Harper's illustrated biochemistry by 
Harper's illustrated biochemistry by 
Biochemistry Laboratory: modern theory and techniques by
The biochemistry laboratory course is an essential component in training students for careers in biochemistry, molecular biology, chemistry, and related molecular life sciences such as cell biology, neurosciences, and genetics. Increasingly, many biochemistry lab instructors opt to either design their own experiments or select them from major educational journals. Biochemistry Laboratory: Modern Theory and Techniques addresses this issue by providing a flexible alternative without experimental protocols. Instead of requiring instructors to use specific experiments, the book focuses on detailed descriptions of modern techniques in experimental biochemistry and discusses the theory behind such techniques in detail. An extensive range of techniques discussed includes Internet databases, chromatography, spectroscopy, and recombinant DNA techniques such as molecular cloning and PCR. The Second Edition introduces cutting-edge topics such as membrane-based chromatography, adds new exercises and problems throughout, and offers a completely updated Companion Website.
Principles and Techniques of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by
This best-selling undergraduate textbook provides an introduction to key experimental techniques from across the biosciences. It uniquely integrates the theories and practices that drive the fields of biology and medicine, comprehensively covering both the methods students will encounter in lab classes and those that underpin recent advances and discoveries. Its problem-solving approach continues with worked examples that set a challenge and then show students how the challenge is met. New to this edition are case studies, for example, that illustrate the relevance of the principles and techniques to the diagnosis and treatment of individual patients. Coverage is expanded to include a section on stem cells, chapters on immunochemical techniques and spectroscopy techniques, and additional chapters on drug discovery and development, and clinical biochemistry. Experimental design and the statistical analysis of data are emphasised throughout to ensure students are equipped to successfully plan their own experiments and examine the results obtained.
Biochemical Calculations by
Designed to supplement and complement any standard biochemistry text or lecture notes, this book helps provide a balanced picture of modern biochemistry by use of elementary mathematics in understanding properties and behavior of biological molecules. It provides a balanced picture of modern biochemistry by using elementary mathematics to explore the properties and behavior of biological molecules. The text discusses such topics as: * Aqueous Solutions and Acid-Base Chemistry * Chemistry of Biological Molecules * Bioenergetics * Enzymes * Spectrophotometry and Other Optical Methods * Isotopes in Biochemistry. Sample problems are solved completely in a step-by-step manner, and the answer to all practice problems are given at the end of the book. With Biochemical Calculations, 2nd Edition , students will gain confidence in their ability to handle mathematical problems, discovering that biochemistry is more than memorization of structures and pathways.
Schaum's Outline Biochemistry (Online, Access Engineering) by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 830 fully solved problems with complete solutions Clear, concise explanations of all course concepts Coverage of biochemical signaling, genetic engineering, the human genome project, and new recombinant DNA techniques and sequencing b>Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines--Problem Solved.
Schaum's Outline of Biology (Online, Access Engineering) by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 850 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 25 detailed videos featuring Biology instructors who explain the most commonly tested concepts--it's just like having your own virtual tutor!nbsp;You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum'sto help them succeed in the classroom and on exams.Schaum's is the key to faster learning and highergrades in every subject. Each Outline presents all theessential course information in an easy-to-follow,topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds ofexamples, solved problems, and practice exercises totest your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you Hundreds of examples with explanations ofbiology concepts Exercises to help you test your mastery of biology Coverage of both biochemical and molecular approaches to biology and an understanding of life in terms of the characteristics of DNA, RNA, and protein macromolecules Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time and get your best test scores!
The following books are available at the Reserve Collection on Level 1, at Lending desk:
