Aggregators eBook Collections:
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Taylor & Francis provides access to a comprehensive collection of scholarly and academic titles supporting research, learning, and teaching. The platform includes books from Routledge, CRC Press, and other Taylor & Francis imprints, offering authoritative content across multiple disciplines. Users can search, read online, or download chapters for offline use.
Climate Change: briefings from Southern Africa (Print & Online, SpringerLink)
by
How do greenhouse gases regulate the Earth's temperature? How hot will it get? Will South Africa run out of water? Isn't climate change just part of a long-term natural cycle? Do cow-farts really cause global warming? Is sea-level rise something to worry about? Will marine fisheries collapse? Can solar and wind power meet our energy needs? How can I reduce my carbon footprint? Is there any chance of runaway global warming? These and many other questions are answered in this full-colour illustrated book. Climate change affects us all, but it can be a confusing business. Three leading South African scientists who have worked on the issue for over two decades help you to make sense of this topic. Climate Change: Briefings from Southern Africa takes the form of 55 'frequently-asked questions', each with a brief, clear scientifically up-to-date reply. The authors' introduction provides an overview of current national and international policies aimed at regulating climate change. The four main sections take you through the science of how the climate system works, the projected impacts in Southern Africa during the 21st century, what this means for South African society, and what can be done to avoid harm. The profuse illustrations and local examples help to explain complex issues in simple terms. The book is aimed at interested but non-scientist readers, including business people, decision-makers and students, and is very timely in relating to impending international treaties and national efforts to avoid the worst consequences of a changing climate. The year 2015 is regarded as a watershed for global climate change action if a global average temperature rise of more than two degrees above the pre-Industrial level is to be avoided. This book provides compelling evidence that the impact on agriculture, fisheries, water resources, human health, plants and animals as well as sea levels will be dangerous. However, the book ends on a positive note by offering advice on how the world can avoid such bleak outcomes, while allowing a good life for all.
Climate Risk in Africa (Online; Open Access)
by
This open access book highlights the complexities around making adaptation decisions and building resilience in the face of climate risk. It is based on experiences in sub-Saharan Africa through the Future Climate For Africa (FCFA) applied research programme. It begins by dealing with underlying principles and structures designed to facilitate effective engagement about climate risk, including the robustness of information and the construction of knowledge through co-production. Chapters then move on to explore examples of using climate information to inform adaptation and resilience through early warning, river basin development, urban planning and rural livelihoods based in a variety of contexts. These insights inform new ways to promote action in policy and praxis through the blending of knowledge from multiple disciplines, including climate science that provides understanding of future climate risk and the social science of response through adaptation. The book will be of interest to advanced undergraduate students and postgraduate students, researchers, policy makers and practitioners in geography, environment, international development and related disciplines.
CLIMATE Risk and Vulnerability: A HANDBOOK FOR SOUTHERN AFRICA, CSIR, 2nd ed.
by
The handbook is presented in three parts and guides the
reader through a simplified understanding of climate
risks, vulnerability to climate change and actions to
cope with the impact of climate change by connecting
adaptation, mitigation and sustainable development,
regional climate change strategies, climate change
adaptation and disaster risk reduction, climate financing,
sustainability and corporate governance. Key sectors
are selected to illustrate best practices in assessing
vulnerability – agriculture and livestock, commercial
forestry, terrestrial ecosystems and biodiversity, water
resources, the coastal zone, settlements, human health,
energy and air quality.
Climate Change in Practice: Topics for Discussion with Group Exercises (Online, Cambridge)
by
Derived from an undergraduate course taught by the author, this accessible book seeks to challenge and provoke readers by posing a series of topical questions concerning climate change and society. Topic summaries provide answers to technical, socio-economic and moral questions surrounding the deployment of climate science. These include how to build and test a climate model, whom and what is most at risk from climate change, and whether we should geoengineer the climate. Practical exercises and case studies provide deeper insights by taking readers through role-play activities and authentic climate change projects. Supporting materials, including notes for instructors and students, graphics, video-clips, games, and online resources, offer scope for further private study and group work. With a focus on applying climate science in practice, this book is ideal for students of geography, natural science, engineering and economics, as well as practitioners involved in the climate service industry.