Science: Faculty LibGuide - Science - Chemistry - LibGuides at University of Johannesburg

Sciences Subject LibGuides

Innovative Learning Hub
Lean Library (Plug-in Browser instructions)
Mendeley Citation Manager
Postgraduates Support
Research Navigator Your preliminary source of information and guidance as you begin or continue with your research journey.
Research Support
Technology & 4IR
Open Access Publishing Agreements

UJ Library VIDEO Resources

Acland's Anatomy (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy contains nearly 330 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colours
Kanopy (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Movies & Documentaries for film lovers covering multiple subject fields including Business, Arts, Film & popular, Education , Global Studies etc

Electonic Book Collections & Databases

Aggregators Online Book Platforms:

ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers. UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of electronic books on a variety of topics. Format: Full text. Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
VLeBooks (Askews and Holts Library services) OpenAccess (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Overdrive (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Overdrive contains a large collection of electronic and audiobooks for leisure reading. Selected titles purchased. ePUB & MP3 format

Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:

Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
Access Biomedical Science This link opens in a new window • Online Editions of Leading References – Instantly connect and receive updates ahead of print on key texts such as Principles of Neural Science, Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Cassarett & Doull’s Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons, and more. • Exclusive Online Editions of Core Texts • Q&A Review – Q&A on a variety of the top specialties included, now gathered in one convenient place to help students review.
Access Engineering (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window E-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc. Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Access Science (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Online reference tool that provides easy access to authoritative information in all major areas of science and technology. Combines the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology, and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Access Science includes articles, research reviews, definitions, biographies, downloadable images, embeddable animations, videos and curriculum maps.

CABI Online Books

Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences. Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
Cambridge Higher Education Platform (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Cambridge multidisciplinary Textbooks
Combined Chemical Dictionary (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A chemical database containing over 500,000 substances which are formerly available from the following products: ◾Dictionary of Analytical Reagents ◾Dictionary of Carbohydrates ◾Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds ◾Dictionary of Natural Products ◾Dictionary of Organic Compounds ◾Dictionary of Drugs (formerly PharmaSource) Includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.
Dictionary of Natural Products (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window The Chapman & Hall/CRC Chemical Database is a structured database holding information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. The Dictionary of Natural Products Online is a subset of this database and includes all compounds contained in the Dictionary of Natural Products (Main Work and Supplements).
GeoScience World (GSW) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive Internet resource for research across the geosciences, built on a database of peer-reviewed journals and integrated with GeoRef.
Encyclopedia of Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window This e-Encyclopaedia provides easily accessible information about Earth and Environmental Science, including subjects as: · Earth Sciences · Geophysics and Geodesy · Geology · Statistics for Engineering · Physics · Computer Science · Chemistry and Geosciences Full text
International Encyclopaedia of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development. Scholarly journals, working papers, multilingual summaries, e-books, statistical databases and MS Excel tables focusing on economic and social issues Coverage: 1998 to the present Full text
Oxford English Dictionary (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Online Oxford English Dictionary
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes: RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files. ChemSpider: Free chemical database No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
Taylor and Francis ebooks (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas: - Physical Sciences & Engineering - Life Sciences - Health Sciences - Social Sciences & Humanities Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present Full text available from 1995 to present No full text available to e-book chapters Mobile application
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Knovel (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Engineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems. Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes. Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
World Bank E-Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1970 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text (no full text to e-books)
World Scientific (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Mostly full-text

ChatBot

A-to-Z Databases

A-to-Z Science Databases

Quick access to the Top Science related Databases:

A-to-Z Journal List (Full Text Finder) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Access World News (via Newsbank) (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Global news which includes the following collections: World,South African Titles, Mail & Guardian (Johannesburg, South Africa), America's News Magazines,Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985), Apartheid: Global Perspectives (1946-1996), FBIS Daily Reports (1974-1996) Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa, African Newspapers Series 1-2 (1800-1922) (World Newspaper Archive)Coverage: Varied until the present dayFull Text
ACMDL (Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and newsletters on computer science and information technology Coverage: 1948 to the present ACM publications: Full text Other publisher’s content: Bibliographic
ACS Publications (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window on campus access only. American Chemical Society Publications
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Including the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum) Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa. Mainly a bibliographic database Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day Bibliographic or Abstracts
AIPJournals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window AIP Publishing’s portfolio comprises 19 highly regarded, peer-reviewed journals, including the flagship journals Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics, and The Journal of Chemical Physics, in addition to the AIP Conference Proceedings.
AIS eLibrary (Associaton for Information Systems) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A central repository for research papers and journal articles from the information systems academic community. Coverage: 2000 to the present. Fulltext
AMED (Alternative Medicine) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window European scope of alternative medicine, treatments and complementary medicine Coverage 1995+ Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text
Annual Reviews (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of articles and chapters that critically analyse significant primary research and recent developments in a wide variety of subject areas. It provides reviews of topics and can be used to identify key writers in the field. Format: Mostly full text Holdings: 1996-current
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window On trial until 31 December 2022
APSnet (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Innovative plant pathology research, and a diversity of online resources, e.g. journals, news, networks, research reports.
APS Prola (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window American Physics Society Physical Review Online Archive Full text coverage including archive from vol. 1 to present
Biological and Agricultural Index (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Articles, review articles, book reviews, reports, and special supplements on Agriculture, Biochemistry, Biology, Botany, Ecology, Zoology, Environment, Soil Science, Plant Pathology, etc. Coverage: 1983 to present Bibliographic
BioOne Complete (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences
Brill Climate Change & Law Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive collection of climate change and law documents contains original source, non-edited and non-redacted “grey literature” (non-peer reviewed) in English, centered on climate change and the law.
BSI.BSOL Standards Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window BSOL Standards
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
CAB Abstracts (Access via Open Athens - please use Staff Windows/Student ULink logins to access) This link opens in a new window Access via Open Athens - please use Staff Windows/Student ULink logins to access.
CABI Databases (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific resources within the applied life sciences. UJs subscription includes bibliographic and partly full text access to the following specialized CABI databases: Aromatic & Medicinal Plants Crop Physiology Helminthology Horticultural Science Ornamental Horticulture Plant Growth Regulators Plant Pathology Postharvest Research Rural Development and free full text access to: Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria Full Text Select (journal articles some in foreign languages with abstracts in English) Coverage: 1910 to the present Bibliographic with abstracts Partly full text
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
CellPress (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Citation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references. Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
Compendex (via Engineering Village) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Compendex is the most authoritative database of abstracted and indexed literature in engineering and the applied physical sciences. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mining Engineering, Chemical Engineering. Content: Includes over 3600 journals,100 conference proceedings and trade magazines indexed annually.
Computer Database (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. Includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
De Gruyter Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals Coverage: varies per collection Full text
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Elsevier Open Access This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Access to the COMPENDEX and INSPEC literature citation databases covering all engineering disciplines and related subjects. EV2 includes different information resources: Compendex: Coverage: 1884 to the present; abstracts Inspec: Coverage: 1896 to the present; abstracts Referex: E-books and engineering reference material on: Electrical Engineering and Electronics Mechanical Engineering and Materials Coverage: 1987 to the present; full text Espacenet: (Open access) Coverage: 1996 to the present; full text patents. IHS Standards: (Open access) Bibliographic citations of technical standards.
ETD - UJ Electronic Thesis & Dissertation Database This link opens in a new window UJ Electronic theses & dissertations Coverage: 2000 to present Full text with abstracts
FSTA - Food Science & Technology Abstracts (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic Onefile (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Physical sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social sciences, Arts, Theology, Literature and other subjects Coverage: 1980 to the present Full text
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Answers inquiries about environmental concerns
GEORef (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
GeoScience World (GSW) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive Internet resource for research across the geosciences, built on a database of peer-reviewed journals and integrated with GeoRef.
GreenFILE (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Coverage: Varies according to title Format: Abstracts and full text
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Tourism and hospitality Coverage: 1965 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text with some embargoes for the current two years
IEEE Xplore (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Includes content published by IEEE (USA) and IET (UK). UJ’s subscription includes access to: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines IEEE conference proceedings IET journals IET conference proceedings IEEE published standards IEEE Standards Dictionary Online Abstracts, full text. Coverage: 1988 to the present
INSPEC (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
IOPScience (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window IOPscience is a platform for IOP-hosted journal content and covers scientific, technical and medical content. Archive and current journals full text Embargoes on some journals: 1-2 years Bibliographic with abstracts
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. JoVE Biology welcomes all general biology research methodologies. Includes, but is not limited to, techniques in physical biology, cellular biochemistry, genetics, physiology, systems biology and a combination of eukaryotic and prokaryotic model systems.
JoVE Science Education (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Educators and students use our innovative video collections to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques at the undergraduate course level. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Knovel (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Engineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems. Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes. Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
MasterFILE Premier (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window General reference publications including journals, e-books, primary source documents and images Coverage: 1975 to the present Abstracts Mostly full text
MathSciNet (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window American Mathematical Society. Access to mathematical sciences literature including: · reviews written by experts · bibliographic listings dating back to the early 1800s · links to articles, journals, and publishers · linked reference lists · citation information on articles, books, and journals Covers Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present - Bibliographic with abstracts. Also covers older full text AMS (American Mathematical Society) e-textbooks and in some cases also accompanying material, e.g.: solutions manuals, etc.
MEDLINE (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window National Library of Medicine. Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Included are also citations from 9 authoritative medical indexes Coverage from 1949 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text
Mendeley Institutional Edition This link opens in a new window A reference management tool that enables you to manage your research. Mendeley easily allows you to generate citations and/or bibliographies as you write.
Nature (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
OECD Statistics (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development) statistics across multiple subject fields.
Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Oxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences Coverage: 1996+ Full Text
Parasitology (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers parasitology in its broadest sense, encompassing helminthology, protozoology, medical and veterinary entomology and mycology Coverage: 1973 to the present Bibliographic with abstracts Partly full text
PressReader (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window The world’s largest online newspaper website, providing access to over 2 200 international, national and regional newspapers and magazines from 97 countries in 54 languages in full colour, full page format. Coverage: Current news (up to 90 days back issues available) Full text.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997 along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
ProQuest Central (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that provides information on all subject areas. Format: Full text Coverage varies according to content
Reaxys (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
RefWorks (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A research tool that helps to create bibliographies and/or format papers with in-text citations and a bibliography in the style of your choice.
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes: RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files. ChemSpider: Free chemical database No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
SABINET (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Exclusively contains South African and African publications or articles. Format: Full text
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas. Coverage: 1879 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
Sage Research Methods online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window SRMO allows researchers to explore various research methods. Links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools e.g.: · Methods maps (a visual search tool) · SMRO Lists (data analysis, research design, etc.) · Web resources (Statistical software, research ethics, etc.) Full text Try the mobile version
SAIRR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African Institute of Race Relations Research, statistical data, policy critiques, forecasts and risk analysis on South Africa’s household issues Includes the annual South African Survey Full text
Science magazine (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International weekly science journal, with the major focus on important original scientific research, research reviews, global news, and commentary. Coverage: 1880 to present; Bibliographic and abstracts (Classic Science) from 1880 to 1996); Full text available from 1997 to present. Can also search on other AAAS products e.g. SAGE KE (Science of Aging Knowledge Environment) (2001 – 2006) - full text; Science Signalling (1997 to present) – partly full text; All High Wire Journals – partly full text
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas: - Physical Sciences & Engineering - Life Sciences - Health Sciences - Social Sciences & Humanities Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present Full text available from 1995 to present No full text available to e-book chapters Mobile application
SciFinder: CAS (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window OpenAthens (Previously known as Chemical Abstracts, Refer to “C” for CAS SciFinder, CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulus)
First time users please register here. This will provide you with the Username and Password required to log in.
Registration problems? Contact Pavlinka Kovatcheva: 011 559-2621
Scopus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Statista (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics, Reports, Infographics, Services & Global Consumer Survey Coverage: Latest Format: Online Reports, Tables, Lists
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Thieme Chemistry Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Thieme chemistry journals collection
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols
World Scientific (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Mostly full-text

Science - Chemistry: Science: Faculty LibGuide

UJLink: Library Catalogue

Sciences Subject LibGuides

UJ Library VIDEO Resources

Electonic Book Collections & Databases

ChatBot

A-to-Z Databases

A-to-Z Science Databases