Depend on your topic, you can select as many of these databases to search for relevant documents
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
INSPEC (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCreated by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
MathSciNet (EbscoHost)MathSciNet® is an electronic publication of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Continuing in the tradition of the paper publication, Mathematical Reviews (MR), which was first published in 1940, expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature; over 40,000 reviews are added to the database each year
Economic & Country Profiles Databases
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
EasyData (Quantec) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowRegister your own Username and Password.
South African economic and other financial statistics (products, imports, exports, etc); global macroeconomic, industry and trade data
Coverage: 2000 to the present
Full text – comprehensive numeric data sets
GlobalData (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowInternational business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics. Coverage varies. Full Text
Marketline (see GlobalData)International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics.
Coverage varies.
Full Text
OECD iLibrary (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOrganisation for Economic Co-operation & Development.
Scholarly journals, working papers, multilingual summaries, e-books, statistical databases and MS Excel tables focusing on economic and social issues
Coverage: 1998 to the present
Full text
ProQuest Business Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowBased on ABI/INFORM Complete, includes speciality business subject resources:
More than 6,800 Journals, Dissertations, Conference proceedings, Working papers, Trade publications, Industry reports, Key periodicals (Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times, Economist).
Coverage: 1923 - Present.
Statista (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowStatistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics, Reports, Infographics, Services & Global Consumer Survey
Coverage: Latest
Format: Online Reports, Tables, Lists
Who owns whom (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSouth African industry reports and company profiles
Coverage: 1980s to the present
Latest and historical annual reports from 2003 to the present
Includes the latest edition of Who owns Whom in South Africa
Full text
World Bank E-Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1970 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text (no full text to e-books)
World Competitiveness Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowInformation on the competitiveness of nations since 1989. Country analysis and cross-country comparisons re economy, government, business and infrastructure
Coverage: Last 13 years
Full text
Yearbook of International Associations (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowDetailed international (active and dormant) organization profiles. No coverage of for-profit-organizations.
Coverage: 1997 to present. Full text.
Extensively links organization profiles to:
– Organizations’ own websites
– Other UIA subscription databases – incl. International Congress Calendar
– Free UIA databases: Encyclopaedia of World Problems and Human Potential IGO Search – through intergovernmental organization websites
Logotypes of International Organizations
Transnational Associations Online – UIA journal archive
Automatic translation in 58 languages – also in Afrikaans
Multidisciplinary Full-Text Databases
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOver 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas
Coverage: 1700 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCitation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
IEEE Xplore (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncludes content published by IEEE (USA) and IET (UK).
UJ’s subscription includes access to:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines
IEEE conference proceedings
IET journals
IET conference proceedings
IEEE published standards
IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
Abstracts, full text. Coverage: 1988 to the present
Journal Citation Reports (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 11,000 journals in the areas of science and technology as well as the social sciences.
Format: Full text and abstracts
Coverage varies according to content
JSTOR (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences
Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
MathSciNet (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAmerican Mathematical Society. Access to mathematical sciences literature including:
· reviews written by experts
· bibliographic listings dating back to the early 1800s
· links to articles, journals, and publishers
· linked reference lists
· citation information on articles, books, and journals
Covers Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present - Bibliographic with abstracts. Also covers older full text AMS (American Mathematical Society) e-textbooks and in some cases also accompanying material, e.g.: solutions manuals, etc.
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
Mobile application
Scopus (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Mostly full-text
Science magazine (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowInternational weekly science journal, with the major focus on important original scientific research, research reviews, global news, and commentary.
Coverage: 1880 to present; Bibliographic and abstracts (Classic Science) from 1880 to 1996); Full text available from 1997 to present.
Can also search on other AAAS products e.g. SAGE KE (Science of Aging Knowledge Environment) (2001 – 2006) - full text; Science Signalling (1997 to present) – partly full text; All High Wire Journals – partly full text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
15 Open access journal titles are available on this database.
Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation)
Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+
Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
