Africa -Wide (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncluding the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum)
Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa.
Mainly a bibliographic database
Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day
Bibliographic or Abstracts
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content for journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Humanities Source (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowFocus is on Humanities
Coverage: 1907 (in some cases) to the present
Full- text with some embargoes
Literature Criticism Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowLiterary commentary and analysis on internationally renowned authors and their works.
Full text
MasterFILE Premier (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference publications including journals, e-books, primary source documents and images
Coverage: 1975 to the present
Abstracts
Mostly full text
LOEB Classical Library (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowElectronic copies of original Greek or Latin texts with parallel translations in English
Brill Online Journals (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers humanities, social sciences and international law
Coverage: varies per collection
Full text
ProQuest Literature Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowContains information about authors from the 8th century onwards, has full text access to 350 000 works of poetry, drama and prose, and also to reference works, biographies and student guides. Part of this database consists of ABELL, the Annual bibliography of English Language and Literature for finding interpretations and criticism on authors and their work as well as on English linguistics.
Coverage: 800 to the present
Bibliographic (ABELL) and partly full-text
SAIRR (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowSouth African Institute of Race Relations
Research, statistical data, policy critiques, forecasts and risk analysis on South Africa’s household issues
Includes the annual South African Survey
Full text
SA Media (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowPlease note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers
Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards.
Full text
Newspaper Databases
Access World News (via Newsbank) (Open Athens)This link opens in a new windowGlobal news which includes the following collections: World,South African Titles, Mail & Guardian (Johannesburg, South Africa), America's News Magazines,Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985), Apartheid: Global Perspectives (1946-1996), FBIS Daily Reports (1974-1996) Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa, African Newspapers Series 1-2 (1800-1922) (World Newspaper Archive)Coverage: Varied until the present dayFull Text
Africa Commons: Black South African Magazines (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA unique digital collection of magazines created for Black South Africans (1937-1973). Sourced from African libraries, these magazines offer a glimpse into Black South African culture, history, and society during a critical period. They contain investigative journalism, literature, fashion, and even advertisements. This is the first and only digital collection of its kind.
African Newspapers, 1800+ (Readex) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 60 searchable African newspapers, features English and other language titles and covers the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples from 1800+. Some of the SA newspapers included are:
Sunday Times-1997-
Business day- 1997-
Sowetan-2006-
Financial Mail-1997-
Daily dispatch - 2004-
The Herald- 2002-
The Times- (2007-2017)
Weekend Post- 2002
Newspaper Source (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover full text of U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts
Mostly full text
PressReader (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest online newspaper website, providing access to over 2 200 international, national and regional newspapers and magazines from 97 countries in 54 languages in full colour, full page format.
Coverage: Current news (up to 90 days back issues available)
Full text.
Regional Business News (USA) (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowIncorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
SA Media (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowPlease note: the following newspapers are currently not available via SA Media: Sunday Times, Business day, ,Sowetan, Financial Mail, Daily dispatch, The Herald, The Times, Weekend Post, Saturday Dispatch Until this issue is resolved please use African Newspapers
Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards.
Full text
