A+ Guide for IT Technical Support by
This step-by-step, highly visual text provides a comprehensive introduction to managing and maintaining computer hardware and software. Written by best-selling author and educator Jean Andrews, A+ Guide to IT Technical Support, 9th Edition closely integrates the CompTIA+ Exam objectives to prepare you for the 220-901 and 220-902 certification exams. The new Ninth Edition also features extensive updates to reflect current technology, techniques, and industry standards in the dynamic, fast-paced field of PC repair and information technology. Each chapter covers both core concepts and advanced topics, organizing material to facilitate practical application and encourage you to learn by doing. The new edition features more coverage of updated hardware, security, virtualization, new coverage of cloud computing, Linux and Mac OS, and increased emphasis on mobile devices. Supported by a wide range of supplemental resources to enhance learning with Lab Manuals, CourseNotes online labs and the optional MindTap that includes online labs, certification test prep and interactive exercises and activities, this proven text offers students an ideal way to prepare for success as a professional IT support technician and administrator.
Designing the User Interface by
For courses in Human-Computer Interaction. The Sixth Edition of Designing the User Interface provides a comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date introduction to the dynamic field of human-computer interaction (HCI) and user experience (UX) design. This classic book has defined and charted the astonishing evolution of user interfaces for three decades. Students and professionals learn practical principles and guidelines needed to develop high quality interface designs that users can understand, predict, and control. The book covers theoretical foundations and design processes such as expert reviews and usability testing. By presenting current research and innovations in human-computer interaction, the authors strive to inspire students, guide designers, and provoke researchers to seek solutions that improve the experiences of novice and expert users, while achieving universal usability. The authors also provide balanced presentations on controversial topics such as augmented and virtual reality, voice and natural language interfaces, and information visualization. Updates include current HCI design methods, new design examples, and totally revamped coverage of social media, search and voice interaction. Major revisions were made to EVERY chapter, changing almost every figure (170 new color figures) and substantially updating the references.
Enterprise Cloud Computing for Non-Engineers (Print + Online) by
This book provides a technical description of cloud computing technologies, covering cloud infrastructure and platform services. It then addresses the basics of operating a Cloud computing data center, the services offered from Cloud providers, the carrier role in connecting users to data centers, and the process of interconnecting Cloud data centers to form a flexible processing unit. It also describes how cloud computing has made an impact in various industries and provides emerging technologies that are critical within each industry. Lastly, this book will address security requirements and provide the best practices in securing data.
Mathematical Structures for Computer Science: discrete mathematics and its applications 7th ed. by
Judith Gersting's Mathematical Structures for Computer Science has long been acclaimed for its clear presentation of essential concepts and its exceptional range of applications relevant to computer science majors. Now with this new edition, it is the first discrete mathematics textbook revised to meet the proposed new ACM/IEEE standards for the course.
CMPTR 3 by
Learn computer concepts and applications YOUR way with the unique CMPTR and CMPTR ONLINE. CMPTR's easy-reference, paperback book presents course content through visually engaging chapters as well as Chapter Review Cards that consolidate the most important material into a ready-made study tool. Used with the book or on its own, CMPTR ONLINE allows easy exploration of CMPTR anywhere, anytime on virtually any device. Collect your notes and create StudyBits(tm) from interactive content as you progress to help you remember what's most important. You can use preset study resources or personalize review through easy-to-use tags and filters to prioritize your study. Make and review flashcards, review related content, and track your progress with Concept Tracker, all in one place and at an affordable price. CMPTR introduces the latest updates in Microsoft Office, including Windows 10, Edge web browser, and Office 2016 applications with fun facts, tips and walk-through videos.
Designing and Deploying 802. 11 Wireless Networks by
Designing and Deploying 802.11 Wireless Networks Second Edition A Practical Guide to Implementing 802.11n and 802.11ac Wireless Networks For Enterprise-Based Applications Plan, deploy, and operate high-performance 802.11ac and 802.11n wireless networks The new 802.11ac standard enables WLANs to deliver significantly higher performance. Network equipment manufacturers have refocused on 802.11ac- and 802.11n-compliant solutions, rapidly moving older versions of 802.11 toward "legacy" status. Now, there''s a complete guide to planning, designing, installing, testing, and supporting 802.11ac and 802.11n wireless networks in any environment, for virtually any application. Jim Geier offers practical methods, tips, and recommendations that draw on his decades of experience deploying wireless solutions and shaping wireless standards. He carefully introduces 802.11ac''s fundamentally different design, site survey, implementation, and network configuration techniques, helping you maximize performance and avoid pitfalls. Geier organizes each phase of WLAN deployment into clearly defined steps, making the entire planning and deployment process easy to understand and execute. He illuminates key concepts and methods through realistic case studies based on current Cisco products, while offering tips and techniques you can use with any vendor''s equipment. To build your skills with key tasks, you''ll find several hands-on exercises relying on free or inexpensive tools. Whether you''re deploying an entirely new wireless network or migrating from older equipment, this guide contains all the expert knowledge you''ll need to succeed. Jim Geier has 30 years of experience planning, designing, analyzing and implementing communications, wireless, and mobile systems. Geier is founder and Principal Consultant of Wireless-Nets, Ltd., providing wireless analysis and design services to product manufacturers. He is also president, CEO, and co-founder of Health Grade Networks, providing wireless network solutions to hospitals, airports, and manufacturing facilities. His books include the first edition of Designing and Deploying 802.11n Wireless Networks (Cisco Press); as well as Implementing 802.1X Security Solutions and Wireless Networking Handbook. Geier has been active in the IEEE 802.11 Working Group and Wi-Fi Alliance; has chaired the IEEE Computer Society (Dayton Section) and various conferences; and served as expert witness in patent litigation related to wireless and cellular technologies. Review key 802.11 concepts, applications, markets, and technologies Compare ad hoc, mesh, and infrastructure WLANs and their components Consider the impact of radio signal interference, security vulnerabilities, multipath propagation, roaming, and battery limitations Thoroughly understand today''s 802.11 standards in the context of actual network deployment and support Plan your deployment: scoping, staffing, schedules, budgets, risks, feasibility analysis, and requirements Architect access networks and distribution system for maximum reliability, manageability, and performance Make the right tradeoffs and decisions to optimize range, performance, and roaming Secure WLANs via encryption, authentication, rogue AP detection, RF shielding, and policies Master design and site survey tools and methods for planning 802.11ac networks and migrations Efficiently install and test any 802.11ac or 802.11n wireless network Establish specialized support for wireless networks, including help desk operations Systematically troubleshoot connectivity, performance, and roaming issues Design efficient mesh networks and city-wide deployments
The Internet Book: everything you need to know about computer networking and how the Internet works (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis)) by
The Internet Book, Fifth Edition explains how computers communicate, what the Internet is, how the Internet works, and what services the Internet offers. It is designed for readers who do not have a strong technical background ¿ early chapters clearly explain the terminology and concepts needed to understand all the services. It helps the reader to understand the technology behind the Internet, appreciate how the Internet can be used, and discover why people find it so exciting. In addition, it explains the origins of the Internet and shows the reader how rapidly it has grown. It also provides information on how to avoid scams and exaggerated marketing claims. The first section of the book introduces communication system concepts and terminology. The second section reviews the history of the Internet and its incredible growth. It documents the rate at which the digital revolution occurred, and provides background that will help readers appreciate the significance of the underlying design. The third section describes basic Internet technology and capabilities. It examines how Internet hardware is organized and how software provides communication. This section provides the foundation for later chapters, and will help readers ask good questions and make better decisions when salespeople offer Internet products and services. The final section describes application services currently available on the Internet. For each service, the book explains both what the service offers and how the service works. About the Author Dr. Douglas Comer is a Distinguished Professor at Purdue University in the departments of Computer Science and Electrical and Computer Engineering. He has created and enjoys teaching undergraduate and graduate courses on computer networks and Internets, operating systems, computer architecture, and computer software. One of the researchers who contributed to the Internet as it was being formed in the late 1970s and 1980s, he has served as a member of the Internet Architecture Board, the group responsible for guiding the Internet¿s development. Prof. Comer is an internationally recognized expert on computer networking, the TCP/IP protocols, and the Internet, who presents lectures to a wide range of audiences. In addition to research articles, he has written a series of textbooks that describe the technical details of the Internet. Prof. Comer¿s books have been translated into many languages, and are used in industry as well as computer science, engineering, and business departments around the world. Prof. Comer joined the Internet project in the late 1970s, and has had a high-speed Internet connection to his home since 1981. He wrote this book as a response to everyone who has asked him for an explanation of the Internet that is both technically correct and easily understood by anyone. An Internet enthusiast, Comer displays INTRNET on the license plate of his car.
Internet of Things, for Things, and by Things (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
This book explains IoT technology, its potential applications, the security and privacy aspects, the key necessities like governance, risk management, regulatory compliance needs, the philosophical aspects of this technology that are necessary to support an ethical, safe and secure digitally enhanced environment in which people can live smarter. It describes the inherent technology of IoT, the architectural components and the philosophy behind this emerging technology. Then it shows the various potential applications of the Internet of Things that can bring benefits to the human society. Finally, it discusses various necessities to provide a secured and trustworthy IoT service.
Arduino Programming for . Net Developers (Print + Online, Springer) by
Leverage .NET and Sketch in your Arduino development implementation and integrate it into your .NET program. There are many Arduino models and compatible shields that can be used in Arduino boards. Integrating between an Arduino platform and .NET technology or Sketch can produce more advantages. Arduino Programming using .NET and Sketch shows readers how to do so with practical Arduino projects, such as preparing a development environment, performing sensing and actuating with external devices, implementing Windows Remote Arduino and building a simple IoT program. Use this quick reference to learn the basics of the Arduino platform for multiple models and start your Arduino programming in .NET and Sketch today. What You'll Learn: Learn the basics of the Arduino platform Prepare and set up an Arduino development environment Develop an Arduino program using .NET and Sketch Implement Windows Remote Arduino Build a simple IoT program Who This Book Is For: .NET and Sketch developers who want to learn Arduino programming.
Computer Programming for Beginners: a step-by-step guide by
This book aims to capture the fundamentals of computer programming without tying the topic to any specific programming language. To the best of the authors¿ knowledge there is no such book in the market.
Cracking the Coding Interview: 190 programming questions and solutions by
We present 189 interesting java, database and C programming interview questions and answers for readers to practice and crack any programming interview. The reader is encouraged to try the programming questions himself/herself before checking the answers.
The DevOps 2. 0 Toolkit: automating the continuous deployment pipeline with containerized microservices by
This book is about different techniques that help us architect software in a better and more efficient way with microservices packed as immutable containers, tested and deployed continuously to servers that are automatically provisioned with configuration management tools. It's about fast, reliable and continuous deployments with zero-downtime and ability to roll-back. It's about scaling to any number of servers, design of self-healing systems capable of recuperation from both hardware and software failures and about centralized logging and monitoring of the cluster.In other words, this book envelops the whole microservices development and deployment lifecycle using some of the latest and greatest practices and tools. We'll use Docker, Kubernetes, Ansible, Ubuntu, Docker Swarm and Docker Compose, Consul, etcd, Registrator, confd, and so on. We'll go through many practices and even more tools. Finally, while there will be a lot of theory, this is a hands-on book. You won't be able to complete it by reading it in a metro on a way to work. You'll have to read this book while in front of the computer and get your hands dirty.
DevOps for Web Development: achieve the continuous integration and continuous delivery of your web applications with ease by
Achieve the Continuous Integration and Continuous Delivery of your web applications with easeAbout This Book- Overcome the challenges of implementing DevOps for web applications, familiarize yourself with diverse third-party modules, and learn how to integrate them with bespoke code to efficiently complete tasks- Understand how to deploy web applications for a variety of Cloud platforms such as Amazon EC2, AWS Elastic Beanstalk, Microsoft Azure, Azure Web Apps, and Docker Container- Understand how to monitor applications deployed in Amazon EC2, AWS Elastic Beanstalk, Microsoft Azure, Azure Web Apps using Nagios, New Relic, Microsoft Azure, and AWS default monitoring featuresWho This Book Is ForIf you are a system admin or application and web application developer with a basic knowledge of programming and want to get hands-on with tools such as Jenkins 2 and Chef, and Cloud platforms such as AWS and Microsoft Azure, Docker, New Relic, Nagios, and their modules to host, deploy, monitor, and manage their web applications, then this book is for you.What You Will Learn- Grasp Continuous Integration for a JEE application-create and configure a build job for a Java application with Maven and with Jenkins 2.0- Create built-in delivery pipelines of Jenkins 2 and build a pipeline configuration for end-to-end automation to manage the lifecycle of Continuous Integration- Get to know all about configuration management using Chef to create a runtime environment - Perform instance provisioning in AWS and Microsoft Azure and manage virtual machines on different cloud platforms-install Knife plugins for Amazon EC2 and Microsoft Azure- Deploy an application in Amazon EC2, AWS Elastic Beanstalk, Microsoft Azure Web Apps, and a Docker container- Monitor infrastructure, application servers, web servers, and applications with the use of open source monitoring solutions and New Relic- Orchestrate multiple build jobs to achieve application deployment automation-create parameterized build jobs for end-to-end automationIn DetailThe DevOps culture is growing at a massive rate, as many organizations are adopting it. However, implementing it for web applications is one of the biggest challenges experienced by many developers and admins, which this book will help you overcome using various tools, such as Chef, Docker, and Jenkins. On the basis of the functionality of these tools, the book is divided into three parts. The first part shows you how to use Jenkins 2.0 for Continuous Integration of a sample JEE application. The second part explains the Chef configuration management tool, and provides an overview of Docker containers, resource provisioning in cloud environments using Chef, and Configuration Management in a cloud environment. The third part explores Continuous Delivery and Continuous Deployment in AWS, Microsoft Azure, and Docker, all using Jenkins 2.0.This book combines the skills of both web application deployment and system configuration as each chapter contains one or more practical hands-on projects. You will be exposed to real-world project scenarios that are progressively presented from easy to complex solutions. We will teach you concepts such as hosting web applications, configuring a runtime environment, monitoring and hosting on various cloud platforms, and managing them. This book will show you how to essentially host and manage web applications along with Continuous Integration, Cloud Computing, Configuration Management, Continuous Monitoring, Continuous Delivery, and Deployment.Style and approachThis is a learning guide for those who have a basic knowledge of application deployment, configuration management tools, and Cloud computing, and are eager to leverage it to implement DevOps for web applications using end-to-end automation and orchestration.
Foundations of Software Testing ISTQB Certification, 3rd ed. by
Now in its third edition, Foundations of Software Testing: ISTQB Certification is the essential guide to software testing and to the ISTQB Foundation qualification. Completely updated to comprehensively reflect the most recent changes to the ISTQB Foundation Syllabus, the book adopts a practical, hands-on approach, covering the fundamental topics that every system and software tester should know. The authors are themselves developers of the ISTQB syllabus and are highly respected international authorities, teachers and authors within the field of software testing.
Introduction to Java Programming and Data Structures, Comprehensive Version by
This text is intended for a 1-semester CS1 course sequence. The Brief Version contains the first 18 chapters of the Comprehensive Version. The first 13 chapters are appropriate for preparing the AP Computer Science exam. For courses in Java Programming. A fundamentals-first introduction to basic programming concepts and techniques Designed to support an introductory programming course, Introduction to Java Programming and Data Structures teaches you concepts of problem-solving and object-orientated programming using a fundamentals-first approach. Beginner programmers learn critical problem-solving techniques then move on to grasp the key concepts of object-oriented, GUI programming, data structures, and Web programming. This course approaches Java GUI programming using JavaFX, which has replaced Swing as the new GUI tool for developing cross-platform-rich Internet applications and is simpler to learn and use. The 11th edition has been completely revised to enhance clarity and presentation, and includes new and expanded content, examples, and exercises. Also available with MyLab Programming. MyLab Programming(tm) is an online learning system designed to engage students and improve results. MyLab Programming consists of programming exercises correlated to the concepts and objectives in this book. Through practice exercises and immediate, personalized feedback, MyLab Programming improves the programming competence of beginning students who often struggle with the basic concepts of programming languages. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Programming does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Programming, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab Programming, search for: 0134694511/9780134694511 Introduction to Java Programming, Comprehensive Version plus MyLab Programming with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 11/e Package consists of: 0134670949 / 9780134670942 Introduction to Java Programming and Data Structures 11/e 013467281X / 9780134672816 MyProgrammingLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Introduction to Java Programming and Data Structures, Comprehensive Version, 11/e
Introduction to Java programming and data structures : comprehensive version by 
Software Design: a comprehensive guide to software development projects (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
This book is perhaps the first attempt to give full treatment to the topic of Software Design. It will facilitate the academia as well as the industry. This book covers all the topics of software design including the ancillary ones.
Software Engineering with UML (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
This book presents the analysis, design, documentation, and quality of software solutions based on the OMG UML v2.5. Notably it covers 14 different modelling constructs including use case diagrams, activity diagrams, business-level class diagrams, corresponding interaction diagrams and state machine diagrams. It presents the use of UML in creating a Model of the Problem Space (MOPS), Model of the Solution Space (MOSS) and Model of the Architectural Space (MOAS). The book touches important areas of contemporary software engineering ranging from how a software engineer needs to invariably work in an Agile development environment through to the techniques to model a Cloud-based solution.
Node.js for .NET Developers by
Build scalable, high-traffic websites and web applications with Node.js For many .NET programmers, Node.js represents a new way to build high-traffic websites and applications. Now there's a practical, concise introduction to Node.js specifically for Microsoft developers. David Gaynes guides you through the entire Node.js development process. Using Microsoft Visual Studio examples, he addresses everything from setting up servers and authorization through delivering rich CSS pages packed with graphics and data-driven content. Gaynes clearly explains Node.js's async model, coding approach, request/response paradigm, site structure, data management, security, and more. This quick guide will help you apply your hard-won .NET skills to Node.js. Expert guidance showing you how to: Choose, organize, and configure the tools you need to build Node.js solutions in Visual Studio Apply JavaScript coding practices that help you avoid problems in Node.js Work with callback functions and the Node.js asynchronous programming model Set up a Node.js project and use what you know about MVVM and MVC patterns Control the entire Node.js request/response life cycle Establish site structure, routes, and access to static resources Manage data through caching, forms, IO techniques, and file uploads Integrate data from Microsoft SQL Server and other databases Use Passport to integrate simple, flexible authentication
Node. Js Web Development: create real-time server-side applications with this practical, step-by-step guide (Print + Online, EbscoHost Unlimited Users) by
Create real-time server-side applications with this practical, step-by-step guideAbout This Book- Learn about server-side JavaScript with Node.js and Node modules through the most up-to-date book on Node.js web development- Understand website development both with and without the Connect/Express web application framework- Develop both HTTP server and client applicationsWho This Book Is ForThis book is for anybody looking for an alternative to the "P" languages (Perl, PHP, and Python), or anyone looking for a new paradigm of server-side application development. You should have at least a rudimentary understanding of JavaScript and web application development.What You Will Learn- Install and use Node.js for both development and deployment- Use the Express application framework- Configure Bootstrap for mobile-first theming- Use data storage engines such as MySQL, SQLITE3, and MongoDB- Understand user authentication methods, including OAuth, with third-party services- Deploy Node.js to live servers, including microservice development with Docker- Perform unit testing with Mocha- Perform functional testing of the web application with CasperJSIn DetailNode.js is a server-side JavaScript platform using an event driven, non-blocking I/O model allowing users to build fast and scalable data-intensive applications running in real time. Node.js Web Development shows JavaScript is not just for browser-side applications. It can be used for server-side web application development, real-time applications, microservices, and much more.This book gives you an excellent starting point, bringing you straight to the heart of developing web applications with Node.js. You will progress from a rudimentary knowledge of JavaScript and server-side development to being able to create and maintain your own Node.js application. With this book you'll learn how to use the HTTP Server and Client objects, data storage with both SQL and MongoDB databases, real-time applications with Socket.IO, mobile-first theming with Bootstrap, microservice deployment with Docker, authenticating against third-party services using OAuth, and much more.Style and ApproachThis book is a practical guide for anyone looking to develop striking and robust web applications using Node.js.
RESTful API Design by
Looking for best practices in RESTful APIs? This book is for you!Why? Because this book is packed with best practices on many technical aspects of RESTful API Design, such as the correct use of resources, URIs, representations, content types, data formats, parameters, HTTP status codes and HTTP methods.You want to design and develop APIs like a Pro? Use API description languages to both design APIs and develop APIs efficiently. The book introduces the two most common API description languages RAML and OpenAPI/Swagger.Your APIs connect to legacy systems? The book shows best practices for connecting APIs to existing backend systems.You expect lots of traffic on your API? The book shows you how to achieve high security, performance, availability and smooth evolution and versioning.Your company cares about its customers? Learn a customer-centric design and development approach for APIs, so you can design APIs as digital products.The API-University Series is a modular series of books on API-related topics. Each book focuses on a particular API topic, so you can select the topics within APIs, which are relevant to you.Keywords: RESTful, REST, API Design, API, API Description Languages, RAML, OpenAPI/Swagger
Mastering Docker (Print + Online, EbscoHost, Unlimited Users) by
Rethink what's possible with Docker - become an expert in the innovative containerization tool to unlock new opportunities in the way you use and deploy softwareAbout This Book- Create highly scalable applications and services using the Linux container virtualization paradigm- Extend Docker with external platforms, including Heroku and OpenStack- Integrate with some of the most innovative and exciting orchestration tools such as Kubernetes for larger and more controlled deploymentsWho This Book Is ForIf you recognize Docker's importance for innovation in everything from system administration to web development, but aren't sure how to use it to its full potential, this book is for you.What You Will Learn- Become fluent with the basic components of Docker- Learn best practices for storing and managing Docker files- Secure your containers and files with Docker's security features- Learn how to use Docker machine to build new servers from scratch- Find out how to set up and manage multiple environments with Docker compose- Utilize Docker Swarm to orchestrate containers across different servers- Integrate Docker with a wide range of cloud and configuration tools to fully realize its potentialIn DetailDocker has been a game-changer when it comes to virtualization - it has now grown to become a key driver of innovation beyond system administration, having an impact on the world of web development and more. But how can you make sure you're keeping up with the innovations that it's driving? How can you be sure you're using it to its full potential? Mastering Docker shows you how - it not only demonstrates how to use Docker more effectively, it also helps you rethink and reimagine what's possible with Docker.Covering best practices to make sure you're confident with and the basics, such as building, managing and storing containers, before diving deeper into Docker security, you'll find everything you need to help you extend and integrate Docker in new and innovative ways. You'll learn how to take greater control over your containers using some of Docker's most sophisticated and useful tools, such as Docker compose and Docker swarm, before bringing together everything you already know and have learned to put your containers into production and monitor them for safety and performance.Beyond this, you'll also explore even more advanced strategies, as you learn how to extend and integrate Docker with cloud platforms such as Heroku and OpenStack, and how tools such as Kubernetes can improve the way you manage large-scale container orchestration. With further guidance on how you can use configuration management tools such as Puppet, Chef and PowerShell, by the end of the book you'll have a broad and detailed sense of exactly what's possible with Docker - and how seamlessly it fits with a range of other platforms and tools.Style and approachThis book takes you through some of the most sophisticated Docker tools in a way that's accessible and practical. It has been created to help you put new ideas in practice - and to demonstrate precisely what's possible with Docker.
Big Data: does size matter? (Print + Online, Overdrive) by
From the first tally, scratched on a wolf bone over thirty thousand years ago, to the Large Hadron Collider, which produces forty million megabytes of data per second, data is big, and getting bigger. It can help us do things faster and more efficiently than ever before, from tracking wolves through Minnesota by GPS to predicting which crimes are likely to happen where. Mega data has led to scientific and social achievements that would have been impossible just a few years ago. But being toodazzled by the scale, the speed, and the geeky jargon can lead us astray. It's big, but it's not always clever. Timandra Harkness cuts through the hype to put data science into its real-life context using a wide range of stories, people, and places to reveal what is essentially a human science--demystifying big data, telling us where it comes from and what it can do. BIG DATA then asks the awkward questions: What are the unspoken assumptions underlying its methods? Are we being bamboozled by mega data's size, its speed, and its shiny technology? Nobody needs a degree in computer science to follow Harkness's exploration of what mega data can do for us--and what it can't or shouldn't. BIG DATA asks you to decide: Are you a data point, or a human being?
A Practical Guide to Database Design, Second Edition by
Fully updated and expanded from the previous edition, A Practical Guide to Database Design, Second Edition, is intended for those involved in the design or development of a database system or application. It begins by focusing on how to create a logical data model where data is stored "where it belongs." Next, data usage is reviewed to transform the logical model into a physical data model that will satisfy user performance requirements. Finally, it describes how to use various software tools to create user interfaces to review and update data in a database. Organized into 11 chapters, the book begins with an overview of the functionality of database management systems and how they guarantee the accuracy and availability of data. It then describes how to define and normalize data requirements to create a logical data model, then map them into an initial solution for a physical database. The book next presents how to use an industry-leading data modeling tool to define and manage logical and physical data models. After that, it describes how to implement a physical database using either Microsoft Access or SQL Server and how to use Microsoft Access to create windows interfaces to query or update data in tables. The last part of the book reviews software tools and explores the design and implementation of a database using as an example a much more complex data environment for a University. The book ends with a description of how to use PHP to build a web-based interface to review and update data in a database.
Flexible Network Architectures Security: security issues and principles (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
The future of Internet security doesn't lie in doing more of the same. It requires not only a new architecture, but the means of securing that architecture. Two trends have come together to make the topic of this book of vital interest. First, the explosive growth of the Internet connections for the exchange of information via networks increased the dependence of both organizations and individuals on the systems stored and communicated. This, in turn, has increased the awareness for the need to protect the data and add security as chief ingredient in the newly emerged architectures. Second, the disciplines of cryptography and network security have matured and are leading to the development of new techniques and protocols to enforce the network security in Future Internet. This book examines the new security architectures from organizations such as FIArch, GENI, and IETF and how they'll contribute to a more secure Internet.
Hacking Exposed Wireless Secrets and Solutions by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Exploit and defend against the latest wireless network attacks Learn to exploit weaknesses in wireless network environments using the innovative techniques in this thoroughly updated guide. Inside, you'll find concise technical overviews, the latest attack methods, and ready-to-deploy countermeasures. Find out how to leverage wireless eavesdropping, break encryption systems, deliver remote exploits, and manipulate 802.11 clients, and learn how attackers impersonate cellular networks. Hacking Exposed Wireless, Third Edition features expert coverage of ever-expanding threats that affect leading-edge technologies, including Bluetooth Low Energy, Software Defined Radio (SDR), ZigBee, and Z-Wave. Assemble a wireless attack toolkit and master the hacker's weapons Effectively scan and enumerate WiFi networks and client devices Leverage advanced wireless attack tools, including Wifite, Scapy, Pyrit, Metasploit, KillerBee, and the Aircrack-ng suite Develop and launch client-side attacks using Ettercap and the WiFi Pineapple Hack cellular networks with Airprobe, Kraken, Pytacle, and YateBTS Exploit holes in WPA and WPA2 personal and enterprise security schemes Leverage rogue hotspots to deliver remote access software through fraudulent software updates Eavesdrop on Bluetooth Classic and Bluetooth Low Energy traffic Capture and evaluate proprietary wireless technology with Software Defined Radio tools Explore vulnerabilities in ZigBee and Z-Wave-connected smart homes and offices Attack remote wireless networks using compromised Windows systems and built-in tools
Hacking for Beginners: the complete guide by
Are you ready to become a hacker? Do you want to learn the skills you will need to be a success? Hacking is a word that most people have heard. Many think they know what it means, but there are few who actually know how it works. Hacking isn't just putting a few lines of code into a computer and hoping for the best. It requires skill, knowledge, training and practice before you can call yourself a hacker and that's where this book will help. Inside these pages, you will find plenty of information to get you started on your hacking experience, including: Learning the basics of hacking Using hacking in a practical setting Removing malicious viruses And much more... If you are ready to become a hacker, this book will take you from knowing nothing about the subject, to becoming an accomplished beginner. From this basic understanding, you will be able to continue learn and improve your hacking skills to whatever level you desire. Download this amazing book now! Becoming a skilled hacker is much closer than you had imagined.
Handbook of e-Business Security (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
There are a lot of e-business security concerns. Knowing about e-business security issues will likely help overcome them. Keep in mind, companies that have control over their e-business are likely to prosper most. In other words, setting up and maintaining a secure e-business is essential and important to business growth. This book covers state-of-the art practices in e-business security, including privacy, trust, security of transactions, big data, cloud computing, social network, and distributed systems.
Human-Computer Interaction and Cybersecurity Handbook (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
Recipient of the SJSU San Jose State University Annual Author & Artist Awards 2018 Cybersecurity, or information technology security, focuses on protecting computers and data from criminal behavior. The understanding of human performance, capability, and behavior is one of the main areas that experts in cybersecurity focus on, both from a human-computer interaction point of view, and that of human factors. This handbook is a unique source of information from the human factors perspective that covers all topics related to the discipline. It includes new areas such as smart networking and devices, and will be a source of information for IT specialists, as well as other disciplines such as psychology, behavioral science, software engineering, and security management. Features Covers all areas of human-computer interaction and human factors in cybersecurity Includes information for IT specialists, who often desire more knowledge about the human side of cybersecurity Provides a reference for other disciplines such as psychology, behavioral science, software engineering, and security management Offers a source of information for cybersecurity practitioners in government agencies and private enterprises Presents new areas such as smart networking and devices
Internet of Things Security by
Most of the devices in the Internet of Things will be battery powered sensor devices. All the operations done on battery powered devices require minimum computation. Secure algorithms like RSA become useless in the Internet of Things environment. Elliptic curve based cryptography emerges as a best solution for this problem because it provides higher security in smaller key size compare to RSA. This book focuses on the use of Elliptic Curve Cryptography with different authentication architectures and authentication schemes using various security algorithms. It also includes a review of the math required for security and understanding Elliptic Curve Cryptography.
Principles of Information Security by
Master the latest technology and developments from the field with the book specifically oriented to the needs of information systems students like you -- PRINCIPLES OF INFORMATION SECURITY, 6E. Taking a managerial approach, this bestseller emphasizes all aspects of information security, rather than just a technical control perspective. You receive a broad overview of the entire field of information security and related elements with the detail to ensure understanding. You review terms used in the field and a history of the discipline as you learn how to manage an information security program. Current and relevant, this edition highlights the latest practices with fresh examples that explore the impact of emerging technologies, such as the Internet of Things, Cloud Computing, and DevOps. Updates address technical security controls, emerging legislative issues, digital forensics, and ethical issues in IS security, making this the ideal IS resource for business decision makers.
The Science of Biometrics: security technology for identity verification (Print + Online, T & L) by
The Science of Biometrics: Security Technology for Identity Verification covers the technical aspects of iris and facial recognition, focusing primarily on the mathematical and statistical algorithms that run the verification and identification processes in these two modalities. Each chapter begins with a review of the technologies, examining how they work, their advantages and disadvantages, as well as some of their established market applications. Numerous approaches are examined. Facial recognition is much more of an emerging biometric technology than iris recognition; therefore, there are more algorithms that are currently being developed in that area. After this review, numerous applications of these two modalities are covered as well, some of which have just been commercially deployed while others are under research and development. Chapters 3 and 4 conclude with case studies to provide further application review. This book is directed to security managers, electronic security system designers, consultants, and system integrators, as well as electronic security system manufacturers working in access control and biometrics.
Artificial Intelligence: ICAI 2015 : proceedings of the 2015 International Conference on Artificial Intelligence; in 2 Volumes by
ICAI is an international conference that serves researchers, scholars, professionals, students, and academicians who are looking to both foster working relationships and gain access to the latest research results. It is being held jointly (same location and dates) with a number of other research conferences; namely, The 2015 World Congress in Computer Science, Computer Engineering, and Applied Computing (WORLDCOMP'15). The Congress is among the top five largest annual gathering of researchers in computer science, computer engineering and applied computing. We anticipate to have attendees from about 85 countries/territories. The 2015 Congress will be composed of research presentations, keynote lectures, invited presentations, tutorials, panel discussions, and poster presentations.
Artificial Intelligence Safety and Security by
The history of robotics and artificial intelligence in many ways is also the history of humanity's attempts to control such technologies. From the Golem of Prague to the military robots of modernity, the debate continues as to what degree of independence such entities should have and how to make sure that they do not turn on us, its inventors. Numerous recent advancements in all aspects of research, development and deployment of intelligent systems are well publicized but safety and security issues related to AI are rarely addressed. This book is proposed to mitigate this fundamental problem. It is comprised of chapters from leading AI Safety researchers addressing different aspects of the AI control problem as it relates to the development of safe and secure artificial intelligence. The book is the first edited volume dedicated to addressing challenges of constructing safe and secure advanced machine intelligence. The chapters vary in length and technical content from broad interest opinion essays to highly formalized algorithmic approaches to specific problems. All chapters are self-contained and could be read in any order or skipped without a loss of comprehension. ontent from broad interest opinion essays to highly formalized algorithmic approaches to specific problems. All chapters are self-contained and could be read in any order or skipped without a loss of comprehension.
Artificial Intelligence Simplified: understanding basic concepts by
A small book that introduces key Artificial Intelligence (AI) concepts in an easy-to-read format with examples and illustrations. A complex, long, overly mathematical textbook does not always serve the purpose of conveying the basic AI concepts to most people. Someone with basic knowledge in Computer Science can have a quick overview of AI (heuristic searches, genetic algorithms, expert systems, game trees, fuzzy expert systems, natural language processing, super intelligence, etc.) with everyday examples. If you are taking a basic AI course and find the traditional AI textbooks intimidating, you may choose this as a "bridge" book, or as an introductory textbook.
Darkweb Cyber Threat Intelligence Mining (Print + Online, Cambridge) by
The important and rapidly emerging new field known as 'cyber threat intelligence' explores the paradigm that defenders of computer networks gain a better understanding of their adversaries by understanding what assets they have available for an attack. In this book, a team of experts examines a new type of cyber threat intelligence from the heart of the malicious hacking underworld - the dark web. These highly secure sites have allowed anonymous communities of malicious hackers to exchange ideas and techniques, and to buy/sell malware and exploits. Aimed at both cybersecurity practitioners and researchers, this book represents a first step toward a better understanding of malicious hacking communities on the dark web and what to do about them. The authors examine real-world darkweb data through a combination of human and automated techniques to gain insight into these communities, describing both methodology and results.
Data Mining and Multi-Agent Integration (Print + Online, EbscoHost) by
Data Mining and Multi agent Integration aims to re?ect state of the art research and development of agent mining interaction and integration (for short, agent min ing). The book was motivated by increasing interest and work in the agents data min ing, and vice versa. The interaction and integration comes about from the intrinsic challenges faced by agent technology and data mining respectively; for instance, multi agent systems face the problem of enhancing agent learning capability, and avoiding the uncertainty of self organization and intelligence emergence. Data min ing, if integrated into agent systems, can greatly enhance the learning skills of agents, and assist agents with predication of future states, thus initiating follow up action or intervention. The data mining community is now struggling with mining distributed, interactive and heterogeneous data sources. Agents can be used to man age such data sources for data access, monitoring, integration, and pattern merging from the infrastructure, gateway, message passing and pattern delivery perspectives. These two examples illustrate the potential of agent mining in handling challenges in respective communities. There is an excellent opportunity to create innovative, dual agent mining interac tion and integration technology, tools and systems which will deliver results in one new technology.
Deep Learning by
An introduction to a broad range of topics in deep learning, covering mathematical and conceptual background, deep learning techniques used in industry, and research perspectives. "Written by three experts in the field, Deep Learning is the only comprehensive book on the subject." --Elon Musk, cochair of OpenAI; cofounder and CEO of Tesla and SpaceX Deep learning is a form of machine learning that enables computers to learn from experience and understand the world in terms of a hierarchy of concepts. Because the computer gathers knowledge from experience, there is no need for a human computer operator to formally specify all the knowledge that the computer needs. The hierarchy of concepts allows the computer to learn complicated concepts by building them out of simpler ones; a graph of these hierarchies would be many layers deep. This book introduces a broad range of topics in deep learning. The text offers mathematical and conceptual background, covering relevant concepts in linear algebra, probability theory and information theory, numerical computation, and machine learning. It describes deep learning techniques used by practitioners in industry, including deep feedforward networks, regularization, optimization algorithms, convolutional networks, sequence modeling, and practical methodology; and it surveys such applications as natural language processing, speech recognition, computer vision, online recommendation systems, bioinformatics, and videogames. Finally, the book offers research perspectives, covering such theoretical topics as linear factor models, autoencoders, representation learning, structured probabilistic models, Monte Carlo methods, the partition function, approximate inference, and deep generative models. Deep Learning can be used by undergraduate or graduate students planning careers in either industry or research, and by software engineers who want to begin using deep learning in their products or platforms. A website offers supplementary material for both readers and instructors.
Evolutionary Multi-Agent Systems: from inspirations to applications (Print + Online, Springer) by
This book addresses agent-based computing, concentrating in particular on evolutionary multi-agent systems (EMAS), which have been developed since 1996 at the AGH University of Science and Technology in Cracow, Poland. It provides the relevant background information on and a detailed description of this computing paradigm, along with key experimental results. Readers will benefit from the insightful discussion, which primarily concerns the efficient implementation of computing frameworks for developing EMAS and similar computing systems, as well as a detailed formal model. Theoretical deliberations demonstrating that computing with EMAS always helps to find the optimal solution are also included, rounding out the coverage.
Introducing Data Science by
Summary Introducing Data Science teaches you how to accomplish the fundamental tasks that occupy data scientists. Using the Python language and common Python libraries, you'll experience firsthand the challenges of dealing with data at scale and gain a solid foundation in data science. Purchase of the print book includes a free eBook in PDF, Kindle, and ePub formats from Manning Publications. About the Technology Many companies need developers with data science skills to work on projects ranging from social media marketing to machine learning. Discovering what you need to learn to begin a career as a data scientist can seem bewildering. This book is designed to help you get started. About the Book Introducing Data ScienceIntroducing Data Science explains vital data science concepts and teaches you how to accomplish the fundamental tasks that occupy data scientists. You'll explore data visualization, graph databases, the use of NoSQL, and the data science process. You'll use the Python language and common Python libraries as you experience firsthand the challenges of dealing with data at scale. Discover how Python allows you to gain insights from data sets so big that they need to be stored on multiple machines, or from data moving so quickly that no single machine can handle it. This book gives you hands-on experience with the most popular Python data science libraries, Scikit-learn and StatsModels. After reading this book, you'll have the solid foundation you need to start a career in data science. What's Inside Handling large data Introduction to machine learning Using Python to work with data Writing data science algorithms About the Reader This book assumes you're comfortable reading code in Python or a similar language, such as C, Ruby, or JavaScript. No prior experience with data science is required. About the Authors Davy Cielen, Arno D. B. Meysman, and Mohamed Ali are the founders and managing partners of Optimately and Maiton, where they focus on developing data science projects and solutions in various sectors. Table of Contents Data science in a big data world The data science process Machine learning Handling large data on a single computer First steps in big data Join the NoSQL movement The rise of graph databases Text mining and text analytics Data visualization to the end user
Multi-Agent and Complex Systems (Print + Online, Springer) by
This book provides a description of advanced multi-agent and artificial intelligence technologies for the modeling and simulation of complex systems, as well as an overview of the latest scientific efforts in this field. A complex system features a large number of interacting components, whose aggregate activities are nonlinear and self-organized. A multi-agent system is a group or society of agents which interact with others cooperatively and/or competitively in order to reach their individual or common goals. Multi-agent systems are suitable for modeling and simulation of complex systems, which is difficult to accomplish using traditional computational approaches.
Multi-Agent Systems - Modeling, Control, Programming, Simulations and Applications by
Multiagent systems consist of multiple autonomous entities having different information and/or diverging interests. The study of multiagent systems (MAS) focuses on systems in which many intelligent agents interact with each other. The agents are considered to be autonomous entities, such as software programs or robots. Their interactions can be either cooperative or selfish. That is, the agents can share a common goal (eg: an ant colony), or they can pursue their own interests. Multi-agent systems can be used to solve problems that are difficult or impossible for an individual agent or a monolithic system to solve. Intelligence may include some methodic, functional, procedural approach, algorithmic search or reinforcement learning. Although there is considerable overlap, a multi-agent system is not always the same as an agent-based model (ABM). The goal of an ABM is to search for explanatory insight into the collective behavior of obeying simple rules, typically in natural systems, rather than in solving specific practical or engineering problems. Topics where multi-agent systems research may deliver an appropriate approach include online trading, disaster response, and modelling social structures. Multi-agent systems consist of agents and their environment. Typically multi-agent systems research refers to software agents. However, the agents in a multi-agent system could equally well be robots, humans or human teams. A multi-agent system may contain combined humanagent teams. Agent systems are open and extensible systems that allow for the deployment of autonomous and proactive software components. Multi-agent systems have been brought up and used in several application domains. The book is intended to provide an emphasise on the multi-agent technology, products and industrial applications.
Psychoanalytic Defense Mechanisms in Cognitive Multi-Agent Systems (Print + Online, EbscoHost) by
Human cognitive processes and defense mechanisms, as described in psychoanalysis, bring about new notions and paradigms for artificial intelligence systems. One key reason is that the human cognitive processes and defense mechanisms in question can accomplish conflict detection functionalities, filter functionalities, and other system stabilizing tasks within artificial intelligence systems. Yet artificial cognitive architectures lack the capability to analyze complex situations as well as the universal competencies needed to orientate themselves in complex environments in various domains. Psychoanalytic Defense Mechanisms in Cognitive Multi-Agent Systems addresses this dilemma by exploring how to describe, model, and implement psychoanalytic defense mechanisms in the course of a project that provides a functional model of the human mind.¿ With discussions focusing on the development of a mathematical description for the implementation of conflict detection, the activation and selection of defense mechanisms, and the processing of defense mechanisms, Psychoanalytic Defense Mechanisms in Cognitive Multi-Agent Systems describes the decisive points for the application of defense mechanisms in artificial intelligence. Formulae that treat defense mechanisms as transformations are also provided. Interdisciplinary cooperation between the scientific fields of psychoanalysis and artificial intelligence is highlighted as the foundation of new research findings throughout the book.¿ Innovative and exciting, this book will be of great interest to academics, researchers, and postgraduates in the fields of cognitive science, artificial intelligence, and psychoanalysis.
Thinking machines : the inside story of artificial intelligence and our race to build the future (Print + Online - Overdrive, EbscoHost - Audiobook) by
2016 marks the 60-year anniversary of the phrase ‘Artificial Intelligence’ and in this fascinating book, Luke Dormehl charts the weird and wonderful journey of one of mankind’s greatest projects, the creation of Thinking Machines.
This is a story of how what it means to be human in the face of accelerating machine intelligence. It’s about trying to make computers that are smarter than we are, and what happens when it goes wrong. About what creativity means when all knowledge is data that can be stored on microchips. Or about what happens when machines can learn from their mistakes much faster than humans can. And above all, it’s about the dazzling future around the corner, how our lives might just change forever, and whether you and I aren’t just thinking machines of a sort as well.
Multi-Agent Based Production Planning and Control (Print + Online, ProQuest) by
At the crossroads of artificial intelligence, manufacturing engineering, operational research and industrial engineering and management, multi-agent based production planning and control is an intelligent and industrially crucial technology with increasing importance. This book provides a complete overview of multi-agent based methods for today's competitive manufacturing environment, including the Job Shop Manufacturing and Re-entrant Manufacturing processes. In addition to the basic control and scheduling systems, the author also highlights advance research in numerical optimization methods and wireless sensor networks and their impact on intelligent production planning and control system operation. Enables students, researchers and engineers to understand the fundamentals and theories of multi-agent based production planning and control Written by an author with more than 20 years' experience in studying and formulating a complete theoretical system in production planning technologies Fully illustrated throughout, the methods for production planning, scheduling and controlling are presented using experiments, numerical simulations and theoretical analysis Comprehensive and concise, Multi-Agent Based Production Planning and Control is aimed at the practicing engineer and graduate student in industrial engineering, operational research, and mechanical engineering. It is also a handy guide for advanced students in artificial intelligence and computer engineering.
A Computational Introduction to Digital Image Processing, 2nd Edition (Print + Online; ProQuest eBooks) by
Highly Regarded, Accessible Approach to Image Processing Using Open-Source and Commercial Software A Computational Introduction to Digital Image Processing, Second Edition explores the nature and use of digital images and shows how they can be obtained, stored, and displayed. Taking a strictly elementary perspective, the book only covers topics that involve simple mathematics yet offer a very broad and deep introduction to the discipline. New to the Second Edition This second edition provides users with three different computing options. Along with MATLAB¿, this edition now includes GNU Octave and Python. Users can choose the best software to fit their needs or migrate from one system to another. Programs are written as modular as possible, allowing for greater flexibility, code reuse, and conciseness. This edition also contains new images, redrawn diagrams, and new discussions of edge-preserving blurring filters, ISODATA thresholding, Radon transform, corner detection, retinex algorithm, LZW compression, and other topics. Principles, Practices, and Programming Based on the author¿s successful image processing courses, this bestseller is suitable for classroom use or self-study. In a straightforward way, the text illustrates how to implement imaging techniques in MATLAB, GNU Octave, and Python. It includes numerous examples and exercises to give students hands-on practice with the material.
Amazon Web Services in action by 
Django Cookbook: web development with Django by
Django Cookbook Web Development with Django This book is an exploration of Django, which is a Python framework used for the development of web apps. This book provides you with an explanation of what the framework is and its relationship to Python. The first chapter guides you on how to set up the environment ready for programming with Django. The Admin Interface in Django will also be discussed. After reading, you will learn how to set up, launch and use this interface. This book also guides you as to how to create views in Django. The process of URL mapping, models in Django, and how to perform page redirection will also be discussed in this book. The various ways to send E-mails in Django will also be covered. Generic views as well as form processing will also be discussed in detail, as well as the processes for handling both cookies and sessions. Here is a preview of what you'll learn: Setting up the Environment The Admin Interface Creating Views in Django - URL Mapping Template System Models Page Redirection Sending E-mails Generic Views Form Processing in Django Uploading Files Handling Cookies Sessions in Django Memory Caching in Django Download your copy of " h1 Django Cookbook " by scrolling up and clicking "Buy Now With 1-Click" button.
Introducing Web Development (Print + Online; Springer) by
This brief book is an easy-to-digest introduction to the key concepts of web development. Understand the concepts of the web and how they apply to static and dynamic websites. See how HTML and CSS are used to create the bones of the web. Concisely presented through four key concept chapters, Introducing Web Development will enable you to get a clear understanding of how web development works. What You Will Learn How the web works and interacts with websites What static and dynamic websites are and how they work How the static parts of a website are coded using HTML and CSS Who This Book Is For Anyone who wants to understand the basics of web development.
The Virtual Reality Handbook - Everything You Need to Know about Virtual Reality by
This book is your ultimate Virtual Reality resource. Here you will find the most up-to-date information, facts, quotes and much more. In easy to read chapters, with extensive references and links to get you to know all there is to know about Virtual Reality's whole picture right away. Get countless Virtual Reality facts right at your fingertips with this essential resource. The Virtual Reality Handbook is the single and largest Virtual Reality reference book. This compendium of information is the authoritative source for all your entertainment, reference, and learning needs. It will be your go-to source for any Virtual Reality questions. A mind-tickling encyclopedia on Virtual Reality, a treat in its entirety and an oasis of learning about what you don't yet know...but are glad you found. The Virtual Reality Handbook will answer all of your needs, and much more.
Optimization : principles and algorithms by
Optimization algorithms are critical tools for engineers, but difficult to use since none of them are universal in application. This introductery text builds up the knowledge set, from the basics, so that engineering students can understand the processes that govern optimization processes. Reinforcing theory with practice, the book includes discussions on how to match applications to appropiate methods and why certain approaches are not adapted to specific requirements. Following the success and adoption of the French version of this book with undergraduate and graduate students, the author has translated and substantially updated and reworked this new English edition. Featuring more worked problems and supported by a companion website, readers can learn the practical elements of building algorithms to solve real-life problems.
Recent Advances in Video Surveillance by
This book explains the growing importance of video surveillance. Surveillance cameras are present at nearly all places streaming thousands of hours of video. But a major issue of concern is whether the footage collected can be effectively analyzed to find subjects/events of interest and prevent potential accidents. This book addresses these concerns and other major problems by skillfully combining the research experience of experts with practical real life applications. It serves as a significant reference for researchers and students by providing relevant information, pointers to advances in the field and useful description on modern applications. It also provides guidance for existing problems where further advances can be pursued.
Intelligent Video Surveillance: systems and technology (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
From the streets of London tonbsp;subway stations in New York City, hundreds of thousands of surveillance cameras ubiquitously collect hundreds of thousands of videos, often running 24/7. How can such vast volumes of video data be stored, analyzed, indexed, and searched? How can advanced video analysis and systems autonomously recognize people and detect targeted activities real-time? Collating and presenting the latest information Intelligent Video Surveillance: Systems and Technology explores these issues, from fundamentals principle to algorithmic design and system implementation. An Integrated discussion of key research and applications Written and edited by a collection of industry experts, the book presents state-of-the-art technologies and systems in intelligent video surveillance. The book integrates key research, design, and implementation themes of intelligent video surveillance systems and technology into one comprehensive reference. The chapters cover the computational principles behind the technologies and systems and include system implementation issues as well as examples of successful applications of these technologies. Builds a foundation for future developments Changing appearance caused by changing viewpoints, illumination, expression, and movement, self/cross body occlusion, modeling of cluttered background capable of efficient background subtraction for object detection, and spatial and temporal alignment of multiple cameras are just a few of the challenges that remain in further developing and refining intelligent video surveillance technology and systems. Fully illustrated with line art, tables, and photographs demonstrating the collected video and results obtained using the related algorithms, including a color plate section, the book provides a high-level blueprint for advances and insights into future directions of the field.
Sensors: detecting, sensing and tracking by
Sensors are used in everyday objects such as touch-sensitive elevator buttons (tactile sensor) and lamps which dim or brighten by touching the base, besides innumerable applications of which most people are never aware. With advances in micromachinery and easy-to-use microcontroller platforms, the uses of sensors have expanded beyond the more traditional fields of temperature, pressure or flow measurement, for example into MARG sensors. Moreover, analog sensors such as potentiometers and force-sensing resistors are still widely used. Applications include manufacturing and machinery, airplanes and aerospace, cars, medicine and robotics.
Digital Image Processing for You ! by
This updated and expanded second edition of Book provides a user-friendly introduction to the subject, Taking a clear structural framework, it guides the reader through the subject's core elements, which can be used as a learning material for students pursuing their studies in undergraduate and graduate levels in universities and colleges and those who want to learn the topic via a short and complete resource.We hope you find this book useful in shaping your future career.
Soft skills : an intergrated approach to maximise personality by
The book features a practical and time-tested learning program on soft skills that prepares job aspirants to build employment skills quickly. The book is designed with a clear objective to identify the need of the present generation and empower them with the right set of skills to make them employable. With the bunch of soft skills, the book chips in to fill the void between the university curriculum and current industrial needs. The book gives them an inner edge and effectiveness to work with people and excel at workplace
Social Media in Rural China: social networks and moral frameworks by
China's distinctive social media platforms have gained notable popularity among the nation's vast number of internet users, but has China's countryside been 'left behind' in this communication revolution? Tom McDonald spent 15 months living in a small rural Chinese community researching how the residents use social media in their daily lives. His ethnographic findings suggest that, far from being left behind, many rural Chinese people have already integrated social media into their everyday experience. Throughout his ground-breaking study, McDonald argues that social media allows rural people to extend and transform their social relationships by deepening already existing connections with friends known through their school, work or village, while also experimenting with completely new forms of relationships through online interactions with strangers, particularly when looking for love and romance. By juxtaposing these seemingly opposed relations, rural social media users are able to use these technologies to understand, capitalise on and challenge the notions of morality that underlie rural life.
The Age of Cryptocurrency: how bitcoin and digital money are challenging the global economic order (Print + Online, Overdrive) by
Bitcoin became a buzzword overnight. A cyber-enigma with an enthusiastic following, it pops up in headlines and fuels endless media debate. You can apparently use it to buy anything from coffee to cars, yet few people seem to truly understand what it is. This raises the question: Why should anyone care about bitcoin? InThe Age of Cryptocurrency, Wall Street journalists Paul Vigna and Michael J. Casey deliver the definitive answer to this question. Cybermoney is poised to launch a revolution, one that could reinvent traditional financial and social structures while bringing the world's billions of "unbanked" individuals into a new global economy. Cryptocurrency holds the promise of a financial system without a middleman, one owned by the people who use it and one safeguarded from the devastation of a 2008-type crash. But bitcoin, the most famous of the cybermonies, carries a reputation for instability, wild fluctuation, and illicit business; some fear it has the power to eliminate jobs and to upend the concept of a nation-state. It implies, above all, monumental and wide-reaching change--for better and for worse. But it is here to stay, and you ignore it at your peril. Vigna and Casey demystify cryptocurrency--its origins, its function, and what you need to know to navigate a cyber-economy. The digital currency world will look very different from the paper currency world;The Age of Cryptocurrency will teach you how to be ready.
The Law of Bitcoin by
The law of bitcoin is the response to the great interest and need for a text focused on the law of cryptocurrencies, especially bitcoin. This book is the first of its kind delving into cryptocurrency law in four jurisdictions: Canada, Germany, the United Kingdom and the United States. Written by knowledge leaders in the legal cryptocurrency space, The law of bitcoin addresses such topics as the intersection of cryptocurrencies and criminal law, taxation, anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing regulations, securities law, consumer protection, negotiable instruments, currency law and financial regulation. The law of bitcoin will be a leading resource and go to text both for those wishing to understand the basics of how the law affects cryptocurrency and for those in the legal community searching for sophisticated answers to more advanced questions.
Satoshi Nakamoto: the Bitcoin Founder by
Bitcoin is a type of currency that can only be used and stored electronically; it is new payment system. It remains in digital form as a type of money referred to as cryptocurrency, it is never printed but is created by people and businesses using special computer software. The company was announced in 2008 by Satoshi Nakamoto who later left in mid-2010. Satoshi allowed Bitcoin to be very public, where the software and company codes can be accessed by any person across the world. This made it an open source company, encouraging users to trust in it thereby making Bitcoins popular and valuable.
SMACing the Bank: how to use social media, mobility, analytics, and cloud technologies to transform the business processes of banks and the banking experience (Print + Online, Taylor & Francis) by
The formula for the Future of Work is called SMAC - social, mobile, analytics and cloud on one integrated stack where each function enables another to maximize its effect. This is the new enterprise IT model delivering an organization that is more connective, collaborative, real time and productive. This book provides a comprehensive view of how SMAC Technologies are impacting the entire banking "eco-system" as well as the key stakeholders, namely customers, employees and partners.
Tracking Objects in 3d Using Stereo Vision by
Previous work in the area of stereo vision has been mostly restricted to either stationary use, or very slow movement. With the introduction of increasingly faster computing devices, more and more of the things that required considerable processing time before, can now be done in real-time. This book describes a stereo vision system to be used on a mobile robot, originally submitted as a master thesis in computer science. The system is able to determine the positions of cylindrical and spherical objects in a 3D environment in real-time by using images from two cameras. Corresponding regions in the two images are found, which then enables the system to use disparity and triangulation to calculate the relative positions of the objects.
Electronics Cookbook: practical electronic recipes with Arduino and Raspberry Pi (Print + Online, EbscoHost 1 User access) by
If you're among the many hobbyists and designers who came to electronics through Arduino and Raspberry Pi, this cookbook will help you learn and apply the basics of electrical engineering without the need for an EE degree. Through a series of practical recipes, you'll learn how to solve specific problems while diving into as much or as little theory as you're comfortable with. Author Simon Monk (Raspberry Pi Cookbook) breaks down this complex subject into several topics, from using the right transistor to building and testing projects and prototypes. With this book, you can quickly search electronics topics and go straight to the recipe you need. It also serves as an ideal reference for experienced electronics makers. This cookbook includes: Theoretical concepts such as Ohm's law and the relationship between power, voltage, and current The fundamental use of resistors, capacitors and inductors, diodes, transistors and integrated circuits, and switches and relays Recipes on power, sensors and motors, integrated circuits, and radio frequency for designing electronic circuits and devices Advice on using Arduino and Raspberry Pi in electronics projects How to build and use tools, including multimeters, oscilloscopes, simulations software, and unsoldered prototypes
Scientifically Thinking: how to liberate your mind, solve the world's problems, and embrace the beauty of science (Print + Online, EbscoHost, 1 User Access) by
You don't have to be a scientist to think like a scientist. Anyone can do it and everyone should. This book will show you how. The advantages are many- from detecting bias to avoiding error and appreciating the richness of the world. Author Stanley Rice, himself a scientist, explains that science is essentially organized common sense. While the brain is hardwired for common sense, unfortunately, it also relies on a number of misleading tendencies. Instead of reasoning objectively it tends to rationalize. Often it sees what it wants to see rather than what is really there. And it is adept at both self-deception and deceiving others. Rice notes that these tendencies were useful in the past as the human race evolved in an often-hostile environment. But today bias and delusions put us at risk of worldwide catastrophe. The author invites readers to participate in the adventure of scientific discovery. He provides many interesting and humorous examples of how science works. He shows how hypothesis testing can be used to tackle everyday problems like car trouble or seeing through the specious appeal of a fad diet. Beyond practical applications, science meets the basic human need to satisfy curiosity- it tells verifiable stories about the universe, providing humans with fascinating narratives supported by testable facts. The author also explores some of science's biggest ideas, including natural selection (creating order out of randomness) and interconnectedness (Earth's systems are intricately intertwined). Read this book and learn to think like a scientist. It will guard you against being manipulated by politicians, corporations, and religious leaders, and equip you to deal with the world's most pressing problems. And you will have a lot of fun doing it.
Unbelievable science stuff that blow your mind by
How did the atom bomb help save the elephant? Have we found the secret to eternal youth? Could a parasite be manipulating you right now? This dazzling collection of stories reveals the key recent breakthroughs in science, across all fields. Inside you will meet the killers lurking in Earth's ice, the super-coral that could save our seas and the neuroscientists hunting ghosts. You will travel beyond our galaxy to worlds where the sun sets twice, and beyond our time to a future where the Internet is unhackable and chickenosaurs roam the land. Divided into sections covering physics, space, humanity, the brain, plants and animals, and linking stories from different fields, Unbelievable Science offers a boundless journey of discovery for anyone with a passion for the world around them. Prepare to be shocked and amazed on every page
What we cannot know : from consciousness to the cosmos, the cutting edge of science explained by
Britain's most famous mathematician takes us to the edge of knowledge to show us what we cannot know. Is the universe infinite? Do we know what happened before the Big Bang? Where is human consciousness located in the brain? And are there more undiscovered particles out there, beyond the Higgs boson? In the modern world, science is king: weekly headlines proclaim the latest scientific breakthroughs and numerous mathematical problems, once indecipherable, have now been solved. But are there limits to what we can discover about our physical universe? In this very personal journey to the edges of knowledge, Marcus du Sautoy investigates how leading experts in fields from quantum physics and cosmology, to sensory perception and neuroscience, have articulated the current lie of the land. In doing so, he travels to the very boundaries of understanding, questioning contradictory stories and consulting cutting edge data. Is it possible that we will one day know everything? Or are there fields of research that will always lie beyond the bounds of human comprehension? And if so, how do we cope with living in a universe where there are things that will forever transcend our understanding?
The Formula: the universal laws of success by
"This is not just an important but an imperative project: to approach the problem of randomness and success using the state of the art scientific arsenal we have. Barabasi is the person." --Nassim Nicholas Taleb, author of the New York Times bestselling The Black Swan and Distinguished Professor of Risk Engineering at NYU An international bestseller In the bestselling tradition of Malcom Gladwell, James Gleick, and Nate Silver, prominent professor László Barabási gives us a trailblazing book that promises to transform the very foundations of how our success-obsessed society approaches their professional careers, life pursuits and long-term goals. Too often, accomplishment does not equal success. We did the work but didn't get the promotion; we played hard but weren't recognized; we had the idea but didn't get the credit. We convince ourselves that talent combined with a strong work ethic is the key to getting ahead, but also realize that combination often fails to yield results, without any deeper understanding as to why. Recognizing this striking disconnect, the author, along with a team of renowned researchers and some of the most advanced data-crunching systems on the planet, dedicated themselves to one goal: uncovering that ever-elusive link between performance and success. Now, based on years of academic research, The Formula finally unveils the groundbreaking discoveries of their pioneering study, not only highlighting the scientific and mathematic principles that underpin success, but also revolutionizing our understanding of: Why performance is necessary but not adequate Why "Experts" are often wrong How to assemble a creative team primed for success How to most effectively engage our networks And much more.
What's next? : even scientists can't predict the future - or can they? (Print + Online) by
The future of our planet : demographics, conservation and climate change -- The future of us : medicine, genetics and transhumanism -- The future online : AI, quantum computing and the internet -- Making the future : engineering, transport and energy -- The far future : time travel, the apocalypse and living in space.
NOTE In What's Next? eighteen top scientists and experts explore what's in store for the human race. Their topics range from the mind-bending (quantum computing and synthetic biology) to the important (climage change and energy) and the truly futuristic (time travel and telelportation). And along the way, they'll show how to rebuild society in the event of an apocalypse, and what a turtle-egg omelette can teach us about saving the planet. Entertaining, informative and filled with groundbreaking science, this is your guide to what the future holds
The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science, 2nd ed. by
For more than a decade, The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science has been the go-to reference for anyone who needs to write or speak about their research. Whether a student writing a thesis, a faculty member composing a grant proposal, or a public information officer crafting a press release, Scott Montgomery's advice is perfectly adaptable to any scientific writer's needs. This new edition has been thoroughly revised to address crucial issues in the changing landscape of scientific communication, with an increased focus on those writers working in corporate settings, government, and nonprofit organizations as well as academia. Half a dozen new chapters tackle the evolving needs and paths of scientific writers. These sections address plagiarism and fraud, writing graduate theses, translating scientific material, communicating science to the public, and the increasing globalization of research. The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science recognizes that writers come to the table with different needs and audiences. Through solid examples and concrete advice, Montgomery sets out to help scientists develop their own voice and become stronger communicators. He also teaches readers to think about their work in the larger context of communication about science, addressing the roles of media and the public in scientific attitudes as well as offering advice for those whose research concerns controversial issues such as climate change or emerging viruses. More than ever, communicators need to be able to move seamlessly among platforms and styles. The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science's comprehensive coverage means that scientists and researchers will be able to expertly connect with their audiences, no matter the medium.
Twas: a Voice for Science in the South (Print + Online) by
Science in the developing world has experienced historic change over the past 30 years. Nations that lacked resources for even basic science have since developed world-class research centres. Men and women who previously had no chance of pursuing scientific careers in their own countries now thrive in home-grown universities and laboratories dedicated to scientific excellence.The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) has been front and centre during this remarkable transformation. A Voice for Science in the South tells the story of TWAS through the eyes of 11 eminent scientists associated with the Academy. They speak of the organization's challenges and triumphs, and describe what TWAS has meant for their careers and the careers of thousands of scientists in the developing world. They also explore the challenges that lie ahead for TWAS and, more generally, for science in the South. It is a story of unprecedented global change and an account of what must be done to ensure that all nations can share in the benefits that emerge when science is woven into the fabric of society.
The Cambridge History of Science: Volume 2, Medieval Science (Print + Online) by
This volume in the highly respected Cambridge History of Science series is devoted to the history of science in the Middle Ages from the North Atlantic to the Indus Valley. Medieval science was once universally dismissed as non-existent - and sometimes it still is. This volume reveals the diversity of goals, contexts, and accomplishments in the study of nature during the Middle Ages. Organized by topic and culture, its essays by distinguished scholars offer the most comprehensive and up-to-date history of medieval science currently available. Intended to provide a balanced and inclusive treatment of the medieval world, contributors consider scientific learning and advancement in the cultures associated with the Arabic, Greek, Latin, and Hebrew languages. Scientists, historians, and other curious readers will all gain a new appreciation for the study of nature during an era that is often misunderstood.
The main Computer Science and Informatics print books are available on Level 3 at the APK Library.
These are the shelf numbers if you would like to browse. Please search UJLink: Library Catalogue for variety of books
Mastering Academic Writing in the Sciences: a step-by-step guide (Print + Online) by
This book provides a comprehensive and coherent step-by-step guide to writing in scientific academic disciplines. It is an invaluable resource for those working on a PhD thesis, research paper, dissertation, or report. Writing these documents can be a long and arduous experience for students and their supervisors, and even for experienced researchers. However, this book can hold the key to success. Mapping the steps involved in the writing process - from acquiring and organizing sources of information, to revising early drafts, to proofreading the final product - it provides clear guidance on what to write and how best to write it. Features: Step-by-step approach to academic writing in scientificdisciplines Ideal guidance for PhD theses, papers, grant applications, reports and more Includes worked-out examples from real research papers and PhD theses and templates and worksheets are available online to help readers put specific tasks into practice
Planning Your Research and How to Write It by
This book is a practical guide for residents and young researchers who are planning to embark on research. It details the significant planning one must first do including choosing a suitable experienced clinician as a supervisor, sourcing for a "winning idea" with significant clinical impact, performing a proper review of literature, defining clearly the objectives to be set and adopting the appropriate methodology. Statistical evaluation must be done from the start of the research to define adequate sample size and also for evaluation of the results. It also advises how one should draw upon relevant and appropriate conclusions from the results obtained. The ethics of research is also discussed. An all-important factor in research is the procurement of research grants. Readers are guided how to write a proper research proposal to secure these much needed grants. Many research papers end up as presentations only in local or international conferences. An important additional objective of this book is to guide young researchers how to write their finished product -- as a publication in an important international, refereed journal or as a thesis. Chapters have been specially written with tips for scientific writing, selecting the right journal, writing for an original article for a journal, a review article, a case report as well as for a thesis. Tips are also written on what reviewers of a journal look for in an article as well as what examiners look for in a thesis.
How to Read and Critique a Scientific Research Article: notes to guide students reading primary literature (with teaching tips for faculty members) by
Given the explosion of information and knowledge in the field of Life Sciences, adapting primary literature as materials in course work as part of active learning seems to be more effective in improving scientific literacy among science undergraduates than the pure transmission of content knowledge using traditional textbooks. In addition, students also read research articles as part of undertaking laboratory research projects useful for preparing them for graduate school. As such, a good grasp of reading and analytical skills is needed for students to understand how their research project contributes to the field that they are working in. Such skills are being taught at UK and USA universities. In Asia, this approach in teaching has not yet been as widespread, although similar ideas are beginning to be used in education. Written as a quick guide for undergraduate students and faculty members dealing with scientific research articles as part of a module or research project, this book will be useful, especially in Asia, for students and faculty members as the universities look to incorporating the use of scientific research articles in their undergraduate teaching.For Life Science students, the first time they encounter a primary literature can be rather daunting, though with proper guidance, they can overcome the initial difficulties and become confident in dealing with scientific articles.This guidebook provides a structured approach to reading a research article, guiding the reader step-by-step through each section, with tips on how to look out for key points and how to evaluate each section.Overall, by helping undergraduate students to overcome their anxieties in reading scientific literature, the book will enable the students to appreciate better the process of scientific investigations and how knowledge is derived in science.
Postgraduate Handbook: a comprehensive guide for PhD and Master's students and their supervisors by
This concise handbook is intended for postgraduate students and their supervisors. The author has travelled the postgraduate journey (PhD, MPH and PDHE) and experienced all the challenges and difficulties that most postgraduate students are likely to encounter. He has conducted research (which resulted in a patented invention), supervised postgraduate students, taught postgraduate courses and examined PhD theses and master's degree dissertations.
This easy-to-read, straightforward volume outlines the concepts and strategies that will greatly facilitate the successful completion of postgraduate studies and offers help and advice on research methods, data analysis techniques, writing skills and student-supervisor relationships. The author demystifies complex research concepts and methodologies by explaining them in simple terms and making them understandable to students and novice researchers. The manual is an invaluable guide to postgraduate studies and provides an explanation of the methodologies, philosophical basis and concepts that underpin postgraduate research.
This concise manual is essential reading for all PhD students, master's degree students and others pursuing, or contemplating, a postgraduate qualification. It is also recommended as an indispensable guide for supervisors of postgraduate students.
What Every Science Student Should Know (Print + Online, EbscoHost 1 user access) by
"I am often amazed at how much more capability and enthusiasm for science there is among elementary school youngsters than among college students. . . . We must understand and circumvent this dangerous discouragement. No one can predict where the future leaders of science will come from."--Carl Sagan In 2012, the White House put out a call to increase the number of STEM graduates by one million. Since then, hundreds of thousands of science students have started down the path toward a STEM career. Yet, of these budding scientists, more than half of all college students planning to study science or medicine leave the field during their academic careers. What Every Science Student Should Know is the perfect personal mentor for any aspiring scientist. Like an experienced lab partner or frank advisor, the book points out the pitfalls while providing encouragement. Chapters cover the entire college experience, including choosing a major, mastering study skills, doing scientific research, finding a job, and, most important, how to foster and keep a love of science. This guide is a distillation of the authors' own experiences as recent science graduates, bolstered by years of research and interviews with successful scientists and other science students. The authorial team includes former editors-in-chief of the prestigious Dartmouth Undergraduate Journal of Science. All have weathered the ups and downs of undergrad life--and all are still pursuing STEM careers. Forthright and empowering, What Every Science Student Should Know is brimming with insider advice on how to excel as both a student and a scientist.
3D Printed Science Projects Volume 2: Physics, math, engineering and geology models by
Learn physics, engineering, and geology concepts usually seen in high school and college in an easy, accessible style. This second volume addresses these topics for advanced science fair participants or those who just like reading about and understanding science. 3D Printed Science Project Volume 2 describes eight open-source 3D printable models, as well as creative activities using the resulting 3D printed pieces. The files are designed to print as easily as possible, and the authors give tips for printing them on open source printers. As 3D printers become more and more common and affordable, hobbyists, teachers, parents, and students stall out once they've printed some toys and a few household items. To get beyond this, most people benefit from a "starter set" of objects as a beginning point in their explorations, partially just to see what is possible. This book tells you the solid science stories that these models offer, and provides them in open-source repositories. What You Will Learn Create (and present the science behind) 3D printed models Review innovative ideas for tactile ways to learn concepts in engineering, geology and physics Learn what makes a models easy or hard to 3D print Who This Book Is For The technology- squeamish teacher and parents who want their kids to learn something from their 3D printer but don't know how, as well as high schoolers and undergraduates.