Databases: Finding articles - Science - Botany & Plant Biotechnology

Top Botany Databases

EbscoHost Bibliographic Databases (with links to full-text):

EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Including the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum) Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa. Mainly a bibliographic database Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day Bibliographic or Abstracts
Biological and Agricultural Index (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Articles, review articles, book reviews, reports, and special supplements on Agriculture, Biochemistry, Biology, Botany, Ecology, Zoology, Environment, Soil Science, Plant Pathology, etc. Coverage: 1983 to present Bibliographic
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of electronic books on a variety of topics. Format: Full text. Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
FSTA - Food Science & Technology Abstracts (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Coverage: Varies according to title Format: Abstracts and full text
Waters & Oceans Worldwide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Databases on all facets of international water research. Includes research ranging from coastal and offshore engineering to pollution and water treatment. Coverage: 1970+ Bibliographic with abstracts Partly Full text, two year embargo for some journal titles

Additional Bibliographic Databases:

Annual Reviews (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of articles and chapters that critically analyse significant primary research and recent developments in a wide variety of subject areas. It provides reviews of topics and can be used to identify key writers in the field. Format: Mostly full text Holdings: 1996-current

Biological Science: ProQuest This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents

BioOne Complete (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences
CABI Databases (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific resources within the applied life sciences. UJs subscription includes bibliographic and partly full text access to the following specialized CABI databases: Aromatic & Medicinal Plants Crop Physiology Helminthology Horticultural Science Ornamental Horticulture Plant Growth Regulators Plant Pathology Postharvest Research Rural Development and free full text access to: Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria Full Text Select (journal articles some in foreign languages with abstracts in English) Coverage: 1910 to the present Bibliographic with abstracts Partly full text
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Citation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references. Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
Embase (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers international biomedical literature and conference proceedings needed for evidence-gathering A Population, Intervention, Control, And Outcomes (PICO) Search Framework A Quick Search function that support building search queries to identify high-quality evidence
Scopus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. Mostly full-text

Additional Resources

Gale Academic Onefile (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Physical sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social sciences, Arts, Theology, Literature and other subjects Coverage: 1980 to the present Full text

Biodiversity Library
BioMed Central A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome
BioRxiv - preprints for Biology
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
ESCOP: European Scientific Cooperative on Phytotherapy
HerbMed
NCBI: National Center for Biotechnology Information
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
PLOSOne
PubMed PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SANBio

Business, Economics & Country Profiles

Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
EasyData (Quantec) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Register your own Username and Password. South African economic and other financial statistics (products, imports, exports, etc); global macroeconomic, industry and trade data Coverage: 2000 to the present Full text – comprehensive numeric data sets
Gale Business Insights: Global (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
GlobalData (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
Marketline (see GlobalData) International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
OECD iLibrary (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development. Scholarly journals, working papers, multilingual summaries, e-books, statistical databases and MS Excel tables focusing on economic and social issues Coverage: 1998 to the present Full text
ProQuest Business Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Based on ABI/INFORM Complete, includes speciality business subject resources: More than 6,800 Journals, Dissertations, Conference proceedings, Working papers, Trade publications, Industry reports, Key periodicals (Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times, Economist). Coverage: 1923 - Present.
Statista (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics, Reports, Infographics, Services & Global Consumer Survey Coverage: Latest Format: Online Reports, Tables, Lists
Who owns whom (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African industry reports and company profiles Coverage: 1980s to the present Latest and historical annual reports from 2003 to the present Includes the latest edition of Who owns Whom in South Africa Full text
World Bank E-Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1970 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text (no full text to e-books)
World Competitiveness Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Information on the competitiveness of nations since 1989. Country analysis and cross-country comparisons re economy, government, business and infrastructure Coverage: Last 13 years Full text
Yearbook of International Associations (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Detailed international (active and dormant) organization profiles. No coverage of for-profit-organizations. Coverage: 1997 to present. Full text. Extensively links organization profiles to: – Organizations’ own websites – Other UIA subscription databases – incl. International Congress Calendar – Free UIA databases: Encyclopaedia of World Problems and Human Potential IGO Search – through intergovernmental organization websites Logotypes of International Organizations Transnational Associations Online – UIA journal archive Automatic translation in 58 languages – also in Afrikaans

Multidisciplinary Full-Text Databases

ACS Publications (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window on campus access only. American Chemical Society Publications
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
CellPress (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Nature (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes: RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files. ChemSpider: Free chemical database No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas: - Physical Sciences & Engineering - Life Sciences - Health Sciences - Social Sciences & Humanities Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present Full text available from 1995 to present No full text available to e-book chapters Mobile application
Science magazine (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International weekly science journal, with the major focus on important original scientific research, research reviews, global news, and commentary. Coverage: 1880 to present; Bibliographic and abstracts (Classic Science) from 1880 to 1996); Full text available from 1997 to present. Can also search on other AAAS products e.g. SAGE KE (Science of Aging Knowledge Environment) (2001 – 2006) - full text; Science Signalling (1997 to present) – partly full text; All High Wire Journals – partly full text
Scopus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols

Access to SciFinder Database (incl. Registration page)

SciFinder: CAS (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window OpenAthens (Previously known as Chemical Abstracts, Refer to “C” for CAS SciFinder, CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulus)
First time users please register here. This will provide you with the Username and Password required to log in.
Registration problems? Contact Pavlinka Kovatcheva: 011 559-2621
CAS Analytical Methods (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window CAS Analytical Methods provides a single source for searching and comparing the latest published scientific methods across multiple fields of study. Providing easy-to-read experimental details, CAS Analytical Methods helps get you back in the lab faster.
CAS Formulus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window CAS Formulus is an integrated formulations database and workflow solution. With curated information from patents and journals spanning various industries, CAS Formulus helps formulation scientists evaluate ingredients, find suppliers, and explore regulatory requirements, all in one easy interface.

First time users, need to REGISTER

CABI Databases

CABI Databases (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific resources within the applied life sciences. UJs subscription includes bibliographic and partly full text access to the following specialized CABI databases: Aromatic & Medicinal Plants Crop Physiology Helminthology Horticultural Science Ornamental Horticulture Plant Growth Regulators Plant Pathology Postharvest Research Rural Development and free full text access to: Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria Full Text Select (journal articles some in foreign languages with abstracts in English) Coverage: 1910 to the present Bibliographic with abstracts Partly full text

Search the CAB Direct Databases:

CAB Direct is the most thorough and extensive source of reference in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health

UJs subscription includes bibliographic and partly full-text access to the following specialized CABI databases:
Aromatic & Medicinal Plants
Crop Physiology
Helminthology
Horticultural Science
Ornamental Horticulture
Plant Growth Regulators
Plant Pathology
Postharvest Research
Rural Development and free full-text access to:Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria

Google Scholar

A-to-Z Databases

Faculty Librarian Sciences

Pavlinka Kovatcheva

Email Me

Contact:

University of Johannesburg Library
Auckland Park Campus

+27 11 5592621

Subjects: Biochemistry, Botany, Chemistry, Environmental and Energy Science, Geography, Geology, Information Technology, Mathematical Sciences, Physics and Astrophysics, Zoology

Science - Botany & Plant Biotechnology: Databases: Finding articles

Top Databases