Databases - Law - LLB and other law degrees (1st Year Support) - LibGuides at University of Johannesburg

South African Legal Databases

Jutastat Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, legal manuals and commentaries. Includes case law and statutes from Zimbabwe. Full text. Coverage varies according to title.
Lexis Library This link opens in a new window South African legal journals, law reports, legislation, gazettes, reference works, textbooks, practitioners manuals and commentaries Coverage varies according to title Full Text

In order to access Lexis Library, you have to self-register.

Please follow these steps:

Click on Register
Insert your Name, Surname, UJ email address and create a password of your choice
Click Register again
A verification email will be sent to your UJ email address
Click on Verify Account
You are then good to go and can login with your UJ email address as username and the password of your choice

Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary information originating from or pertaining to Africa with a strong focus on South Africa. Full-text. Coverage: 2000 to the present.
SABINET Discover (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window South African Law, various legal databases, includes legal journals, Bills, Government Gazettes, Municipal By-laws, Policy documents, Provincial Gazettes, Provincial Legislation, SA legislation (Acts, Rules, Regulations) Coverage: Varies according to database product Full text (except for Law and Government)

Databases A - Z

All UJ online Databases
more...less...
Registered UJ Staff and Students can access online Library services by:

Using their UJ Email password in conjunction with their UJ username (Staff) or UJ student number (Campus Option)
Using the current Library Option (i.e. Surname, UJ ID & Library PIN)

How do I use the filter?
1. To filter by Database Title, select the First Letter of the Title and select Submit.
2. To filter by one or more Subjects, select the Box next to the required subject(s) and select Submit. Remember to include Multidisciplinary in your selection.
3. To clear all filters, select Reset search criteria.

Should you encounter a security warning when accessing a database, please follow the step by step instructions in this document

Bibliographic Databases

Bibliographic databases provide the bibliographic details of an article but does not provide the full text.

EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text

International Legal Databases with Some South African Content

HeinOnline (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Law. The world’s largest image-based legal research collection, contains more than nine centuries of legal history Coverage: From vol. 1 with embargoes on the last ±2 years Full text

Databases within HeinOnline:

Journals and Periodicals

American Bar Association Journals
Core US Journals
Criminal Justice Journals
Edward Elgar Publishing Law Package
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
International and Non-US Law Journals
Law Journal Library
Most Cited Law Journals

Canadian Content

Canada Supreme Court Reports
Revised Statutes of Canada

Case Law

Canada Supreme Court Reports
Early American Case Law
English Reports
Israel Law Reports
U.S. Supreme Court Library

International Resources

Australian Law Reform Commission Library (ALRC)
Canada Supreme Court Reports
English Reports
European Centre for Minority Issues
Foreign & International Law Resources Database
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
Harvard Research in International Law
History of International Law
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
International & Non-U.S. Law Journals
International Commission of Jurists Library (ICJ)
International Law Association Reports
Israel Law Reports
Law in Eastern Europe (Book Series)
Law Library of Congress Reports
Multinational Sources Compared
Open Society Justice Initiative
Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law Publications
Revised Statutes of Canada
Statutes of the Realm
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
United Nations Law Collection
World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents and Resources
World Treaty Library

International Treaties and Agreements

U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
United Nations Law Collection
World Treaty Library

Special Collections

American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)
Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights
Association of American Law Schools (AALS)
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASÉ)
Civil Rights and Social Justice
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Criminal Justice and Criminology
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
Intellectual Property Law Collection
International Commission of Jurists Library (ICJ)
International Law Association Reports
Law Academy Project
Legal Classics
LGBTQ+ Rights
Multinational Sources Compared
National Moot Court Competition
Open Society Justice Initiative
Pentagon Papers
Religion and the Law
Slavery in America and the World: History Culture & Law
Trends in Law Library Management and Technology
Women and the Law (Peggy)

UK Content

English Reports

U.S. Federal Content

Civil Rights and Social Justice
Code of Federal Regulations
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Early American Case Law
Federal Register Library
Intellectual Property Law Collection
Law Library of Congress Reports
LGBTQ+ Rights
Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP)
U.S. Code
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library

U.S. State Content

Civil Rights and Social Justice
LGBTQ+ Rights

International Legal Databases

Brill Climate Change & Law Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive collection of climate change and law documents contains original source, non-edited and non-redacted “grey literature” (non-peer reviewed) in English, centered on climate change and the law.
Juris das Rechsportal (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window German database. Online legal information including bibliographies, Federal law, European rights and practice reports. Coverage varies according to title Full text Username and password required, contact the Law Librarian at (011) 559-3188/3193 during office hours.
Kluwer Law Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals Coverage: From Vol. 1 Full Text
Kluwer Law Online Manuals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International Encyclopaedia of Law Series (IEL), loose-leafs in electronic format Coverage: updated regularly Full Text
Legal Source (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals, including book reviews and case citations Coverage: Vol. 1 to the present Full text
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window Formerly known as LexisNexis UK. Lexis+ UK is an important source of full text legal information. It provides access to UK, EU, US, and international case law, legislation, legal journals, as well as UK national and regional newspapers. • Coverage varies according to title. • Full text.
SCC Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Indian case law, statutory law, secondary material, foreign and international material Coverage: varies according to title Full Text

How to Access SCC Online

Vlex Justis (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Case law and legislation in the UK, Ireland, EU and the Caribbean. Also includes cases and legislation (Conventions and Protocols) of the European Court of Human Rights Coverage: varies according to title Full Text
Westlaw International (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window International law, Ebooks Books, Treaties, Journal articles, Case Law and Legislation Coverage: Varies according to title Partly full text
Westlaw UK (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
Westlaw US (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases with Some Legal Content

Brill Online Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers humanities, social sciences and international law Coverage: varies per collection Full text
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
De Gruyter Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals Coverage: varies per collection Full text
EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content

See the following databases on EBSCOHost which may be of interest:

Academic Search Ultimate
Africa-Wide Information
Business Source Ultimate
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Women's Studies International

JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
Oxford Journals Online (Open Athens) This link opens in a new window Oxford Journals Online features the content of highly cited journals in the fields of Medicine, Life sciences, Humanities, Law, Physical and Social sciences Coverage: 1996+ Full Text
SAGE Journals Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subject areas. Coverage: 1879 to present Bibliographic and abstracts Partly full text - only to UJ journal subscriptions
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols

Law - LLB and other law degrees (1st Year Support): Databases

NEED HELP?

Research Support, Reputable Links and Definition of a Database