Subject Specific - Law - LLM in Human Rights Law - LibGuides at University of Johannesburg

South African Legal Databases

Jutastat Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, legal manuals and commentaries. Includes case law and statutes from Zimbabwe. Full text. Coverage varies according to title.

Human Rights Sources on Jutastat Online

Lexis Library This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, gazettes, reference works, textbooks, practitioners manuals and commentaries Coverage varies according to title Full Text

Human Rights Sources on Lexis Library

Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.

Human Rights Sources on Sabinet African Journals

SABINET Discover (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African Law, various legal databases, includes legal journals, Bills, Government Gazettes, Municipal By-laws, Policy documents, Provincial Gazettes, Provincial Legislation, SA legislation (Acts, Rules, Regulations) Coverage: Varies according to database product Full text (except for Law and Government)

Sources available on Sabinet Legal

International Legal Databases with Some South African Content

HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text

Human Rights Sources available on HeinOnline

Databases A - Z

All UJ online Databases
more...less...
Registered UJ Staff and Students can access online Library services by:

Using their UJ Email password in conjunction with their UJ username (Staff) or UJ student number (Campus Option)
Using the current Library Option (i.e. Surname, UJ ID & Library PIN)

How do I use the filter?
1. To filter by Database Title, select the First Letter of the Title and select Submit.
2. To filter by one or more Subjects, select the Box next to the required subject(s) and select Submit. Remember to include Multidisciplinary in your selection.
3. To clear all filters, select Reset search criteria.

Should you encounter a security warning when accessing a database, please follow the step by step instructions in this document

International Legal Databases

Brill Climate Change & Law Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive collection of climate change and law documents contains original source, non-edited and non-redacted “grey literature” (non-peer reviewed) in English, centered on climate change and the law.

Juris das Rechsportal (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window German database. Online legal information including bibliographies, Federal law, European rights and practice reports. Coverage varies according to title Full text Username and password required, contact the Law Librarian at (011) 559-3188/3193 during office hours.

Juris Das Rechtsportal Content

Vlex Justis (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Case law and legislation in the UK, Ireland, EU and the Caribbean. Also includes cases and legislation (Conventions and Protocols) of the European Court of Human Rights Coverage: varies according to title Full Text

Justis One Example Search

Kluwer Law Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals Coverage: From Vol. 1 Full Text
Kluwer Law Online Manuals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Encyclopaedia of Law Series (IEL), loose-leafs in electronic format Coverage: updated regularly Full Text

Kluwer Law Online Combined Example Searches

Legal Source (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals, including book reviews and case citations Coverage: Vol. 1 to the present Full text

SCC Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Indian case law, statutory law, secondary material, foreign and international material Coverage: varies according to title Full Text

Westlaw International (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International law, Ebooks Books, Treaties, Journal articles, Case Law and Legislation Coverage: Varies according to title Partly full text

Westlaw International Example Searches

Westlaw UK (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Weslaw UK Example Searches

Westlaw US (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Westlaw US Example Searches

Multidisciplinary Databases with Some Legal Content

Brill Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers humanities, social sciences and international law Coverage: varies per collection Full text

Brill Online Journals Example Searches

Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)

Cambridge Journals Example Searches

De Gruyter Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals Coverage: varies per collection Full text

De Gruyter Journals Online Example Searches

EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content

See the following databases on EBSCOHost which may be of interest:

Academic Search Ultimate
Africa-Wide Information
Business Source Ultimate
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Women's Studies International

For example searches refer to the Legal Source Example Search Document

JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication

JSTOR Example Searches

Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Oxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences Coverage: 1996+ Full Text

Oxford Journals Example Searches

SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas. Coverage: 1879 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions

Sage Journals Example Searches

SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols

SpringerLink Example Searches

Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles

Taylor & Francis Online Example Searches

Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols

Wiley Online Library Example Searches

Law - LLM in Human Rights Law: Subject Specific

South African Legal Databases

International Legal Databases with Some South African Content

Databases A - Z

International Legal Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases with Some Legal Content

E-Books available in Multidisciplinary Databases