EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers.
UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Access Engineering (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Britannica E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowBritannica eBooks cover the entire curriculum, from language arts, math, science and social studies, to sports, music, art, and many other subjects, including Spanish and bilingual titles.
Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
Knovel (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Encyclopedia of Actuarial Science (Online; Wiley) by Jozef L. Teugels (Editor); Bjø Sundt (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Actuarial Science presents a timely and comprehensive body of knowledge designed to serve as an essential reference for the actuarial profession and all related business and financial activities, as well as researchers and students in actuarial science and related areas. Drawing on the experience of leading international editors and authors from industry and academic research the encyclopedia provides an authoritative exposition of both quantitative methods and practical aspects of actuarial science and insurance. The cross-disciplinary nature of the work is reflected not only in its coverage of key concepts from business, economics, risk, probability theory and statistics but also by the inclusion of supporting topics such as demography, genetics, operations research and informatics.
Publication Date: 2007
Predictive Modeling Applications in Actuarial Science: Volume 1, Predictive Modeling Techniques by Edward W. Frees (Editor); Richard A. Derrig (Editor); Glenn Meyers (Editor)Predictive modeling involves the use of data to forecast future events. It relies on capturing relationships between explanatory variables and the predicted variables from past occurrences and exploiting this to predict future outcomes. Forecasting future financial events is a core actuarial skill - actuaries routinely apply predictive-modeling techniques in insurance and other risk-management applications. This book is for actuaries and other financial analysts who are developing their expertise in statistics and wish to become familiar with concrete examples of predictive modeling. The book also addresses the needs of more seasoned practising analysts who would like an overview of advanced statistical topics that are particularly relevant in actuarial practice. Predictive Modeling Applications in Actuarial Science emphasizes lifelong learning by developing tools in an insurance context, providing the relevant actuarial applications, and introducing advanced statistical techniques that can be used by analysts to gain a competitive advantage in situations with complex data.
Statistics II for Dummies by Deborah RumseyThe ideal supplement and study guide for students preparing for advanced statistics Packed with fresh and practical examples appropriate for a range of degree-seeking students, Statistics II For Dummies helps any reader succeed in an upper-level statistics course. It picks up with data analysis where Statistics For Dummies left off, featuring new and updated examples, real-world applications, and test-taking strategies for success. This easy-to-understand guide covers such key topics as sorting and testing models, using regression to make predictions, performing variance analysis (ANOVA), drawing test conclusions with chi-squares, and making comparisons with the Rank Sum Test.
Publication Date: 2009
Statistics Online Books
Time Series Analysis and Its Applications (Online; SpringerLink) by Robert H. Shumway; David STOFFERThe fourth edition of this popular graduate textbook, like its predecessors, presents a balanced and comprehensive treatment of both time and frequency domain methods with accompanying theory. Numerous examples using nontrivial data illustrate solutions to problems such as discovering natural and anthropogenic climate change, evaluating pain perception experiments using functional magnetic resonance imaging, and monitoring a nuclear test ban treaty. The book is designed as a textbook for graduate level students in the physical, biological, and social sciences and as a graduate level text in statistics. Some parts may also serve as an undergraduate introductory course. Theory and methodology are separated to allow presentations on different levels. In addition to coverage of classical methods of time series regression, ARIMA models, spectral analysis and state-space models, the text includes modern developments including categorical time series analysis, multivariate spectral methods, long memory series, nonlinear models, resampling techniques, GARCH models, ARMAX models, stochastic volatility, wavelets, and Markov chain Monte Carlo integration methods. This edition includes R code for each numerical example in addition to Appendix R, which provides a reference for the data sets and R scripts used in the text in addition to a tutorial on basic R commands and R time series. An additional file is available on the book's website for download, making all the data sets and scripts easy to load into R.
Publication Date: 2017
Statistics Online Books
Modern Mathematical Statistics with Applications (Online; Springer) by Jay L. Devore; Kenneth N. Berk; Matt A. CarltonThis 3rd edition of Modern Mathematical Statistics with Applications tries to strike a balance between mathematical foundations and statistical practice. The book provides a clear and current exposition of statistical concepts and methodology, including many examples and exercises based on real data gleaned from publicly available sources. Here is a small but representative selection of scenarios for our examples and exercises based on information in recent articles: Use of the "Big Mac index" by the publication The Economist as a humorous way to compare product costs across nations Visualizing how the concentration of lead levels in cartridges varies for each of five brands of e-cigarettes Describing the distribution of grip size among surgeons and how it impacts their ability to use a particular brand of surgical stapler Estimating the true average odometer reading of used Porsche Boxsters listed for sale on www.cars.com Comparing head acceleration after impact when wearing a football helmet with acceleration without a helmet Investigating the relationship between body mass index and foot load while running The main focus of the book is on presenting and illustrating methods of inferential statistics used by investigators in a wide variety of disciplines, from actuarial science all the way to zoology. It begins with a chapter on descriptive statistics that immediately exposes the reader to the analysis of real data. The next six chapters develop the probability material that facilitates the transition from simply describing data to drawing formal conclusions based on inferential methodology. Point estimation, the use of statistical intervals, and hypothesis testing are the topics of the first three inferential chapters. The remainder of the book explores the use of these methods in a variety of more complex settings.This edition includes many new examples and exercises as well as an introduction to the simulation of events and probability distributions. There are more than 1300 exercises in the book, ranging from very straightforward to reasonably challenging. Many sections have been rewritten with the goal of streamlining and providing a more accessible exposition. Output from the most common statistical software packages is included wherever appropriate (a feature absent from virtually all other mathematical statistics textbooks). The authors hope that their enthusiasm for the theory and applicability of statistics to real world problems will encourage students to pursue more training in the discipline.
Mathematical Statistics (Online; Springer) by Johann PfanzaglThis book presents a detailed description of the development of statistical theory. In the mid twentieth century, the development of mathematical statistics underwent an enduring change, due to the advent of more refined mathematical tools. New concepts like sufficiency, superefficiency, adaptivity etc. motivated scholars to reflect upon the interpretation of mathematical concepts in terms of their real-world relevance. Questions concerning the optimality of estimators, for instance, had remained unanswered for decades, because a meaningful concept of optimality (based on the regularity of the estimators, the representation of their limit distribution and assertions about their concentration by means of Anderson's Theorem) was not yet available. The rapidly developing asymptotic theory provided approximate answers to questions for which non-asymptotic theory had found no satisfying solutions. In four engaging essays, this book presents a detailed description of how the use of mathematical methods stimulated the development of a statistical theory. Primarily focused on methodology, questionable proofs and neglected questions of priority, the book offers an intriguing resource for researchers in theoretical statistics, and can also serve as a textbook for advanced courses in statisticc.