EBSCOhost (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa.
Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
INSPEC (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCreated by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical papers. Provides coverage from over 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.
African & South African Databases
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
SABINET Open Access Journal CollectionThis link opens in a new windowSA and African Open Access Journals. Includes a listing of journals accredited by the DOE
Top Databases
ACMDL (Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, conference proceedings, transactions and newsletters on computer science and information technology
Coverage: 1948 to the present
ACM publications: Full text
Other publisher’s content: Bibliographic
IEEE Xplore (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncludes content published by IEEE (USA) and IET (UK).
UJ’s subscription includes access to:
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines
IEEE conference proceedings
IET journals
IET conference proceedings
IEEE published standards
IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
Abstracts, full text. Coverage: 1988 to the present
Engineering Village (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowAccess to the COMPENDEX and INSPEC literature citation databases covering all engineering disciplines and related subjects.
EV2 includes different information resources:
Compendex: Coverage: 1884 to the present; abstracts
Inspec: Coverage: 1896 to the present; abstracts
Referex: E-books and engineering reference material on:
Electrical Engineering and Electronics
Mechanical Engineering and Materials
Coverage: 1987 to the present; full text
Espacenet: (Open access) Coverage: 1996 to the present; full text patents.
IHS Standards: (Open access) Bibliographic citations of technical standards.
ProQuest Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that provides information on all subject areas.
Format: Full text
Coverage varies according to content
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
Mobile application
Scopus (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research.
Mostly full-text
Clarivate Web of Science (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCitation indexes for the human sciences, social sciences and science. Offers the unique feature of searching cited references.
Available online (1945-present) at the Web of Science
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Google Scholar
Business, Economics & Country Profiles Databases
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
EasyData (Quantec) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowRegister your own Username and Password.
South African economic and other financial statistics (products, imports, exports, etc); global macroeconomic, industry and trade data
Coverage: 2000 to the present
Full text – comprehensive numeric data sets
Marketline (see GlobalData)International business information on markets including company, industry and country profiles with statistics.
Coverage varies.
Full Text
ProQuest Business Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowBased on ABI/INFORM Complete, includes speciality business subject resources:
More than 6,800 Journals, Dissertations, Conference proceedings, Working papers, Trade publications, Industry reports, Key periodicals (Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times, Economist).
Coverage: 1923 - Present.
Who owns whom (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSouth African industry reports and company profiles
Coverage: 1980s to the present
Latest and historical annual reports from 2003 to the present
Includes the latest edition of Who owns Whom in South Africa
Full text
World Bank E-Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1970 to the present
Bibliographic and abstracts
Partly full text (no full text to e-books)
World Competitiveness Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowInformation on the competitiveness of nations since 1989. Country analysis and cross-country comparisons re economy, government, business and infrastructure
Coverage: Last 13 years
Full text
Yearbook of International Associations (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowDetailed international (active and dormant) organization profiles. No coverage of for-profit-organizations.
Coverage: 1997 to present. Full text.
Extensively links organization profiles to:
– Organizations’ own websites
– Other UIA subscription databases – incl. International Congress Calendar
– Free UIA databases: Encyclopaedia of World Problems and Human Potential IGO Search – through intergovernmental organization websites
Logotypes of International Organizations
Transnational Associations Online – UIA journal archive
Automatic translation in 58 languages – also in Afrikaans
