"When faced with a legal problem or question, a recent textbook on that subject is the most convenient and practical way to get a summary discussion of the legal principles that apply to that issue. The author (or authors) provides an exposition of the law with reference to relevant constitutional and statutory principles, the common law, judicial precedent , customs, customary law, international law and foreign law.
When deciding whether to consider a particular book, it is imperative to consider the date of the publication. As laws develop and change, books may become outdated and lose their relevance. This is why textbooks periodically have newer editions published. This is the only way to keep the publication relevant in that field of study". Meintjies-Van der Walt Introduction to South African Law (2019) 174
Reputable Internet links to SA and international publishers as well as SA university libraries can be found on the Reputable Links tab
New in!
The University of Johannesburg Library proudly offers a brand new information accessing tool called LEAN Library.
Hard copy and Electronic items placed on reserve by a lecturer will show in the Catalogue (UJLink) under Course Reserves.
South African:
See list
International:
Click on thenext to a particular database link to view the database description
Includes thousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history.
This database includes the complete archive of collected Hague courses dating back to their inception in 1923, twelve periodic indexes, the official publications from the Workshops organized by the Academy, and a collection of works published by the Centre for Studies and Research.
Looseleaf publications in electronic format in areas such as corporate and commercial law, litigation, labour law and transport law.
Full text electronically available
Electronic books can be searched for in the UJ Library Catalogue (UJLink) or in UJoogle.
Some electronic titles also form part of collections available on the UJ databases.
Find search guides, training videos and tutorials to assist you with finding and conducting research with Books on the Research Support tab.
next to it)
