Physics: The first science (Online, ProQuest Ebook Central) by
Today's physics textbooks have become encyclopedic, offering students dry discussions, rote formulas, and exercises with little relation to the real world. Physics: The First Science takes a different approach by offering uniquely accessible, student-friendly explanations, historical and philosophical perspectives and mathematics in easy-to-comprehend dialogue. It emphasizes the unity of physics and its place as the basis for all science. Examples and worked solutions are scattered throughout the narrative to help increase understanding. Students are tested and challenged at the end of each chapter with questions ranging from a guided-review designed to mirror the examples, to problems, reasoning skill building exercises that encourage students to analyze unfamiliar situations, and interactive simulations developed at the University of Colorado. With their experience instructing both students and teachers of physics for decades, Peter Lindenfeld and Suzanne White Brahmia have developed an algebra-based physics book with features to help readers see the physics in their lives. Students will welcome the engaging style, condensed format, and economical price.
Experiments and Demonstrations in Physics (Online, Unlimited Users) by
A laboratory manual for high schools, colleges, and universities, this book contains more than 80 experiments and lecture demonstrations. The coverage includes the essentials of general physics: mechanics and molecular physics, electricity and magnetism, optics and atomic physics, and condensed matter physics. All the experiments are illustrated through the results of real measurements and include many novel experiments developed by the author.
Physics - II: Theory and Experiments (Online, Unlimited Users) by 
Schaum's Outline of Applied Physics, 4ed by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved.
Schaum's Outline of Electric Circuits, Seventh Edition by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Textbook too pricey? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 500 fully-solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 25 detailed videos featuring math instructors who explain how to solve the most commonly tested problems--it's just like having your own virtual tutor! You'll find everything you need to build your confidence, skills, and knowledge and achieve the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them study faster, learn better, and get top grades. Now Schaum's is better than ever-with a new look, a new format with hundreds of practice problems, and completely updated information to conform to the latest developments in every field of study. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format and helpful tables and illustrations also help increase your understanding of the subject at hand. Schaum's Outline of Electrical Circuits, Seventh Edition features: * Updated content to match latest curriculum * Over 500 problems with clear explanations * Accessible format for quick and easy review * Material that supports all the major textbooks for electric circuits courses * Extra practice on topics such as amplifiers and operational amplifier circuits, waveforms and signals, AC power, and more * Access to revised Schaums.com website with access to 25 problem-solving videos, and more
Schaum's Outline of Physics for Engineering and Science, Fourth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. Schaum's Outline of Physics for Engineering and Science, Fourth Edition is packed hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This updated guide approaches the subject in a more concise, ordered manner than most standard texts, which are often filled with extraneous material. Schaum's Outline of Physics for Engineering and Science, Fourth Edition features: *788 fully-solved problems *25 problem-solving videos *Succinct review of physics topics such as motion, energy, fluids, waves, heat, and magnetic fields *Clear, concise explanations of all general physics concepts *Content supplements the major leading textbooks in physics for engineering and science *Content that is appropriate for Principles of Physics, Elements of Physics, Introductory College Physics, General Physics, Physics for Engineering courses PLUS: Access to the revised Schaums.com website and new app, containing 25 problem-solving videos, and more. Schaum's reinforces the main concepts required in your course and offers hundreds of practice exercises to help you succeed. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines - Problem solved.
Schaum's Outline of Quantum Mechanics, Second Edition by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you Hundreds of examples with explanations of quantum mechanics concepts Exercises to help you test your mastery of quantum mechanics Complete review of all course fundamentals Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores! Topics include: Mathematical Background; Schrodinger Equation and Applications; Foundations of Quantum Mechanics; Harmonic Oscillator; Angular Momentum; Spin; Hydrogen-Like Atoms; Particle Motion in an Electromagnetic Field; Solution Methods in Quantum Mechanics; Solutions Methods in Quantum Mechanics; Numerical Methods in Quantum Mechanics; Identical Particles; Addition of Angular Momenta; Scattering Theory; and Semiclassical Treatment of Radiation Schaum's Outlines--Problem Solved.
The Physics (530) & Astronomy (520) print books are available on Level 4 at the APK Library. These are the shelf numbers if you would like to browse or search the UJLink: Library Catalogue for specific books:
Mathematical Methods for Physicists (Online + Print) by
Now in its 7th edition, Mathematical Methods for Physicists continues to provide all the mathematical methods that aspiring scientists and engineers are likely to encounter as students and beginning researchers. This bestselling text provides mathematical relations and their proofs essential to the study of physics and related fields. While retaining the key features of the 6th edition, the new edition provides a more careful balance of explanation, theory, and examples. Taking a problem-solving-skills approach to incorporating theorems with applications, the book's improved focus will help students succeed throughout their academic careers and well into their professions. Some notable enhancements include more refined and focused content in important topics, improved organization, updated notations, extensive explanations and intuitive exercise sets, a wider range of problem solutions, improvement in the placement, and a wider range of difficulty of exercises. Revised and updated version of the leading text in mathematical physics Focuses on problem-solving skills and active learning, offering numerous chapter problems Clearly identified definitions, theorems, and proofs promote clarity and understanding New to this edition: Improved modular chapters New up-to-date examples More intuitive explanations
Principles of Quantum Mechanics (Print & Online) by
Reviews from the First Edition: "An excellent text ... The postulates of quantum mechanics and the mathematical underpinnings are discussed in a clear, succinct manner." (American Scientist) "No matter how gently one introduces students to the concept of Dirac's bras and kets, many are turned off. Shankar attacks the problem head-on in the first chapter, and in a very informal style suggests that there is nothing to be frightened of." (Physics Bulletin) Reviews of the Second Edition: "This massive text of 700 and odd pages has indeed an excellent get-up, is very verbal and expressive, and has extensively worked out calculational details---all just right for a first course. The style is conversational, more like a corridor talk or lecture notes, though arranged as a text. ... It would be particularly useful to beginning students and those in allied areas like quantum chemistry." (Mathematical Reviews) R. Shankar has introduced major additions and updated key presentations in this second edition of Principles of Quantum Mechanics. New features of this innovative text include an entirely rewritten mathematical introduction, a discussion of Time-reversal invariance, and extensive coverage of a variety of path integrals and their applications. Additional highlights include: - Clear, accessible treatment of underlying mathematics - A review of Newtonian, Lagrangian, and Hamiltonian mechanics - Student understanding of quantum theory is enhanced by separate treatment of mathematical theorems and physical postulates - Unsurpassed coverage of path integrals and their relevance in contemporary physics The requisite text for advanced undergraduate- and graduate-level students, Principles of Quantum Mechanics, Second Edition is fully referenced and is supported by many exercises and solutions. The book's self-contained chapters also make it suitable for independent study as well as for courses in applied disciplines.
Electromagnetic Field Theory Fundamentals (Print + Online, Cambridge) by
Guru and Hiziroglu have produced an accessible and user-friendly text on electromagnetics that will appeal to both students and professors teaching this course. This lively book includes many worked examples and problems in every chapter, as well as chapter summaries and background revision material where appropriate. The book introduces undergraduate students to the basic concepts of electrostatic and magnetostatic fields, before moving on to cover Maxwell's equations, propagation, transmission and radiation. Chapters on the Finite Element and Finite Difference method, and a detailed appendix on the Smith chart are additional enhancements. MathCad code for many examples in the book and a comprehensive solutions set are available at www.cambridge.org/9780521830164.
Classical Mechanics: an undergraduate text (Print + Online, Cambridge) by
Gregory's Classical Mechanics is a major new textbook for undergraduates in mathematics and physics. It is a thorough, self-contained and highly readable account of a subject many students find difficult. The author's clear and systematic style promotes a good understanding of the subject: each concept is motivated and illustrated by worked examples, while problem sets provide plenty of practice for understanding and technique. Computer assisted problems, some suitable for projects, are also included. The book is structured to make learning the subject easy; there is a natural progression from core topics to more advanced ones and hard topics are treated with particular care. A theme of the book is the importance of conservation principles. These appear first in vectorial mechanics where they are proved and applied to problem solving. They reappear in analytical mechanics, where they are shown to be related to symmetries of the Lagrangian, culminating in Noether's theorem.
Statistical Mechanics (Online, Science Direct) by
Statistical Mechanics, Fourth Edition, explores the physical properties of matter based on the dynamic behavior of its microscopic constituents. This valuable textbook introduces the reader to the historical context of the subject before delving deeper into chapters about thermodynamics, ensemble theory, simple gases theory, Ideal Bose and Fermi systems, statistical mechanics of interacting systems, phase transitions, and computer simulations. In the latest revision, the book's authors have updated the content throughout, including new coverage on biophysical applications, updated exercises, and computer simulations. This updated edition will be an indispensable to students and researchers of statistical mechanics, thermodynamics, and physics.
