Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library catalog (UJLink)
Electonic Book Collections & Databases
Aggregators eBook Collections:
ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowA collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers.
UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Access Engineering (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Britannica E-Books This link opens in a new windowBritannica eBooks cover the entire curriculum, from language arts, math, science and social studies, to sports, music, art, and many other subjects, including Spanish and bilingual titles.
Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Knovel (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
World Scientific (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowA collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics.
Biology Online Books
Biology for Dummies (Print + Online; ProQuest Central) by The ultimate guide to understanding biology Have you ever wondered how the food you eat becomes the energy your body needs to keep going? The theory of evolution says that humans and chimps descended from a common ancestor, but does it tell us how and why? We humans are insatiably curious creatures who can't help wondering how things work--starting with our own bodies. Wouldn't it be great to have a single source of quick answers to all our questions about how living things work? Now there is. From molecules to animals, cells to ecosystems, Biology For Dummies answers all your questions about how living things work. Written in plain English and packed with dozens of enlightening illustrations, this reference guide covers the most recent developments and discoveries in evolutionary, reproductive, and ecological biology. It's also complemented with lots of practical, up-to-date examples to bring the information to life. Discover how living things work Think like a biologist and use scientific methods Understand lifecycle processes Whether you're enrolled in a biology class or just want to know more about this fascinating and ever-evolving field of study, Biology For Dummies will help you unlock the mysteries of how life works.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 570 KRAT
Publication Date: 2017
A Closer Look at Biology, Microbiology, and the Cell (Online, Britannica) by Formalizing study of the natural world may seem like a daunting task considering the sheer breadth and variety of living things that inhabit the planet. From the microscopic organisms in the worlds most remote locations to those in the human body, evidence of the intricate structures and mechanisms that enable life are ubiquitous and new discoveries constantly reveal new possibilities that demand to be examined. This volume surveys the multitude of subjects that comprise the field of biology and includes an overview of the development of biology, microbiology, and cell theory.
Publication Date: 2011
11th Hour: Introduction to Biology (Online; ProQuest) by This book reviews the more challenging material in a college-level, introductory course in biology. It is intended to supplement standard textbooks in biology, or for students who wish to review such material. '11th Hour: Introduction to Biology' is of particular use to students enrolled in a majors or non-majors introductory biology course, or students taking AP biology. It concentrates on those topics that usually give students the most difficulty, and problems/questions are rated throughout in terms of their level of difficulty. Concentrates on those concepts that usually give students the most difficulty. Provides ample opportunity to test the mastery of this material. Rates questions/problems according to their level of difficulty. Additional information provided on the internet site related to this topic - www.blackwellpublishing.com/11thhour.
Publication Date: 2009
Biochemistry Laboratory Manual for Undergraduates (Online; ProQuest) by Biochemistry laboratory manual for undergraduates - an inquiry based approach by Gerczei and Pattison is the first textbook on the market that uses a highly relevant model, antibiotic resistance, to teach seminal topics of biochemistry and molecular biology while incorporating the blossoming field of bioinformatics. The novelty of this manual is the incorporation of a student-driven real real-life research project into the undergraduate curriculum. Since students test their own mutant design, even the most experienced students remain engaged with the process, while the less experienced ones get their first taste of biochemistry research. Inclusion of a research project does not entail a limitation: this manual includes all classic biochemistry techniques such as HPLC or enzyme kinetics and is complete with numerous problem sets relating to each topic.
Publication Date: 2015
Schaum's Online Books
Schaum's Outline of Biology, Fifth Edition (Online) by Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, sovled problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you: * 800 supplementary problems to reinforce knowledge * Concise explanations of all biology concepts * Coverage of both biochemical and molecular approaches to biology and an understanding of life in terms of the characteristics of DNA, RNA, and protein macromolecules * New end of chapter quiz * New end of unit test * Support for all major textbooks for courses in Biology PLUS: Access to revised Schaums.com website with access to 25 problem-solving videos, and more. Schaum's reinforces the main concepts required in your course and offers hundreds of practice questions to help you suceed. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines - Problem solved.
Publication Date: 2018
Schaum's Outline: Biochemistry (Online) by Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 830 fully solved problems with complete solutions Clear, concise explanations of all course concepts Coverage of biochemical signaling, genetic engineering, the human genome project, and new recombinant DNA techniques and sequencing b>Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines--Problem Solved.
Publication Date: 2011, 3rd ed.
Measurement of PH (Online; RSC) by Whether pH is being used to test a sample against a legal requirement or specification; as part of an analytical method; for monitoring and controlling a reaction; as a process control in the chemical industry; or for the environmental monitoring of waste and effluents, it is important that all pH measurements are carried out in a logical and consistent manner, paying careful attention to experimental procedures, in order to obtain reliable results. This guide provides scientists with the knowledge of how to do just that, first by outlining the principles of pH measurement and buffer solutions. pH meters and electrodes are then discussed, including selection criteria and the care of electrodes. Finally, sections on making pH measurements and uncertainty are followed by a set of practical exercises. Measurement of pH is one of the Practical Laboratory Skills Training Guides, a series that aims to make achieving best practice easy. These invaluable manuals will enable both experienced and inexperienced staff to get the essential basics of any experiment right simply by following the clear and easy to use instructions provided. The guides are written by experienced scientists and include minimal theory, plenty of practical exercises in order to assess competence, and trouble shooting information. Other titles are: Measurement of Mass; Measurement of Volume; High Performance Liquid Chromatography; and Gas Chromatography.
Publication Date: 2003