This Reference Module contains trusted, peer-reviewed, comprehensive content. The Reference Module in EARTH SYSTEMS AND ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES covers all aspects of this interdisciplinary area of study. This comprehensive online Reference Module forms the definitive source for those entering, researching or teaching in any of the many disciplines making up this interdisciplinary area of study. In addition to a regular supply of new articles, all previously published articles are reviewed for currency to ensure articles are up-to-date. The articles are written at a level that allows upper-undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers, whether in academia or corporations, with an authoritative and up-to-date source of foundational reference material for all aspects of the field and its neighboring disciplines.
Subjects included are:
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry by
The highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry provides a much needed professional level reference work for the 21st Century. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques. The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory (environmental, clinical, QC, research, university), in the field or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a lab protocol and together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by academic and industrial researchers. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry also enables preparation of procedures, protocols and "cookbooks" by managers and staff of laboratories. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry comprises over 600 articles, arranged alphabetically by topic, in approximately 14000 pages, in 15 volumes. Features: * Outstanding authorship and the highest calibre editors * Excellence of peer-review * Article Summaries * Over 6500 illustrations, many in colour * Extensive cross-referencing to facilitate navigation between articles * Extensive bibliographies with up-to-date references Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry is the essential cross-disciplinary reference work for all analytical chemists in academia and industry. All fields of chemical research are covered: analytical, organic, physical, polymer, inorganic biomedical, environmental, pharmaceutical, industrial, petroleum, forensics and food science.
Encyclopedia of Caves (Online, eBrary) by
Encyclopedia of Caves is a self-contained, beautifully illustrated work dedicated to caves and their unique environments. It includes more than 100 comprehensive articles from leading scholars and explorers in 15 different countries. Each entry is detailed and scientifically sound, yet accessible for students and non-scientists. This large-format reference is enchanced with hundreds of full-color photographs, maps, and drawings from the authors' own work, which provide unique images of the underground environment. Global in reach--authors are an international team of experts covering caves from around the world Includes 24 new articles commissioned especially for this 2nd edition Articles contain extensive bibliographies cross-referencing related essays Hundreds of color photographs, maps, charts and illustrations of cave features and biota A-Z sequence and a comprehensive index allow for easy location of topics Glossary presents definitions of all key vocabulary items
Encyclopedia of Energy (Online, ScienceDirect) by
In recent years our usage and understanding of different types of energy has grown at a tremendous rate. The editor-in-chief, Cutler Cleveland, and his international team of associate editors have brought together approximately 400 authors to produce the Encyclopedia of Energy. This highly topical reference draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences. The Encyclopedia will provide easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities. It will not only be indispensible for academics, researchers, professionals and students, but also for policy makers, energy and environmental consultants, and all those working in business corporations and non-governmental organisations whose activities relate to energy and the environment. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. An invaluable resource for all academics, researchers, professionals and students either working in or conducting research in energy and related environmental fields An A-Z of energy, covering environmental and renewable energy through to fossil fuels and nuclear power
Encyclopedia of Geology (Online, Science Direct) by
This unrivalled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. The techniques of remote sensing and other tools of investigation that have advanced rapidly over the last few decades are described in detail. Encyclopedia of Geology is divided into 340 articles, each covering one aspect of geology. The concepts and theory are explained at a level that allows undergraduates and educated lay people to understand them. The reference has been planned and structured to provide the user with a comprehensive coverage of the core knowledge in each area. It will become the reference of choice for today's geologists and beyond. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. 340 articles Over 2500 pages Full colour throughout Theory and applications of geology Extensive cross-referencing Further Reading lists accompany each article
Encyclopedia of Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism (Online, SpringerLink) by
This reference encompasses the fields of Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism in a single volume. Both sciences have applications in navigation, in the search for minerals and hydrocarbons, in dating rock sequences, and in unraveling past geologic movements such as plate motions they have contributed to a better understanding of the Earth. The book describes in fine detail the current state of knowledge and provides an up-to-date synthesis of the most basic concepts. It is an indispensable working tool not only for geophysicists and geophysics students but also for geologists, physicists, atmospheric and environmental scientists, and engineers.
Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards (Online, SpringerLink) by
Few subjects have caught the attention of the entire world as much as those dealing with natural hazards. The first decade of this new millennium provides a litany of tragic examples of various hazards that turned into disasters affecting millions of individuals around the globe. The human losses (some 225,000 people) associated with the 2004 Indian Ocean earthquake and tsunami, the economic costs (approximately 200 billion USD) of the 2011 Tohoku Japan earthquake, tsunami and reactor event, and the collective social impacts of human tragedies experienced during Hurricane Katrina in 2005 all provide repetitive reminders that we humans are temporary guests occupying a very active and angry planet. Any examples may have been cited here to stress the point that natural events on Earth may, and often do, lead to disasters and catastrophes when humans place themselves into situations of high risk. Few subjects share the true interdisciplinary dependency that characterizes the field of natural hazards. From geology and geophysics to engineering and emergency response to social psychology and economics, the study of natural hazards draws input from an impressive suite of unique and previously independent specializations. Natural hazards provide a common platform to reduce disciplinary boundaries and facilitate a beneficial synergy in the provision of timely and useful information and action on this critical subject matter. As social norms change regarding the concept of acceptable risk and human migration leads to an explosion in the number of megacities, coastal over-crowding and unmanaged habitation in precarious environments such as mountainous slopes, the vulnerability of people and their susceptibility to natural hazards increases dramatically. Coupled with the concerns of changing climates, escalating recovery costs, a growing divergence between more developed and less developed countries, the subject of natural hazards remains on the forefront of issues that affect all people, nations, and environments all the time.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences (Online, Science Direct) by
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences 2e is a new 6-volume online reference work, pulling together all the key information in one source from the leading publisher in the field. This second edition is online, offering the user greater flexibility, accessibility, and most importantly, usability with 24 hour access, multi-user access, remote access and excellent search functionality. Structured for success, each article contains a glossary, an introduction, a reference section and a wealth of cross-referenced links to premium and related material all accessible in a mouse-click, making complicated, time consuming research a thing of the past. *Approximately 500 articles covering the breadth and depth of the field with over 30% new and updated content reflecting the latest research in the field *Greater coverage of climate, remote sensing, and data modeling, with greater consideration of economic and political aspects provides a broad view of the field *Online availability facilitates easier research and increased productivity
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (Online, Science Direct) by
Nine years has passed since the 1992 second edition of the encyclopedia was published. This completely revised third edition, which is a university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering, is refreshed with numerous articles about current research in these fields. For example, the new edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas. The continuing Editor-in-Chief, Robert Meyers, and the Board prepared a new topical outline of physical science and technology to define complete coverage. Section editors are either Nobel Laureates or editors of key journals in their fields. Additional Board members representing the global scientific community were also recruited. The new 18-volume edition of the Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3E, will have the added feature of an Index Volume, containing abstracts of all of the articles in the encyclopedia. Has been completely updated with no less than 90% revised material and 50% new content throughout the volumes Presents eighteen volumes, nearly 800 authoritative articles and 14,500 pages Is lavishly illustrated with over 7,000 photographs, illustrations and tables Presents an increased emphasis on the hottest topics such as information processing, environmental science, biotechnology and biomedicine Includes a final Index Volume containing Thematic, Relational and Subject indexes
Encyclopedia of Planetary Landforms (Online, SpringerLink) by
This encyclopedia provides a snapshot of our current geological knowledge on solid-surface Solar System bodies. Each entry contains information about the features' morphology, its interpretation, proposed formation models, distribution and occurrence, planetary or terrestrial analogs, and research history. The entries are fully referenced. All image captions include original image IDs. More than 600 named planetary feature types are discussed in the encyclopedia, covering a wide range of scales--from micrometers to global scale--and also include landform types (structural or topographic features), parts of landforms, terrain types or surface textures, surface patterns, and features identified at wavelengths extending from visible to radio waves (e.g., albedo, thermal infrared, and radar features). The book covers features formed by impact, aeolian, magmatic, volcanic, tectonic, fluvial, lacustrine, marine and coastal, mass movement, sedimentary, desiccation, liquefaction, periglacial, glacial, nival, sublimation, collapse, weathering, and selective erosion or other, including complex processes. Depending on the information and formation models available, the entries have different approaches. Some of them discuss their subject from the point of view of the inferred process or origin, others are morphology or description-based. As a default, entries focus on extraterrestrial landforms, while also mentioning their proposed terrestrial analogs. Most planetary landforms are not body-specific, but some have no known terrestrial counterparts. Named historic (obsolete) landform types are also included to provide reference for previous key research papers. To make it easier to find features with related origins, the encyclopedia contains entries that list landforms based on their formative processes. It also lists body-specific features on Mercury (5 feature types), Venus (40), the Earth (13), the Moon (15), Mars (87), Io (7), Europa (17), Callisto (7), Titan (9), Triton (2), mid-sized satellites (8), and small bodies (3). Also included are entries on the 51 planetary feature descriptor terms approved by IAU.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science (Online, Science Direct) by
The second revised edition of the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science, provides both students and professionals with an up-to-date reference work on this important and highly varied area of research. There are lots of new articles, and many of the articles that appeared in the first edition have been updated to reflect advances in knowledge since 2006, when the original articles were written. The second edition will contain about 375 articles, written by leading experts around the world. This major reference work is richly illustrated with more than 3,000 illustrations, most of them in colour. Research in the Quaternary sciences has advanced greatly in the last 10 years, especially since topics like global climate change, geologic hazards and soil erosion were put high on the political agenda. This second edition builds upon its award-winning predecessor to provide the reader assured quality along with essential updated coverage Contains 357 broad-ranging articles (4310 pages) written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with a ready reference resource for information in the field. Facilitates teaching and learning The first edition was regarded by many as the most significant single overview of Quaternary science ever, yet Editor-in-Chief, Scott Elias, has managed to surpass that in this second edition by securing even more expert reviews whilst retaining his renowned editorial consistency that enables readers to navigates seamlessly from one unfamiliar topic to the next
Encyclopedia of Scientific Dating Methods (Online, SpringerLink) by
This volume provides an overview of (1) the physical and chemical foundations of dating methods and (2) the applications of dating methods in the geological sciences, biology, and archaeology, in almost 200 articles from over 200 international authors. It will serve as the most comprehensive treatise on widely accepted dating methods in the earth sciences and related fields. No other volume has a similar scope, in terms of methods and applications and particularly time range. Dating methods are used to determine the timing and rate of various processes, such as sedimentation (terrestrial and marine), tectonics, volcanism, geomorphological change, cooling rates, crystallization, fluid flow, glaciation, climate change and evolution. The volume includes applications in terrestrial and extraterrestrial settings, the burgeoning field of molecular-clock dating and topics in the intersection of earth sciences with forensics. The content covers a broad range of techniques and applications. All major accepted dating techniques are included, as well as all major datable materials.
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary Rocks (Online, EbscoHost) by
This comprehensive, one-volume encyclopedia covers the sedimentological aspects of sediments and sedimentary rocks. It features more than 250 entries by some 180 eminent contributors from all over the world, excellent indices, cross references, and extensive bibliographies.
A Dictionary of Earth Sciences (Online, Knovel) by
This leading dictionary - now in its third edition - offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics in 6,250+ clear and accessible entries. Coverage includes geology, oceanography, paleontology, minerology, volcanology, and planetary science as well asclimatology, geochemistry and petrology. It is an essential reference for students of geography, geology, and earth sciences and in related disciplines. The third edition is fully updated and includes additional coverage of process geomorphology and physical geography, plus more than 50 new line drawings to accompany descriptions of forms and processes. The new edition also includes entry-level web links, accessed via a regularly updated companionwebsite to ensure that links do not go out of date. The appendices include a revised geological timel scale, an updated bibliography, stratigraphic units, lunar and Martian time scales, wind-strenght scales, and SI units.
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences (Online, Knovel) by
This leading dictionary - now in its fourth edition - offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics in over 7,500 clear and accessible entries. This new edition has been fully updated and 150 new entries added, with expanded coverage of geology and planetary geology terms. Over 130 line drawings accompany the definitions. It is essential for students of geography, geology, and earth sciences, and for those in relateddisciplines.
Igneous Rocks: - A Classification and Glossary of Terms (Online, Knovel) by
Decades of field and microscope studies, and more recent quantitative geochemical analyses have resulted in a vast, and sometimes overwhelming, array of nomenclature and terminology associated with igneous rocks. This book presents a complete classification of igneous rocks based on all the recommendations of the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS) Subcommission on the Systematics of Igneous Rocks. The glossary of igneous terms has been fully updated since the first edition and now includes 1637 entries, of which 316 are recommended by the Subcommission. Incorporating a comprehensive bibliography of source references for all the terms included in the glossary, this book is an indispensable reference guide for all geologists studying igneous rocks, either in the field or the laboratory. It presents a standardised and widely accepted naming scheme that will allow geologists to interpret terminology in the primary literature and provide formal names for rock samples based on petrographic analyses. It is also supported by a website with downloadable code for chemical classifications.
Geological Structures and Maps by
Introduces the skills of interpreting a geological map and relating it to the morphology of the most important types of geological structure. This work places emphasis on developing the skill of three-dimensional visualization, and provides an introduction to the subject of geological maps.
Dictionary Geotechnical Engineering/Wörterbuch GeoTechnik (Online, SpringerLink) by
An unparalleled reference resource, the "Dictionary Geotechnical Engineering" consists of more than 70.000 unique entries. Many of the entries are supplemented by synonyms and/or additional explanations as required and useful. Besides terms from general geology, the dictionary lays emphasis on topics in applied geoscience. Main fields are: - mining - soil science - earthwork - exploration geology - geophysics - geomorphology - foundation engineering - hydrogeology - hydraulic engineering - cartography - geology of mineral deposits - mineralogy - oceanography - and surveying. More than 10.000 new terms are included in this second edition, plus extended explanations of many terms previously translated.
The Black Sea Encyclopedia (Online, SpringerLink) by
This publication is devoted to the natural feature - the Black Sea and its littoral states. At the same time the Azov Sea is also considered here. This region is the focus of many geopolitical, economic, social and environmental issues that involve not only the countries coming out to the Black and Azov Seas, but other world countries, too. This publication contains over 1500 articles and terms providing descriptions of geographical and oceanographic features, cities, ports, transport routes, marine biological resources, international treaties, national and international programs, research institutions, historical and archaeological monuments, activities of prominent scientists, researchers, travelers, military commanders, etc. who had relation to the Black Sea. It includes a multi-century chronology of the events that became the outstanding milestones in the history of development of the Black Sea - Azov Sea region.
Dictionary Geotechnical Engineering/Wörterbuch GeoTechnik (Online, SpringerLink) by
An unparalleled reference resource, the "Dictionary Geotechnical Engineering" consists of more than 70.000 unique entries. Many of the entries are supplemented by synonyms and/or additional explanations as required and useful. Besides terms from general geology, the dictionary lays emphasis on topics in applied geoscience. Main fields are: - mining - soil science - earthwork - exploration geology - geophysics - geomorphology - foundation engineering - hydrogeology - hydraulic engineering - cartography - geology of mineral deposits - mineralogy - oceanography - and surveying. More than 10.000 new terms are included in this second edition, plus extended explanations of many terms previously translated.
The Eastern Arctic Seas Encyclopedia (Online, SpringerLink) by
This Encyclopedia is designed to accumulate and systematize our knowledge about the unique natural water areas - the Laptev, East Siberian and Chukchi seas, their wealth, the events that took place on its waters and shores, and the remarkable people whose lives were and are closely intertwined with the seas. The Encyclopedia contains about 1,500 terms and concepts related to the seas in alphabetical order. It describes geographical features: rivers, lakes, straits, bays; provides information about towns, seaports, transport communications, basic aquatic biological species, nature reserves, national and international programs for the study of the sea, research institutes, historical monuments, activities of prominent explorers and travelers, researchers and scientists. The Encyclopedia also includes a chronology of major historical events connected with the Eastern Arctic seas for more than 400 years.
Encyclopedia of Earth and Space Science (Online; eBrary) by
The two-volume Encyclopedia of Earth and Space Science is the perfect complement to the material typically taught in high school and college Earth science and astronomy classes. Based on the NSES Content Standards, this comprehensive reference emphasizes the physical processes involved in the formation and evolution of the Earth and universe, describes many examples of different types of geological and astrophysical phenomena, provides historical perspectives, and gives insight into the process of scientific inquiry by incorporating biographical profiles of people who have contributed significantly to the development of the sciences. The big bang theory is presented along with an evaluation of its physical principles and fundamental laws. The resulting structure of the universe, galaxies, solar system, planets, and places on Earth are also discussed. This informative resource boasts full-color photographs and illustrations, as well as an index, appendixes, cross-references, and a chronology. Entries include: Asthenosphere; Australian geology; Black smoker chimneys; Charles Darwin; El Nio and the Southern Oscillation (ENSO); Estuary; Galaxy clusters; George Gamow; Hipparchus; Japan; Madagascar; Mercury; Milankovitch cycles; Pangaea; Radio galaxies; Russian geology; Tsunamis.
Gaither's Dictionary of Scientific Quotations (Online, SpringerLink) by
This unprecedented collection of 27,000 quotations is the most comprehensive and carefully researched of its kind, covering all fields of science and mathematics. With this vast compendium you can readily conceptualize and embrace the written images of scientists, laymen, politicians, novelists, playwrights, and poets about humankind's scientific achievements. Approximately 9000 high-quality entries have been added to this new edition to provide a rich selection of quotations for the student, the educator, and the scientist who would like to introduce a presentation with a relevant quotation that provides perspective and historical background on his subject. Gaither's Dictionary of Scientific Quotations, Second Edition, provides the finest reference source of science quotations for all audiences. The new edition adds greater depth to the number of quotations in the various thematic arrangements and also provides new thematic categories.
Global Environmental Change (Online, SpringerLink) by
The handbook Global Environmental Change is intended to serve as a reliable and comprehensive resource to attend the needs of researchers, teachers, students, and professionals working in science and policy aspects relevant to environment and sustainability. Entries in the handbook are arranged by major section, and are extensively cross-referenced to allow users to find related titles in a user-friendly way. The handbook is available as a printed volume and as an on-line reference work.
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Online, eBrary) by
Authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours, and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary (Online. CRC) by
The lingo of soil science is a language unto itself. Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary is a glossary of terms used in soil and environmental science, including terms from related disciplines. Designed for teachers, students, researchers and others interested or involved in environmental sciences related to soils, this compilation includes all terms and definitions from the current Canadian Society of Soil Science (CSSS) glossary as well as from various other sources such as the Soil Science Society of America and the Soil and Water Conservation Society. Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary defines terms accurately and clearly for professionals working in areas such as agronomy, building construction, civil engineering, forestry, environmental science and planning, geology, hydrology, petrology, and plant science.
Treatise on Geochemistry. 2nd ed. (Online, Science Direct) by
This extensively updated new edition of the widely acclaimed Treatise on Geochemistry has increased its coverage beyond the wide range of geochemical subject areas in the first edition, with five new volumes which include: the history of the atmosphere, geochemistry of mineral deposits, archaeology and anthropology, organic geochemistry and analytical geochemistry. In addition, the original Volume 1 on "Meteorites, Comets, and Planets" was expanded into two separate volumes dealing with meteorites and planets, respectively. These additions increased the number of volumes in the Treatise from 9 to 15 with the index/appendices volume remaining as the last volume (Volume 16). Each of the original volumes was scrutinized by the appropriate volume editors, with respect to necessary revisions as well as additions and deletions. As a result, 27% were republished without major changes, 66% were revised and 126 new chapters were added. In a many-faceted field such as Geochemistry, explaining and understanding how one sub-field relates to another is key. Instructors will find the complete overviews with extensive cross-referencing useful additions to their course packs and students will benefit from the contextual organization of the subject matter. Six new volumes added and 66% updated from 1stedition. The Editors of this work have taken every measure to include the many suggestions received from readers and ensure comprehensiveness of coverage and added value in this 2nd edition. The esteemed Board of Volume Editors and Editors-in-Chief worked cohesively to ensure a uniform and consistent approach to the content, which is an amazing accomplishment for a 15-volume work (16 volumes including index volume)!
Treatise on Geomorphology (Online, Science Direct) by
The changing focus and approach of geomorphic research suggests that the time is opportune for a summary of the state of discipline. The number of peer-reviewed papers published in geomorphic journals has grown steadily for more than two decades and, more importantly, the diversity of authors with respect to geographic location and disciplinary background (geography, geology, ecology, civil engineering, computer science, geographic information science, and others) has expanded dramatically. As more good minds are drawn to geomorphology, and the breadth of the peer-reviewed literature grows, an effective summary of contemporary geomorphic knowledge becomes increasingly difficult. The fourteen volumes of this Treatise on Geomorphology will provide an important reference for users from undergraduate students looking for term paper topics, to graduate students starting a literature review for their thesis work, and professionals seeking a concise summary of a particular topic. Information on the historical development of diverse topics within geomorphology provides context for ongoing research; discussion of research strategies, equipment, and field methods, laboratory experiments, and numerical simulations reflect the multiple approaches to understanding Earth's surfaces; and summaries of outstanding research questions highlight future challenges and suggest productive new avenues for research. Our future ability to adapt to geomorphic changes in the critical zone very much hinges upon how well landform scientists comprehend the dynamics of Earth's diverse surfaces. This Treatise on Geomorphology provides a useful synthesis of the state of the discipline, as well as highlighting productive research directions, that Educators and students/researchers will find useful. Geomorphology has advanced greatly in the last 10 years to become a very interdisciplinary field. Undergraduate students looking for term paper topics, to graduate students starting a literature review for their thesis work, and professionals seeking a concise summary of a particular topic will find the answers they need in this broad reference work which has been designed and written to accommodate their diverse backgrounds and levels of understanding Editor-in-Chief, Prof. J. F. Shroder of the University of Nebraska at Omaha, is past president of the QG&G section of the Geological Society of America and present Trustee of the GSA Foundation, while being well respected in the geomorphology research community and having won numerous awards in the field. A host of noted international geomorphologists have contributed state-of-the-art chapters to the work. Readers can be guaranteed that every chapter in this extensive work has been critically reviewed for consistency and accuracy by the World expert Volume Editors and by the Editor-in-Chief himself No other reference work exists in the area of Geomorphology that offers the breadth and depth of information contained in this 14-volume masterpiece. From the foundations and history of geomorphology through to geomorphological innovations and computer modelling, and the past and future states of landform science, no "stone" has been left unturned!
Treatise on Geophysics (Online, Science Direct) by
Treatise on Geophysics, Second Edition, is a comprehensive and in-depth study of the physics of the Earth beyond what any geophysics text has provided previously. Thoroughly revised and updated, it provides fundamental and state-of-the-art discussion of all aspects of geophysics. A highlight of the second edition is a new volume on Near Surface Geophysics that discusses the role of geophysics in the exploitation and conservation of natural resources and the assessment of degradation of natural systems by pollution. Additional features include new material in the Planets and Moon, Mantle Dynamics, Core Dynamics, Crustal and Lithosphere Dynamics, Evolution of the Earth, and Geodesy volumes. New material is also presented on the uses of Earth gravity measurements. This title is essential for professionals, researchers, professors, and advanced undergraduate and graduate students in the fields of Geophysics and Earth system science. Comprehensive and detailed coverage of all aspects of geophysics Fundamental and state-of-the-art discussions of all research topics Integration of topics into a coherent whole
