Skip to Main Content
Online Handbooks
Handbook of Digital Games and Entertainment Technologies (Online; Springer) by Ryohei Nakatsu (Editor); Matthias Rauterberg (Editor);
The topics treated in this handbook cover all areas of games and entertainment technologies, such as digital entertainment; technology, design/art, and sociology. The handbook consists of contributions from top class scholars and researchers from the interdisciplinary topic areas. The aim of this handbook is to serving as a key reference work in the field and provides readers with a holistic picture of this interdisciplinary field covering technical issues, aesthetic/design issues, and sociological issues. At present, there is no reference work in the field that provides such a broad and complete picture of the field. Engineers and researchers who want to learn about this emerging area will be able to find adequate answers regarding technology issues on digital entertainment. Designers and artists can learn how their skills and expertise can contribute to this emerging area. Also researchers working in the field of sociology and psychology will find how their experience and knowledge are connected to other areas such as technology and art/design. Although topics are written by foremost experts from the field, the description for each topic has been intended to be easily understandable but yet comprehensive enough so that it caters not only for the experts but also beginners and students in the field.
ISBN: 9789814560498
Publication Date: 2016
Information Security
Computer and Information Security Handbook (Online; Science Direct) by John R. Vacca
Computer and Information Security Handbook, Third Edition, provides the most current and complete reference on computer security available in one volume. The book offers deep coverage of an extremely wide range of issues in computer and cybersecurity theory, applications, and best practices, offering the latest insights into established and emerging technologies and advancements. With new parts devoted to such current topics as Cloud Security, Cyber-Physical Security, and Critical Infrastructure Security, the book now has 100 chapters written by leading experts in their fields, as well as 12 updated appendices and an expanded glossary. It continues its successful format of offering problem-solving techniques that use real-life case studies, checklists, hands-on exercises, question and answers, and summaries. Chapters new to this edition include such timely topics as Cyber Warfare, Endpoint Security, Ethical Hacking, Internet of Things Security, Nanoscale Networking and Communications Security, Social Engineering, System Forensics, Wireless Sensor Network Security, Verifying User and Host Identity, Detecting System Intrusions, Insider Threats, Security Certification and Standards Implementation, Metadata Forensics, Hard Drive Imaging, Context-Aware Multi-Factor Authentication, Cloud Security, Protecting Virtual Infrastructure, Penetration Testing, and much more. Online chapters can also be found on the book companion website: https://www.elsevier.com/books-and-journals/book-companion/9780128038437
ISBN: 9780128038437
Publication Date: 2017
Computer Security Handbook, Set (Online; ProQuest) by Seymour Bosworth (Editor); Michel E. Kabay (Editor); Eric Whyne (Editor)
Computer security touches every part of our daily lives from our computers and connected devices to the wireless signals around us. Breaches have real and immediate financial, privacy, and safety consequences. This handbook has compiled advice from top professionals working in the real world about how to minimize the possibility of computer security breaches in your systems. Written for professionals and college students, it provides comprehensive best guidance about how to minimize hacking, fraud, human error, the effects of natural disasters, and more. This essential and highly-regarded reference maintains timeless lessons and is fully revised and updated with current information on security issues for social networks, cloud computing, virtualization, and more.
ISBN: 9781118851746
Publication Date: 2014
Computing Handbook, Third Edition (Online; EbscoHost) by Teofilo Gonzalez (Editor); Jorge Diaz-Herrera (Editor); Allen Tucker (Editor)
Computing Handbook, Third Edition: Computer Science and Software Engineering mirrors the modern taxonomy of computer science and software engineering as described by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS). Written by established leading experts and influential young researchers, the first volume of this popular handbook examines the elements involved in designing and implementing software, new areas in which computers are being used, and ways to solve computing problems. The book also explores our current understanding of software engineering and its effect on the practice of software development and the education of software professionals. Like the second volume, this first volume describes what occurs in research laboratories, educational institutions, and public and private organizations to advance the effective development and use of computers and computing in today's world. Research-level survey articles provide deep insights into the computing discipline, enabling readers to understand the principles and practices that drive computing education, research, and development in the twenty-first century.
ISBN: 9781439898536
Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of Digital Games and Entertainment Technologies (Online; Springer) by
The topics treated in this handbook cover all areas of games and entertainment technologies, such as digital entertainment; technology, design/art, and sociology. The handbook consists of contributions from top class scholars and researchers from the interdisciplinary topic areas. The aim of this handbook is to serving as a key reference work in the field and provides readers with a holistic picture of this interdisciplinary field covering technical issues, aesthetic/design issues, and sociological issues. At present, there is no reference work in the field that provides such a broad and complete picture of the field. Engineers and researchers who want to learn about this emerging area will be able to find adequate answers regarding technology issues on digital entertainment. Designers and artists can learn how their skills and expertise can contribute to this emerging area. Also researchers working in the field of sociology and psychology will find how their experience and knowledge are connected to other areas such as technology and art/design. Although topics are written by foremost experts from the field, the description for each topic has been intended to be easily understandable but yet comprehensive enough so that it caters not only for the experts but also beginners and students in the field.
Computer and Information Security Handbook (Online; Science Direct) by
Computer and Information Security Handbook, Third Edition, provides the most current and complete reference on computer security available in one volume. The book offers deep coverage of an extremely wide range of issues in computer and cybersecurity theory, applications, and best practices, offering the latest insights into established and emerging technologies and advancements. With new parts devoted to such current topics as Cloud Security, Cyber-Physical Security, and Critical Infrastructure Security, the book now has 100 chapters written by leading experts in their fields, as well as 12 updated appendices and an expanded glossary. It continues its successful format of offering problem-solving techniques that use real-life case studies, checklists, hands-on exercises, question and answers, and summaries. Chapters new to this edition include such timely topics as Cyber Warfare, Endpoint Security, Ethical Hacking, Internet of Things Security, Nanoscale Networking and Communications Security, Social Engineering, System Forensics, Wireless Sensor Network Security, Verifying User and Host Identity, Detecting System Intrusions, Insider Threats, Security Certification and Standards Implementation, Metadata Forensics, Hard Drive Imaging, Context-Aware Multi-Factor Authentication, Cloud Security, Protecting Virtual Infrastructure, Penetration Testing, and much more. Online chapters can also be found on the book companion website: https://www.elsevier.com/books-and-journals/book-companion/9780128038437
Computer Security Handbook, Set (Online; ProQuest) by
Computer security touches every part of our daily lives from our computers and connected devices to the wireless signals around us. Breaches have real and immediate financial, privacy, and safety consequences. This handbook has compiled advice from top professionals working in the real world about how to minimize the possibility of computer security breaches in your systems. Written for professionals and college students, it provides comprehensive best guidance about how to minimize hacking, fraud, human error, the effects of natural disasters, and more. This essential and highly-regarded reference maintains timeless lessons and is fully revised and updated with current information on security issues for social networks, cloud computing, virtualization, and more.
Computing Handbook, Third Edition (Online; EbscoHost) by
Computing Handbook, Third Edition: Computer Science and Software Engineering mirrors the modern taxonomy of computer science and software engineering as described by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS). Written by established leading experts and influential young researchers, the first volume of this popular handbook examines the elements involved in designing and implementing software, new areas in which computers are being used, and ways to solve computing problems. The book also explores our current understanding of software engineering and its effect on the practice of software development and the education of software professionals. Like the second volume, this first volume describes what occurs in research laboratories, educational institutions, and public and private organizations to advance the effective development and use of computers and computing in today's world. Research-level survey articles provide deep insights into the computing discipline, enabling readers to understand the principles and practices that drive computing education, research, and development in the twenty-first century.