Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library catalog (UJLink)
Earth Sciences Call Numbers
The Earth Sciences print books are available on Level 4 at the APK Library. These are the shelf numbers if you would like to browse or you can search the UJLink: Library Catalogue for exact shelf numbers
MEDICAL GEOLOGY Print Books
Medical Geology: a regional synthesis by Medical Geology is a rapidly growing field concerned with the relationship between natural geological factors and human and animal health, as well as with improving our understanding of the influence of environmental factors on the geographical distribution of health problems. This book brings together the work of geoscientists and medical/public health researchers, which addresses health problems caused, or exacerbated by geological materials (rocks, minerals, atmospheric dust and water) and processes (including volcanic eruptions and earthquakes. Among the environmental health problems discussed in this book are: exposure to toxic levels of trace essential and non-essential elements such as arsenic and mercury; trace element deficiencies; exposure to natural dusts and to radioactivity; naturally occurring organic compounds in drinking water; volcanic emissions, etc. The text also deals with the many health benefits of geologic materials and processes. This wide-ranging volume covers issues in medical geology all over the world with each author covering their respective region. It provides examples from different continents as well as a state-of-the-art review of the latest developments in the discipline. The authors are all recognized geoscientific and medical experts working in the field. The book is written for a wide variety of specialists from geologists, geochemists, pathologists and medical doctors to veterinarians and biologists.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 614.42 MEDI
Publication Date: 2012
Essentials of Medical Geology by This authoritative reference volume emphasizes the importance and interrelationships of geological processes to the health and diseases of humans and animals. Its accessible format fosters better communication between the health and geoscience communities by elucidating the geologic origins and flow of toxic elements in the environment that lead to human exposure through the consumption of food and water. For example, problems of excess intake from drinking water have been encountered for several inorganic compounds, including fluoride in Africa and India; arsenic in certain areas of Argentina, Chile, and Taiwan; selenium in seleniferous areas in the U.S., Venezuela, and China; and nitrate in agricultural areas with heavy use of fertilizers. Environmental influences on vector borne diseases and stormflow water quality influences are also featured. Numerous examples of the environmental influences on human health from across the globe are also presented and discussed in this volume. * Covers recent advances and future research topics at the intersection of environmental science and public health * Developed by 60 experts from 20 countries and edited by professionals from the International Working Group on Medical Geology * Includes 200+ color photographs and illustrations * Organizes information in a highly structured format for easy reference * Written for a broad audience, ranging from students, researchers, and medical professionals to policymakers and the general public
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 615.902 ESSE
Publication Date: 2005
Medical Geology: effects of geological environments on human health by Geology, one of the basic natural sciences, is proving to be of outstanding importance in solving problems relating to: agriculture exploitation of the Earth's mineral resources environmental issues soil preservation water energy and other resources protection against natural disasters (landslides, floods, volcanic eruptions and earthquakes) as well as human health. The main objective of the book Medical Geology: Effects of Geological Environments on Human Health is to show how the geological environment affects human health and to explore preventative methods for improvement. This monograph consists of the following five segments: Introduction Geological and other factors and their influence on the human health Subject, tasks and methods of geomedical discipline Regional medical geology Applied medical geology The topics covered in this book will be of interest to a wide circle of readers, including geologists, doctors, biologists, ecologists, planners and many others who are dedicated to the quality and protection of human health.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 616.98 KOMA
Publication Date: 2004
Introduction to Medical Geology: focus on tropical environments by Over two billion people live in tropical lands. Most of them live in intimate contact with the immediate geological environment, obtaining their food and water directly from it. The unique geochemistry of these tropical environments have a marked influence on their health, giving rise to diseases that affect millions of people. The origin of these diseases is geologic as exemplified by dental and skeletal fluorosis, iodine deficiency disorders, trace element imbalances to name a few. This book, one of the first of its kind, serves as an excellent introduction to the emerging discipline of Medical Geology.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 616.98 DISS
Publication Date: 2009
GEOLOGY & MEDICINE / HEALTH Print Books
A history of geology and medicine by The historical links between Geology and Medicine are surprisingly numerous and diverse. This, the first ever volume dedicated to the subject, contains contributions from an international authorship of geologists, historians and medical professionals.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 615.2 HIST
Publication Date: 2013
Geology and Health: closing the gap by Geology and Health is an integration of papers from geo-bio-chemical scientists on health issues of concern to humankind worldwide, demonstrating how the health and well-being of populations now and in the future can benefit through coordinated scientific efforts. International examples ondusts, coal, arsenic, fluorine, lead, mercury, and water borne chemicals, that lead to health effects are documented and explored. They were selected to illustrate how hazards and potential hazards may be from natural materials and processes and how anthropomorphic changes may have contributed todisease and debilitation instead of solutions. Introductory essays by the editors highlight some of the progress toward scientific integration that could be applied to other geographic sites and research efforts. A global purview and integration of earth and health sciences expertise could benefit the future of populations from many countries.Effective solutions to combat present and future hazards will arise when the full scope of human interactions with the total environment is appreciated by the wide range of people in positions to make important and probably expensive decisions. A case to illustrate the point of necessary crossoverbetween Geology and Health was the drilling of shallow tube wells in Bangladesh to provide non-contaminated ground water. This "good" solution unfortunately mobilized arsenic from rocks into the aquifer and created an unforeseen or 'silent' hazard: arsenic. Geologists produce maps of earth materials and are concerned with natural processes in the environment with long time-frame horizons. The health effects encountered through changing the water source might have been avoided if the hydrological characteristics of the Bangladesh delta had been knownand any chemical hazards had been investigated and documented. A recurrence of this type of oversight should be avoidable when responsible parties, often government officials, appreciate the necessity of such integrated efforts. The book extols the virtues of cooperation between the earth, lifeand health sciences, as the most practical approach to better public health worldwide.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 616.98 GEOL
Publication Date: 2003
ENVIRONMENTAL GEOLOGY Print Books
Environmental Geology Today by A Fresh and Modern Exploration of Environmental GeologyDesigned for the undergraduate, introductory environmental geology course for majors and non-majors alike, Environmental Geology Today presents the core geological principles and explores the effects of humanity on the physical environment. Contemporary case studies throughout encourage students to use their critical thinking skills to dissect the subject matter as part of their overall analysis. The numerous case studies are drawn from topical current events that relate to the chapter material and contain numerical data. Using simple math, graphing, and critical thinking, the authors challenge students to analyze aspects of the data, honing their basic math and analytical skills. With a focus on teaching students to think critically about our environment, Environmental Geology Today is a fresh and modern exploration of this ever-evolving field.Key Features:-Fosters students' development of analytical and critical thinking skills through the use of numerous contemporary case studies designed to engage students in the material and maintain their interest.-Math is introduced in a non-threatening, step-by-step manner, allowing students to identify their own errors early in the process, thereby gradually building confidence in their own mathematical abilities.-Covers the core undergraduate introductory environmental geology topics, including earthquakes, population growth, floods and other coastal hazards, land use, natural resources, and more.-Features global, national, and regional issues, but also shows students how to retrieve and use information to address critical local issues like population growth and development, air and water pollution, land use and waste disposal.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 550 MCCO
Publication Date: 2013
Environmental Geology by Environmental Geology, tenth edition, presents the student with a broad overview of environmental geology. The text looks both at how the earth developed into its present condition and where matters seem to be moving for the future. It is hoped that this knowledge will provide the student with a useful foundation for discussing and evaluating specific environmental issues, as well as for developing ideas about how the problems should be solved.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 551 MONT
Publication Date: 2013
GEOCHEMISTRY & MEDICINE / HEALTH Print Books
Chemistry for Sustainable Development in Africa by Chemistry for Sustainable Development in Africa gives an insight into current Chemical research in Africa. It is edited and written by distinguished African scientists and includes contributions from Chemists from Northern, Southern, Western, Eastern, Central and Island state African Countries. The core themes embrace the most pressing issues of our time, including Environmental Chemistry, Renewable Energies, Health and Human Well-Being, Food and Nutrition, and Bioprospecting and Commercial Development. This book is invaluable for teaching and research institutes in Africa and worldwide, private sector entities dealing with natural products from Africa, as well as policy and decision-making bodies and non-governmental organizations.
Publication Date: 2012
Medical Geochemistry by This book includes a collection of chapters illustratingnbsp;thenbsp;application ofnbsp;geochemical methods to investigate the interactions between geological materials and fluids with humans. Examples include the incorporation and human health effects of inhaling lithogenic materials, the reactivity of biological fluids with geological materials, and the impact on nascent biomineral formation. Biomineralization isnbsp;investigated in terms of mineralogy, morphology, bone chemistry, and pathological significance with a focus on the health impacts of "foreign" geological/environmental trace element incorporation. One of the contributionnbsp;is devoted to particulate matter, the presence of metals and metalloids in the environment, and the possibility of using human hair as a biomarker between environmental/geological exposure and human bioincorporation. Othernbsp;chapters focus on the last advances on the analytical methods and instrumentational approaches to investigating the chemistry of biological fluids and tissues.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 551.9 MEDI
Publication Date: 2013
Platinum Metals in the Environment by This edited volume presents new data and insights from the most internationally respected PGE experts, representing a variety of disciplines ranging from chemistry, geochemistry, biology, environmental science to toxicology and environmental health. It builds upon three previous co-edited books published by Springer, Zereini and Alt (Eds.) (1999, 2000 and 2006), incorporating the most recent advances on the topic. The book covers the following topical areas related to PGE: sources and applications, analytical methods, environmental fate, bioavailability and chemical behaviour, use of bioindicators and human exposures and health risk potential. Highly interdisciplinary in orientation, this book is a comprehensive guide to academics, students and professionals working in a number of different scientific fields, who are interested in topics related to platinum metal emissions in the environment.
Publication Date: 2014