Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guidelines for submitting Dissertations and e-Theses
Open Access Repositories
- Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR)
The OpenDOAR service provides a quality-assured listing of open access repositories around the world. OpenDOAR is primarily a service to enhance and support the academic and research activities of the global community. OpenDOAR maintains a comprehensive and authoritative list of institutional and subject-based repositories.
- South African Academic Open Access Repositories (in OpenDOAR)
Provides a list of links to Institutional repositories of SA universities and research organizations i.e. CSIR.
UJ Thesis and Dissertations
Theses and Dissertations from other SA Universities
- OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
- Nexus - Current and Completed Research Projects Database
This database provides information on current and completed research projects including theses and dissertations in South Africa. It provides information on all fields of science since 1919. Includes citations, some abstracts & a limited number of records with links to full-text. ** Contact your librarian for a Nexus search.
- Nexus - National ETD Portal
This database contains online full-text dissertations and theses completed at South African universities. No password is required for access. Select the relevant title for more information. Select the Identifier link for the full-text of the study in the specific Institution's Repository.
International Theses and Dissertations
What is a Dissertation and Thesis
A thesis or dissertation is a document submitted in support of candidature for an academic degree or professional qualification presenting the author's research and findings.