Handbook on Geographies of Technology by
This Handbook offers an insightful and comprehensive overview from a geographic perspective of the numerous and varied technologies that are shaping the contemporary world. It shows how geography and technology are intimately linked by examining the origins, growth, and impacts of 27 different technologies and highlighting how they influence the structure and spatiality of society. Following summaries of important conceptual issues such as diffusion, gender and science studies, the book explores various technologies, which are grouped into six main categories: * Computational: code, location-based services and virtual reality* Communications: fiber optics, satellites, the internet, radio, cell phones and television* Transportation: automobiles, aviation, drones, railroads, and shipping and ports* Energy: biofuels, dams, fracking, geothermal energy, pipelines, solar energy and LEED buildings* Manufacturing: robotics, just-in-time systems and nanotechnology* Life sciences: new technologies of health care, biotechnology and biometrics. Significantly, the book includes in-depth explorations of new technologies that have so far received very little attention from geographers. This much-needed Handbook offers a comprehensive and state-of-the-art summary of the geographies of major technologies and how they affect society, economies, geographies and everyday life. It will appeal to academics and advanced students interested in geography, planning and the social sciences in general.
Global Shift: mapping the changing contours of the world economy by
The definitive text on globalization, this book provides an accessible, jargon-free analysis of how the world economy works and its effects on people and places. Peter Dicken synthesizes the latest ideas and empirical data to blaze a clear path through the thicket of globalization processes and debates. The book highlights the dynamic interactions among transnational corporations, nations, and other key players, and their role in shaping the uneven contours of development. Mapping the changing centers of gravity of the global economy, Dicken presents in-depth case studies of six major industries. Now in full color throughout, the text features 228 figures. Companion websites for students and instructors offer extensive supplemental resources, including author videos, applied case studies with questions, lecture notes with PowerPoint slides, discipline-specific suggested further reading for each chapter, and interactive flashcards. New to This Edition: *Every chapter thoroughly revised and updated. *All 228 figures (now in color) are new or redesigned. *Addresses the ongoing fallout from the recent global financial crisis. *Discussions of timely topics: tax avoidance and corporate social responsibility; global problems of unemployment, poverty, and inequality; environmental degradation; the Eurozone crisis; and more. *Enhanced online resources for instructors and students.
Ecotourism, 4th ed. (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
Ecotourism continues to be embraced as the antithesis of mass tourism because of its promise of achieving sustainability through conservation mindedness, community development, education and learning, and the promotion of nature based activities that were sensitive to both ecological and social systems. The extent to which this promise has been realised is open to debate. Focusing on an array of economic, social and ecological inconsistencies that continue to plague ecotourism in theory and practice, the volume examines ecotourism in reference to other related forms of tourism, impacts, conservation, sustainability, education and interpretation, policy and governance, and the ethical imperative of ecotourism as these apply to the world's greenest form of tourism. Ecotourism is a growing field attracting increasing attention from students and academics. Fennell provides an authoritative and comprehensive review of the most important issues that continue to both plague ecotourism and make it one of the most dynamic sectors in the tourism industry. It covers a comprehensive range of themes and geographical regions. Building on the success of prior editions, Ecotourismhas been revised throughout to incorporate recent research and benefits from the introduction of real-life case studies and summaries of recent literature. An essential reference for those interested in Ecotourism, the book is accessible to students but retains the depth required for use by researchers and practitioners in the field. New chapters on the theory and application of animal ethics; community development in sustainable tourism; and education and learning in the field have added further value to an already very comprehensive volume. This book will be of interest to students across a range of disciplines including geography, economics, business, ethics, biology, and environmental studies. and make it one of the most dynamic sectors in the tourism industry. It covers a comprehensive range of themes and geographical regions. Building on the success of prior editions, Ecotourismhas been revised throughout to incorporate recent research and benefits from the introduction of real-life case studies and summaries of recent literature. An essential reference for those interested in Ecotourism, the book is accessible to students but retains the depth required for use by researchers and practitioners in the field. New chapters on the theory and application of animal ethics; community development in sustainable tourism; and education and learning in the field have added further value to an already very comprehensive volume. This book will be of interest to students across a range of disciplines including geography, economics, business, ethics, biology, and environmental studies.
Student's Guide to Writing Dissertations and Theses in Tourism Studies and Related Disciplines (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
Around the world every year very many students have to complete dissertations or theses as part of their undergraduate or masters studies in tourism and related subjects. Often this substantial piece of self-directed work is the culmination of their programmes. More than just a means to consolidate their final grades, it is also an exciting chance to research a topic of their choosing and a potential gateway to more advanced study as well as job offers and future career paths. Yet for all these reasons, many students view the dissertation as a tricky challenge. This comprehensive book intends to take the stress and anxiety out of doing a dissertation in tourism studies and related disciplines. The process is examined from the germination of an idea to the submission and assessment of the final document. Written primarily for students conducting independent research for the first time, this book offers simple advice and a clear framework which students can adopt even in more advanced studies at masters and doctoral level. This book debunks popular myths, and aims to overcome common pitfalls. It focuses on the aims and objectives as the DNA of every dissertation. Rather than view it as a single, overwhelming project, the dissertation is presented as a series of more modest, manageable yet crucially inter-linked tasks that all students can successfully complete through careful preparation and effective time management. Dissertations are not to be underestimated and they demand great care and attention, but they can also be immensely rewarding and enriching experiences academically and personally. This ¿jargon free¿ book is also written with overseas students specifically in mind, drawing directly on our overseas students¿ experiences. This valuable resource contains start of chapter learning objectives and end of chapter checklists, as well as numerous boxed case studies, to further help assist students through their dissertation.
Tourism and Development in the Developing World by
Tourism is widely considered to be an important factor in socio-economic development, particularly in less developed countries. However, despite almost universal recognition of tourism¿s development potential, the extent to which economic and social progress is linked to the growth of a country¿s tourism sector remains the subject of intense debate. Tourism and Development in the Developing World offers a thorough overview of the tourism-development relationship. Focusing specifically on the less developed world and drawing on contemporary case studies, this updated second edition questions widely-held assumptions on the role of tourism in development and seeks to highlight the challenges faced by destinations seeking to achieve development through tourism. The introductory chapter establishes the foundation for the book, exploring the meaning and objectives of development, reviewing theoretical perspectives on the developmental process, and assessing the reasons why less developed countries are attracted to tourism as a development option. The concept of sustainable development, as the most widely adopted contemporary model of development, is then introduced and its links with tourism critically assessed. Subsequent chapters explore the key issues associated with tourism and development, including the rise of globalization; the tourism planning and development process; the relationship between tourism and communities within which it is developed; the management implications of trends in the demand for and uptake of tourism; and an analysis of the consequences of tourism development for destination environments, economies and societies. A new chapter considers the challenges of climate change, sustainability of resource supply (oil, water and food), global economic instability, political instability and changing demographics. Finally, the issues raised throughout the book are drawn together in a concluding chapter that assesses the tourism and development ¿dilemma¿. Combining an overview of essential concepts, theories and knowledge with an analysis of contemporary issues and debates in tourism and development, this new edition will be an invaluable resource for those investigating tourism issues in developing countries. The book will be of interest to students of tourism, development, geography and area studies, international relations and politics, and sociology. ¿
The Tourist Gaze 3.0 by
The Tourist Gaze, Third Edition restructures, reworks and remakes the groundbreaking previous versions making this successful book even more relevant for tourism students, researchers and designers in the new century. The tourist gaze remains an agenda setting theory, incorporating new principles and research. Packed full of fascinating insights this new edition is fresh and contemporary, intelligently broadening its theoretical and geographical scope and providing a nuanced account which responds to various critiques.The book has been significantly revised to include up-to-date empirical data, many new case studies and fresh concepts. Three new chapters have been added which explore:- photography and digitization. embodied performances. risks and alternative futuresInnovative and informative, this book is essential reading for all involved in contemporary tourism, leisure, cultural policy, design, economic regeneration, heritage and the arts.
The cultural landscape : an introduction to human geography, 18th ed. by
Prescribed for GGR1A10
Understanding Cultural Geography: places and traces. 2nd ed. (Print + Online; EnscoHost; 3 Users access) by
Understanding Cultural Geography: Places and Traces offers a comprehensive introduction to perhaps the most exciting and challenging area of human geography. By focusing on the notion of 'place' as a key means through which culture and identity is grounded, the book showcases the broad range of theories, methods and practices used within the discipline. This book not only introduces the reader to the rich and complex history of cultural geography, but also the key terms on which the discipline is built. From these insights, the book approaches place as an 'ongoing composition of traces', highlighting the dynamic and ever-changing nature of the world around us. The second edition has been fully revised and updated to incorporate recent literature and up-to-date case studies. It also adopts a new seven section structure, and benefits from the addition of two new chapters: Place and Mobility, and Place and Language. Through its broad coverage of issues such as age, race, scale, nature, capitalism, and the body, the book provides valuable perspectives into the cultural relationships between people and place. Anderson gives critical insights into these important issues, helping us to understand and engage with the various places that make up our lives. Understanding Cultural Geographyis an ideal text for students being introduced to the discipline through either undergraduate or postgraduate degree courses. The book outlines how the theoretical ideas, empirical foci and methodological techniques of cultural geography illuminate and make sense of the places we inhabit and contribute to. This is a timely update on a highly successful text that incorporates a vast foundation of knowledge; an invaluable book for lecturers and students. rage of issues such as age, race, scale, nature, capitalism, and the body, the book provides valuable perspectives into the cultural relationships between people and place. Anderson gives critical insights into these important issues, helping us to understand and engage with the various places that make up our lives. Understanding Cultural Geographyis an ideal text for students being introduced to the discipline through either undergraduate or postgraduate degree courses. The book outlines how the theoretical ideas, empirical foci and methodological techniques of cultural geography illuminate and make sense of the places we inhabit and contribute to. This is a timely update on a highly successful text that incorporates a vast foundation of knowledge; an invaluable book for lecturers and students.
An Introduction to Contemporary Population Geographies by
An Introduction to Population Geographiesprovides a foundation to the incredibly diverse, topical and interesting field of twenty-first-century population geography. It establishes the substantive concerns of the subdiscipline, acknowledges the sheer diversity of its approaches, key concepts and theories and engages with the resulting major areas of academic debate that stem from this richness. Written in an accessible style and assuming little prior knowledge of topics covered, yet drawing on a wide range of diverse academic literature, the book's particular originality comes from its extended definition of population geography that locates it firmly within the multiple geographies of the life course. Consequently, issues such as childhood and adulthood, family dynamics, ageing, everyday mobilities, morbidity and differential ability assume a prominent place alongside the classic population geography triumvirate of births, migrations and deaths. This broader framing of the field allows the book to address more holistically aspects of lives across space often provided little attention in current textbooks. Particular note is given to how these lives are shaped though hybrid social, biological and individual arenas of differential life course experience. By engaging with traditional quantitative perspectives and newer qualitative insights, the authors engage students from the quantitative macro scale of population to the micro individual scale. Aimed at higher-level undergraduate and graduate students, this introductory text provides a well-developed pedagogy, including case studies that illustrate theory, concepts and issues. framing of the field allows the book to address more holistically aspects of lives across space often provided little attention in current textbooks. Particular note is given to how these lives are shaped though hybrid social, biological and individual arenas of differential life course experience. By engaging with traditional quantitative perspectives and newer qualitative insights, the authors engage students from the quantitative macro scale of population to the micro individual scale. Aimed at higher-level undergraduate and graduate students, this introductory text provides a well-developed pedagogy, including case studies that illustrate theory, concepts and issues.
Mobility, 2nd ed. (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
Mobility aims to take the pulse of this enormously expanded and energetic field. It explores the breadth of the disciplinary areas mobility studies now encompass, examining the diverse conceptual and methodological approaches wielded within the field, and explores the utility of mobility to illuminate a cornucopia of mobile lives: from the mass movements of individuals within global processes such as migration and tourism, to homelessness and war; from the entangled relations caught up in the movement of disease, people and aid across borders, to the inability of someone to cross over a road. The new edition explores the more sustained elaboration of mobility studies within a wide variety of disciplinary approaches and subject matters. It echoes the growing internationalization of mobility research, reflected in diverse case studies from the Global South, South Asia, Latin America, the Caribbean and so far under-represented perspectives from China, Australasia, post-socialist Eastern Europe, the Middle East and elsewhere. The book also features an additional chapter on mobility studies, to survey and explore the diverse quality of the field, and methodologies, in order to reflect the growing diversity of methodological approaches to mobilities, from walk-alongs and critical cartography to the mobile arts. The book offers an accessible reading of the way mobility has been tackled and understood, neatly exploring and summarizing a topic that has exploded into different variations and nuances. The text allows scholars and students alike to grasp the central importance of ¿mobility¿ to social, cultural, political, economic and everyday terrains by providing accessible writings on key authors within key ideas and case study boxes, suggested further readings and summaries, while at the same time making a significant contribution to scholarly writings and debates.
Feminist Spaces: gender and geography in a global context (Print + Online, ProQuest) by
Feminist Spaces introduces students and academic researchers to major themes and empirical studies in feminist geography. It examines new areas of feminist research including: embodiment, sexuality, masculinity, intersectional analysis, and environment and development. In addition to considering gender as a primary subject, this book provides a comprehensive overview of feminist geography by highlighting contemporary research conducted from a feminist framework which goes beyond the theme of gender to include issues such as social justice, activism, (dis)ability, and critical pedagogy. Through case studies, this book challenges the construction of dichotomies that tend to oversimplify categories such as developed and developing, urban and rural, and the Global North and South, without accounting for the fluid and intersecting aspects of gender, space, and place. The chapters weave theoretical and empirical material together to meet the needs of students new to feminism, as well as those with a feminist background but new to geography, through attention to basic geographical concepts in the opening chapter. The text encourages readers to think of feminist geography as addressing not only gender, but a set of methodological and theoretical perspectives applied to a range of topics and issues. A number of interactive exercises, activities, and ¿boxes¿ or case studies, illustrate concepts and supplement the text. These prompts encourage students to explore and analyze their own positionality, as well as motivate them to change and impact their surroundings. Feminist Spaces emphasizes activism and critical engagement with diverse communities to recognize this tradition in the field of feminism, as well as within the discipline of geography. Combining theory and practice as a central theme, this text will serve graduate level students as an introduction to the field of feminist geography, and will be of interest to students in related fields such as environmental studies, development, and women¿s and gender studies.
Cities and Development, 2nd ed. (Print + Online Taylor & Francis) by
For the first time in human history more people now live and towns and cities than in rural areas. In the wealthier countries of the world, the transition from predominantly rural to urban habitation is more or less complete. But in many parts of Africa, Asia and Latin America, urban populations are expanding rapidly. Current UN projections indicate that virtually all population growth in the world over the next 30 years will be absorbed by towns and cities in developing countries. These simple demographic facts have profound implications for those concerned with understanding and addressing the pressing global development challenges of reducing poverty, promoting economic growth, improving human security and confronting environmental change. This revised and expanded second edition of Cities and Development explores the dynamic relationship between urbanism and development from a global perspective. The book surveys a wide range of topics, including: the historical origins of world urbanization; the role cities play in the process of economic development; the nature of urban poverty and the challenge of promoting sustainable livelihoods; the complexities of managing urban land, housing, infrastructure and urban services; and the spectres of endemic crime, conflict and violence in urban areas. This updated volume also contains two entirely new chapters: one that examines the links between urbanisation and environmental change, and a second that focuses on urban governance and politics. Adopting a multidisciplinary perspective, the book critically engages with debates in urban studies, geography and international development studies. Each chapter includes supplements in the form of case studies, chapter summaries, questions for discussion and suggested further readings. The book is targeted at upper-level undergraduate and graduate students interested in geography, urban studies and international development studies, as well as policy makers, urban planners and development practitioners.
Global Cities and Urban Theory by
Global Cities and Urban Theory provides an innovative set of approaches to understanding some of the world′s major cities, working with concepts such as smart cities, volumetric urbanism, and critical accounting to illustrate the everyday agents and practices that place cities in the world. Donald McNeill draws on detailed discussions of major cities such as London, San Francisco, Paris and Singapore to provide a deep understanding of how urban theory can be grounded in the cultural economies of urban development. The book: Reviews the insights of key thinkers such as Bruno Latour, Mike Davis, and Jane M. Jacobs in relation to specific cities. Highlights methodological and epistemological notes on each theme. Provides case studies of nine key global cities, examined in the context of specific material and spatial practices. Essential reading for upper level students and researchers across urban studies, urban geography, urban sociology and urban policy.
The Globalizing Cities Reader (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
The newly revised Globalizing Cities Reader reflects how the geographies of theory have recently shifted away from the western vantage points from which much of the classic work in this field was developed. The expanded volume continues to make available many of the original and foundational works that underpin the research field, while expanding coverage to familiarize students with new theoretical and epistemological positions as well as emerging research foci and horizons. It contains 38 new chapters, including key writings on globalizing cities from leading thinkers such as John Friedmann, Michael Peter Smith, Saskia Sassen, Peter Taylor, Manuel Castells, Anthony King, Jennifer Robinson, Ananya Roy, and Fulong Wu. The new Reader reflects the fact that world and global city studies have evolved in exciting and wide-ranging ways, and the very notion of a distinct "global" class of cities has recently been called into question. The sections examine the foundations of the field and processes of urban restructuring and global city formation. A large number of new entries focus on the emerging urban worlds of Asia, Latin America and Africa, including Beijing, Bogota, Cairo, Cape Town, Delhi, Istanbul, Medellin, Mumbai, Phnom Penh, Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo, and Shanghai. The book also presents cases off the conventional map of global cities research, such as smaller cities and less known urban regions that are undergoing processes of globalization. The book is a key resource for students and scholars alike who seek an accessible compendium of the intellectual foundations of global urban studies as well as an overview of the emergent patterns of early 21stcentury urbanization and associated sociopolitical contestation around the world.
Key Concepts in Urban Studies by
"Key Concepts in Urban Studies is written in an accessible, concise way and introduces students to the key topics in urban studies. Drawing examples from different parts of the world, this authoritative resource exposes students to the diverse forms that cities take, and the social, spatial and temporal dimensions of urban living. It is an essential resource for students across disciplines interested in the city." - Lily Kong, Singapore Management University"An insightful multidisciplinary introduction to the multifarious places, processes and problems that constitute modern cities. Its short, digestible entries unpack the complexity and evolution of urban conditions, offering cross-references between concepts and links to key literature and to useful current and historical examples. The book's clear, often sharp critical edge also encourages deeper enquiry."- Quentin Stevens, School of Architecture and Design, RMIT University Key Concepts in Urban Studies is an essential companion for students of urban studies, urban sociology, urban politics, urban planning and urban development.This revised edition has been updated and expanded to provide a keen global focus, particularly in emerging economies with discussions on the creation of "dream cities" in the Gulf States and a renewed emphasis on building mega-scaled "downtowns" in India and China. New features include: Contemporary and international examples throughout. Detailed entries on environmental concerns and the sustainability of urban development. Discussion of the role of consumption in city culture and urban development. New entries on modern urban planning and adaptive urbanism. Key Concepts in Urban Studies is a must-have text with an explicit focus on contemporary urbanism which students will find invaluable during their studies.Mark Gottdiener is Professor Emeritus of Sociology at The University at Buffalo (SUNY). Leslie Budd is Reader in Social Science at the Open University. Panu Lehtovuori is Professor of Planning Theory at Tampere University of Technology.
Key Thinkers on the City by
Key Thinkers on Cities provides an engaging introduction to the dynamic intellectual field of urban studies. It profiles the work of 40 innovative thinkers who represent the broad reach of contemporary urban scholarship and whose ideas have shaped the way cities around the world are understood, researched, debated and acted upon. Providing a synoptic overview that spans a wide range of academic and professional disciplines, theoretical perspectives and methodological approaches, the entry for each key thinker comprises: A succinct introduction and overview Intellectual biography and research focus An explication of key ideas Contributions to urban studies The book offers a fresh look at well-known thinkers who have been foundational to urban scholarship, including Jane Jacobs, Henri Lefebvre, Manuel Castells and David Harvey. It also incorporates those who have helped to bring a concern for cities to more widespread audiences, such as Jan Gehl, Mike Davis and Enrique Peñalosa. Notably, the book also includes a range of thinkers who have more recently begun to shape the study of cities through engagements with art, architecture, computer modelling, ethnography, public health, post-colonial theory and more. With an introduction that provides a mapping of the current transdisciplinary field, and individual entries by those currently involved in cutting edge urban research in the Global North and South, this book promises to be an essential text for anyone interested in the study of cities and urban life. It will be of use to those in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, sociology and urban planning.
The SAGE Handbook of New Urban Studies by
The last two decades have been an exciting and richly productive period for debate and academic research on the city. The SAGE Handbook of New Urban Studies offers comprehensive coverage of this modern re-thinking of urban theory, both gathering together the best of what has been achieved so far, and signalling the way to future theoretical insights and empirically grounded research.Featuring many of the top international names in the field, the handbook is divided into nine key sections: SECTION 1: THE GLOBALIZED CITY SECTION 2: URBAN ENTREPRENEURIALISM, BRANDING, GOVERNANCE SECTION 3: MARGINALITY, RISK AND RESILIENCE SECTION 4: SUBURBS AND SUBURBANIZATION: STRATIFICATION, SPRAWL, SUSTAINABILITY SECTION 5: DISTINCTIVE AND VISIBLE CITIES SECTION 6: CREATIVE CITIES SECTION 7: URBANIZATION, URBANITY AND URBAN LIFESTYLES SECTION 8: NEW DIRECTIONS IN URBAN THEORY SECTION 9: URBAN FUTURES This is a central resource for researchers and students of Sociology, Cultural Geography and Urban Studies.
Urban Analytics by
The economic and political situation of cities has shifted in recent years in light of rapid growth amidst infrastructure decline, the suburbanization of poverty and inner city revitalization. At the same time, the way that data are used to understand urban systems has changed dramatically. Urban Analytics offers a field-defining look at the challenges and opportunities of using new and emerging data to study contemporary and future cities through methods including GIS, Remote Sensing, Big Data and Geodemographics.Written in an accessible style and packed with illustrations and interviews from key urban analysts, this is a groundbreaking new textbook for students of urban planning, urban design, geography, and the information sciences.
Prisoners of Geography: ten maps that explain everything about the world (Print + Online; ProQuest) by
In this New York Times bestseller, an award-winning journalist uses ten maps of crucial regions to explain the geo-political strategies of the world powers--"fans of geography, history, and politics (and maps) will be enthralled" (Fort Worth Star-Telegram). Maps have a mysterious hold over us. Whether ancient, crumbling parchments or generated by Google, maps tell us things we want to know, not only about our current location or where we are going but about the world in general. And yet, when it comes to geo-politics, much of what we are told is generated by analysts and other experts who have neglected to refer to a map of the place in question. All leaders of nations are constrained by geography. In "one of the best books about geopolitics" (The Evening Standard), now updated to include 2016 geopolitical developments, journalist Tim Marshall examines Russia, China, the US, Latin America, the Middle East, Africa, Europe, Japan, Korea, and Greenland and the Arctic--their weather, seas, mountains, rivers, deserts, and borders--to provide a context often missing from our political reportage: how the physical characteristics of these countries affect their strengths and vulnerabilities and the decisions made by their leaders. Offering "a fresh way of looking at maps" (The New York Times Book Review), Marshall explains the complex geo-political strategies that shape the globe. Why is Putin so obsessed with Crimea? Why was the US destined to become a global superpower? Why does China's power base continue to expand? Why is Tibet destined to lose its autonomy? Why will Europe never be united? The answers are geographical. "In an ever more complex, chaotic, and interlinked world, Prisoners of Geography is a concise and useful primer on geopolitics" (Newsweek) and a critical guide to one of the major determining factors in world affairs.
From Poverty to Power: how active citizens and effective states can change the world by
Seismic events have convulsed global markets since 2008, when this book was first published, and world news has been full of stories reflecting a profound sense of uncertainty about global futures. In response, this new edition of From Poverty to Powerhas been fully revised and now includes a new chapter with an in-depth analysis of the human impact of the global financial and food crises. From Poverty to Powerargues that a radical redistribution of power, opportunities, and assets rather than traditional models of charitable or government aid is required to break the cycle of poverty and inequality. The forces driving this transformation are active citizens and effective states. Why active citizens? Because people living in poverty must have a voice in deciding their own destiny and holding the state and the private sector to account. Why effective states? Because history shows that no country has prospered without a state structure than can actively manage the development process. There is now an added urgency: climate change. We need to build a secure, fair, and sustainable world within the limits set by scarce resources and ecological realities.
Energy and Society: a critical perspective (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
Energy and Society is the first major text to provide an extensive critical treatment of energy issues informed by recent research on energy in the social sciences. Written in an engaging and accessible style it draws new thinking on uneven development, consumption, vulnerability and transition together to illustrate the social significance of energy systems in the global North and South. The book features case studies, examples, discussion questions, activities, recommended reading and more, to facilitate its use in teaching. Energy and Society deploys contemporary geographical concepts and approaches but is not narrowly disciplinary. Its critical perspective highlights connections between energy and significant socio-economic and political processes, such as globalisation, urban isation, international development and social justice, and connects important issues that are often treated in isolation, such as resource availability, energy security, energy access and low-carbon transition. Co-authored by leading researchers and based on current research and thinking in the social sciences, Energy and Society presents a distinctive geographical approach to contemporary energy issues. It is an essential resource for upperlevel undergraduates and Master¿s students in geography, environmental studies, urban studies, energy studies and related fields.
Electricity Law in South Africa by 
Environmental Law. 2nd ed. by 
Environmental management in South Africa. 3rd ed. by 
Living in the Environment. 19 ed. by
Team up with Miller/Spoolman's, LIVING IN THE ENVIRONMENT and the National Geographic Society for the most inspiring introduction to environmental science available! Providing clear introductions to the multiple environmental problems that we face and balanced discussions to evaluate potential solutions, this new edition includes everything you need to succeed in the course, while you get the knowledge you need to make a difference in solving today's environmental issues. The MindTap online edition of the book offers exclusive National Geographic content, including high-quality videos on important environmental problems.
Black Achievement in Science by
Few sciences have been as much in the news as this one, which is concerned with the health of our planet. In this hot-button field, black experts from around the world are playing many vital roles. Inside, read how these forward-thinking scientists are working to counteract climate change, studying ways to make farmers lives better, planning the cities of tomorrow, and even leading government agencies charged with protecting our resources. Inside, read inspiring stories of people fighting for change.Great scientific achievements, innovations, and inventions have been recorded in recent times and in the past by men and women of color, and this series celebrates their work and lives, specialty by specialty. Their stories can inspire students of today to pursue their own dreams of science success. In a perfect world, we, like science, would not see color. Until then, we celebrate and inspire with stories of BLACK ACHIEVEMENT IN SCIENCE.This series includes nearly 80 short biographies of scientists past and present who will inspire, engage, and encourage young readers. All of the subjects are African-American or of African descent and work in a wide variety of scientific disciplines around the world. Their stories of perseverance, dedication, creativity, and energy will appeal to any young person looking at a career in science, but especially to African-American students seeking role models. Each title in this series contains an introduction, as well as foreword by the directors of the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers Malinda Gilmore and Mel Poulson. They write about the importance of having role models and mentors in all the science fields. Each title in BLACK ACHIEVEMENT IN SCIENCE includes color photos throughout, and back matter including an index and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities, and expand their viewpoints through our content rich nonfiction books. Key Icons in this series are: Words to Understand shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced color type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions, building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Text-Dependent Questions are placed at the end of each title referring back to subjects covered within. They challenge the reader's comprehension of the material they have just read, while sending the reader back to the text for more careful attention to the evidence presented there. Research Projects are provided at the end of each title as well and give readers suggestions for projects that encourage deeper research and analysis. Educational Videos are offered in chapters through the use of a QR code, that, when scanned, takes the student to an online video showing a moment in history, a speech, or an instructional video. This gives the readers additional content to supplement the text. A Series Glossary of Key Terms is included in the back matter containing terminology used throughout the series. Words found here broaden the readers knowledge and understanding of terms used in this field.
The Geography of Transport Systems (Print + Online; EbscoHost; 3 User access) by
This expanded and revised fourth edition of The Geography of Transport Systemsprovides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the field with a broad overview of its concepts, methods and areas of application. Aimed mainly at an undergraduate audience, it provides an overview of the spatial aspects of transportation and focuses on how the mobility of passengers and freight is linked with geography. The book is divided in ten chapters, each covering a specific conceptual dimension, including networks, modes, terminals, freight transportation, urban transportation and environmental impacts, and updated with the latest information available. The fourth edition offers new material on the issues of transport and the economy, city logistics, supply chains, security, energy, the environment, as well as a revised content structure. With over 160 updated photographs, figures and maps, The Geography of Transport Systemspresents transportation systems at different scales ranging from global to local and focuses on different contexts such as North America, Europe and East Asia. This volume is an essential resource for undergraduates studying transport geography, as well as those interested in economic and urban geography, transport planning and engineering. A companion web site, which contains additional material, has been developed for the book and can be found here: http://people.hofstra.edu/geotrans/ EM>presents transportation systems at different scales ranging from global to local and focuses on different contexts such as North America, Europe and East Asia. This volume is an essential resource for undergraduates studying transport geography, as well as those interested in economic and urban geography, transport planning and engineering. A companion web site, which contains additional material, has been developed for the book and can be found here: http://people.hofstra.edu/geotrans/
Natural hazards : earth's processes as hazards, disasters, and catastrophes ( Print + Online; ProQuest, 3 Users access) by
Natural Hazards: Earth Processes as Hazards, Disasters and Catastrophes, Fourth Edition, is an introductory-level survey intended for university and college courses that are concerned with earth processes that have direct, and often sudden and violent, impacts on human society. The text integrates principles of geology, hydrology, meteorology, climatology, oceanography, soil science, ecology and solar system astronomy. The book is designed for a course in natural hazards for non-science majors, and a primary goal of the text is to assist instructors in guiding students who may have little background in science to understand physical earth processes as natural hazards and their consequences to society. Natural Hazards uses historical to recent examples of hazards and disasters to explore how and why they happen and what we can do to limit their effects.
Fundamentals of Geomorphology. 4th ed by
The new fourth edition of Fundamentals of Geomorphology continues to provide a comprehensive introduction to the subject by discussing the latest developments in the field, as well as covering the basics of Earth surface forms and processes. The revised edition has an improved logically cohesive structure, added recent material on Quaternary environments and landscapes, landscape evolution and tectonics, as well as updated information in fast-changing areas such as the application of dating techniques, digital terrain modelling, historical contingency, preglacial landforms, neocatastrophism, and biogeomorphology. The book begins with a consideration of the nature of geomorphology, process and form, history, and geomorphic systems, and moves on to discuss: Endogenic processes: structural landforms associated with plate tectonics and those associated with volcanoes, impact craters, and folds, faults, and joints. Exogenic processes: landforms resulting from, or influenced by, the exogenic agencies of weathering, running water, flowing ice and meltwater, ground ice and frost, the wind, and the sea; landforms developed on limestone; and long-term geomorphology, a discussion of ancient landforms, including palaeosurfaces, stagnant landscape features, and evolutionary aspects of landscape change. Featuring over 400 illustrations, diagrams, and tables, Fundamentals of Geomorphology provides a stimulating and innovative perspective on the key topics and debates within the field of geomorphology. Written in an accessible and lively manner, and providing guides to further reading, chapter summaries, and an extensive glossary of key terms, this is an indispensable undergraduate level textbook for students of physical geography.
Weathered - Cultures of Climate by
Climate is an enduring idea of the human mind and also a powerful one. Today, the idea of climate is most commonly associated with the discourse of climate-change and its scientific, political, economic, social, religious and ethical dimensions. However, to understand adequately the cultural politics of climate-change it is important to establish the different origins of the idea of climate itself and the range of historical, political and cultural work that the idea of climate accomplishes.In Weathered: Cultures of Climate, distinguished professor Mike Hulme opens up the many ways in which the idea of climate is given shape and meaning in different human cultures - how climates are historicized, known, changed, lived with, blamed, feared, represented, predicted, governed and, at least putatively, re-designed.
The Geography of South Africa (with UJ contributors) (Print + Online) by
This edited collection examines contemporary directions in geographical research on South Africa. It encompasses a cross section of selected themes of critical importance not only to the discipline of Geography in South Africa, but also of relevance to other areas of the Global South. All chapters are original contributions, providing a state of the art research baseline on key themes in physical, human and environmental geography, and in understanding the changing geographical landscapes of modern South Africa. These contributions set the scene for an understanding of the relationships between modern South Africa and the wider contemporary world, including issues of sustainable development and growth in the Global South.
Key Methods in Geography. 3rd ed. by
"Practical, accessible, careful and interesting, this...revised volume brings the subject up-to-date and explains, in bite sized chunks, the ′how′s′ and ′why′s′ of modern day geographical study...[It] brings together physical and human approaches again in a new synthesis." --Danny Dorling, Professor of Geography, University of OxfordKey Methods in Geography is the perfect introductory companion, providing an overview of qualitative and quantitative methods for human and physical geography. This Third Edition Features: 12 new chapters representing emerging themes including online, virtual and digital geographical methods Real-life case study examples Summaries and exercises for each chapter Free online access to full text of Progress in Human Geography and Progress in Physical Geography Progress Reports The teaching of research methods is integral to all geography courses: Key Methods in Geography, Third Edition explains all of the key methods with which geography undergraduates must be conversant.
Key Concepts in Geography. 2nd ed. by
"This book clearly outlines key concepts that all geographers should readily be able to explain. It does so in a highly accessible way. It is likely to be a text that my students will return to throughout their degree."- Dr Karen Parkhill, Bangor University "The editors have done a fantastic job. This second edition is really accessible to the student and provides the key literature in the key geographical terms of scale, space, time, place and landscape."- Dr Elias Symeonakis, Manchester Metropolitan University "An excellent introductory text for accessible overviews of key concepts across human and physical geography."- Professor Patrick Devine-Wright, Exeter University Including ten new chapters on nature, globalization, development and risk, and a new section on practicing geography, this is a completely revised and updated edition of the best-selling, standard student resource. Key Concepts in Geography explains the key terms - space, time, place, scale, landscape - that define the language of geography. It is unique in the reference literature as it provides in one volume concepts from both human geography and physical geography. Four introductory chapters on different intellectual traditions in geography situate and introduce the entries on the key concepts. Each entry then comprises a short definition, a summary of the principal arguments, a substantive 5,000-word discussion, the use of real-life examples, and annotated notes for further reading. Written in an accessible way by established figures in the discipline, the definitions provide thorough explanations of all the core concepts that undergraduates of geography must understand to complete their degree.
How to Do Your Essays, Exams and Coursework in Geography and Related Disciplines (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
Written for students who need help doing their coursework and exams, this book focuses mainly on the skills and techniques that apply to essay writing, but also covers other types of assignment such as posters, talks, PowerPoint^DTM presentations and web pages. Its basis is that all of these different types of work are centred on clear communication of well-supported responses to the questions or tasks that have been set.
Using Geodata and Geolocation in the Social Sciences by
"Abernathy provides a truly accessible and interdisciplinary introduction to geodata and geolocation covering both the conceptual and the practical. It is a must read for students or researchers looking to make the most of the spatial elements of their data" - Luke Sloan, Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Methods, Cardiff University Using Geodata and Geolocation in the Social Sciences: Mapping our Connected World provides an engaging and accessible introduction to the Geoweb with clear, step-by-step guides for: Capturing Geodata from sources including GPS, sensor networks and Twitter Visualizing Geodata using programmes including QGIS, GRASS and R Featuring colour images, practical exercises walking you through using data sources, and a companion website packed with resources, this book is the perfect guide for students and teachers looking to incorporate location-based data into their social science research.
GIS fundamentals : a first text on geographic information systems. 5th ed by 
GIS and the Social Sciences: theory and applications (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
GIS and the Social Sciences offers a uniquely social science approach on the theory and application of GIS with a range of modern examples. It explores how human geography can engage with a variety of important policy issues through linking together GIS and spatial analysis, and demonstrates the importance of applied GIS and spatial analysis for solving real-world problems in both the public and private sector. The book introduces basic theoretical material from a social science perspective and discusses how data are handled in GIS, what the standard commands within GIS packages are, and what they can offer in terms of spatial analysis. It covers the range of applications for which GIS has been primarily used in the social sciences, offering a global perspective of examples at a range of spatial scales. The book explores the use of GIS in crime, health, education, retail location, urban planning, transport, geodemographics, emergency planning and poverty/income inequalities. It is supplemented with practical activities and datasets that are linked to the content of each chapter and provided on an eResource page. The examples are written using ArcMap to show how the user can access data and put the theory in the textbook to applied use using proprietary GIS software. This book serves as a useful guide to a social science approach to GIS techniques and applications. It provides a range of modern applications of GIS with associated practicals to work through, and demonstrates how researcher and policy makers alike can use GIS to plan services more effectively. It will prove to be of great interest to geographers, as well as the broader social sciences, such as sociology, crime science, health, business and marketing.
Student's Guide to Writing Dissertations and Theses in Tourism Studies and Related Disciplines (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
Around the world every year very many students have to complete dissertations or theses as part of their undergraduate or masters studies in tourism and related subjects. Often this substantial piece of self-directed work is the culmination of their programmes. More than just a means to consolidate their final grades, it is also an exciting chance to research a topic of their choosing and a potential gateway to more advanced study as well as job offers and future career paths. Yet for all these reasons, many students view the dissertation as a tricky challenge. This comprehensive book intends to take the stress and anxiety out of doing a dissertation in tourism studies and related disciplines. The process is examined from the germination of an idea to the submission and assessment of the final document. Written primarily for students conducting independent research for the first time, this book offers simple advice and a clear framework which students can adopt even in more advanced studies at masters and doctoral level. This book debunks popular myths, and aims to overcome common pitfalls. It focuses on the aims and objectives as the DNA of every dissertation. Rather than view it as a single, overwhelming project, the dissertation is presented as a series of more modest, manageable yet crucially inter-linked tasks that all students can successfully complete through careful preparation and effective time management. Dissertations are not to be underestimated and they demand great care and attention, but they can also be immensely rewarding and enriching experiences academically and personally. This ¿jargon free¿ book is also written with overseas students specifically in mind, drawing directly on our overseas students¿ experiences. This valuable resource contains start of chapter learning objectives and end of chapter checklists, as well as numerous boxed case studies, to further help assist students through their dissertation.
How to Do Your Dissertation in Geography and Related Disciplines. 3rd ed. (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
This book provides undergraduates with a step-by-step guide to successfully carrying out an independent research project or dissertation. The book addresses each stage of the project by answering the questions that a student is likely to ask as the work progresses from choosing the subject area and planning the data collection through to producing illustrations and writing the final report. Most undergraduates in geography and related disciplines are required to undertake individual projects as part of their degree course; this book is a source of constructive, practical advice. This new third edition continues the tradition of friendly, well-informed but informal support, and continues to focus on answering the specific questions that students typically ask at each stage of the project. The new edition brings the text completely up to date by taking into account changes within the discipline and changes in the ways that students work. New digital media, social networking, mobile technology, e-journals, anti-plagiarism software, ethics approval rules and risk assessments are among the issues that this new edition takes into account. The new edition also broadens the book¿s appeal by extending its coverage of the wide range of different approaches to geographical research, with expanded coverage of qualitative research, Geographic Information Systems, and new approaches to research design in both physical and human geographies
How to Do Your Essays, Exams and Coursework in Geography and Related Disciplines (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
Written for students who need help doing their coursework and exams, this book focuses mainly on the skills and techniques that apply to essay writing, but also covers other types of assignment such as posters, talks, PowerPoint^DTM presentations and web pages. Its basis is that all of these different types of work are centred on clear communication of well-supported responses to the questions or tasks that have been set.
Mastering Academic Writing in the Sciences: a step-by-step guide (Print + Online) by
This book provides a comprehensive and coherent step-by-step guide to writing in scientific academic disciplines. It is an invaluable resource for those working on a PhD thesis, research paper, dissertation, or report. Writing these documents can be a long and arduous experience for students and their supervisors, and even for experienced researchers. However, this book can hold the key to success. Mapping the steps involved in the writing process - from acquiring and organizing sources of information, to revising early drafts, to proofreading the final product - it provides clear guidance on what to write and how best to write it. Features: Step-by-step approach to academic writing in scientificdisciplines Ideal guidance for PhD theses, papers, grant applications, reports and more Includes worked-out examples from real research papers and PhD theses and templates and worksheets are available online to help readers put specific tasks into practice
Planning Your Research and How to Write It by
This book is a practical guide for residents and young researchers who are planning to embark on research. It details the significant planning one must first do including choosing a suitable experienced clinician as a supervisor, sourcing for a "winning idea" with significant clinical impact, performing a proper review of literature, defining clearly the objectives to be set and adopting the appropriate methodology. Statistical evaluation must be done from the start of the research to define adequate sample size and also for evaluation of the results. It also advises how one should draw upon relevant and appropriate conclusions from the results obtained. The ethics of research is also discussed. An all-important factor in research is the procurement of research grants. Readers are guided how to write a proper research proposal to secure these much needed grants. Many research papers end up as presentations only in local or international conferences. An important additional objective of this book is to guide young researchers how to write their finished product -- as a publication in an important international, refereed journal or as a thesis. Chapters have been specially written with tips for scientific writing, selecting the right journal, writing for an original article for a journal, a review article, a case report as well as for a thesis. Tips are also written on what reviewers of a journal look for in an article as well as what examiners look for in a thesis.
How to Read and Critique a Scientific Research Article: notes to guide students reading primary literature (with teaching tips for faculty members) by
Given the explosion of information and knowledge in the field of Life Sciences, adapting primary literature as materials in course work as part of active learning seems to be more effective in improving scientific literacy among science undergraduates than the pure transmission of content knowledge using traditional textbooks. In addition, students also read research articles as part of undertaking laboratory research projects useful for preparing them for graduate school. As such, a good grasp of reading and analytical skills is needed for students to understand how their research project contributes to the field that they are working in. Such skills are being taught at UK and USA universities. In Asia, this approach in teaching has not yet been as widespread, although similar ideas are beginning to be used in education. Written as a quick guide for undergraduate students and faculty members dealing with scientific research articles as part of a module or research project, this book will be useful, especially in Asia, for students and faculty members as the universities look to incorporating the use of scientific research articles in their undergraduate teaching.For Life Science students, the first time they encounter a primary literature can be rather daunting, though with proper guidance, they can overcome the initial difficulties and become confident in dealing with scientific articles.This guidebook provides a structured approach to reading a research article, guiding the reader step-by-step through each section, with tips on how to look out for key points and how to evaluate each section.Overall, by helping undergraduate students to overcome their anxieties in reading scientific literature, the book will enable the students to appreciate better the process of scientific investigations and how knowledge is derived in science.
Postgraduate Handbook: a comprehensive guide for PhD and Master's students and their supervisors by
This concise handbook is intended for postgraduate students and their supervisors. The author has travelled the postgraduate journey (PhD, MPH and PDHE) and experienced all the challenges and difficulties that most postgraduate students are likely to encounter. He has conducted research (which resulted in a patented invention), supervised postgraduate students, taught postgraduate courses and examined PhD theses and master's degree dissertations.
This easy-to-read, straightforward volume outlines the concepts and strategies that will greatly facilitate the successful completion of postgraduate studies and offers help and advice on research methods, data analysis techniques, writing skills and student-supervisor relationships. The author demystifies complex research concepts and methodologies by explaining them in simple terms and making them understandable to students and novice researchers. The manual is an invaluable guide to postgraduate studies and provides an explanation of the methodologies, philosophical basis and concepts that underpin postgraduate research.
This concise manual is essential reading for all PhD students, master's degree students and others pursuing, or contemplating, a postgraduate qualification. It is also recommended as an indispensable guide for supervisors of postgraduate students.
What Every Science Student Should Know (Print + Online, EbscoHost 1 user access) by
"I am often amazed at how much more capability and enthusiasm for science there is among elementary school youngsters than among college students. . . . We must understand and circumvent this dangerous discouragement. No one can predict where the future leaders of science will come from."--Carl Sagan In 2012, the White House put out a call to increase the number of STEM graduates by one million. Since then, hundreds of thousands of science students have started down the path toward a STEM career. Yet, of these budding scientists, more than half of all college students planning to study science or medicine leave the field during their academic careers. What Every Science Student Should Know is the perfect personal mentor for any aspiring scientist. Like an experienced lab partner or frank advisor, the book points out the pitfalls while providing encouragement. Chapters cover the entire college experience, including choosing a major, mastering study skills, doing scientific research, finding a job, and, most important, how to foster and keep a love of science. This guide is a distillation of the authors' own experiences as recent science graduates, bolstered by years of research and interviews with successful scientists and other science students. The authorial team includes former editors-in-chief of the prestigious Dartmouth Undergraduate Journal of Science. All have weathered the ups and downs of undergrad life--and all are still pursuing STEM careers. Forthright and empowering, What Every Science Student Should Know is brimming with insider advice on how to excel as both a student and a scientist.
3D Printed Science Projects Volume 2: Physics, math, engineering and geology models by
Learn physics, engineering, and geology concepts usually seen in high school and college in an easy, accessible style. This second volume addresses these topics for advanced science fair participants or those who just like reading about and understanding science. 3D Printed Science Project Volume 2 describes eight open-source 3D printable models, as well as creative activities using the resulting 3D printed pieces. The files are designed to print as easily as possible, and the authors give tips for printing them on open source printers. As 3D printers become more and more common and affordable, hobbyists, teachers, parents, and students stall out once they've printed some toys and a few household items. To get beyond this, most people benefit from a "starter set" of objects as a beginning point in their explorations, partially just to see what is possible. This book tells you the solid science stories that these models offer, and provides them in open-source repositories. What You Will Learn Create (and present the science behind) 3D printed models Review innovative ideas for tactile ways to learn concepts in engineering, geology and physics Learn what makes a models easy or hard to 3D print Who This Book Is For The technology- squeamish teacher and parents who want their kids to learn something from their 3D printer but don't know how, as well as high schoolers and undergraduates.
Scientifically Thinking: how to liberate your mind, solve the world's problems, and embrace the beauty of science (Print + Online, EbscoHost, 1 User Access) by
You don't have to be a scientist to think like a scientist. Anyone can do it and everyone should. This book will show you how. The advantages are many- from detecting bias to avoiding error and appreciating the richness of the world. Author Stanley Rice, himself a scientist, explains that science is essentially organized common sense. While the brain is hardwired for common sense, unfortunately, it also relies on a number of misleading tendencies. Instead of reasoning objectively it tends to rationalize. Often it sees what it wants to see rather than what is really there. And it is adept at both self-deception and deceiving others. Rice notes that these tendencies were useful in the past as the human race evolved in an often-hostile environment. But today bias and delusions put us at risk of worldwide catastrophe. The author invites readers to participate in the adventure of scientific discovery. He provides many interesting and humorous examples of how science works. He shows how hypothesis testing can be used to tackle everyday problems like car trouble or seeing through the specious appeal of a fad diet. Beyond practical applications, science meets the basic human need to satisfy curiosity- it tells verifiable stories about the universe, providing humans with fascinating narratives supported by testable facts. The author also explores some of science's biggest ideas, including natural selection (creating order out of randomness) and interconnectedness (Earth's systems are intricately intertwined). Read this book and learn to think like a scientist. It will guard you against being manipulated by politicians, corporations, and religious leaders, and equip you to deal with the world's most pressing problems. And you will have a lot of fun doing it.
Unbelievable science stuff that blow your mind by
How did the atom bomb help save the elephant? Have we found the secret to eternal youth? Could a parasite be manipulating you right now? This dazzling collection of stories reveals the key recent breakthroughs in science, across all fields. Inside you will meet the killers lurking in Earth's ice, the super-coral that could save our seas and the neuroscientists hunting ghosts. You will travel beyond our galaxy to worlds where the sun sets twice, and beyond our time to a future where the Internet is unhackable and chickenosaurs roam the land. Divided into sections covering physics, space, humanity, the brain, plants and animals, and linking stories from different fields, Unbelievable Science offers a boundless journey of discovery for anyone with a passion for the world around them. Prepare to be shocked and amazed on every page
What we cannot know : from consciousness to the cosmos, the cutting edge of science explained by
Britain's most famous mathematician takes us to the edge of knowledge to show us what we cannot know. Is the universe infinite? Do we know what happened before the Big Bang? Where is human consciousness located in the brain? And are there more undiscovered particles out there, beyond the Higgs boson? In the modern world, science is king: weekly headlines proclaim the latest scientific breakthroughs and numerous mathematical problems, once indecipherable, have now been solved. But are there limits to what we can discover about our physical universe? In this very personal journey to the edges of knowledge, Marcus du Sautoy investigates how leading experts in fields from quantum physics and cosmology, to sensory perception and neuroscience, have articulated the current lie of the land. In doing so, he travels to the very boundaries of understanding, questioning contradictory stories and consulting cutting edge data. Is it possible that we will one day know everything? Or are there fields of research that will always lie beyond the bounds of human comprehension? And if so, how do we cope with living in a universe where there are things that will forever transcend our understanding?
The Formula: the universal laws of success by
"This is not just an important but an imperative project: to approach the problem of randomness and success using the state of the art scientific arsenal we have. Barabasi is the person." --Nassim Nicholas Taleb, author of the New York Times bestselling The Black Swan and Distinguished Professor of Risk Engineering at NYU An international bestseller In the bestselling tradition of Malcom Gladwell, James Gleick, and Nate Silver, prominent professor László Barabási gives us a trailblazing book that promises to transform the very foundations of how our success-obsessed society approaches their professional careers, life pursuits and long-term goals. Too often, accomplishment does not equal success. We did the work but didn't get the promotion; we played hard but weren't recognized; we had the idea but didn't get the credit. We convince ourselves that talent combined with a strong work ethic is the key to getting ahead, but also realize that combination often fails to yield results, without any deeper understanding as to why. Recognizing this striking disconnect, the author, along with a team of renowned researchers and some of the most advanced data-crunching systems on the planet, dedicated themselves to one goal: uncovering that ever-elusive link between performance and success. Now, based on years of academic research, The Formula finally unveils the groundbreaking discoveries of their pioneering study, not only highlighting the scientific and mathematic principles that underpin success, but also revolutionizing our understanding of: Why performance is necessary but not adequate Why "Experts" are often wrong How to assemble a creative team primed for success How to most effectively engage our networks And much more.
What's next? : even scientists can't predict the future - or can they? (Print + Online) by
The future of our planet : demographics, conservation and climate change -- The future of us : medicine, genetics and transhumanism -- The future online : AI, quantum computing and the internet -- Making the future : engineering, transport and energy -- The far future : time travel, the apocalypse and living in space.
NOTE In What's Next? eighteen top scientists and experts explore what's in store for the human race. Their topics range from the mind-bending (quantum computing and synthetic biology) to the important (climage change and energy) and the truly futuristic (time travel and telelportation). And along the way, they'll show how to rebuild society in the event of an apocalypse, and what a turtle-egg omelette can teach us about saving the planet. Entertaining, informative and filled with groundbreaking science, this is your guide to what the future holds
The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science, 2nd ed. by
For more than a decade, The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science has been the go-to reference for anyone who needs to write or speak about their research. Whether a student writing a thesis, a faculty member composing a grant proposal, or a public information officer crafting a press release, Scott Montgomery's advice is perfectly adaptable to any scientific writer's needs. This new edition has been thoroughly revised to address crucial issues in the changing landscape of scientific communication, with an increased focus on those writers working in corporate settings, government, and nonprofit organizations as well as academia. Half a dozen new chapters tackle the evolving needs and paths of scientific writers. These sections address plagiarism and fraud, writing graduate theses, translating scientific material, communicating science to the public, and the increasing globalization of research. The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science recognizes that writers come to the table with different needs and audiences. Through solid examples and concrete advice, Montgomery sets out to help scientists develop their own voice and become stronger communicators. He also teaches readers to think about their work in the larger context of communication about science, addressing the roles of media and the public in scientific attitudes as well as offering advice for those whose research concerns controversial issues such as climate change or emerging viruses. More than ever, communicators need to be able to move seamlessly among platforms and styles. The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science's comprehensive coverage means that scientists and researchers will be able to expertly connect with their audiences, no matter the medium.
Twas: a Voice for Science in the South (Print + Online) by
Science in the developing world has experienced historic change over the past 30 years. Nations that lacked resources for even basic science have since developed world-class research centres. Men and women who previously had no chance of pursuing scientific careers in their own countries now thrive in home-grown universities and laboratories dedicated to scientific excellence.The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) has been front and centre during this remarkable transformation. A Voice for Science in the South tells the story of TWAS through the eyes of 11 eminent scientists associated with the Academy. They speak of the organization's challenges and triumphs, and describe what TWAS has meant for their careers and the careers of thousands of scientists in the developing world. They also explore the challenges that lie ahead for TWAS and, more generally, for science in the South. It is a story of unprecedented global change and an account of what must be done to ensure that all nations can share in the benefits that emerge when science is woven into the fabric of society.
The Cambridge History of Science: Volume 2, Medieval Science (Print + Online) by
This volume in the highly respected Cambridge History of Science series is devoted to the history of science in the Middle Ages from the North Atlantic to the Indus Valley. Medieval science was once universally dismissed as non-existent - and sometimes it still is. This volume reveals the diversity of goals, contexts, and accomplishments in the study of nature during the Middle Ages. Organized by topic and culture, its essays by distinguished scholars offer the most comprehensive and up-to-date history of medieval science currently available. Intended to provide a balanced and inclusive treatment of the medieval world, contributors consider scientific learning and advancement in the cultures associated with the Arabic, Greek, Latin, and Hebrew languages. Scientists, historians, and other curious readers will all gain a new appreciation for the study of nature during an era that is often misunderstood.
Geography print books can be found on Level 3, Level 4 or Level 5 at the APK Library. These are the call numbers if you would like to browse or you can search the UJLink: Library Catalogue for exact shelf numbers: