This Reference Module in Chemistry, Molecular Science and Chemistry Engineering contains trusted, peer-reviewed, comprehensive content from our reference works as curated by our world-class editorial board led by Editor-in-Chief, Jan Reedijk. It is designed for faster, more relevant browsing within the subject and beyond, with "Featured Articles" for quick, clear overviews, subject hierarchies to put everything in context, and guidance to lead researchers to related knowledge.
Subjects included are:
Encyclopedia of Cancer (Online, ScienceDirect) by
Encyclopedia of Cancer, Third Edition provides a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of the multiple facets of the disease, including research, treatment and societal impact. This new edition comprises 180 contributions from renown experts who present the latest in Mechanisms, Hallmarks of Cancer, Causes of Cancer, Prevention and Control, Diagnosis and Therapy, Pathology and the Genetics of specific Cancers. Readers will find a comprehensive overview of the main areas of oncology, including etiology, mechanisms, prevention, and treatments, from basic science to clinical applications and public health, all set alongside the latest advances and hot topics that have emerged since the previous edition. Topics of interest in the field, including genomics and epigenomics, our understanding of the causes of cancer and the approaches to preventing it (e.g., HPV vaccination, role of obesity and nutrition, molecular markers of environmental exposures), new screening techniques (e.g., low-dose CT for lung cancer) and improvements in the treatment of many cancers (e.g., breast cancer, lung adenocarcinoma) are comprehensively and authoritatively presented.
Encyclopedia of Cancer (Online, SpringerLink) by
This work comprehensively describes etiological factors in the development , Progression and metastasis of human cancers, both for hematological malignancies and for solid Tumors. Approaches for the diagnosis as well as for therapies are outlined too. The fourth edition of the "Encyclopedia of Cancer" features a vastly extended number of terms as compared to the previous edition. Previously published entries have enjoyed a vigorous updating and adjustment to current status of knowledge, a large number of new timely entries have been added to consider the amazing progress and modern developments both in basic and clinical aspects of cancer. Up-to date and authoritative Essays present a comprehensive picture of topics ranging from pathology, to clinical oncology, and targeted therapy for personalized cancer medicine for major human cancers, in particular breast cancer, colorectal cancer, prostate cancer, renal cancer lung cancer and hematological malignancies , leukemias and lymphomas. Each author is an international authority for the particular topic, and each entry has been adjusted to an easy-to-follow reader-friendly structure that allows to collect very rapidly essential information. At the same time, these essays should be considered a starting point from which the quest for more detailed information can depart. Extensive cross referencing of essays is an instrument by whic h the acquisition of the complete picture of a particular topic will be facilitated.
Gaither's Dictionary of Scientific Quotations (Online, SpringerLink) by
This unprecedented collection of 27,000 quotations is the most comprehensive and carefully researched of its kind, covering all fields of science and mathematics. With this vast compendium you can readily conceptualize and embrace the written images of scientists, laymen, politicians, novelists, playwrights, and poets about humankind's scientific achievements. Approximately 9000 high-quality entries have been added to this new edition to provide a rich selection of quotations for the student, the educator, and the scientist who would like to introduce a presentation with a relevant quotation that provides perspective and historical background on his subject. Gaither's Dictionary of Scientific Quotations, Second Edition, provides the finest reference source of science quotations for all audiences. The new edition adds greater depth to the number of quotations in the various thematic arrangements and also provides new thematic categories.
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Online, eBrary) by
Authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours, and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
Treatise on Geochemistry. 2nd ed. (Online, Science Direct) by
This extensively updated new edition of the widely acclaimed Treatise on Geochemistry has increased its coverage beyond the wide range of geochemical subject areas in the first edition, with five new volumes which include: the history of the atmosphere, geochemistry of mineral deposits, archaeology and anthropology, organic geochemistry and analytical geochemistry. In addition, the original Volume 1 on "Meteorites, Comets, and Planets" was expanded into two separate volumes dealing with meteorites and planets, respectively. These additions increased the number of volumes in the Treatise from 9 to 15 with the index/appendices volume remaining as the last volume (Volume 16). Each of the original volumes was scrutinized by the appropriate volume editors, with respect to necessary revisions as well as additions and deletions. As a result, 27% were republished without major changes, 66% were revised and 126 new chapters were added. In a many-faceted field such as Geochemistry, explaining and understanding how one sub-field relates to another is key. Instructors will find the complete overviews with extensive cross-referencing useful additions to their course packs and students will benefit from the contextual organization of the subject matter. Six new volumes added and 66% updated from 1stedition. The Editors of this work have taken every measure to include the many suggestions received from readers and ensure comprehensiveness of coverage and added value in this 2nd edition. The esteemed Board of Volume Editors and Editors-in-Chief worked cohesively to ensure a uniform and consistent approach to the content, which is an amazing accomplishment for a 15-volume work (16 volumes including index volume)!
The Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) dictionary is a structured database containing detailed information on over 500,000 chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.
Natural Products in Chemical Biology (Online) by
Based on the award winning Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology, this book provides a general overview of the unique features of the small molecules referred to as "natural products", explores how this traditionally organic chemistry-based field was transformed by insights from genetics and biochemistry, and highlights some promising future directions. The book begins by introducing natural products from different origins, moves on to presenting and discussing biosynthesis of various classes of natural products, and then looks at natural products as models and the possibilities of using them in medicine.
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology by
PRINT/ONLINE PRICING OPTIONS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST AT e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (Online, Science Direct) by
Nine years has passed since the 1992 second edition of the encyclopedia was published. This completely revised third edition, which is a university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering, is refreshed with numerous articles about current research in these fields. For example, the new edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas. The continuing Editor-in-Chief, Robert Meyers, and the Board prepared a new topical outline of physical science and technology to define complete coverage. Section editors are either Nobel Laureates or editors of key journals in their fields. Additional Board members representing the global scientific community were also recruited. The new 18-volume edition of the Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3E, will have the added feature of an Index Volume, containing abstracts of all of the articles in the encyclopedia. Has been completely updated with no less than 90% revised material and 50% new content throughout the volumes Presents eighteen volumes, nearly 800 authoritative articles and 14,500 pages Is lavishly illustrated with over 7,000 photographs, illustrations and tables Presents an increased emphasis on the hottest topics such as information processing, environmental science, biotechnology and biomedicine Includes a final Index Volume containing Thematic, Relational and Subject indexes
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science (Online, Science Direct) by
The second revised edition of the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science, provides both students and professionals with an up-to-date reference work on this important and highly varied area of research. There are lots of new articles, and many of the articles that appeared in the first edition have been updated to reflect advances in knowledge since 2006, when the original articles were written. The second edition will contain about 375 articles, written by leading experts around the world. This major reference work is richly illustrated with more than 3,000 illustrations, most of them in colour. Research in the Quaternary sciences has advanced greatly in the last 10 years, especially since topics like global climate change, geologic hazards and soil erosion were put high on the political agenda. This second edition builds upon its award-winning predecessor to provide the reader assured quality along with essential updated coverage Contains 357 broad-ranging articles (4310 pages) written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with a ready reference resource for information in the field. Facilitates teaching and learning The first edition was regarded by many as the most significant single overview of Quaternary science ever, yet Editor-in-Chief, Scott Elias, has managed to surpass that in this second edition by securing even more expert reviews whilst retaining his renowned editorial consistency that enables readers to navigates seamlessly from one unfamiliar topic to the next
Encyclopedia of Scientific Dating Methods (Online, SpringerLink) by
This volume provides an overview of (1) the physical and chemical foundations of dating methods and (2) the applications of dating methods in the geological sciences, biology, and archaeology, in almost 200 articles from over 200 international authors. It will serve as the most comprehensive treatise on widely accepted dating methods in the earth sciences and related fields. No other volume has a similar scope, in terms of methods and applications and particularly time range. Dating methods are used to determine the timing and rate of various processes, such as sedimentation (terrestrial and marine), tectonics, volcanism, geomorphological change, cooling rates, crystallization, fluid flow, glaciation, climate change and evolution. The volume includes applications in terrestrial and extraterrestrial settings, the burgeoning field of molecular-clock dating and topics in the intersection of earth sciences with forensics. The content covers a broad range of techniques and applications. All major accepted dating techniques are included, as well as all major datable materials.
