Databases: Finding articles - Science - Biochemistry 1B - Lab Reports Library Support

Top Biochemistry Databases

EbscoHost Bibliographic Databases (with links to full-text):

EBSCOhost (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly works covering a wide variety of topics. Content include literature on Africa and South Africa. Format: Mostly full text. Coverage varies according to content
Academic Search Ultimate (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals, magazines covering Astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology.
Africa -Wide (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Including the former SA Studies, African Studies, African HealthLine databases and NELM (National English Literary Museum) Essential resource for African research, and information on and about Africa. Mainly a bibliographic database Coverage: Varied; earliest 1500, to the present day Bibliographic or Abstracts
Biological and Agricultural Index (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Articles, review articles, book reviews, reports, and special supplements on Agriculture, Biochemistry, Biology, Botany, Ecology, Zoology, Environment, Soil Science, Plant Pathology, etc. Coverage: 1983 to present Bibliographic
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A collection of electronic books on a variety of topics. Format: Full text. Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present

Additional Bibliographic Databases:

Additional Biochemistry Internet Resources

Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
PLOSOne
PubMed PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Multidisciplinary Full-Text Databases

ACS Publications (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window on campus access only. American Chemical Society Publications
Cambridge Journals (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Over 250 peer-reviewed academic journals, free content and e-books from a broad spectrum of subject areas Coverage: 1700 to the present Bibliographic and abstracts Mostly full text (no full text for e-books)
CellPress (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business and Life sciences Coverage for most journals begins at volume 1, issue 1, and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years of publication
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Journals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes: RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files. ChemSpider: Free chemical database No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Scientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas: - Physical Sciences & Engineering - Life Sciences - Health Sciences - Social Sciences & Humanities Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present Full text available from 1995 to present No full text available to e-book chapters Mobile application
Scopus (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. It offers smart tools to track, analyse, and visualize research. Mostly full-text
SpringerLink (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Covers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes: Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals Featured Library Databases: Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic; Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Taylor & Francis Online (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 1750 high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subject coverage includes the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities. 15 Open access journal titles are available on this database. Interface language can be viewed in 66 languages incl. Afrikaans (via Google translation) Coverage: Vol. 1 no. 1+ Abstracts and full text to UJ subscribed titles
Wiley Online Library (OpenAthens) This link opens in a new window A broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. No full text access to e-Books and Lab Protocols