Thin-Layer Chromatography by
The fourth edition of this work emphasizes the general practices and instrumentation involving TLC and HPTLC, as well as their applications based on compound types, while providing an understanding of the underlying theory necessary for optimizing these techniques. The book details up-to-date qualitative and quantitative densitometric experiments on organic dyes, lipids, antibiotics, pharmaceuticals, organic acids, insecticides, and more.
Thin-Layer Chromatography: A Modern Practical Approach (online, RSC) by
Thin-Layer Chromatography (TLC) is a modern, reliable tool that complements other chromatographic techniques. This book provides a practical guide to the basic principles, procedures and pitfalls on the practical application of TLC. Thin Layer Chromatography: A Modern Practical Approach offers a sequence of chapters following the steps of the technique as the chromatographer would follow them. The chapters provide a choice of sorbent best suited to the separation intended, followed by pre-treatment required for the sample, applying the sample to the sorbent layer, development procedure, visualisation and detection, and finally quantification. Imaging and hyphenation techniques are described. The reasons why recommendations are made for specific and more general methods are covered. The book also provides an overview of some recent developments in the field.
Chromatography: Basic Principles, Sample Preparations and Related Methods (Online, EbscoHost) by
Finally a book on chromatography which is easy to grasp for undergraduates and technicians; covers the area in sufficient depth while still being concise. The book includes all recent technology advances and has core textbook features further improving the learning experience. This book is the perfect introduction into a methodology which is the underlying principle of the vast majority of separation methods worldwide. Everyone working in a lab environment must be familiar with the basis of these technologies and Tyge Greibrokk, Elsa Lundanes and Leon Reubsaet succeed in delivering a text which is easy to read for undergraduates and laboratory technicians, and covers the area in sufficient depth while still being concise. The book includes all recent technology advances and has core textbook features further improving the learning experience. Importantly, the text does not only cover all major modern chromatography technology (thin layer, gas, high pressure liquid, and supercritical fluid chromatography) but also related methods, in particular electrophoretic technologies.
Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Fourth Edition (Online; T & F)
Edited by renowned protein scientist and bestselling author Roger L. Lundblad, with the assistance of Fiona M. Macdonald of CRC Press, this fourth edition of the Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biologyrepresents a dramatic revision -- the first in two decades -- of one of biochemistry's most referenced works. This edition gathers a wealth of information not easily obtained, including information not found on the web. Offering a molecular perspective not available 20 years ago, it provides physical and chemical data on proteins, nucleic acids, lipids, and carbohydrates. Presented in an organized, concise, and simple-to-use format, this popular reference allows quick access to the most frequently used data. Covering a wide range of topics, from classical biochemistry to proteomics and genomics, it also details the properties of commonly used biochemicals, laboratory solvents, and reagents. Just a small sampling of the wealth of information found inside the handbook: Buffers and buffer solutions Heat capacities and combustion levels Reagents for the chemical modification of proteins Comprehensive classification system for lipids Biological characteristics of vitamins A huge variety of UV data Recommendations for nomenclature and tables in biochemical thermodynamics Guidelines for NMR measurements for determination of high and low pKavalues Viscosity and density tables Chemical and physical properties of various commercial plastics Generic source-based nomenclature for polymers Therapeutic enzymes About the Editors: Roger L. Lundblad, Ph.D. Roger L. Lundblad is a native of San Francisco, California. He received his undergraduate education at Pacific Lutheran University and his PhD degree in biochemistry at the University of Washington. After postdoctoral work in the laboratories of Stanford Moore and William Stein at the Rockefeller University, he joined the faculty of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He joined the Hyland Division of Baxter Healthcare in 1990. Currently Dr. Lundblad is an independent consultant and writer in biotechnology in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. He is an adjunct Professor of Pathology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Editor-in-Chief of the Internet Journal of Genomics and Proteomics. Fiona M. Macdonald, Ph.D., F.R.S.C. Fiona M. Macdonald received her BSc in chemistry from Durham University, UK. She obtained her PhD in inorganic biochemistry at Birkbeck College, University of London, studying under Peter Sadler. Having spent most of her career in scientific publishing, she is now at Taylor and Francis and is involved in developing chemical information products.
Measurement of pH (Online RSC as a book chapter) by
Whether pH is being used to test a sample against a legal requirement or specification; as part of an analytical method; for monitoring and controlling a reaction; as a process control in the chemical industry; or for the environmental monitoring of waste and effluents, it is important that all pH measurements are carried out in a logical and consistent manner, paying careful attention to experimental procedures, in order to obtain reliable results. This guide provides scientists with the knowledge of how to do just that, first by outlining the principles of pH measurement and buffer solutions. pH meters and electrodes are then discussed, including selection criteria and the care of electrodes. Finally, sections on making pH measurements and uncertainty are followed by a set of practical exercises. Measurement of pH is one of the Practical Laboratory Skills Training Guides, a series that aims to make achieving best practice easy. These invaluable manuals will enable both experienced and inexperienced staff to get the essential basics of any experiment right simply by following the clear and easy to use instructions provided. The guides are written by experienced scientists and include minimal theory, plenty of practical exercises in order to assess competence, and trouble shooting information. Other titles are: Measurement of Mass; Measurement of Volume; High Performance Liquid Chromatography; and Gas Chromatography.
Schaum's Outline: Biochemistry (Online) by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 830 fully solved problems with complete solutions Clear, concise explanations of all course concepts Coverage of biochemical signaling, genetic engineering, the human genome project, and new recombinant DNA techniques and sequencing b>Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines--Problem Solved.
Schaum's Outline of Biology, Fifth Edition (Online) by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, sovled problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you: * 800 supplementary problems to reinforce knowledge * Concise explanations of all biology concepts * Coverage of both biochemical and molecular approaches to biology and an understanding of life in terms of the characteristics of DNA, RNA, and protein macromolecules * New end of chapter quiz * New end of unit test * Support for all major textbooks for courses in Biology PLUS: Access to revised Schaums.com website with access to 25 problem-solving videos, and more. Schaum's reinforces the main concepts required in your course and offers hundreds of practice questions to help you suceed. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines - Problem solved.
Practical Laboratory Skills Training Guides (Online; RSC) by
Practical Laboratory Skills Training Guides aim to make achieving best practice easy. These invaluable manuals will enable both experienced and inexperienced staff to get the essential basics of any experiment right simply by following the clear and easy to use instructions provided. The guides are written by experienced scientists and include minimal theory, plenty of practical exercises in order to assess competence, and trouble shooting information. Available for purchase separately or as a complete set, Practical Laboratory Skills Training Guides include the following titles: Measurement of Mass; Measurement of Volume; Measurement of pH; High Performance Liquid Chromatography; and Gas Chromatography. The measurement guides look at the principles and terminology of each technique and the choice of equipment. This is followed by a step-by-step guide and some practical exercises. The chromatography guides begin by looking at the basic theory of the technique, then the system and its components. Sections on calibration and problem solving are included. These guides are intended for laboratory technicians in industry, students at university or anyone needing a clear, concise and reliable guide to analytical procedures.
Biochemistry for Dummies (Online, ProQuest) by
Grasp biochemistry basics, apply the science, and ace your exams Are you baffled by biochemistry? If so here's the good news ? you don't have to stay that way! Biochemistry For Dummies shows you how to get a handle on biochemistry, apply the science, raise your grades, and prepare yourself to ace any standardized test. This friendly, unintimidating guide presents an overview of the material covered in a typical college-level biochemistry course and makes the subject easy to understand and accessible to everyone. From cell ultrastructure and carbohydrates to amino acids, proteins, and supramolecular structure, you'll identify biochemical structures and reactions, and send your grades soaring. Newest biology, biochemistry, chemistry, and scientific discoveries Updated examples and explanations Incorporates the most current teaching techniques From water biochemistry to protein synthesis, Biochemistry For Dummies gives you the vital information, clear explanations, and important insights you need to increase your understanding and improve your performance on any biochemistry test.
Biochemistry Laboratory Manual for Undergraduates (Online, ProQuest) by
Biochemistry Laboratory Manual for undergraduates is the first textbook on the market that uses a highly relevant model, antibiotic resistance, to teach seminal topics of biochemistry and molecular biology. Inclusion of a research project does not entail a limitation: this manual includes all classic biochemistry techniques such as HPLC or enzyme kinetics and is complete with numerous problem sets relating to each topic.
Essentials of Biochemistry (Online SpringerLink) by
This textbook, Essentials of Biochemistry is aimed at chemistry and biochemistry undergraduate students and first year biochemistry graduate students. It incorporates the lectures of the authors given to students with a strong chemistry background. An emphasis is placed on metabolism and reaction mechanisms and how they are studied. As the title of the book implies, the text lays the basis for an understanding of the fundamentals of biochemistry.
College Biochemistry - I (Online) by
1. Measurement 2. Atomic Structure 3. Periodic Classification 4. Chemical Bonding 5. Radioactivity 6. Solutions and Colligative Properties 7. Electrolytic Dissociation and Mass Law 8. pH and Buffer Concepts 9. Adsorption 10. Biopolymers 11. Viscosity 12. Surface Tension
