Databases: Finding articles - Science - Geography - LibGuides at University of Johannesburg

Geography related EbscoHost Databases:

Depend on your topic, you can select as many of these databases to search for relevant documents

EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Including the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum) Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa. Mainly a bibliographic database Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day Bibliographic or Abstracts
Biological and Agricultural Index (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Articles, review articles, book reviews, reports, and special supplements on Agriculture, Biochemistry, Biology, Botany, Ecology, Zoology, Environment, Soil Science, Plant Pathology, etc. Coverage: 1983 to present Bibliographic
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of electronic books on a variety of topics. Format: Full text. Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers Family and Society matters Coverage: 1970 to the present Partly full text with some embargoes
FSTA - Food Science & Technology Abstracts (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
GEORef (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Coverage: Varies according to title Format: Abstracts and full text
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Tourism and hospitality Coverage: 1965 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text with some embargoes for the current two years
Humanities Source (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Focus is on Humanities Coverage: 1907 (in some cases) to the present Full- text with some embargoes
INSPEC (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
Urban Studies Abstracts (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Bibliographic index covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Bibliographic
Waters & Oceans Worldwide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Databases on all facets of international water research. Includes research ranging from coastal and offshore engineering to pollution and water treatment. Coverage: 1970+ Bibliographic with abstracts Partly Full text, two year embargo for some journal titles

African & South African Databases

Africa -Wide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Including the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum) Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa. Mainly a bibliographic database Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day Bibliographic or Abstracts
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.
SAIRR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African Institute of Race Relations Research, statistical data, policy critiques, forecasts and risk analysis on South Africa’s household issues Includes the annual South African Survey Full text

Environmental Law Databases

Search for Law reports, articles, legislation, etc. on Environmental and any law relevant to your topic issues

Jutastat Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, legal manuals and commentaries. Includes case law and statutes from Zimbabwe. Full text. Coverage varies according to title.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) OpenAthens This link opens in a new window (Formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) International content on Law, Accounting, Economics, Management, Journalism and Engineering. Full text access to more than 5,800 publications spanning Global News, Journals, Legal Materials, Company Data, Financials, Country Reports and general reference information. Coverage: Varies according to title
SABINET Discover (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African Law, various legal databases, includes legal journals, Bills, Government Gazettes, Municipal By-laws, Policy documents, Provincial Gazettes, Provincial Legislation, SA legislation (Acts, Rules, Regulations) Coverage: Varies according to database product Full text (except for Law and Government)
HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text
Westlaw International (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International law, Ebooks Books, Treaties, Journal articles, Case Law and Legislation Coverage: Varies according to title Partly full text
Westlaw UK (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Westlaw US (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary: Full-Text & Bibliographic Databases

CABI Databases (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific resources within the applied life sciences. UJs subscription includes bibliographic and partly full text access to the following specialized CABI databases: Aromatic & Medicinal Plants Crop Physiology Helminthology Horticultural Science Ornamental Horticulture Plant Growth Regulators Plant Pathology Postharvest Research Rural Development and free full text access to: Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria Full Text Select (journal articles some in foreign languages with abstracts in English) Coverage: 1910 to the present Bibliographic with abstracts Partly full text
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
Kanopy (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Movies & Documentaries for film lovers covering multiple subject fields including Business, Arts, Film & popular, Education , Global Studies etc
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Citation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references. Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Answers inquiries about environmental concerns
GeoScience World (GSW) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive Internet resource for research across the geosciences, built on a database of peer-reviewed journals and integrated with GeoRef.
IEEE Xplore (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Includes content published by IEEE (USA) and IET (UK). UJ’s subscription includes access to: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines IEEE conference proceedings IET journals IET conference proceedings IEEE published standards IEEE Standards Dictionary Online Abstracts, full text. Coverage: 1988 to the present
OECD iLibrary (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development. Scholarly journals, working papers, multilingual summaries, e-books, statistical databases and MS Excel tables focusing on economic and social issues Coverage: 1998 to the present Full text
Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Oxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences Coverage: 1996+ Full Text
ProQuest Central (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that provides information on all subject areas. Format: Full text Coverage varies according to content
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas: - Physical Sciences & Engineering - Life Sciences - Health Sciences - Social Sciences & Humanities Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present Full text available from 1995 to present No full text available to e-book chapters Mobile application
Scopus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Digital Archives (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window An ongoing initiative to digitize unique and rare primary sources; a huge range of photos, maps, sketches, tables, letters, books and journals. Access to three of the collections: The New York Academy of Sciences – covering a wide range of original sources; The Royal Anthropological Institute – historical research into topics from Archaeology to geographic and religious studies; The Royal College of Physicians – with documents from astronomy to neurology going back over 500 years.
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols

Earth Science & Mining Databases

African Mines Online (Password required, plse contact Infodesk 011 559 2171/3198) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive information resource covering all mines across the African continent, mines under development and even exploration projects. The contact details, history, geology and outlook of the mines are also covered.
Access to the following free digital magazines:
Monthly
· Building Africa
· The Civil Engineering Contractor
· Journal of Facilities Management (jFM)
· Mining Mirror
· Plant Equipment & Hire
Every two months
· Africa Energy Journal
· African Mining
· Quarry Southern Africa
· Urban Green File
· Water Sewage & Effluent
Coverage: Current
Full Text
GEORef (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
GeoScience World (GSW) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive Internet resource for research across the geosciences, built on a database of peer-reviewed journals and integrated with GeoRef.
GreenFILE (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Coverage: Varies according to title Format: Abstracts and full text
Waters & Oceans Worldwide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Databases on all facets of international water research. Includes research ranging from coastal and offshore engineering to pollution and water treatment. Coverage: 1970+ Bibliographic with abstracts Partly Full text, two year embargo for some journal titles

Business, Economics & Country Profiles Databases

Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
EasyData (Quantec) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Register your own Username and Password. South African economic and other financial statistics (products, imports, exports, etc); global macroeconomic, industry and trade data Coverage: 2000 to the present Full text – comprehensive numeric data sets
Gale Business Insights: Global (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
GlobalData (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
Marketline (see GlobalData) International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
OECD iLibrary (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development. Scholarly journals, working papers, multilingual summaries, e-books, statistical databases and MS Excel tables focusing on economic and social issues Coverage: 1998 to the present Full text
ProQuest Business Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Based on ABI/INFORM Complete, includes speciality business subject resources: More than 6,800 Journals, Dissertations, Conference proceedings, Working papers, Trade publications, Industry reports, Key periodicals (Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times, Economist). Coverage: 1923 - Present.
Statista (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics, Reports, Infographics, Services & Global Consumer Survey Coverage: Latest Format: Online Reports, Tables, Lists
Who owns whom (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African industry reports and company profiles Coverage: 1980s to the present Latest and historical annual reports from 2003 to the present Includes the latest edition of Who owns Whom in South Africa Full text
World Bank E-Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1970 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text (no full text to e-books)
World Competitiveness Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Information on the competitiveness of nations since 1989. Country analysis and cross-country comparisons re economy, government, business and infrastructure Coverage: Last 13 years Full text
Yearbook of International Associations (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Detailed international (active and dormant) organization profiles. No coverage of for-profit-organizations. Coverage: 1997 to present. Full text. Extensively links organization profiles to: – Organizations’ own websites – Other UIA subscription databases – incl. International Congress Calendar – Free UIA databases: Encyclopaedia of World Problems and Human Potential IGO Search – through intergovernmental organization websites Logotypes of International Organizations Transnational Associations Online – UIA journal archive Automatic translation in 58 languages – also in Afrikaans

Google Scholar

A-to-Z Databases: all Library databases in Alphabetical order

Faculty Librarian: Science

Pavlinka Kovatcheva

Email Me

Contact:

University of Johannesburg Library
Auckland Park Campus

+27 11 5592621

Subjects: Biochemistry, Botany, Chemistry, Environmental and Energy Science, Geography, Geology, Information Technology, Mathematical Sciences, Physics and Astrophysics, Zoology

Science - Geography: Databases: Finding articles

Search the Library catalog (UJLink)