Pharos Dictionaries OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of general and subject dictionaries with a focus on English, Afrikaans and African Languages. Technical dictionaries are also searchable
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
Humanities Source (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFocus is on Humanities
Coverage: 1907 (in some cases) to the present
Full- text with some embargoes
Literature Criticism Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowLiterary commentary and analysis on internationally renowned authors and their works.
Full text
MasterFILE Premier (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference publications including journals, e-books, primary source documents and images
Coverage: 1975 to the present
Abstracts
Mostly full text
ProQuest Literature Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowContains information about authors from the 8th century onwards, has full text access to 350 000 works of poetry, drama and prose, and also to reference works, biographies and student guides. Part of this database consists of ABELL, the Annual bibliography of English Language and Literature for finding interpretations and criticism on authors and their work as well as on English linguistics.
Coverage: 800 to the present
Bibliographic (ABELL) and partly full-text
SocIndex with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive and high quality sociology research database.
Coverage: 1908 to the present
Full-text
SAIRR (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSouth African Institute of Race Relations
Research, statistical data, policy critiques, forecasts and risk analysis on South Africa’s household issues
Includes the annual South African Survey
Full text
SA Media (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowPlease note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers
Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards.
Full text
