EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers.
UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Access Engineering (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Britannica E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowBritannica eBooks cover the entire curriculum, from language arts, math, science and social studies, to sports, music, art, and many other subjects, including Spanish and bilingual titles.
Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
Knovel (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes:
RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text
RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files.
ChemSpider: Free chemical database
No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Biochemistry for Dummies (Online, ProQuest) by John T. Moore; Richard H. Langley; MooreGrasp biochemistry basics, apply the science, and ace your exams Are you baffled by biochemistry? If so here's the good news ? you don't have to stay that way! Biochemistry For Dummies shows you how to get a handle on biochemistry, apply the science, raise your grades, and prepare yourself to ace any standardized test. This friendly, unintimidating guide presents an overview of the material covered in a typical college-level biochemistry course and makes the subject easy to understand and accessible to everyone. From cell ultrastructure and carbohydrates to amino acids, proteins, and supramolecular structure, you'll identify biochemical structures and reactions, and send your grades soaring. Newest biology, biochemistry, chemistry, and scientific discoveries Updated examples and explanations Incorporates the most current teaching techniques From water biochemistry to protein synthesis, Biochemistry For Dummies gives you the vital information, clear explanations, and important insights you need to increase your understanding and improve your performance on any biochemistry test.
Biochemistry of Lipids, Lipoproteins and Membranes by Neale Ridgway (Editor); Roger McLeod (Editor)Biochemistry of Lipids, Lipoproteins and Membranes, Seventh Edition serves as a comprehensive, general reference book for scientists and students studying lipids, lipoproteins and membranes. Here, across 19 chapters, leaders in the field summarize fundamental concepts, recent research developments, data analysis, and implications for human disease and intervention. Topics discussed include lipid biology in both prokaryotes and eukaryotes, fatty acid synthesis, desaturation and elongation, and pathways leading to synthesis of complex phospholipids, sphingolipids and their structural variants. Chapters also examine how bioactive lipids are involved in cell signaling, with an emphasis on disease implications and pathological consequences. As the field advances, each chapter in this new edition has been fully revised to address emerging topics, with all-new coverage of lipid droplets and their role as regulatory organelles for energy homeostasis, as well as their relationship to obesity, liver disease and diabetes. Evolving research in fatty acid handling and storage in eukaryotes is also discussed in-depth, with new sections addressing fatty acid uptake, activation and lipolysis.
Publication Date: 2021
Essentials of Biochemistry (Print + Online SpringerLink) by Herbert J. Fromm; Mark HargroveThis textbook, Essentials of Biochemistry is aimed at chemistry and biochemistry undergraduate students and first year biochemistry graduate students. It incorporates the lectures of the authors given to students with a strong chemistry background. An emphasis is placed on metabolism and reaction mechanisms and how they are studied. As the title of the book implies, the text lays the basis for an understanding of the fundamentals of biochemistry.
Publication Date: 2011
Latest Biochemistry Online Books
Basic Concepts in Clinical Biochemistry: a Practical Guide (Online; SpringerLink) by Vijay Kumar; Kiran Dip GillThis book is a practical guidebook in biochemistry, for medical as well as life sciences' students. The book covers reference values, sample collection procedure and detailed protocol to perform experiments. Each experiment starts with a brief introduction of the protocol, followed by specimen requirements and procedure. The procedures are presented in a very lucid manner and discuss details of calculations and clinical interpretations,The book is divided into 29 chapters, It offers references, general guidelines and abbreviations and provides principles and procedures of clinical biochemistry tests, along with their diagnostic importance.
Publication Date: 2018
Proteins: Biochemistry and Biotechnology (Print + Online, Wiley) by Gary WalshProteins Biochemistry and Biotechnology 2e is a definitive source of information for all those interested in protein science, and particularly the commercial production and isolation of specific proteins, and their subsequent utilization for applied purposes in industry and medicine. Fully updated throughout withnbsp; new or fundamentally revised sectionsnbsp; on proteomics as, bioinformatics, protein glycosylation andnbsp; engineering,nbsp; well as sections detailing advances in upstream processing andnbsp; newer proteinnbsp; applications such as enzyme-based biofuel productionnbsp; this new edition has an increased focus on biochemistry to ensure the balance between biochemisty and biotechnology, enhanced with numerous case studies. This second edition is an invaluable text for undergraduates of biochemistry and biotechnology but will also be relevant to students of microbiology, molecular biology, bioinformatics and any branch of the biomedical sciences who require a broad overview of the various medical, diagnostic and industrial uses of proteins. * Provides a comprehensive overview of all aspects of protein biochemisty and protein biotechnology * Includes numerous case studies * Increased focus on protein biochemistry to ensure balance between biochemisty and biotechnology * Includes new section focusing on proteomics as well as sections detailing protein function and enzyme-based biofuel production "With the potential of a standard reference source on the topic, any molecular biotechnologist will profit greatly from having this excellent book. " (Engineering in Life Sciences, 2004; Vol 5; No. 5) "Few texts would be considered competitors, and none compare favorably." (Biochemistry and Molecular Education, July/August 2002) "...The book is well written, making it informative and easy to read..." (The Biochemist, June 2002)
Handbook of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biology (Online, ProQuest) by Ludmila N. Shishkina; Gennadii Efremovich Zaikov;The majority of chapters in this book were written by scientists of N. M. Emanuel Institute of Biochemical Physics (IBChPh) of Russian Academy of Sciences. Prof. N. M. Emanuel was one of the founders of biochemical physics -- a part of natural science. This science borders on the line of physics, chemistry and biology with integration of mathematics and with practical applications in medicine and agriculture. The book is devoted to these topics. The time has come to show the scientific community world-wide what Russian scientists have recently done in this area. Six chapters of this volume have information about hydrogels in endovascular embolisation. Special attention devoted to synthesis and properties of spherical particles (SP) of hydrogels and their medico-biological properties, clinical use of SP, radiopaque SP and their preparation and properties, morphological foundation of hydrogels use for vascular occlusion, antitumor agents methotrexate-containing poly(HEMA)-hydrogels and poly(HEMA) with intensified haemostatic activity as a new embolic materials. The volume has very important information about pharmacological premises of the creation of new antitumor preparations of the class of nitrosoalkylurea and investigation of new mechanism of E.coli resistance to alkylation damages induced by NO-donation agent -- a "Quasi-adaptive response". It also includes information about biological activity of different enzymes in process of oxidation in vivo and in vitro, investigation of the properties of lipids in plants and in animals. Some chapters deal with pharmacological criterions for new antitumor drugs, using of Tocopherols as bioantioxidants in vitro and in vivo, creation of new equipment for chemical engineering, investigation of enzyme reactions, thermodegradation and combustion of polymers and polymer composites, formation of char during of combustion, molecular design and reactivity of some chemical compounds, problems of pethrochemistry, preparation and modification of microparticles, investigation of antioxidants in food products, chemistry of rubber and formation of carbon nanostructures. Several chapters include very important information about application of electron spin resonance techniques for investigation of chemical and biochemical reactions.
Call Number: 572 HAND, Level 4
Publication Date: 2009
Handbook of RNA Biochemistry (Online; ProQuest) by Roland K. Hartmann (Editor); Albrecht Bindereif (Editor); Astrid Schön (Editor); Eric Westhof (Editor)The second edition of a highly acclaimed handbook and ready reference. Unmatched in its breadth and quality, around 100 specialists from all over the world share their up-to-date expertise and experiences, including hundreds of protocols, complete with explanations, and hitherto unpublished troubleshooting hints. They cover all modern techniques for the handling, analysis and modification of RNAs and their complexes with proteins. Throughout, they bear the practising bench scientist in mind, providing quick and reliable access to a plethora of solutions for practical questions of RNA research, ranging from simple to highly complex. This broad scope allows the treatment of specialized methods side by side with basic biochemical techniques, making the book a real treasure trove for every researcher experimenting with RNA.