Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Sciences - Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences: Research Management Tools

Refworks and Mendeley

RefWorks enables you to manage your references & create bibliographies automatically in your preferred reference style. It also allows you to export references from most journal databases into your own RefWorks account.

You can also do your in-text referencing with the RefWorks Write-n-Cite tool.

You can access RefWorks from the library wegpage or via the following link: RefWorks

Several tutorials on different aspects of RefWorks is available via the following link: RefWorks tutorials

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

  • Automatically generate bibliographies
  • Collaborate easily with other researchers online
  • Easily import papers from other research software
  • Find relevant papers based on what you’re reading
  • Access your papers from anywhere online
  • Read papers on the go, with our new iPhone app

 

Reference Techniques 

         HARVARD method

Research Tools

Accredited Journals

           DHET Accredited Journals         

From UJ Website: Click Research and follow the steps below: 

Includes:  Institute of Scientific Information (ISI) Journal List                             

International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS) Journal List                             

South African Journals on the ISI or IBSS Journal Lists

Norwegian List

Scopus

Journal Citation Reports (Impact Factors)

             Journal Citation reports (ISI)
             Information for new users
             About Journal citation reports
             Using Journal citation reports wisely

Theses & Dissertations (UJ)

      ETDs (UJ )- UJ Theses & dissertations available via the web
      ETD Submission Guidelines

      ETD Submission Form    
      UJ Theses & Dissertations in print - search  UJLink

Statistical consultation services (STATKON)

STATKON provides a professional, goal-orientated statistical consultation service to postgraduate students and researchers at UJ in respect of research design and methodology, experimental and questionnaire design, and statistical analysis of data. For assistance please contact statkon@uj.ac.za / 011 559 2851/2629

Research and Innovation division

For more information on Research policies, partnerships, funding, outputs, initiatives, news and more, visit the  Postgraduate School.

How to get published (Instructions to Authors)
      
      Elsevier: For Authors
      Emerald
      Publishing open access journals (Public Library of Science)
      SAGE: Journal Author Gateway
      Springer: For Authors 

      Wiley - Resources for Authors
  
    Directory of open access journals: For publishers

Sage Research Methods Online is designed to allow researchers to explore various research methods. It links over 100 000 pages of Sage's book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. It can be found under DATABASES on the UJ library website and is accessible to all UJ users.

Measure Research Performance

 

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers an overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.

Incites on the ISI Web of Science Incites provides Research Performance profiles.

With Incites comprehensive publications and citation reports can be generated. Influential emerging researchers can be pinpointed by it. It monitors collaboration activity. Output and impact statistics for benchmarking are available. The home institution can be compared to others worldwide and field strenghts within a territory or country can be identified.

Key indicators of research excellence for leading institutions worldwide can be supplied. Measures on reputation, funding, publication, staff and students can be examined.