AIPJournals Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAIP Publishing’s portfolio comprises 19 highly regarded, peer-reviewed journals, including the flagship journals Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics, and The Journal of Chemical Physics, in addition to the AIP Conference Proceedings.
APS Prola (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAmerican Physics Society Physical Review Online Archive
Full text coverage including archive from vol. 1 to present
INSPEC (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCreated by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
Engineering Village (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAccess to the COMPENDEX and INSPEC literature citation databases covering all engineering disciplines and related subjects.
EV2 includes different information resources:
Compendex: Coverage: 1884 to the present; abstracts
Inspec: Coverage: 1896 to the present; abstracts
Referex: E-books and engineering reference material on:
Electrical Engineering and Electronics
Mechanical Engineering and Materials
Coverage: 1987 to the present; full text
Espacenet: (Open access) Coverage: 1996 to the present; full text patents.
IHS Standards: (Open access) Bibliographic citations of technical standards.
IOPScience (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIOPscience is a platform for IOP-hosted journal content and covers scientific, technical and medical content.
Archive and current journals full text
Embargoes on some journals: 1-2 years
Bibliographic with abstracts
MathSciNet (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAmerican Mathematical Society. Access to mathematical sciences literature including:
· reviews written by experts
· bibliographic listings dating back to the early 1800s
· links to articles, journals, and publishers
· linked reference lists
· citation information on articles, books, and journals
Covers Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present - Bibliographic with abstracts. Also covers older full text AMS (American Mathematical Society) e-textbooks and in some cases also accompanying material, e.g.: solutions manuals, etc.
Springer Materials (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields..
EbscoHost Databases relevant to Physics topics
Depend on your topic, you can select as many of these databases to search for relevant documents
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
INSPEC (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCreated by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
MathSciNet (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAmerican Mathematical Society. Access to mathematical sciences literature including:
· reviews written by experts
· bibliographic listings dating back to the early 1800s
· links to articles, journals, and publishers
· linked reference lists
· citation information on articles, books, and journals
Covers Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present - Bibliographic with abstracts. Also covers older full text AMS (American Mathematical Society) e-textbooks and in some cases also accompanying material, e.g.: solutions manuals, etc.
Search the Library catalog (UJLink)
Multidisciplinary Full-Text Databases
ACS Publications (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowon campus access only.
American Chemical Society Publications
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOver 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas
Coverage: 1700 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCitation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
IEEE Xplore (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncludes content published by IEEE (USA) and IET (UK).
UJ’s subscription includes access to:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines
IEEE conference proceedings
IET journals
IET conference proceedings
IEEE published standards
IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
Abstracts, full text. Coverage: 1988 to the present
JSTOR (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences
Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes:
RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text
RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files.
ChemSpider: Free chemical database
No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
Mobile application
Science magazine (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowInternational weekly science journal, with the major focus on important original scientific research, research reviews, global news, and commentary.
Coverage: 1880 to present; Bibliographic and abstracts (Classic Science) from 1880 to 1996); Full text available from 1997 to present.
Can also search on other AAAS products e.g. SAGE KE (Science of Aging Knowledge Environment) (2001 – 2006) - full text; Science Signalling (1997 to present) – partly full text; All High Wire Journals – partly full text
Scopus (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
15 Open access journal titles are available on this database.
Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation)
Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+
Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
Chemistry Related Databases
Analytical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowWide range of topic areas from materials science to food analysis, and from pharmacology to environmental monitoring. The searchable updates consist of article abstracts and details of analyte, matrix and technique. Updates can also be searched by subject area, chosen from a predefined list of topics.
Analytical Abstracts with links to Full-text
SciFinder: CAS (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOpenAthens (Previously known as Chemical Abstracts, Refer to “C” for CAS SciFinder, CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulus)
First time users please register here. This will provide you with the Username and Password required to log in.
Registration problems? Contact Pavlinka Kovatcheva: 011 559-2621
ChemRxivThese are preliminary reports which have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be regarded as conclusive, guide clinical practice/health related behaviour, or be reported in news media as established information
