Library- Research Navigator: Destination 6: Publishing Your Research

Many first-time authors use the research conducted as part of their PhD or even Master’s thesis as a basis for a journal article. While that’s a logical step, the requirements for a thesis differ from those of a paper in a peer reviewed academic journal in very significant ways. Ensuring that you are familiar with these can prove the difference between acceptance and rejection...

Find the top 8 tips to help you turn your PhD into an article here .

Please  find other useful reading below:

• https://authorservices.taylorandfrancis.com/from-phd-to-book-the-basics/
• https://authorservices.taylorandfrancis.com/3-tips-for-getting-your-dissertation-published/

Here are a few of the many factors that you should consider when developing your publishing strategy.

Check:

1. If a journal is indexed in Web of Science, Scopus and for Open Access journals check on the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) 

2. If your article topic suits the journal's subject  

3. What is a peer-review procedure for a journal 

4. Editorial board

5. Who is the target audience of a journal

6.Type of publications in a journal

7. Journal's rank. Please see  the following link for additional information on journal              rankings: https://latrobe.libguides.com/wherepublish/ranks

8. How the articles within a journal are cited 

9. Publication options available for authors (Open access?) Read more on Open Access

10 Acceptance or rejection rate of a journal.

Normally, all the above information should be available on a journal's website.

There are several tools for the journal selection

• Journal Finder helps you find Elsevier journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article.
• Springer journal selector helps you to quickly choose the Springer journal that is right for your paper.
• Wiley Journal Finder is a tool to helps you to find potential Wiley journals in which to publish.
• JANE (Journal Author Name Estimator) suggests journals and experts who have published similar articles in medical fields. All journals included in Medline are included in Jane.

Accredited journals are recognized research output which meet specified criteria and therefore qualify for subsidization by the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) .

Find the list here

Predatory publishers present themselves as legitimate Open Access publishers but use questionable publishing practices such as:

• using an inadequate or incomplete peer review process
• focusing mainly on collecting article processing charges rather than quality scholarship
• Masking the true identity of journal staff and the actual fees required for publication.

Additionally,

• Use Think. Check. Submit. It is an easy-to-use tool to help you identify trustworthy publication venues for your research. It provides a simple checklist to help you assess the credentials of a journal or publisher.

The list at the link below was extracted from the archive of Beall’s list. It will be updated as new information or suggested edits are submitted or found by the maintainers of this site.

https://predatoryjournals.com/publishers/

Beall’s list of predatory journals (Archived on internet archive as at 31.12.2016) 

• Beall’s archived list of predatory standalone journals (https://archive.fo/9MAAD)
• Beall’s archived list of predatory publishers (http://archive.fo/6EByy)
• Beall’s archived list of high jacked journals (https://archive.fo/Hr8tk)
• Beall’s archived list of misleading metrics (https://archive.fo/tAOfX