Aggregators eBook Platforms:
Publishers eBooks Platforms/Databases:
The Oxford Solid State Basics (EbscoHost; Unlimited users; Print/E-mail/Save 50 Pages) by
The study of solids is one of the richest, most exciting, and most successful branches of physics. While the subject of solid state physics is often viewed as dry and tedious this new book presents the topic instead as an exciting exposition of fundamental principles and great intellectualbreakthroughs. Beginning with a discussion of how the study of heat capacity of solids ushered in the quantum revolution, the author presents the key ideas of the field while emphasizing the deep underlying concepts.The book begins with a discussion of the Einstein/Debye model of specific heat, and the Drude/Sommerfeld theories of electrons in solids, which can all be understood without reference to any underlying crystal structure. The failures of these theories force a more serious investigation ofmicroscopics. Many of the key ideas about waves in solids are then introduced using one dimensional models in order to convey concepts without getting bogged down with details. Only then does the book turn to consider real materials.Chemical bonding is introduced and then atoms can be bonded together to crystal structures and reciprocal space results. Diffraction experiments, as the central application of these ideas, are discussed in great detail. From there, the connection is made to electron wave diffraction in solids andhow it results in electronic band structure. The natural culmination of this thread is the triumph of semiconductor physics and devices.The final section of the book considers magnetism in order to discuss a range of deeper concepts. The failures of band theory due to electron interaction, spontaneous magnetic orders, and mean field theories are presented well. Finally, the book gives a brief exposition of the Hubbard model thatundergraduates can understand.The book presents all of this material in a clear fashion, dense with explanatory or just plain entertaining footnotes. This may be the best introductory book for learning solid state physics. It is certainly the most fun to read.
Solid State Physics: an introduction (Online; ProQuest; unlimited users; Download up to 54 pages, read online) by
A must-have textbook for any undergraduate studying solid state physics. This successful brief course in solid state physics is now in its second edition. The clear and concise introduction not only describes all the basic phenomena and concepts, but also such advanced issues as magnetism and superconductivity. Each section starts with a gentle introduction, covering basic principles, progressing to a more advanced level in order to present a comprehensive overview of the subject. The book is providing qualitative discussions that help undergraduates understand concepts even if they can't follow all the mathematical detail. The revised edition has been carefully updated to present an up-to-date account of the essential topics and recent developments in this exciting field of physics. The coverage now includes ground-breaking materials with high relevance for applications in communication and energy, like graphene and topological insulators, as well as transparent conductors. The text assumes only basic mathematical knowledge on the part of the reader and includes more than 100 discussion questions and some 70 problems, with solutions free to lecturers from the Wiley-VCH website. The author's webpage provides Online Notes on x-ray scattering, elastic constants, the quantum Hall effect, tight binding model, atomic magnetism, and topological insulators. This new edition includes the following updates and new features: * Expanded coverage of mechanical properties of solids, including an improved discussion of the yield stress * Crystal structure, mechanical properties, and band structure of graphene * The coverage of electronic properties of metals is expanded by a section on the quantum hall effect including exercises. New topics include the tight-binding model and an expanded discussion on Bloch waves. * With respect to semiconductors, the discussion of solar cells has been extended and improved. * Revised coverage of magnetism, with additional material on atomic magnetism * More extensive treatment of finite solids and nanostructures, now including topological insulators * Recommendations for further reading have been updated and increased. * New exercises on Hall mobility, light penetrating metals, band structure
Fundamentals of Condensed Matter and Crystalline Physics: An Introduction for Students of Physics and Materials Science (Online, Cambridge) by
This undergraduate textbook merges traditional solid state physics with contemporary condensed matter physics, providing an up-to-date introduction to the major concepts that form the foundations of condensed materials. The main foundational principles are emphasized, providing students with the knowledge beginners in the field should understand. The book is structured in four parts and allows students to appreciate how the concepts in this broad area build upon each other to produce a cohesive whole as they work through the chapters. Illustrations work closely with the text to convey concepts and ideas visually, enhancing student understanding of difficult material, and end-of-chapter exercises varying in difficulty allow students to put into practice the theory they have covered in each chapter and reinforce new concepts.
Basic Concepts in Physics: From the Cosmos to Quarks (Online, SpringerLink) by
"Basic Concepts in Physics: From the Cosmos to Quarks" is the outcome of the authors' long and varied teaching experience in different countries and for different audiences, and gives an accessible and eminently readable introduction to all the main ideas of modern physics. The book's fresh approach, using a novel combination of historical and conceptual viewpoints, makes it ideal complementary reading to more standard textbooks. The first five chapters are devoted to classical physics, from planetary motion to special relativity, always keeping in mind its relevance to questions of contemporary interest. The next six chapters deal mainly with newer developments in physics, from quantum theory and general relativity to grand unified theories, and the book concludes by discussing the role of physics in living systems. A basic grounding in mathematics is required of the reader, but technicalities are avoided as far as possible; thus complex calculations are omitted so long as the essential ideas remain clear. The book is addressed to undergraduate and graduate students in physics and will also be appreciated by many professional physicists. It will likewise benbsp;of interest to students, researchers and teachers of other natural sciences, as well as to engineers, high-school teachers and the curious general reader, who will come to understand what physics is about and how it describes the different phenomena of Nature. Not only will readers of this book learn much about physics, they will also learn to love it. nbsp;
Thinking in Physics: The pleasure of reasoning and understanding (Online, SpringerLink) by
Read this book if you care about students really understanding physics and getting genuine intellectual satisfaction from doing so. Read it too if you fear that this goal is out of reach - you may be surprised! Laurence Viennot here shows ways to deal with the awkward fact that common sense thinking is often not the same as scientific thinking. She analyses examples of frequent and widespread errors and confusions, which provide a real eye-opener for the teacher. More than that, she shows ways to avoid and overcome them. The book argues against over-emphasis on "fun" applications, demonstrating that students also enjoy and value clear thinking. The book has three parts: * making sense of special scientific ways of reasoning (words, images, functions) * making connections between very different topics, each illuminating the other * simplifying, looking for consistency and avoiding incoherent over-simplification The book is enhanced with supplementary online materials that will allow readers to further expand their teaching or research interests and think about them more deeply.
Basic Concepts in Computational Physics (Online, SpringerLink) by
With the development of ever more powerful computers a new branch of physics and engineering evolved over the last few decades: Computer Simulation or Computational Physics. It serves two main purposes: - Solution of complex mathematical problems such as, differential equations, minimization/optimization, or high-dimensional sums/integrals. - Direct simulation of physical processes, as for instance, molecular dynamics or Monte-Carlo simulation of physical/chemical/technical processes. Consequently, the book is divided into two main parts: Deterministic methods and stochastic methods. Based on concrete problems, the first part discusses numerical differentiation and integration, and the treatment of ordinary differential equations. This is augmented by notes on the numerics of partial differential equations. The second part discusses the generation of random numbers, summarizes the basics of stochastics which is then followed by the introduction of various Monte-Carlo (MC) methods. Specific emphasis is on MARKOV chain MC algorithms. All this is again augmented by numerous applications from physics. The final two chapters on Data Analysis and Stochastic Optimization share the two main topics as a common denominator. The book offers a number of appendices to provide the reader with more detailed information on various topics discussed in the main part. Nevertheless, the reader should be familiar with the most important concepts of statistics and probability theory albeit two appendices have been dedicated to provide a rudimentary discussion.
A New Development at the Intersection of Nuclear Structure and Reaction Theory (Online SpringerLink) by
This book highlights a major advance in low-energy scattering theory: the Multi-Channel Algebraic Scattering (MCAS) theory, which represents an attempt to unify structure and reaction theory. It solves the Lippmann-Schwinger equations for low-energy nucleon-nucleus and alpha-nucleus scattering in momentum space, allowing both the bound and scattering states in the compound nucleus formed to be described. Results of various cases are presented and discussed.
200 More Puzzling Physics Problems (Online; Cambridge) by
Like its predecessor, 200 Puzzling Physics Problems, this book is aimed at strengthening students' grasp of the laws of physics by applying them to situations that are practical, and to problems that yield more easily to intuitive insight than to brute-force methods and complex mathematics. The problems are chosen almost exclusively from classical, non-quantum physics, but are no easier for that. They are intriguingly posed in accessible non-technical language, and require readers to select an appropriate analysis framework and decide which branches of physics are involved. The general level of sophistication needed is that of the exceptional school student, the good undergraduate, or the competent graduate student; some physics professors may find some of the more difficult questions challenging. By contrast, the mathematical demands are relatively minimal, and seldom go beyond elementary calculus. This further book of physics problems is not only instructive and challenging, but also enjoyable.
Laboratory Experiments in Physics for Modern Astronomy (Online, SpringerLink) by
This book presents experiments which will teach physics relevant to astronomy. The astronomer, as instructor, frequently faces this need when his college or university has no astronomy department and any astronomy course is taught in the physics department. The physicist, as instructor, will find this intellectually appealing when faced with teaching an introductory astronomy course. From these experiments, the student will acquire important analytical tools, learn physics appropriate to astronomy, and experience instrument calibration and the direct gathering and analysis of data. Experiments that can be performed in one laboratory session as well as semester-long observation projects are included.