Databases

What is a Database?

Databases are collections of references to journal articles from many journals, chapters in books, reviews, conference proceedings,reports & in some cases, dissertations & theses.

Online databases are most useful for finding articles when you do not know in which journals articles are published.

In many cases databases include the full text of articles.

Explore UJ databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Onefile - Please see Gale Academic OneFile
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
Academic Onefile - Please see Gale Academic OneFile
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Annual Reviews (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of articles and chapters that critically analyse significant primary research and recent developments in a wide variety of subject areas. It provides reviews of topics and can be used to identify key writers in the field. Format: Mostly full text Holdings: 1996-current
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
MasterFILE Premier (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window General reference publications including journals, e-books, primary source documents and images Coverage: 1975 to the present Abstracts Mostly full text
Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Oxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences Coverage: 1996+ Full Text
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas. Coverage: 1879 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
Scopus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
World Competitiveness Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Information on the competitiveness of nations since 1989. Country analysis and cross-country comparisons re economy, government, business and infrastructure Coverage: Last 13 years Full text
De Gruyter Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals Coverage: varies per collection Full text

South African Content

African Journal Archive (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
EasyData (Quantec) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Register your own Username and Password. South African economic and other financial statistics (products, imports, exports, etc); global macroeconomic, industry and trade data Coverage: 2000 to the present Full text – comprehensive numeric data sets
IRESS This link opens in a new window Username & Password required: Please contact the Infodesk: 011 559 2171 (Limited to 5 simultaneous users) South African company profiles, structures and organograms, incl. financial statements, ratios and models. Coverage varies according to research domain modules Full text
SABINET (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Exclusively contains South African and African publications or articles. Format: Full text
SA Media (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Please note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards. Full text
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.
SABS complete collection of standards and related documents (Available on campus only) This link opens in a new window Available on campus only. View only – the printing of online standards has been disabled due to copyright restrictions. Full-text
Who owns whom (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African industry reports and company profiles Coverage: 1980s to the present Latest and historical annual reports from 2003 to the present Includes the latest edition of Who owns Whom in South Africa Full text

Online Newspapers

Access World News (via Newsbank) (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Global news which includes the following collections: World,South African Titles, Mail & Guardian (Johannesburg, South Africa), America's News Magazines,Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985), Apartheid: Global Perspectives (1946-1996), FBIS Daily Reports (1974-1996) Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa, African Newspapers Series 1-2 (1800-1922) (World Newspaper Archive)Coverage: Varied until the present dayFull Text
African Newspapers, 1800+ (Readex) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 60 searchable African newspapers, features English and other language titles and covers the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples from 1800+. Some of the SA newspapers included are: Sunday Times-1997- Business day- 1997- Sowetan-2006- Financial Mail-1997- Daily dispatch - 2004- The Herald- 2002- The Times- (2007-2017) Weekend Post- 2002
Newspaper Source (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Cover-to-cover full text of U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts Mostly full text
SA Media (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Please note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards. Full text

ACMDL (Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and newsletters on computer science and information technology Coverage: 1948 to the present ACM publications: Full text Other publisher’s content: Bibliographic
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Citation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references. Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
Communication & Mass media Complete (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window via EbscoHost Communication and Media Studies Coverage: 1915 to the present Full text with some embargoes for the current year
Compendex (via Engineering Village) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Compendex is the most authoritative database of abstracted and indexed literature in engineering and the applied physical sciences. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mining Engineering, Chemical Engineering. Content: Includes over 3600 journals,100 conference proceedings and trade magazines indexed annually.
EasyData (Quantec) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Register your own Username and Password. South African economic and other financial statistics (products, imports, exports, etc); global macroeconomic, industry and trade data Coverage: 2000 to the present Full text – comprehensive numeric data sets
Elsevier Open Access This link opens in a new window
Emerald (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window On campus access only Global research with impact on business, society, public policy and education. Journal articles and e-books. Coverage: 1898 to the present Full text to all UJ subscribed journals and e-books collections e.g.: Business management & Economics E-Books Series Access to four bibliographic databases (abstracts available) Computer & Communications Security Abstracts Computer Abstracts International Database Current Awareness Abstracts - Library and Information Management International Civil Engineering Abstracts
Engineering Village (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Access to the COMPENDEX and INSPEC literature citation databases covering all engineering disciplines and related subjects. EV2 includes different information resources: Compendex: Coverage: 1884 to the present; abstracts Inspec: Coverage: 1896 to the present; abstracts Referex: E-books and engineering reference material on: Electrical Engineering and Electronics Mechanical Engineering and Materials Coverage: 1987 to the present; full text Espacenet: (Open access) Coverage: 1996 to the present; full text patents. IHS Standards: (Open access) Bibliographic citations of technical standards.
GlobalData (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
Gale Business Insights: Global (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Tourism and hospitality Coverage: 1965 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text with some embargoes for the current two years
INSPEC (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
LexisNexis Academic (changed to Nexis Uni)
see Nexis Uni
Marketline (see GlobalData) International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
ProQuest Business Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Based on ABI/INFORM Complete, includes speciality business subject resources: More than 6,800 Journals, Dissertations, Conference proceedings, Working papers, Trade publications, Industry reports, Key periodicals (Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times, Economist). Coverage: 1923 - Present.
WARC (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Case studies on campaign strategies of leading brands, market intelligence, advertising forecasts, brand profiles, conference reports on top advertisers brands and agencies Coverage: Varies according to content Full Text

CBE - College of Business and Economics Main Guide: Databases

What is a Database?

Multidisciplinary Databases

South African Content

Online Newspapers

Databases

Useful links

Search on Google Scholar

Search on UJoogle

Research Tools and Databases