Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library - Open Athens Authentication: Welcome

What is OpenAthens?

OpenAthens is an access management system used by universities for controlling access to these types of online services. Authenticating to OpenAthens enables you to access many of the Library's online databases, electronic journals and e-books seamlessly and without further challenge for usernames & passwords.

For a full list of the databases that authenticate via OpenAthens, go to the Library Databases page, where applicable "OpenAthens" is indicated below the database name

Alternatively, OpenAthens protected resources listed on the Databases page, Library website or UJoogle are usually identified by the following OpenAthens below the database.

Authenticating OpenAthens Via Institution

Authenticating to OpenAthens

Access to the Library's online resources via OpenAthens is restricted to staff and students of the University.

Generic OpenAthens login: Find Your Organisation here

When trying to access a database, journal or ebook, where OpenAthens login is required, you will be presented with ONE of the TWO screens presented here.

Some resources (such as Africa-Wide and other EBSCO database) present the user with this screen before selecting an institution:

If so, you must search using the 'Find your organisation' box on the right in order to navigate to the correct UJ login page.  A search for "University of Johannesburg" will present a list of institutions, that includes UJ. 

Clicking the link will take you to a UJ sign-in page, that will accept as Username, your "UJ staff e-mail address/ student e-mail address" and a Password, your staff e-mail password/ Blackboard login password.  Logging in successfully here will take you to the desired e-resource.  

Once logged in, you will remain authenticated throughout your browser session and shouldn't be challenged to login again if you visit other OpenAthens resources.

In many cases, links from the Library Databases page will pre-identify you as a UJ user and will pass you directly to the UJ branded sign-in page and on to the desired resource after successful login.  

A successful login from the UJ sign-in page will keep you authenticated during your browser session, preventing further login challenges from other OpenAthens resources.

Please remember, you must not share your usernames and passwords with anyone.

The use of the Library's e-resources for commercial benefit is strictly prohibited.