Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Specific Databases
ERIC (Education Resources Information Centre) This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and Educational Reports in all fields of Education.
Bibliographic and Full-text.
Coverage: 1966 to the present day.
Teacher Reference Centre (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. It covers the fields of Assessment, Continuing Education, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Bibliographic and Abstracts.
Education Source (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowSpans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Databases included in Education Source are:
- Education Abstracts (HW Wilson)
- Education Index and Index Retrospective (HW Wilson)
- Education Full Text (HW Wilson)
Access World News (via Newsbank) (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Global news which includes the following collections: World,
South African Titles, Mail & Guardian (Johannesburg, South Africa), America's News Magazines,
Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985), Apartheid: Global Perspectives (1946-1996),
FBIS Daily Reports (1974-1996) Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa,
African Newspapers Series 1-2 (1800-1922) (World Newspaper Archive)
Coverage: Varied until the present day
African Newspapers, 1800+ (Readex) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 60 searchable African newspapers, features English and other language titles and covers the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples from 1800+. Some of the SA newspapers included are:
Business day- 1997-
Daily dispatch - 2004-
The Herald- 2002-
The Times- (2007-2017)
Weekend Post- 2002
Newspaper Source (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover full text of U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts
Mostly full text
SA Media This link opens in a new window Please note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers
Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards.
Gale Academic Onefile (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowPhysical sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social sciences, Arts, Theology, Literature and other subjects
Coverage: 1980 to the present
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Brill Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowCovers humanities, social sciences and international law
Coverage: varies per collection
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas
Coverage: 1700 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
De Gruyter Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals
Coverage: varies per collection
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowCitation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences
Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Palgrave MacMillan Journals Online This link opens in a new windowThis is a publisher’s database with access to more than 70 peer-reviewed journals published by the group
Current year of content (e.g. 2016) plus a 4 year rolling archive
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas.
Coverage: 1879 to present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
15 Open access journal titles are available on this database.
Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation)
Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+
Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
South African content
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Including the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa.
Coverage: 2000 to the present.
SABINET (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Exclusively contains South African and African publications or articles.
Format: Full text