Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Sciences - Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences: Information Sources

Background information

Source Details Example Where to find?
Dictionaries 
 
  • A reference book on a particular subject and items are arranged in alphabetical order
  • Provides meaning and equivalent of words
  • Provides equivalent of words in different languages
  • Explains specific terminology
  • Format: Print or online

Useful to get background information or definitions

  • The Oxford English dictionary
  • Harvard dictionary of music
  • Collins English thesaurus

Library catalogue

Dictionaries are reference material and not available for loan 
unless it is in electronic format.

Encyclopaedias

  • A reference book giving information on general topics or specific topics.
  • Information is comprehensive and authoritative
  • Contains factual information
  • Contains illustrations
  • Format: Print or electronic
Useful for background and  historical information

General:

  • Encyclopaedia Britannica
  • Oxford Illustrated Encyclopedia

Subject:

  • Encyclopedia of Religion
  • Encyclopedia of Sociology

Library catalogue

Encyclopaedias are reference material and not available for loan
unless it is in electronic format. 

Websites

  • Connected group of pages on the World Wide Webb
  • Organisational information (.org)
  • Commercial information (.com)
  • Educational information (.edu)
  • Individual information
  • Company information
  • Social media
  • Information cannot always be verified or checked for accuracy
  • Textual information
  • Visual information
  • Multimedia
  • Interactive
  • Information is devoted to a single topic or several closely related topics
  • Message boards
  • Social Media sites
  • Academic journals (etc)
World Wide Webb

Enter your opinions in your journal