Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UJLink: Library Catalogue
Handbook of Chemistry & Physics (Online and Print)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98th Edition by The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98thEdition is an update of a classic reference. The 98thEdition contains several new features including, but not limited to #65533; a major update to the table of isotopes, the first major compilation of high quality data of protein-ligand binding thermodynamics, and an important new collection of NMR data critical for understanding outcomes of organic syntheses. Plus, twelve lists have been updated such as, the physical properties of organic compounds and the latest experimental values of bond dissociation energies. Building on the new feature first introduced in the 94th edition, four historical figures in science will be honored on the end plates.
Call Number: Older print editions 540 CHEM APK Library Level 4
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biology by The majority of chapters in this book were written by scientists of N. M. Emanuel Institute of Biochemical Physics (IBChPh) of Russian Academy of Sciences. Prof. N. M. Emanuel was one of the founders of biochemical physics -- a part of natural science. This science borders on the line of physics, chemistry and biology with integration of mathematics and with practical applications in medicine and agriculture. The book is devoted to these topics. The time has come to show the scientific community world-wide what Russian scientists have recently done in this area. Six chapters of this volume have information about hydrogels in endovascular embolisation. Special attention devoted to synthesis and properties of spherical particles (SP) of hydrogels and their medico-biological properties, clinical use of SP, radiopaque SP and their preparation and properties, morphological foundation of hydrogels use for vascular occlusion, antitumor agents methotrexate-containing poly(HEMA)-hydrogels and poly(HEMA) with intensified haemostatic activity as a new embolic materials. The volume has very important information about pharmacological premises of the creation of new antitumor preparations of the class of nitrosoalkylurea and investigation of new mechanism of E.coli resistance to alkylation damages induced by NO-donation agent -- a "Quasi-adaptive response". It also includes information about biological activity of different enzymes in process of oxidation in vivo and in vitro, investigation of the properties of lipids in plants and in animals. Some chapters deal with pharmacological criterions for new antitumor drugs, using of Tocopherols as bioantioxidants in vitro and in vivo, creation of new equipment for chemical engineering, investigation of enzyme reactions, thermodegradation and combustion of polymers and polymer composites, formation of char during of combustion, molecular design and reactivity of some chemical compounds, problems of pethrochemistry, preparation and modification of microparticles, investigation of antioxidants in food products, chemistry of rubber and formation of carbon nanostructures. Several chapters include very important information about application of electron spin resonance techniques for investigation of chemical and biochemical reactions.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 572 HAND
Publication Date: 2009
The Handbook of Medicinal Chemistry (Online, RSC) by Drug discovery is a constantly developing and expanding area of research. Developed to provide a comprehensive guide, the Handbook of Medicinal Chemistry covers the past, present and future of the entire drug development process. Highlighting the recent successes and failures in drug discovery, the book helps readers to understand the factors governing modern drug discovery from the initial concept through to a marketed medicine. With chapters covering a wide range of topics from drug discovery processes and optimization, development of synthetic routes, pharmaceutical properties and computational biology, the handbook aims to enable medicinal chemists to apply their academic understanding to every aspect of drug discovery. Each chapter includes expert advice to not only provide a rigorous understanding of the principles being discussed, but to provide useful hints and tips gained from within the pharmaceutical industry. This expertise, combined with project case studies, highlighting and discussing all areas of successful projects, make this an essential handbook for all those involved in pharmaceutical development. A free iPad app has been created in collaboration with the editors of the book. The Medicinal Chemistry Toolkit provides a suite of resources to support the day to day work of a medicinal chemist. Search for "Medicinal Chemistry Toolkit."
Publication Date: 2014
Handbook on the Physics and Chemistry of Rare Earths (Online, Science Direct from 2008 +) by The rare earths represent a group of chemical elements, the lanthanides, together with scandium and yttrium, which exhibit similar chemical properties. They are strategically important to developed and developing nations as they have a wide variety of applications in catalysis, the defense industry, aerospace, the materials and life sciences and in sustainable energy technologies. The Handbook on the Physics and Chemistry of the Rare Earths is a continuing authoritative series that deals with the science and technology of the rare earth elements in an integrated manner. Each chapter is a comprehensive, up-to-date, critical review of a particular segment of the field. The work offers the researcher and graduate student a complete and thorough coverage of this fascinating field. Individual chapters are comprehensive, broad, critical reviews Contributions are written by highly experienced, invited experts Gives an up-to-date overview of developments in the field
Publication Date: 2012
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (Online, Access Engineering) by A standard reference for chemists for 70 years, this new Sixteenth Edition features an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry.Included in this massive compendium are listings of the properties of approximately 4,400 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds.This Sixteenth Edition offers 40% new or extensively revised content and starting with this edition, the author includes equations that allow users to calculate important values such as temperature and pressure. Contents: Organic Compounds * General Information, Conversion Tables, and Mathematics * Inorganic Compounds * Properties of Atom, Radicals, and Bonds * Physical Properties * Thermodynamic Properties * Spectroscopy * Electrolytes, Electromotive Force and Chemicals * Physicochemical Relationships * Polymers, Rubbers,Fats, Oils, and Waxes * Practical Laboratory Information
Publication Date: 2005
Handbook of Green Analytical Chemistry (Online, ProQuest eBook Central) by The emerging field of green analytical chemistry is concerned with the development of analytical procedures that minimize consumption of hazardous reagents and solvents, and maximize safety for operators and the environment.nbsp; In recent years there have been significant developments in methodological and technological tools to prevent and reduce the deleterious effects of analytical activities; key strategies include recycling, replacement, reduction and detoxification of reagents and solvents. The Handbook of Green Analytical Chemistry provides a comprehensive overview of the present state and recent developments in green chemical analysis. A series of detailed chapters, written by international specialists in the field, discuss the fundamental principles of green analytical chemistry and present a catalogue of tools for developing environmentally friendly analytical techniques. Topics covered include: Concepts: Fundamental principles, education, laboratory experiments and publication in green analytical chemistry. The Analytical Process: Green sampling techniques and sample preparation, direct analysis of samples, green methods for capillary electrophoresis, chromatography, atomic spectroscopy, solid phase molecular spectroscopy, derivative molecular spectroscopy and electroanalytical methods. Strategies: Energy saving, automation, miniaturization and photocatalytic treatment of laboratory wastes. Fields of Application: Green bioanalytical chemistry, biodiagnostics, environmental analysis and industrial analysis. This advanced handbook is a practical resource for experienced analytical chemists who are interested in implementing green approaches in their work. nbsp;
Publication Date: 2012