SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Protein Isolation Print Books
Protein Methods by Daniel M. Bollag;Protein Methods Daniel M. Bollag/ Michael D. Rozycki /Stuart J. Edelstein Reviews from the first edition "...it is very well written...would certainly be of use to undergraduate and postgraduate students entering the complex world of protein preparation and to more experienced scientists entering this field for the first time."-Biotechnology and Applied Biochemistry "The book presents these topics with loads of practical detail, so that the reader has little need to consult other reference sources to carry out the techniques described. All in all, a useful book..." -Theoretical & Applied Genetics "...clearly written with protocols that are easy to follow and the text is well spread-out and easy to read...all methods are fully referenced...a useful book for beginners at a reasonable price." -FEBS Letters This revised and expanded Second Edition of Protein Methods remains the first source for a complete summary of tested and proven protein techniques. Now divided into two parts, the book begins with the essential chapters from the first edition, updated to reflect important changes in methodology. The chapter on protein isolation includes a new section focusing on the isolation of proteins from inclusion bodies. In the second section, four new chapters are devoted to protein purification and crystallization. Chapters include ∗ Preparation for Protein Isolation ∗ Protein Extraction and Solubilization ∗ Protein Concentration Determination ∗ Concentrating Protein Solutions ∗ Gel Electrophoresis Under Denaturing Conditions ∗ Gel Electrophoresis Under ...and feature ∗ reagent items and equipment required for each method ∗ chapter "view-at-a-glance" tabs ∗ illustrations for all gel applications and other methods ∗ complete supplier list ∗ appendices of basic chemical parameters and molecular data ∗ key references ∗ descriptive tables ∗ Safety notes.
Protein Biotechnology: Isolation, Characterization, and Stabilization (Online; SpringerLink) by Felix FranksProteins are the servants of life. They occur in all com- nent parts of living organisms and are staggering in their fu- tional variety, despite their chemical similarity. Even the simplest single-cell organism contains a thousand different p- teins, fulfilling a wide range of life-supporting roles. Additions to the total number of known proteins are being made on an increasing scale through the discovery of mutant strains or their production by genetic manipulation. The total international protein literature could fill a medi- sized building and is growing at an ever-increasing rate. The reader might be forgiven for asking whether yet another book on proteins, their properties, and functions can serve a useful purpose. An explanation of the origin of this book may serve as justification. The authors form the tutorial team for an int- sive postexperience course on protein characterization or- nized by the Center for Professional Advancement, East Brunswick, New Jersey, an educational foundation. The course was first mounted in Amsterdam in 1982 and has since been repeated several times, in both Amsterdam and the US, with participants from North America and most European countries. In a predecessor to this book, emphasis was placed on the role of protein isolation in the food industry, because at the time this reflected the interests of most of the participants at the course. Today, isolated proteins for food use are extracted from yeasts, fungal sources, legumes, oilseeds, cereals, and leaves.
Publication Date: 1997
Recombinant Proteins from Plants (Online; SpringerLink) by Charles Cunningham (Editor); Andrew J. R. Porter (Editor)Recombinant Proteins from Plants is one of the most exciting and fastest developing areas in biology. The latest molecular techniques are being applied to the exploitation of plants as novel expression systems for the p- duction and overproduction of heterologous and native proteins. Transgenic plant technology is currently used in three broad areas: the expression of - combinant proteins to improve crop quality by increasing disease/pest res- tance or increasing tolerance to stress, optimizing plant productivity and yield by the genetic manipulation of metabolic pathways, and the large-scale co- effective production of recombinant proteins for use as specialist industrial or therapeutic biomolecules. The intention of Recombinant Proteins from Plants is to provide c- prehensive and detailed protocols covering all the latest molecular approaches. Because the production oftransgenic plants has become routine in many la- ratories, coverage is also given to some of the more "classical" approaches to the separation, analysis, and characterization of recombinant proteins. The book also includes areas of research that we believe will become increasingly important in the near future: efficient transformation of monocots with Agrobacterium optimizing the stability of recombinant proteins, and a section highlighting the immunotherapeutic potential of plant-expressed proteins.