Depend on your topic, you can select as many of these databases to search for relevant documents
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
GreenFILE (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Coverage: Varies according to title
Format: Abstracts and full text
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowTourism and hospitality
Coverage: 1965 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text with some embargoes for the current two years
Humanities Source (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFocus is on Humanities
Coverage: 1907 (in some cases) to the present
Full- text with some embargoes
Urban Studies Abstracts (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowBibliographic index covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Bibliographic
Women's Studies International (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies in the areas of Sociology, History, Political science and Economy, Public policy, International relations, Arts and Humanities, Business and Education
Coverage: 1972 to present
Abstracts
Partly full text
Multidisciplinary: Full-Text Databases
Kanopy (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowMovies & Documentaries for film lovers covering multiple subject fields including Business, Arts, Film & popular, Education , Global Studies etc
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
Mobile application
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
15 Open access journal titles are available on this database.
Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation)
Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+
Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Digital Archives (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAn ongoing initiative to digitize unique and rare primary sources; a huge range of photos, maps, sketches, tables, letters, books and journals. Access to three of the collections: The New York Academy of Sciences – covering a wide range of original sources; The Royal Anthropological Institute – historical research into topics from Archaeology to geographic and religious studies; The Royal College of Physicians – with documents from astronomy to neurology going back over 500 years.
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
World Bank E-Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1970 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text (no full text to e-books)
