Practical Laboratory Skills Training Guides (Online; RSC) by Elizabeth PrichardPractical Laboratory Skills Training Guides aim to make achieving best practice easy. These invaluable manuals will enable both experienced and inexperienced staff to get the essential basics of any experiment right simply by following the clear and easy to use instructions provided. The guides are written by experienced scientists and include minimal theory, plenty of practical exercises in order to assess competence, and trouble shooting information. Available for purchase separately or as a complete set, Practical Laboratory Skills Training Guides include the following titles: Measurement of Mass; Measurement of Volume; Measurement of pH; High Performance Liquid Chromatography; and Gas Chromatography. The measurement guides look at the principles and terminology of each technique and the choice of equipment. This is followed by a step-by-step guide and some practical exercises. The chromatography guides begin by looking at the basic theory of the technique, then the system and its components. Sections on calibration and problem solving are included. These guides are intended for laboratory technicians in industry, students at university or anyone needing a clear, concise and reliable guide to analytical procedures. A package consisting of the training guides and a CD-ROM, Practical Laboratory Skills, is also available. Contact Sales and Customer Care for details.
Publication Date: 2003
Buffer Solutions (Print) by J. S. Easterby; R. J. BeynonAn indispensable guide to buffers and to understanding the principles behind their use. Helps the user to avoid common errors in preparing buffers and their solutions. A must for researchers in the biological sciences, this valuable book takes the time to explain something often taken for granted - buffers used in experiments. It answers the common questions such as: which buffer should I choose? What about the temperature effects? What about ionic strength? Why is the buffer with the biggest temperature variation used in PCR? It provides even the most experienced researchers with the means to understand the fundamental principles behind their preparation and use - an indispensable guide essential for everyone using buffers.
Call Number: KINGSWAY RESERVE COLL BOOKS 572 BEYN
Publication Date: 1996
Measurement of PH (Online, RSC) by Elizabeth Prichard (Contribution by); Richard Lawn; Peter Bedson (Contribution by)Whether pH is being used to test a sample against a legal requirement or specification; as part of an analytical method; for monitoring and controlling a reaction; as a process control in the chemical industry; or for the environmental monitoring of waste and effluents, it is important that all pH measurements are carried out in a logical and consistent manner, paying careful attention to experimental procedures, in order to obtain reliable results. This guide provides scientists with the knowledge of how to do just that, first by outlining the principles of pH measurement and buffer solutions. pH meters and electrodes are then discussed, including selection criteria and the care of electrodes. Finally, sections on making pH measurements and uncertainty are followed by a set of practical exercises. Measurement of pH is one of the Practical Laboratory Skills Training Guides, a series that aims to make achieving best practice easy. These invaluable manuals will enable both experienced and inexperienced staff to get the essential basics of any experiment right simply by following the clear and easy to use instructions provided. The guides are written by experienced scientists and include minimal theory, plenty of practical exercises in order to assess competence, and trouble shooting information. Other titles are: Measurement of Mass; Measurement of Volume; High Performance Liquid Chromatography; and Gas Chromatography.
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes:
RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text
RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files.
ChemSpider: Free chemical database
No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols