Jutastat Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSouth African legal journals, law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, legal manuals and commentaries. Includes case law and statutes from Zimbabwe.
Coverage varies according to title.
Lexis Library This link opens in a new windowSouth African legal journals, law reports, legislation, gazettes, reference works, textbooks, practitioners manuals and commentaries
Coverage varies according to title
SABINET Discover (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSouth African Law, various legal databases, includes legal journals, Bills, Government Gazettes, Municipal By-laws, Policy documents, Provincial Gazettes, Provincial Legislation, SA legislation (Acts, Rules, Regulations)
Coverage: Varies according to database product
Full text (except for Law and Government)
International Database Links (with some South African content)
HeinOnline (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowInternational Law.
The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history
Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years
Reputable Internet Links
New books on South African Property Law (arranged according to date published)
Transformative property law : [Festschrift in honour of AJ van der Walt] by Muller"Transformative Property Law honours Professor AJ Van der Walt (1956-2016) - scholar, mentor, and teacher. As the first incumbent of the DST/NRF South African Research Chair in Property Law his primary research goal was to develop the theoretical foundations for the transformation of property law in post-apartheid South Africa. Covering topics that are at the forefront of global thinking on property law, Transformative Property Law consists of 20 essays by a combination of senior and young scholars from South Africa, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Ireland, the Netherlands, Belgium, and Zimbabwe. The essays focus on the themes that Professor Van der Walt developed during the first 10 years of the research chair, namely: (a) the single system of law and subsidiarity principles; (b) the marginality principle; (c) the development of the common law of property; (d) constitutional property law; and (e) property theory. This volume also includes a list of all Professor Van der Walt's research outputs and a list of all the Masters and Doctoral students that he supervised during his career.--Publisher's website.
Call Number: RED WALT MULL
Publication Date: 2018
Property Remedies by Z.T. Boggenpoel ; volume editor G.J. Pienaar"The new constitutional order has brought about substantial changes to the application of property remedies in South African law. Property Remedies investigates the ways in which various property remedies have been developed by the courts. The book shows that the transformation of remedial possibilities needs to be informed by different contexts. The book argues that it is important to consider this jurisprudential challenge in developing property remedies that are suited to a new constitutional order based on a single system of law. Property Remedies covers the traditional common-law remedies used to protect property interests, such as the rei vindicatio, the actio negatoria, the mandament van spolie, the possessory action, the actio legis aquiliae, compensation for improvements, the prohibitory interdict and the declaratory order. The book also discusses constitutionally inspired property remedies such as compensation for expropriation, constitutional damages and non-expropriatory compensation for lawful state action. The book offers guidance on how to deal with the tension between preserving the existing common-law remedies, accommodating new statutory interventions and developing the current system of property remedies in line with the Constitution."--Back cover.
Call Number: RED BOGG (Kingsway Law Reserve Circ Desk)
Publication Date: 2017
Examples of E-books and UJ IR (Dissertation and Theses) resources on South African Property Law
Rethinking Expropriation Law I by B. Hoops (Editor); E. J. Marais (Editor); H. Mostert (Editor); J. A. M. A. Sluysmans (Editor); L. C. A. Verstappen (Editor)This book is the first of a series in which experts engage critically with identified aspects of expropriation law. The internationally diverse group of contributing authors offer valuable insight into the treatment of public purpose/interest related issues as they are canvassed in jurisdictions around the world. Some of these issues include: the public purpose/interest requirement and the definition of the object of expropriation ** the role of public purpose/interest in distinguishing between expropriation and regulation of property ** public interest and the classification of expropriatory actions as administrative, statutory, or constructive ** the categorizing of the notions of public interest and public purpose ** the justifiability of expropriation without compensation ** the consequences of a change in purpose after expropriation has been effected ** whether an expropriation can be challenged on the basis that less invasive means were available for the state to realize the specific purpose ** whether the public interest could legitimately entail transfer of expropriated property to a party other than the state. [Subject: Expropriation Law, Property Law, Comparative Law]
Information Literacy Module 9: Writing & ReferencingThis module discusses the importance of referencing and the basic techniques how to properly reference, but is based on the Harvard referencing method. UJ Law students use the TSAR referencing style and should therefore apply those rules. The basic principles discussed in this module, however, remain important.