Molecular Cloning: a laboratory manual (Print; Vol. 1,2, and 3) by Joe SambrookThe first two editions of this manual have been mainstays of molecular biology for nearly twenty years, with an unrivalled reputation for reliability, accuracy, and clarity. In this new edition, authors Joseph Sambrook and David Russell have completely updated the book, revising every protocol and adding a mass of new material, to broaden its scope and maintain its unbeatable value for studies in genetics, molecular cell biology, developmental biology, microbiology, neuroscience, and immunology. Handsomely redesigned and presented in new bindings of proven durability, this three–volume work is essential for everyone using today’s biomolecular techniques. The opening chapters describe essential techniques, some well–established, some new, that are used every day in the best laboratories for isolating, analyzing and cloning DNA molecules, both large and small. These are followed by chapters on cDNA cloning and exon trapping, amplification of DNA, generation and use of nucleic acid probes, mutagenesis, and DNA sequencing. The concluding chapters deal with methods to screen expression libraries, express cloned genes in both prokaryotes and eukaryotic cells, analyze transcripts and proteins, and detect protein–protein interactions. The Appendix is a compendium of reagents, vectors, media, technical suppliers, kits, electronic resources and other essential information. As in earlier editions, this is the only manual that explains how to achieve success in cloning and provides a wealth of information about why techniques work, how they were first developed, and how they have evolved.
Molecular Cloning: a laboratory manual (Volumes 1, 2 and 3) by Michael R. Green; Joseph SambrookMolecular Cloning has served as the foundation of technical expertise in labs worldwide for 30 years. No other manual has been so popular, or so influential. Molecular Cloning, Fourth Edition, by the celebrated founding author Joe Sambrook and new co-author, the distinguished HHMI investigator Michael Green, preserves the highly praised detail and clarity of previous editions and includes specific chapters and protocols commissioned for the book from expert practitioners at Yale, U Mass, Rockefeller University, Texas Tech, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Washington University, and other leading institutions. The theoretical and historical underpinnings of techniques are prominent features of the presentation throughout, information that does much to help trouble-shoot experimental problems. For the fourth edition of this classic work, the content has been entirely recast to include nucleic-acid based methods selected as the most widely used and valuable in molecular and cellular biology laboratories. Core chapters from the third edition have been revised to feature current strategies and approaches to the preparation and cloning of nucleic acids, gene transfer, and expression analysis. They are augmented by 12 new chapters which show how DNA, RNA, and proteins should be prepared, evaluated, and manipulated, and how data generation and analysis can be handled. The new content includes methods for studying interactions between cellular components, such as microarrays, next-generation sequencing technologies, RNA interference, and epigenetic analysis using DNA methylation techniques and chromatin immunoprecipitation. To make sense of the wealth of data produced by these techniques, a bioinformatics chapter describes the use of analytical tools for comparing sequences of genes and proteins and identifying common expression patterns among sets of genes. Please take a look at our book preview site at molecularcloning.com. Building on thirty years of trust, reliability, and authority, the fourth edition of Molecular Cloning is the new gold standard--the one indispensable molecular biology laboratory manual and reference source.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 ; 572.8 GREE
Publication Date: 2012 4th ed.
Electrophoresis in Practice by Reiner Westermeier; Sonja Gronau (As told to); Phil Becket (As told to); Josef Bulles (As told to);This laboratory guide for successful electrophoretic separations is divided into two parts to provide readers with a thorough presentation of the fundamentals followed by a detailed description of the most common methods currently in use. This fourth edition retains the successful concept of its predecessors, yet features a brand-new layout, and is further enhanced by a section on difference gel electrophoresis, while the chapter on proteome analysis is practically all new and considerably extended, plus there are now around 10 % new literature references.
Call Number: KINGSWAY BOOKS LEVEL 4 ; 547.704572 WEST
Publication Date: 2005
Electrophoresis in Practice: a guide to methods and applications of DNA and protein separations (Online, Wiley) by Reiner WestermeierThis fifth edition of the successful, long-selling classic has been completely revised and expanded, omitting some topics on obsolete DNA electrophoresis, but now with a completely new section on electrophoretic micro-methods and on-the-chip electrophoresis. The text is geared towards advanced students and professionals and contains extended background sections, protocols and a trouble-shooting section. It is now also backed by a supplementary website providing all the figures for teaching purposes, as well as a selection of animated figures tested in many workshops to explain the underlying principles of the different electrophoretic methods.
Publication Date: 2016 ; 5th ed
Protein Electrophoresis (Online, Springer) by Biji T. Kurien (Editor); R. Hal Scofield (Editor)Proteins are the functional units of the cellular machinery and they provide significant information regarding the molecular basis of health and disease. Therefore, techniques to separate and isolate the various proteins are critical to studying and understanding their functional characteristics. One of the widely used techniques for this purpose is electrophoresis. In Protein Electrophoresis: Methods and Protocols, contributions from experts in the field have been collected in order to provide practical guidelines to this complex study. Each chapter outlines a specific electrophoretic variant in detail so that laboratory scientists may perform a technique new to their lab without difficulty. Written in the successful Methods in Molecular Biology(tm) series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols, and notes on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Authoritative and accessible, Protein Electrophoresis: Methods and Protocols seeks to serve laboratory scientists with well-honed, detailed methodologies in an effort to further our knowledge of this essential field.
RSC Publishing (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowJournals and books on biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. UJs access includes:
RSC journals: Coverage: vol. 1 to the present; Archive: 1841 to 2002 PLUS current: Full text
RSC eBook Collection: Over 1000 books spanning more than 40 years, diigitised as fully-searchable .pdf files.
ChemSpider: Free chemical database
No full text access to other hosted databases on RSC
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols