EbscoHost Bibliographic Databases (with links to full-text):
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
Biological and Agricultural Index (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowArticles, review articles, book reviews, reports, and special supplements on Agriculture, Biochemistry, Biology, Botany, Ecology, Zoology, Environment, Soil Science, Plant Pathology, etc.
Coverage: 1983 to present
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
E-Journals (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of databases which provides access to electronic journals across all subject areas
Format: Mostly Full text. Coverage varies according to content.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowConsumer health information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Coverage: 1986 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Mostly full text
MEDLINE (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine.
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Included are also citations from 9 authoritative medical indexes
Coverage from 1949 to present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text
Additional Bibliographic Databases:
Biological Science: ProQuestThis interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents
CABI Databases (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific resources within the applied life sciences.
UJs subscription includes bibliographic and partly full text access to the following specialized CABI databases:
Aromatic & Medicinal Plants
Plant Growth Regulators
and free full text access to:
Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria
Full Text Select (journal articles some in foreign languages with abstracts in English)
Coverage: 1910 to the present
Bibliographic with abstracts
Partly full text
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCitation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
Scopus (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Additional BioMedical Resources
Gale Academic Onefile (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowPhysical sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social sciences, Arts, Theology, Literature and other subjects
Coverage: 1980 to the present
BioMed CentralA pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome
PubMedPubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Annual Reviews (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of articles and chapters that critically analyse significant primary research and recent developments in a wide variety of subject areas. It provides reviews of topics and can be used to identify key writers in the field.
Format: Mostly full text
BioOne Complete (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowBioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowOver 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas
Coverage: 1700 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
JSTOR (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences
Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes:
RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text
RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files.
ChemSpider: Free chemical database
No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
Science magazine (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowInternational weekly science journal, with the major focus on important original scientific research, research reviews, global news, and commentary.
Coverage: 1880 to present; Bibliographic and abstracts (Classic Science) from 1880 to 1996); Full text available from 1997 to present.
Can also search on other AAAS products e.g. SAGE KE (Science of Aging Knowledge Environment) (2001 – 2006) - full text; Science Signalling (1997 to present) – partly full text; All High Wire Journals – partly full text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
15 Open access journal titles are available on this database.
Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation)
Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+
Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols