The CRC/Taylor & Francis eBook Collection on Biotechnology & Food Technology allows libraries to access expert guidance on food safety, quality assurance, processing, brewing, regulations, and microbiology. This collection offers information on latest functional foods, antioxidants, foodborne pathogens, and packaging technologies. This e-library comes complete with new edition of Fenaroli’s Handbook of Food Additives.
Subject Areas (click on the links to view the book titles)
Fructose, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Sucrose and Health (Online; Springer) by
The metabolic and health effects of both nutritive and non-nutritive sweeteners are controversial, and subjects of intense scientific debate. These potential effects span not only important scientific questions, but are also of great interest to media, the public and potentially even regulatory bodies. Fructose, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Sucrose and Health serves as a critical resource for practice-oriented physicians, integrative healthcare practitioners, academicians involved in the education of graduate students and post-doctoral fellows, and medical students, interns and residents, allied health professionals and nutrition researchers, registered dietitians and public health professions who are actively involved in providing data-driven recommendations on the role of sucrose, HFCS, glucose, fructose and non-nutritive sweeteners in the health of their students, patients and clients. Comprehensive chapters discuss the effects of both nutritive and non-nutritive sweeteners on appetite and food consumption as well as the physiologic and neurologic responses to sweetness. Chapter authors are world class, practice and research oriented nutrition authorities, who provide practical, data-driven resources based upon the totality of the evidence to help the reader understand the basics of fructose, high fructose corn syrup and sucrose biochemistry and examine the consequences of acute and chronic consumption of these sweeteners in the diets of young children through to adolescence and adulthood. Fructose, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Sucrose and Health fills a much needed gap in the literature and will serve the reader as the most authoritative resource in the field to date.
Halophiles: genetics and genomes (Online, Unlimited Users Access, EbscoHost) by
Extreme halophilic environments - including salt lakes and springs, seawater evaporation facilities for the production of sea salt, and subterranean salt deposits derived from ancient oceans - are distributed patchily all over the world. The life that dominates them is microbial (e.g., prokaryotes and the viruses that infect them). The best studied in these environments are the haloarchaea (family Halobacteriaceae), a diverse group of salt-loving organisms in the archaeal phylum Euryarchaeota. These remarkable organisms have an obligate requirement for salt concentrations between 10% and 35% NaCl for survival (sea water has 3.5% salt). Haloarchaea have evolved several biochemical and molecular strategies to counteract the deleterious effects of their salty environments, including efficient ion pumps, UV absorbing pigments, proteins that can resist the effects of osmotic stress, and the denaturing effects of salts. The best studied, extremely halophilic member of the Bacteria is Salinibacter, which is abundant in saltern crystallizer ponds worldwide. The application of modern genomic approaches to research on halophilic Archaea and Bacteria and their viruses in recent years has yielded fascinating insights into the adaptations and evolution of these unique organisms. This book highlights current genetics and genomics research to provide a timely overview. It represents a valuable source of information to all scientists interested in halophilic microorganisms, extremophiles, microbial ecology, and environmental microbiology. The chapters are written by expert authors from around the world and include topics such as: ecology and evolution of Haloquadratum walsbyi * microdiversity of Salinibacter ruber * horizontal gene transfer in halobacteria * comparative genomics of haloarchaeal viruses * genomics of the halophilic bacteria Natranaerobius thermophilus and Halobacillus halophilus * the haloarchaeal cell wall * cell cycle and polyploidy in haloarchaea * cell regulation by proteolytic systems * protein conjugation.
Food Product Development (Online, Knovel) by
Product development, from refining an established product range to developing completely new products, is the lifeblood of the food industry. It is, however, a process fraught with risk, often ending in failure. What are the keys to making the process a success? Based on a wealth of experience gathered over 40 years, Food Product Development provides the answers. Filled with examples and practical suggestions and written by a distinguished team with unrivalled academic and industry expertise, this book will be an essential guide for R D and product development staff, and all managers concerned with this key issue throughout the food industry.
Developing New Food Products for a Changing Marketplace (Online, Taylor & Francis) by
The only book on food product development that integrates every element of the discipline, Developing New Food Products for a Changing Marketplace surveys marketing, technology, and packaging as well as the process and organization required for developing food products. The text discusses all aspects of theory and practice for food process developers and includes numerous tables, figures, and bibliographical references to enhance understanding of the concepts. Pioneers and experts in food and beverage product development share their experience in every chapter. They provide examples of successes and failures, as well as guidance on how to achieve success and avoid failure. Providing a wealth of insight and information, this unique book will benefit food industry marketers and professionals involved in the product and brand development industries. It delivers a comprehensive and indispensable guide to food product development in today's dynamically changing marketplace.
Aggregators eBook Collections:
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Careers in Food Science (Online, SpringerLink) by
Careers in Food Science provides detailed guidelines for students and new employees in the food industry to ensure a successful start to their career. Every step towards a rewarding career in this rapidly evolving industry is covered, from which classes to take in college and which degrees to earn, to internships, and finally how to land, and keep, the first job. This book also provides day-to-day examples of what to expect from the many jobs available to help students decide what to do and where to go. The food industry includes a wide array of fields and careers not only in food production and in academia, but also in government and research institutions. In fact, it is estimated that by 2010 there will be 52,000 annual job openings for college graduates in the Food, Agriculture, and Natural Resources system in the U.S. alone. Written by people who have experience or are currently working in each sector, this book seeks to shed some light on starting, or furthering, a career in this exciting field.
Essentials of Food Science (Online; SpringerLink) by
'Essentials of Food Science' covers the basics of foods, food science, & food technology. Though it is part of the 'Food Science Text Series', the book is meant for the non-major introductory course, either taught in the food science or nutrition/dietetics department.
Food Analysis Laboratory Manual (Online; Springer by
This third edition laboratory manual was written to accompany Food Analysis, Fifth Edition, by the same author. New to this third edition of the laboratory manual are four introductory chapters that complement both the textbook chapters and the laboratory exercises. The 24 laboratory exercises in the manual cover 21 of the 35 chapters in the textbook. Many of the laboratory exercises have multiple sections to cover several methods of analysis for a particular food component or characteristic. Most of the laboratory exercises include the following: background, reading assignment, objective, principle of method, chemicals, reagents, precautions and waste disposal, supplies, equipment, procedure, data and calculations, questions, and references. This laboratory manual is ideal for the laboratory portion of undergraduate courses in food analysis.
Food and beverage stability and shelf life (Online, Unlimited Users Access, EbscoHost) by
Ensuring that foods and beverages remain stable during the required shelf life is critical to their success in the market place, yet companies experience difficulties in this area. Food and beverage stability and shelf life provides a comprehensive guide to factors influencing stability, methods of stability and shelf life assessment and the stability and shelf life of major products. Part one describes important food and beverage quality deterioration processes, including microbiological spoilage and physical instability. Chapters in this section also investigate the effects of ingredients, processing and packaging on stability, among other factors. Part two describes methods for stability and shelf life assessment including food storage trials, accelerated testing and shelf life modelling. Part three reviews the stability and shelf life of a wide range of products, including beer, soft drinks, fruit, bread, oils, confectionery products, milk and seafood. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, Food and beverage stability and shelf life is a valuable reference for professionals involved in quality assurance and product development and researchers focussing on food and beverage stability. A comprehensive guide to factors influencing stability, methods of stability and shelf life assessment and the stability and shelf life of major products Describes important food and beverage quality deterioration processes exploring microbiological spoilage and physical instability Investigate the effects of ingredients, processing and packaging on stability and documents methods for stability and shelf life assessment
Food Biotechnology (Online, Taylor & Francis) by
Revised and updated to reflect the latest research and advances available, Food Biotechnology, Second Edition demonstrates the effect that biotechnology has on food production and processing. It is an authoritative and exhaustive compilation that discusses the bioconversion of raw food materials to processed products, the improvement of food quality, the importance of food safety, the design of ingredients for functional foods, and the biochemical advances made in traditional fermentation. It also provides an international perspective on the discipline as a whole. The content of the book is divided into three sections for easy reference. The first section provides an overview of the basic principles and explains microbial applications. The next section explains plant tissue culture techniques, genetic engineering of plants and animals, functional food ingredients and their health benefits, probiotics, antibody production for oral vaccines, and topics on enzyme technologies. The final section discusses food safety issues and the various bio-processing and fermentation biotechnologies used throughout the world. Food Biotechnology, Second Edition is an indispensable guide for anyone who needs to understand the latest information on food production and processing from a biotechnology perspective.
Food Biotechnology (Online, SpringerLink) by
The use of fermentation in food processing was originally developed as amethodforpreserving foodandhasprobablybeen practisedsince mankind has been living in settlements. Nowadays food biotechnology involves a lot more than simply preventing spoilage and ranges from improving salub- ousness, improving texture to enriching foodstuffs with substances that are favourable to health and well-being and the prevention of illness. The basic principle of fermentation is mostly to exploit the metabolism of a speci?c microorganism.The activityofthese microorganismstakes place inthe fo- stuff itself or in the intestine (probiotica), whereby they produce primary or secondary metabolites via the fermentation process. Naturally, probiotica or metabolites in particular can be produced as pure cultures or as pure s- stances and can then be administered as pharma productsor foodadditives. The foodbiotechnology?eldis extremely broadandis developing rapidly. An important factor is that the average age of humans is increasing, but the age of well-being, that is how long one feels ?t and healthy, is stagnating. It has been shown that this so-called age of well-being can be in?uenced by individual nutrition habits and, complemented by genetic predisposition, can even be increased. In addition, common diseases and illnesses such as the prevalence of being overweight or diabetes can even be prevented through food, pro- and prebiotica and food additives. One emphasis of this volume is onthis area.
Learning, Food, and Sustainability (Online, SpringerLink) by
This edited volume explores the intersection of learning and food, both within and beyond the classroom, all within the context of sustainability. Taking a broad pedagogical approach to the question of food, it focuses on learning and change in a number of key sites including schools, homes, communities, and social movements, keeping in mind that we need to learn our way out of our current unsustainable food system and in to more sustainable alternatives.
Manley's technology of biscuits, crackers and cookies (Online, Unlimited User Access,. EbscoHost) by
Manley's Technology of Biscuits, Crackers and Cookies is widely regarded as the standard work in its field. Part one covers management issues such as HACCP, quality control, process control and product development. Part two deals with the selection of raw materials and ingredients. The range and types of biscuits is covered in part three, while part four covers the main production processes and equipment, from bulk handling and metering of ingredients to packaging, storage and waste management. Eight expert authors have joined Duncan Manley in extensively updating and expanding the book, which is now some 25% longer than the previous edition. Part one now includes a new chapter on sustainability in the biscuit industry and the discussion of process and efficiency control is more detailed. In part two the information on wheat flour has been extensively revised to reflect recent developments and there are entirely new chapters on fats and oils and packaging materials. Photographs of the major types of biscuits now illustrate chapters in part three, which also includes a newly-composed chapter on the position of biscuits in nutrition. Finally, part four has been comprehensively reviewed and revised with the assistance of an author from a major machinery manufacturer. With its distinguished editor and team of expert contributors this new edition consolidates the position of Manley's Technology of Biscuits, Crackers and Cookies as the standard reference work in the industry. Widely regarded as the standard work in its field Covers management issues such as HACCP, quality control, process control and product development Deals with the selection of raw materials and ingredients
The Chemistry of Mycotoxins (Online, SpringerLink) by
The biological activity of mycotoxins ranges from weak and/or sometimes positive effects, such as antibacterial activity (see penicillin derivatives derived from Penicillium strains) to strong mutagenic (e. g. aflatoxins, patulin), carcinogenic (e. g. aflatoxins), teratogenic, neurotoxic (e. g. ochratoxins), nephrotoxic (e. g. fumonisins, citrinin), hepatotoxic, and immunotoxic (e. g. ochratoxins, diketopiperazines) activity. Nowadays, many laboratories around the world are specialized in the detection of mycotoxins in food products and contaminated material found in housing. In this volume, a focus on the most important classes of mycotoxins is provided and their chemistry of the last ten years is discussed. In each Section, the individual biological impact is outlined. Sections are arranged according to mycotoxin classes (e. g. aflatoxins) and/or structural classes (e. g. resorcinyl lactones, diketopiperazines). The biology of mycotoxins is also described.
Food Safety: A Practical and Case Study Approach (Online; Springer) by
Food Safety: A Practical and Case Study Approach, the first volume of the ISEKI-Food book series, discusses how food quality and safety are connected and how they play a significant role in the quality of our daily lives. Topics include methods of food preservation, food packaging, benefits and risks of microorganisms and process safety.
Mycotoxins and Food Safety (Online, SpringerLink) by
Mycotoxins, from the Greek "mukes" referring to fungi or slime molds and toxin from the Latin "toxicum" referencing a poison for arrows, have earned their reputation for being potentially deleterious to the health and well being of a consuming organism, whether it be animal or human. Unfortunately, mycotoxins are a ubiquitous factor in the natural life cycle of food producing plants. As such, control of the potential impact of mycotoxins on food safety relies heavily upon accurate analysis and surveys followed by commodity segregation and restricted use or decontamination through processing. The purpose of this book is to provide the most comprehensive and current information on the topic of mycotoxins and assuring food safety. Chapters represented in the book reflect such diverse topics ranging from occurrence and impact, analysis, reduction through processing and plant breeding, toxicology and safety assessments to regulatory perspectives. Authors represent a range of international perspectives.
Mycotoxins in Feedstuffs by
The term Mycotoxin literally means poison from fungi. Mycotoxins are substances produced from fungal secondary metabolic processes, which impair animal health thereby causing great economic losses of livestock through disease. This book gives an overview of mycotoxins in feedstuff and ingredients. It lists the degree of contamination, concentration and country of origin/detection for each case of mycotoxin contamination. In addition, the book shows whether a feedstuff/ingredient is predisposed for a mycotoxin contamination, detailing the number of mycotoxins as well as number of citations concerning one feedstuff.
Mycotoxins in Foodstuffs (Online; Springer) by
Mycotoxin contamination of food occurs as a result of crop invasion by field fungi such as Fusarium spp., Alternaria spp., Aspergillus spp., and Penicillium spp., which start their growth while in storage (storage fungi). In the worst case, these fungi produce secondary metabolites called mycotoxins. They can be very harmful to humans and animals when for example they are consumed through food. Mycotoxins have various negative effects on several organs in humans and animals. The present book gives a basic overview of the main mycotoxins in food. It lists the predisposition of a foodstuff for mycotoxin contamination, the degree of contamination, concentration, and country of detection/origin for each case of mycotoxin contamination of food. Major updates to this second edition include: - More than 750 new publications concerning mycotoxins in foodstuffs (1665 literatures at all). - A single chapter overview of mycotoxin(s) in the corresponding foodstuff. - The co-occurrence of mycotoxins in a foodstuff has been listed where possible. - Numerical and alphabetical literature. - Organic and conventional foods of a publication have been listed separately where possible. - Numerous entries described in much greater detail. - Each analyzed foodstuff has a separate entry per year where possible.
Environmentally-Compatible Food Packaging (Online, Unlimited Users, EbscoHost) by
Food packaging performs an essential function, but packaging materials can have a negative impact on the environment. This collection reviews bio-based, biodegradable and recycled materials and their current and potential applications for food protection and preservation. Beginning with an examination of the latest advances in bio-based food packaging materials, this book discusses the factors involved in choosing alternative packaging materials such as consumer preference, measuring the environmental performance of food packaging, eco-design, and the safety and quality of recycled materials. It examines applications of environmentally-compatible materials in particular product sectors, including the packaging of fresh horticultural produce, dairy products and seafood. The text also covers active packaging, modified atmosphere packaging, and biobased intelligent food packaging and concludes with a summary of the legislation and certification of environmentally-compatible packaging in the EU. With its distinguished editor and contributors, Environmentally-compatible food packaging will be a valuable reference tool for professionals in the food processing and packaging industries.
Emerging Food Packaging Technologies (Online, Unlimited Users Access, EbscoHost) by
The successful employment of food packaging can greatly improve product safety and quality, making the area a key concern to the food processing industry. Emerging food packaging technologies reviews advances in packaging materials, the design and implementation of smart packaging techniques, and developments in response to growing concerns about packaging sustainability. Part one of Emerging food packaging technologies focuses on developments in active packaging, reviewing controlled release packaging, active antimicrobials and nanocomposites in packaging, and edible chitosan coatings. Part two goes on to consider intelligent packaging and how advances in the consumer/packaging interface can improve food safety and quality. Developments in packaging material are analysed in part three, with nanocomposites, emerging coating technologies, light-protective and non-thermal process packaging discussed, alongside a consideration of the safety of plastics as food packaging materials. Finally, part four explores the use of eco-design, life cycle assessment, and the utilisation of bio-based polymers in the production of smarter, environmentally-compatible packaging. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, Emerging food packaging technologies is an indispensable reference work for all those responsible for the design, production and use of food and beverage packaging, as well as a key source for researchers in this area. Reviews advances in packaging materials, the design and implementation of smart packaging techniques, and developments in response to growing concerns about packaging sustainability Considers intelligent packaging and how advances in the consumer/packaging interface can improve food safety and quality Examines developments in packaging materials, nanocomposites, emerging coating technologies, light-protective and non-thermal process packaging and the safety of plastics as food packaging materials
Food packaging : principles and practice (Online, ProQuest, 3 User Access) by 
Next-Generation Sequencing (Online, Unlimited User Access, EbscoHost) by
This text explores the most recent advances in NGS instrumentation and data anlysis. It begins with a comprehensive description of current NSG platforms, their sequencing chemistries, instrument specifications, and general workflows and procedures. A separate chapter is dedicated to low-quanitity, single molecule sequencing technology. Further chapters explore the application of NSG technologies in various fields.
Bioinformatics and Data Analysis in Microbiology (Online, Unlimited User Access, EbscoHost) by
The rapid advancement of sequencing techniques, coupled with the new methodologies of bioinformatics to handle large-scale data analysis, are providing exciting opportunities to understand microbial communities from a variety of environments, beyond previous imagination. This book provides invaluable, up-to-date, and detailed information on various aspects of bioinformatics data analysis with applications to microbiology. It describes a number of different useful bioinformatics tools, makes links to some wet-lab techniques, and explains different approaches to tackle a problem. It also talks about current challenges and limitations, gives examples of applications of bioinformatics methods to microbiology, and discusses future trends. The chapters include topics such as: genome sequencing techniques * assembly * SNP analysis * annotation * comparative genomics * microbial community profiling * metagenomics * phylogenetic microarrays * barcoding * and more. Bioinformatics and Data Analysis in Microbiology is an essential book for researchers, lecturers, and students involved in microbiology, bioinformatics, and genome analysis. Each chapter is written by experts in the field and is peer-reviewed.
Statistical Methods for Food Science - Introductory Procedures for the Food Practitioner (Online, Unlimited User Access, ProQuestBookCentral) by
The recording and analysis of food data are becoming increasingly sophisticated. Consequently, the food scientist in industry or at study faces the task of using and understanding statistical methods. Statistics is often viewed as a difficult subject and is often avoided because of its complexity and a lack of specific application to the requirements of food science. This situation is changing - there is now much material on multivariate applications for the more advanced reader, but a case exists for a univariate approach aimed at the non-statistician. This second edition of Statistical Methods for Food Science provides a source text on accessible statistical procedures for the food scientist, and is aimed at professionals and students in food laboratories where analytical, instrumental and sensory data are gathered and require some form of summary and analysis before interpretation. It is suitable for the food analyst, the sensory scientist and the product developer, and others who work in food-related disciplines involving consumer survey investigations will also find many sections of use. There is an emphasis on a 'hands-on' approach, and worked examples using computer software packages and the minimum of mathematical formulae are included. The book is based on the experience and practice of a scientist engaged for many years in research and teaching of analytical and sensory food science at undergraduate and post-graduate level. This revised and updated second edition is accompanied by a new companion website giving the reader access to the datasets and Excel spreadsheets featured in the book. Check it out now by visiting www.wiley.com/go/bower/statistical or by scanning the QR code below.
Careers in Food Science (Online, ProQuest) by
Careers in Food Science provides detailed guidelines for students and new employees in the food industry to ensure a successful start to their career. Every step towards a rewarding career in this rapidly evolving industry is covered, from which classes to take in college and which degrees to earn, to internships, and finally how to land, and keep, the first job. This book also provides day-to-day examples of what to expect from the many jobs available to help students decide what to do and where to go. The food industry includes a wide array of fields and careers not only in food production and in academia, but also in government and research institutions. In fact, it is estimated that by 2010 there will be 52,000 annual job openings for college graduates in the Food, Agriculture, and Natural Resources system in the U.S. alone. Written by people who have experience or are currently working in each sector, this book seeks to shed some light on starting, or furthering, a career in this exciting field.