UNIX and Linux System Administration Handbook Online and Print copies) by Evi Nemeth; Ben Whaley; Trent R. Hein; Garth Snyder"As an author, editor, and publisher, I never paid much attention to the competition-except in a few cases. This is one of those cases. The UNIX System Administration Handbook is one of the few books we ever measured ourselves against." -From the Foreword by Tim O'Reilly, founder of O'Reilly Media "This book is fun and functional as a desktop reference. If you use UNIX and Linux systems, you need this book in your short-reach library. It covers a bit of the systems' history but doesn't bloviate. It's just straightfoward information delivered in colorful and memorable fashion." -Jason A. Nunnelley "This is a comprehensive guide to the care and feeding of UNIX and Linux systems. The authors present the facts along with seasoned advice and real-world examples. Their perspective on the variations among systems is valuable for anyone who runs a heterogeneous computing facility." -Pat Parseghian The twentieth anniversary edition of the world's best-selling UNIX system administration book has been made even better by adding coverage of the leading Linux distributions: Ubuntu, openSUSE, and RHEL. This book approaches system administration in a practical way and is an invaluable reference for both new administrators and experienced professionals. It details best practices for every facet of system administration, including storage management, network design and administration, email, web hosting, scripting, software configuration management, performance analysis, Windows interoperability, virtualization, DNS, security, management of IT service organizations, and much more. UNIX® and Linux® System Administration Handbook, Fourth Edition, reflects the current versions of these operating systems: Ubuntu® Linux openSUSE® Linux Red Hat® Enterprise Linux® Oracle America® Solaris(tm) (formerly Sun Solaris) HP HP-UX® IBM AIX®
Principles of Information Security (Online & Print copies) by Michael E. Whitman; Herbert J. MattordMaster the latest technology and developments from the field with the book specifically oriented to the needs of information systems students like you -- PRINCIPLES OF INFORMATION SECURITY, 6E. Taking a managerial approach, this bestseller emphasizes all aspects of information security, rather than just a technical control perspective. You receive a broad overview of the entire field of information security and related elements with the detail to ensure understanding. You review terms used in the field and a history of the discipline as you learn how to manage an information security program. Current and relevant, this edition highlights the latest practices with fresh examples that explore the impact of emerging technologies, such as the Internet of Things, Cloud Computing, and DevOps. Updates address technical security controls, emerging legislative issues, digital forensics, and ethical issues in IS security, making this the ideal IS resource for business decision makers.
E-Commerce Strategy: text and cases (Online; Springer) by Sanjay Mohapatra​​E-Commerce Strategy: Text and Cases provides the fundamental literature required for graduate students and practitioners to understand electronic commerce. Each chapter provides clearly designed learning objectives and review questions to highlight the major topics and goals. This book covers many of the new innovations and technologies that have been established for e-commerce site development. Unlike similar books, topics such as e-channel adoption, factors affecting e-commerce adoption, and strategy design are reviewed in greater depth. Additionally, the book examines areas not normally covered like open source, online research, and peer-to-peer systems. E-Commerce Strategy: Text and Cases is divided into two parts. Part 1 examines the evolution of e-commerce, analyzes different sectors such as B2B and m-Commerce, and explores the challenges they face. Case studies of well known companies reinforce the concepts learned to demonstrate both successes and failures in the field. Part 2 deals with developing strategies in e-Commerce and looks at future trends including Web 2.0. Overall, the useful guidelines provided should prove valuable to students and researchers in the field.
Publication Date: 2012 ; (Module: IT28X67)
Handbook of Biometrics (Print + Online; EbscoHost, 1 copy Access) by Anil K. Jain (Editor); Patrick Flynn (Editor); Arun A. Ross (Editor)Biometrics is a rapidly evolving field with applications ranging from accessing one's computer to gaining entry into a country. The deployment of large-scale biometric systems in both commercial and government applications has increased public awareness of this technology. Recent years have seen significant growth in biometric research resulting in the development of innovative sensors, new algorithms, enhanced test methodologies and novel applications. This book addresses this void by inviting some of the prominent researchers in Biometrics to contribute chapters describing the fundamentals as well as the latest innovations in their respective areas of expertise.
Call Number: KINGSWAY RESERVE COLL BOOKS 570.15195 HAND
Information technology project management (Online and Print copies) by Kathy Schwalbe; Shannon BlantonGain a strong understanding of IT project management as you learn to apply today's most effective project management tools and techniques with the unique approach found in INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY PROJECT MANAGEMENT, 8E. This book emphasizes the latest developments and skills to help you prepare for the Project Management Professional (PMP) or Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) exams. While this edition reflect content from the latest the PMBOK® Guide, it goes well beyond the Guide to provide a meaningful context for project management. Hundreds of timely examples highlight IT projects, while quick quizzes, discussion questions, exercises, and ongoing cases reinforce your learning. Time-saving template files assist in completing tasks. Examples from familiar companies featured in today's news, an Agile case, MindView software, and a guide to using Microsoft Project 2013 help you master IT project management skills that are marketable around the globe.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 658.404 SCHW
Publication Date: 2015 8th ed. ( Module: IT08X77)
Mathematical Tools in Computer Graphics with C# Implementations (Online and Print copies) by Alexandre Hardy; Willi-Hans SteebMathematics is vital for an understanding of computer graphics. This volume helps the reader gain such an understanding by presenting all introductory and most advanced topics in the field of computer graphics with mathematical descriptions and derivations. Offering a balance of theory, applications, and code, the underlying numerical methods and algorithms are derived and a large number of examples are given. The book begins with a discussion of basic graphics tools such as vectors, matrices, and quaternions, and then builds up to more advanced topics such as the intersection of three-dimensional objects. Both classical and newer topics, such as parameterization, wavelets, fractals, and geometry images, are covered. In particular, the book contains all of the classes in C# necessary for computer graphics, providing a full explanation of the C# code and C# implementations for almost all algorithms. Book jacket.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 3 006.60151 HARD
Publication Date: 2008 ; (Module: IT08X77)
IT18X47 Online Prescribed Books
CWSP Certified Wireless Security Professional Study Guide (Online and Print; Wiley) by David D. Coleman; David A. Westcott; Bryan E. HarkinsThe most detailed, comprehensive coverage of CWSP-205 exam objectives CWSP: Certified Wireless Security Professional Study Guide offers comprehensive preparation for the CWSP-205 exam. Fully updated to align with the new 2015 exam, this guide covers all exam objectives and gives you access to the Sybex interactive online learning system so you can go into the test fully confident in your skills. Coverage includes WLAN discovery, intrusion and attack, 802.11 protocol analysis, wireless intrusion prevention system implementation, Layer 2 and 3 VPN over 802.11 networks, managed endpoint security systems, and more. Content new to this edition features discussions about BYOD and guest access, as well as detailed and insightful guidance on troubleshooting. With more than double the coverage of the "official" exam guide, plus access to interactive learning tools, this book is your ultimate solution for CWSP-205 exam prep. The CWSP is the leading vendor-neutral security certification administered for IT professionals, developed for those working with and securing wireless networks. As an advanced certification, the CWSP requires rigorous preparation -- and this book provides more coverage and expert insight than any other source. Learn the ins and outs of advanced network security Study 100 percent of CWSP-205 objectives Test your understanding with two complete practice exams Gauge your level of preparedness with a pre-test assessment The CWSP is a springboard for more advanced certifications, and the premier qualification employers look for in the field. If you've already earned the CWTS and the CWNA, it's time to take your career to the next level. CWSP: Certified Wireless Security Professional Study Guide is your ideal companion for effective, efficient CWSP-205 preparation.
Publication Date: 2016
Honours Prescribed Books
Thinking Functionally with Haskell (Online and Print access) by Richard BirdRichard Bird is famed for the clarity and rigour of his writing. His new textbook, which introduces functional programming to students, emphasises fundamental techniques for reasoning mathematically about functional programs. By studying the underlying equational laws, the book enables students to apply calculational reasoning to their programs, both to understand their properties and to make them more efficient. The book has been designed to fit a first- or second-year undergraduate course and is a thorough overhaul and replacement of his earlier textbooks. It features case studies in Sudoku and pretty-printing, and over 100 carefully selected exercises with solutions. This engaging text will be welcomed by students and teachers alike.