Biochemistry: Essential Concepts by
One-semester biochemistry courses are notorious for overwhelming students with the magnitude of material covered in their texts and lectures. Biochemistry: Essential Concepts distills the basic ideas covered in a one-semester course without the extraneous details that burden most texts. Authors Charles Hardin and James Knopp demonstrate the core concepts of biochemistry - including cell biology, amino acids, metabolism, and DNA - in a variety of real-world contexts. With the last forty percent of the text devoted to review questions and practice tests, Biochemistry: EssentialConcepts equips students for success in the one-semester biochemistry course and prepares them for their future studies and careers.
The Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) dictionary is a structured database containing detailed information on over 500,000 chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.
Natural Products in Chemical Biology (Online) by
Based on the award winning Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology, this book provides a general overview of the unique features of the small molecules referred to as "natural products", explores how this traditionally organic chemistry-based field was transformed by insights from genetics and biochemistry, and highlights some promising future directions. The book begins by introducing natural products from different origins, moves on to presenting and discussing biosynthesis of various classes of natural products, and then looks at natural products as models and the possibilities of using them in medicine.
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (Online, Science Direct) by
Nine years has passed since the 1992 second edition of the encyclopedia was published. This completely revised third edition, which is a university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering, is refreshed with numerous articles about current research in these fields. For example, the new edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas. The continuing Editor-in-Chief, Robert Meyers, and the Board prepared a new topical outline of physical science and technology to define complete coverage. Section editors are either Nobel Laureates or editors of key journals in their fields. Additional Board members representing the global scientific community were also recruited. The new 18-volume edition of the Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3E, will have the added feature of an Index Volume, containing abstracts of all of the articles in the encyclopedia. Has been completely updated with no less than 90% revised material and 50% new content throughout the volumes Presents eighteen volumes, nearly 800 authoritative articles and 14,500 pages Is lavishly illustrated with over 7,000 photographs, illustrations and tables Presents an increased emphasis on the hottest topics such as information processing, environmental science, biotechnology and biomedicine Includes a final Index Volume containing Thematic, Relational and Subject indexes
Gaither's Dictionary of Scientific Quotations (Online, SpringerLink) by
This unprecedented collection of 27,000 quotations is the most comprehensive and carefully researched of its kind, covering all fields of science and mathematics. With this vast compendium you can readily conceptualize and embrace the written images of scientists, laymen, politicians, novelists, playwrights, and poets about humankind's scientific achievements. Approximately 9000 high-quality entries have been added to this new edition to provide a rich selection of quotations for the student, the educator, and the scientist who would like to introduce a presentation with a relevant quotation that provides perspective and historical background on his subject. Gaither's Dictionary of Scientific Quotations, Second Edition, provides the finest reference source of science quotations for all audiences. The new edition adds greater depth to the number of quotations in the various thematic arrangements and also provides new thematic categories.
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Online, eBrary) by
Authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours, and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
