations come from. It is a variant of the eigenvector centrality measure used in network theory.
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database. These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains.
This platform takes its name from the SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) indicator, developed by SCImago from the widely known algorithm Google PageRank. This indicator shows the visibility of the journals contained in the Scopus® database from 1996.
Find Open Access Journals
Consider publishing in Open Access Journals.
- Maximises the access to the research findings;
- Increases research impact to a wider readership;
- Expands shared knowledge across scientific field;
- Make your research output more visible to researchers elsewhere and make research from elsewhere more accessible;
- Universities and Research Institutions afford to subscribe to a fraction of those journals, that means that research is having only a fraction of its potential usage and impact
- Increases the citation impact of the author;
- Over time increases the Journal Impact Factor
What else researchers need to know about OA:
- What OA journals exist in your research field? .... Open Science Directory, BioMed Central, PloS, DOAJ ...
- What Institutional Repository your institution use and how researchers can benefit from it?
- Publishing in subscription-based journals can limit your readership (Science Direct; Wiley Online, SpringerLink, etc.)
- Publishing your pre-print article in OA repositories can enlarge your readership and citation impact: Arxiv.org; UJContent; VUT’s DigiResearch ....
- Deposit your post-prints in a OA Repository: UJContent, VUT’s DigiResearch ....
- As a Researcher, you have an option to publish in Accredited Open Access Journals (AOAJSA)
Top Open Access Journals Directories and Authors websites:
Open Access Institutional Repositories/Theses & Dissertations
UJ Library Books on Scholarly Publishing
A Guide to Publishing for Academics by Most academics still wrestle with the "publish or perish" phenomenon. Based on Dr. Liebowitz's 25 years serving as the editor-in-chief of a leading international journal, along with insights from some of the most knowledgeable journal editors, this book shares key lessons learned to help new professors, doctoral students, and practitioner-scholars increase their chances of being published in selective, refereed international journals. It focuses on the key practices needed to ensure journal publication, with interesting cases and helpful tips sprinkled throughout the book. A Guide to Publishing for Academics provides useful knowledge from leading journal editors of both traditional and online journals, as well as various tiers of journals. Although the focus is mainly in the business and IT areas, much of the guidance provided can cross into other fields. The book contains interesting vignettes and do's and don'ts so that potential authors can understand what goes on behind the scenes once the manuscript arrives on the journal editor's desk. The book provides constructive guidance on choosing what and where to publish, what to consider when writing a title for a paper, how to prepare and submit journal manuscripts, and how to position a paper for publication. It also has valuable information for current and future journal editors, including models of editing and editorial boards, editorial coaching advice, and editing smart practices. With the information in this book, the next generation of academics and practitioner-scholars will be well equipped to overcome the publish or perish phenomenon.
Publication Date: 2015-04-08
Publishing Journal Articles by This accessible, informative and entertaining book provides practical strategies to help maximize the chances of success in getting your work published in the journal of your choice. It offers advice on vital topics such as: how to write and get the style right; what to select for publication; how to plan for success; how to cope with writer's block; working with editors and reviewers; and how to cope with rejection. It is a must-have book for anyone seeking to write for successful journal publication.
Publication Date: 2012-03-05
Writing for Science and Engineering by Learning how to write clearly and concisely is an integral part of furthering your research career; however, doing so is not always easy. In this second edition, fully updated and revised, Dr. Silyn-Roberts explains in plain English the steps to writing abstracts, theses, journal papers, funding bids, literature reviews, and more. The book also examines preparing seminar and conference presentations. Written in a practical and easy to follow style specifically for postgraduate students in Engineering and Sciences, this book is essential in learning how to create powerful documents. Writing for Science and Engineering will prove invaluable in all areas of research and writing due its clear, concise style. The practical advice contained within the pages alongside numerous examples to aid learning will make the preparation of documentation much easier for all students. Written in modular format, so you only need to access the relevant chapter Covers a wide range of document and presentation types Includes easy-to-understand rules to improve writing
Call Number: 808.0666 SILY
Publication Date: 2012-10-12