Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Sciences - Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences: Finding Journal Articles (Databases)

What are Library Databases

Image source: Elsevier, 2016

An academic library database is both an electronic catalogue and the access point to information from published works (research).

UJ library database collection

What is a Journal Article?

Journal articles are written by researchers or scholars who work in a professional or in an academic field.

An editorial board evaluates articles submitted. Subject specialists decide whether or not the article adds valuable, important or new information to the subject and whether or not the research has been conducted correctly, academically and in an ethical or moral way. Articles thus reviewed or examined are called ‘peer reviewed’.

Journal articles quote sources to substantiate information or statements and also to have an academic reading list of sources consulted for writing the article.

Radiography (Journal)

A-Z Journal List: Finding Journal Articles

How do I access Databases

Search Tips and Techniques

Journal of Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences

Journal of Nuclear Medicine Technology

Medical Imaging Videos from AVON Academic Video Online / Alexander Street

Medical imaging videos of the interior of a body for clinical analysis and medical intervention.

South African Databases

   

           DATABASE USERGUIDE

PubMed Medical Search Engine

PubMed is a medical database with citations and abstracts of biomedical literature (Pubmed, n.d.).

Lean Library

Google Scholar Search