EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers.
UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Access Engineering (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
Knovel (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Applied Logic for Computer Scientists (Online; Springer) by Mauricio Ayala-Rincon; Flavio L. C. de MouraThis book provides an introduction to logic and mathematical induction which are the basis of any deductive computational framework. A strong mathematical foundation of the logical engines available in modern proof assistants, such as the PVS verification system, is essential for computer scientists, mathematicians and engineers to increment their capabilities to provide formal proofs of theorems and to certify the robustness of software and hardware systems. The authors present a concise overview of the necessary computational and mathematical aspects of 'logic', placing emphasis on both natural deduction and sequent calculus. Differences between constructive and classical logic are highlighted through several examples and exercises. Without neglecting classical aspects of computational logic, the authors also highlight the connections between logical deduction rules and proof commands in proof assistants, presenting simple examples of formalizations of the correctness of algebraic functions and algorithms in PVS. Applied Logic for Computer Scientists will not only benefit students of computer science and mathematics but also software, hardware, automation, electrical and mechatronic engineers who are interested in the application of formal methods and the related computational tools to provide mathematical certificates of the quality and accuracy of their products and technologies.
Real-Time C++ : Efficient Object-Oriented and Template Microcontroller Programming by Christopher KormanyosWith this book, Christopher Kormanyos delivers a highly practical guide to programming real-time embedded microcontroller systems in C++. It is divided into three parts plus several appendices. Part I provides a foundation for real-time C++ by covering language technologies, including object-oriented methods, template programming and optimization. Next, part II presents detailed descriptions of a variety of C++ components that are widely used in microcontroller programming. It details some of C++'s most powerful language elements, such as class types, templates and the STL, to develop components for microcontroller register access, low-level drivers, custom memory management, embedded containers, multitasking, etc. Finally, part III describes mathematical methods and generic utilities that can be employed to solve recurring problems in real-time C++. The appendices include a brief C++ language tutorial, information on the real-time C++ development environment and instructions for building GNU GCC cross-compilers and a microcontroller circuit. For this fourth edition, the most recent specification of C++20 is used throughout the text. Several sections on new C++20 functionality have been added, and various others reworked to reflect changes in the standard. Also several new example projects ranging from introductory to advanced level are included and existing ones extended, and various reader suggestions have been incorporated. Efficiency is always in focus and numerous examples are backed up with runtime measurements and size analyses that quantify the true costs of the code down to the very last byte and microsecond. The target audience of this book mainly consists of students and professionals interested in real-time C++. Readers should be familiar with C or another programming language and will benefit most if they have had some previous experience with microcontroller electronics and the performance and size issues prevalent in embedded systems programming.
Publication Date: 2021-07-15
Practical C++ Design: from programming to architecture (Online; Springer) by Adam B. SingerGo from competent C++ developer to skilled designer or architect using this book as your C++ design master class. This title will guide you through the design and implementation of a fun, engaging case study. Starting with a quick exploration of the requirements for building the application, you'll delve into selecting an appropriate architecture, eventually designing and implementing all of the necessary modules to meet the project's requirements. By the conclusion of Practical C++ Design, you'll have constructed a fully functioning calculator that builds and executes on multiple platforms. Access to the complete source code will help speed your learning. Utilize the Model-View-Controller pattern to determine the optimal architecture for the calculator; the observer pattern to design an event system; the singleton pattern as you design the calculator's central data repository, a reusable stack; the command pattern to design a command system supporting unlimited undo/redo; and the abstract factory pattern for a cross-platform plugin infrastructure to make the calculator extensible. What You Will Learn Read a specification document and translate it into a practical C++ design Understand trade-offs in selecting between alternative design scenarios Gain practical experience in applying design patterns to realistic development scenarios Learn how to effectively use language elements of modern C++ to create a lasting design Develop a complete C++ program from a blank canvas through to a fully functioning, cross platform application Read, modify, and extend existing, high quality code Learn the fundamentals of API design, including class, module, and plugin interfaces Who This Book Is For The experienced C++ developer ready to take the next step to becoming a skilled C++ designer.
Publication Date: 2015
Network/Cyber/Software Security Online Books
Introduction to Information Security: A Strategic-Based Approach (Online; Science Direct) by Timothy Shimeall; Jonathan SpringMost introductory texts provide a technology-based survey of methods and techniques that leaves the reader without a clear understanding of the interrelationships between methods and techniques. By providing a strategy-based introduction, the reader is given a clear understanding of how to provide overlapping defenses for critical information. This understanding provides a basis for engineering and risk-management decisions in the defense of information. Information security is a rapidly growing field, with a projected need for thousands of professionals within the next decade in the government sector alone. It is also a field that has changed in the last decade from a largely theory-based discipline to an experience-based discipline. This shift in the field has left several of the classic texts with a strongly dated feel.
Publication Date: 2013
Guide to Computer Network Security by Joseph Migga KizzaThis timely textbook presents a comprehensive guide to the core topics in cybersecurity, covering issues of security that extend beyond traditional computer networks to the ubiquitous mobile communications and online social networks that have become part of our daily lives. In the context of our growing dependence on an ever-changing digital ecosystem, this book stresses the importance of security awareness, whether in our homes, our businesses, or our public spaces. This fully updated new edition features new material on the security issues raised by blockchain technology, and its use in logistics, digital ledgers, payments systems, and digital contracts. Topics and features: Explores the full range of security risks and vulnerabilities in all connected digital systems Inspires debate over future developments and improvements necessary to enhance the security of personal, public, and private enterprise systems Raises thought-provoking questions regarding legislative, legal, social, technical, and ethical challenges, such as the tension between privacy and security Describes the fundamentals of traditional computer network security, and common threats to security Reviews the current landscape of tools, algorithms, and professional best practices in use to maintain security of digital systems Discusses the security issues introduced by the latest generation of network technologies, including mobile systems, cloud computing, and blockchain Presents exercises of varying levels of difficulty at the end of each chapter, and concludes with a diverse selection of practical projects Offers supplementary material for students and instructors at an associated website, including slides, additional projects, and syllabus suggestions This important textbook/reference is an invaluable resource for students of computer science, engineering, and information management, as well as for practitioners working in data- and information-intensive industries.
Publication Date: 2020
Cyber Security: Deterrence and IT Protection for Critical Infrastructures (Online; Springer) by Maurizio Martellini (Editor)The experts of the International Working Group-Landau Network Centro Volta (IWG-LNCV) discuss aspects of cyber security and present possible methods of deterrence, defense and resilience against cyber attacks. This SpringerBrief covers state-of-the-art documentation on the deterrence power of cyber attacks and argues that nations are entering a new cyber arms race. The brief also provides a technical analysis of possible cyber attacks towards critical infrastructures in the chemical industry and chemical safety industry. The authors also propose modern analyses and a holistic approach to resilience and security of Industrial Control Systems. The combination of contextual overview and future directions in the field makes this brief a useful resource for researchers and professionals studying systems security, data security and data structures. Advanced-level students interested in data security will also find this brief a helpful guide to recent research.
Publication Date: 2013
24 Deadly Sins of Software Security: Programming Flaws and How to Fix Them (Online; Access Engineering) by Michael Howard; David LeBlanc; John Viega; David Leblanc"What makes this book so important is that it reflects the experiences of two of the industry's most experienced hands at getting real-world engineers to understand just what they're being asked for when they're asked to write secure code. The book reflects Michael Howard's and David LeBlanc's experience in the trenches working with developers years after code was long since shipped, informing them of problems." --From the Foreword by Dan Kaminsky, Director of Penetration Testing, IOActive Eradicate the Most Notorious Insecure Designs and Coding Vulnerabilities Fully updated to cover the latest security issues, 24 Deadly Sins of Software Security reveals the most common design and coding errors and explains how to fix each one-or better yet, avoid them from the start. Michael Howard and David LeBlanc, who teach Microsoft employees and the world how to secure code, have partnered again with John Viega, who uncovered the original 19 deadly programming sins. They have completely revised the book to address the most recent vulnerabilities and have added five brand-new sins. This practical guide covers all platforms, languages, and types of applications. Eliminate these security flaws from your code: SQL injection Web server- and client-related vulnerabilities Use of magic URLs, predictable cookies, and hidden form fields Buffer overruns Format string problems Integer overflows C++ catastrophes Insecure exception handling Command injection Failure to handle errors Information leakage Race conditions Poor usability Not updating easily Executing code with too much privilege Failure to protect stored data Insecure mobile code Use of weak password-based systems Weak random numbers Using cryptography incorrectly Failing to protect network traffic Improper use of PKI Trusting network name resolution
Publication Date: 2009
Cyber Security and IT Infrastructure Protection (Online; Science Direct) by John R. VaccaThis book serves as a security practitioner's guide to today's most crucial issues in cyber security and IT infrastructure. It offers in-depth coverage of theory, technology, and practice as they relate to established technologies as well as recent advancements. It explores practical solutions to a wide range of cyber-physical and IT infrastructure protection issues. Composed of 11 chapters contributed by leading experts in their fields, this highly useful book covers disaster recovery, biometrics, homeland security, cyber warfare, cyber security, national infrastructure security, access controls, vulnerability assessments and audits, cryptography, and operational and organizational security, as well as an extensive glossary of security terms and acronyms. Written with instructors and students in mind, this book includes methods of analysis and problem-solving techniques through hands-on exercises and worked examples as well as questions and answers and the ability to implement practical solutions through real-life case studies. For example, the new format includes the following pedagogical elements: * Checklists throughout each chapter to gauge understanding * Chapter Review Questions/Exercises and Case Studies * Ancillaries: Solutions Manual; slide package; figure files This format will be attractive to universities and career schools as well as federal and state agencies, corporate security training programs, ASIS certification, etc.
Essentials of Software Testing by Ralf Bierig; Stephen Brown; Edgar Galván; Joe TimoneySoftware testing can be regarded as an art, a craft, and a science. The practical, step-by-step approach presented in this book provides a bridge between these different viewpoints. A single worked example runs throughout, with consistent use of test automation. Each testing technique is introduced in the context of this example, helping students see its strengths and weaknesses. The technique is then explained in more detail, providing a deeper understanding of underlying principles. Finally the limitations of each technique are demonstrated by inserting faults, giving learners concrete examples of when each technique succeeds or fails in finding faults. Coverage includes black-box testing, white-box testing, random testing, unit testing, object-oriented testing, and application testing. The authors also emphasise the process of applying the techniques, covering the steps of analysis, test design, test implementation, and interpretation of results. The book's web site has programming exercises and Java source code for all examples.
Publication Date: 2021-08-19
You may find these Hacking Online Books of Interest
Hacking Wireless Access Points: Cracking, Tracking, and Signal Jacking (Online; Science Direct) by Jennifer KurtzHacking Wireless Access Points: Cracking, Tracking, and Signal Jacking provides readers with a deeper understanding of the hacking threats that exist with mobile phones, laptops, routers, and navigation systems. In addition, applications for Bluetooth and near field communication (NFC) technology continue to multiply, with athletic shoes, heart rate monitors, fitness sensors, cameras, printers, headsets, fitness trackers, household appliances, and the number and types of wireless devices all continuing to increase dramatically. The book demonstrates a variety of ways that these vulnerabilities can be--and have been--exploited, and how the unfortunate consequences of such exploitations can be mitigated through the responsible use of technology.
Publication Date: 2016
Understanding Network Hacks: Attack and Defense with Python 3 ( Springer Online) by Bastian BallmannThis book explains how to see one's own network through the eyes of an attacker, to understand their techniques and effectively protect against them. Through Python code samples the reader learns to code tools on subjects such as password sniffing, ARP poisoning, DNS spoofing, SQL injection, Google harvesting, Bluetooth and Wifi hacking. Furthermore the reader will be introduced to defense methods such as intrusion detection and prevention systems and log file analysis by diving into code.
Publication Date: 2021 2nd ed.
From Hacking to Report Writing: An Introduction to Security and Penetration Testing (Online; Springer) by Robert SvenssonLearn everything you need to know to become a professional security and penetration tester. It simplifies hands-on security and penetration testing by breaking down each step of the process so that finding vulnerabilities and misconfigurations becomes easy. The book explains how to methodically locate, exploit, and professionally report security weaknesses using techniques such as SQL-injection, denial-of-service attacks, and password hacking. Although From Hacking to Report Writing will give you the technical know-how needed to carry out advanced security tests, it also offers insight into crafting professional looking reports describing your work and how your customers can benefit from it. The book will give you the tools you need to clearly communicate the benefits of high-quality security and penetration testing to IT-management, executives and other stakeholders. Embedded in the book are a number of on-the-job stories that will give you a good understanding of how you can apply what you have learned to real-world situations. We live in a time where computer security is more important than ever. Staying one step ahead of hackers has never been a bigger challenge. From Hacking to Report Writing clarifies how you can sleep better at night knowing that your network has been thoroughly tested. What you'll learn Clearly understand why security and penetration testing is important Find vulnerabilities in any system using the same techniques as hackers do Write professional looking reports Know which security and penetration testing method to apply for any given situation Successfully hold together a security and penetration test project Who This Book Is For Aspiring security and penetration testers, security consultants, security and penetration testers, IT managers, and security researchers.
Publication Date: 2016
ICT and Web of Things Online Books
Emerging Trends in ICT Security (Online; Science Direct) by Babak Akhgar (Editor); Hamid R. Arabnia (Editor)Emerging Trends in ICT Security, an edited volume, discusses the foundations and theoretical aspects of ICT security; covers trends, analytics, assessments and frameworks necessary for performance analysis and evaluation; and gives you the state-of-the-art knowledge needed for successful deployment of security solutions in many environments. Application scenarios provide you with an insider's look at security solutions deployed in real-life scenarios, including but limited to smart devices, biometrics, social media, big data security, and crowd sourcing.
Publication Date: 2014
Securing the Internet of Things (Online; Science Direct) by Shancang Li; Lida XuSecuring the Internet of Things provides network and cybersecurity researchers and practitioners with both the theoretical and practical knowledge they need to know regarding security in the Internet of Things (IoT). This booming field, moving from strictly research to the marketplace, is advancing rapidly, yet security issues abound. This book explains the fundamental concepts of IoT security, describing practical solutions that account for resource limitations at IoT end-node, hybrid network architecture, communication protocols, and application characteristics. Highlighting the most important potential IoT security risks and threats, the book covers both the general theory and practical implications for people working in security in the Internet of Things.
Introductory Computer Forensics: A Hands-on Practical Approach (Online; Springer) by Xiaodong LinThis textbook provides an introduction to digital forensics, a rapidly evolving field for solving crimes. Beginning with the basic concepts of computer forensics, each of the book's 21 chapters focuses on a particular forensic topic composed of two parts: background knowledge and hands-on experience through practice exercises. Each theoretical or background section concludes with a series of review questions, which are prepared to test students' understanding of the materials, while the practice exercises are intended to afford students the opportunity to apply the concepts introduced in the section on background knowledge. This experience-oriented textbook is meant to assist students in gaining a better understanding of digital forensics through hands-on practice in collecting and preserving digital evidence by completing various exercises. With 20 student-directed, inquiry-based practice exercises, students will better understand digital forensic concepts and learn digital forensic investigation techniques. This textbook is intended for upper undergraduate and graduate-level students who are taking digital-forensic related courses or working in digital forensics research. It can also be used by digital forensics practitioners, IT security analysts, and security engineers working in the IT security industry, particular IT professionals responsible for digital investigation and incident handling or researchers working in these related fields as a reference book.