Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UJLink: Library Catalogue
Schaum's Online Books
Schaum's Outline of Biology, Fifth Edition (Online) by Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, sovled problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you: * 800 supplementary problems to reinforce knowledge * Concise explanations of all biology concepts * Coverage of both biochemical and molecular approaches to biology and an understanding of life in terms of the characteristics of DNA, RNA, and protein macromolecules * New end of chapter quiz * New end of unit test * Support for all major textbooks for courses in Biology PLUS: Access to revised Schaums.com website with access to 25 problem-solving videos, and more. Schaum's reinforces the main concepts required in your course and offers hundreds of practice questions to help you suceed. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines - Problem solved.
Publication Date: 2018
Schaum's Outline: Biochemistry (Online) by Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 830 fully solved problems with complete solutions Clear, concise explanations of all course concepts Coverage of biochemical signaling, genetic engineering, the human genome project, and new recombinant DNA techniques and sequencing b>Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines--Problem Solved.
Publication Date: 2011, 3rd ed.
Biology Print & Online Books
Biology for Dummies (Online; ProQuest Central) by The ultimate guide to understanding biology Have you ever wondered how the food you eat becomes the energy your body needs to keep going? The theory of evolution says that humans and chimps descended from a common ancestor, but does it tell us how and why? We humans are insatiably curious creatures who can't help wondering how things work--starting with our own bodies. Wouldn't it be great to have a single source of quick answers to all our questions about how living things work? Now there is. From molecules to animals, cells to ecosystems, Biology For Dummies answers all your questions about how living things work. Written in plain English and packed with dozens of enlightening illustrations, this reference guide covers the most recent developments and discoveries in evolutionary, reproductive, and ecological biology. It's also complemented with lots of practical, up-to-date examples to bring the information to life. Discover how living things work Think like a biologist and use scientific methods Understand lifecycle processes Whether you're enrolled in a biology class or just want to know more about this fascinating and ever-evolving field of study, Biology For Dummies will help you unlock the mysteries of how life works.
Publication Date: 2017
ONLINE Books for Lipids, Starch, Carbohydrates
Starch: Basic Science to Biotechnology (Online EbscoHost by This volume presents the physiological and biochemical aspects of storage carbohydrates, or starch granules, in plants. This up-to-date and thorough resource carefully integrates fundamental knowledge with the most recent information on the starch granule. It discusses the chemistry of the starch granule and the biochemistry, molecular biology, plant physiology, and genetics of plant starch synthesis. The books also describes the implications of these studies for theseed, biotechnology, and modified starch industries.
Publication Date: 1998
Phytonutrients: Chapter 2 Carbohydrates, lipids, starch (Online, Wiley) by In many Western diets, the role of plants has been reduced in favour of more animal-based products and this is now being cited more widely as being the cause of increases in the incidence of diseases such as cancer and cardiovascular disease. This important book covers the biochemistry and nutritional importance of a wide range of phytonutrients, including all the major macronutrients as well as the micronutrients and 'non-essential' nutrients. Phytonutrients is divided into three parts. The first deals with the role of plants in the human diet. Part II, representing the major part of the book covers in turn each of the major phytonutrient groups. Chapters include: non-lipid micronutrients, lipids and steroids, carotenoids, phenolics, vitamins C, E, folate/vitamin B12, phytoestrogens, other phytonutrients and minerals, and anti-nutritional factors. The final part of the book covers the methods used to manipulate levels of phytonutrients in the diet, such as fortification, supplementation and the use of genetically modified plants. Phytonutrients is an essential purchase for nutritionists, food scientists and plant biochemists, particularly those dealing with nutrients from plants, and their use in the human diet.
Publication Date: 2012
Starch: Advances in Structure and Function (Online; RSC) by Starch, in its many forms, provides an essential food energy source for the world's human population. It is therefore vital for manufacturers (and ultimately consumers) to have increased understanding of the granule synthesis and its behaviour in modern food processing. Starch: Advances in Structure and Function documents the latest research and opinion on starch structure and its function as a food material, including structure characterisation, processing and ingredient functionality, and control of starch biosynthesis. The multi-disciplinary nature of the contents will provide a valuable reference for biologists, chemists, food technologists, geneticists, nutritionists and physicists.
Publication Date: 2001
Book Chapters:c Photosynthesis
Carbohydrates: Recommended Videos for this Prac
Lipids: Recommended Videos for this Prac
Top Databases to search for articles
ACS Publications (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowon campus access only.
American Chemical Society Publications
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowJournals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes:
RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text
RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files.
ChemSpider: Free chemical database
No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Selected articles for Starch
THE STARCH-IODINE REACTION
N. R. Dhar
J. Phys. Chem., 1923, 28(2):125–130
CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE STUDY OF STARCH IODIDE
Launcelot W. Andrews, Henry Max Goettsch
J. Am. Chem. Soc., 1902, 24(9):865–881
Experimental procedures: Starch
Secret writing (starch + iodine). Dem. 629
Hubert N. Alyea
J. Chem. Educ., 1969, 46(6):A451
Amylase + starch. Dem. 670
Amylase + starch. Dem. 670
J. Chem. Educ., 1969, 46(9):A634
STARCH-IODINE COMPLEXES. PART I.
G. A. Gilbert and J. V. R. Marriott
Trans. Faraday Soc., 1948, (44):84-93
Proteins: Recommended Videos for this Prac