ProQuest EBook Central (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of online full text books and of other materials and content, e.g. maps, journals, and reports from highly rated academic publishers.
UJ has access to the Academic Complete collection which covers academic disciplines such as business and economics, computer science, technology, engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioural sciences. UJ has also access to CHOICE Outstanding Academic Titles and Free Open Access Collections. Full text.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic books on a variety of topics.
Format: Full text.
Some titles date back to 1863, but the majority of content is from 1999-present
Subject Specific & Multidisciplinary eBook Collections:
Access Engineering (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowE-book database derived from McGraw-Hill latest editions of print titles e.g. :Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers; Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook; Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers; Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, etc.
Covering 14 major areas of engineering, Coverage varies per title
Full Text. To download PDFs you need to register to create an account (click on "Register" to create an account within Access Engineering)
Britannica E-BooksThis link opens in a new windowBritannica eBooks cover the entire curriculum, from language arts, math, science and social studies, to sports, music, art, and many other subjects, including Spanish and bilingual titles.
Cambridge Books Online (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 5,000 Cambridge University Press e-books. Disciplines include science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Includes titles published from 2005 to 2013, but does not cover all CUP titles published during that period.
ScienceDirect (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowScientific journal articles and book chapters across four subject areas:
- Physical Sciences & Engineering
- Life Sciences
- Health Sciences
- Social Sciences & Humanities
Coverage: 1823 to presentAbstracts from 1823 to present
Full text available from 1995 to present
No full text available to e-book chapters
SpringerLink (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowCovers books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases within the fields of science, technology, and medicine. UJs journal subscription includes:
Journal Online Archives Collection : V1 (1) to 1996 - Full text
Journal Current Collection: 1996 to the present - Full text
SpringerOpen Collection - Full text access to journals
Featured Library Databases:
Chinese Library of Science - Bibliographic;
Russian Library of Science - Bibliographic
No full text access to e-Book chapters or Protocols
Knovel (OpenAthens)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems.
Export citations for reference. Share files with your peers and colleagues. Annotate your documents with personal notes.
Access to the most comprehensive engineering reference content sourced from the leading societies, publishers and authors
Powerful search engine designed around the ways engineers search for information
Interactive tools that normalize information across content sources and bring content to life by making tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs interactive.
Biochemistry laboratory : modern theory and techniques by Rodney BoyerThis title covers the theories, techniques, and methodologies practiced in the biochemistry teaching and research lab. Instead of specific experiments, it focuses on detailed descriptions of modern techniques in experimental biochemistry and discusses the theory behind such techniques in detail.
Biochemistry Laboratory: : modern theory and techniques by Rodney F. BoyerMany biochemistry lab instructors are now opting to either design their own experiments or select them from major educational journals.Biochemistry Laboratory: Modern Theory and Techniques addresses this issue by providing a flexible alternative without experimental protocols. Instead of requiring instructors to use specific experiments, the book focuses on detailed descriptions of modern techniques in experimental biochemistry and discusses the theory behind such techniques in detail. The extensive range of techniques includes chromatography, electrophoresis, spectroscopy, measurements of ligand-binding interactions, and recombinant DNA techniques such as molecular cloning and PCR.
Biochemistry for Dummies (Online, ProQuest) by John T. Moore; Richard H. Langley; MooreGrasp biochemistry basics, apply the science, and ace your exams Are you baffled by biochemistry? If so here's the good news ? you don't have to stay that way! Biochemistry For Dummies shows you how to get a handle on biochemistry, apply the science, raise your grades, and prepare yourself to ace any standardized test. This friendly, unintimidating guide presents an overview of the material covered in a typical college-level biochemistry course and makes the subject easy to understand and accessible to everyone. From cell ultrastructure and carbohydrates to amino acids, proteins, and supramolecular structure, you'll identify biochemical structures and reactions, and send your grades soaring. Newest biology, biochemistry, chemistry, and scientific discoveries Updated examples and explanations Incorporates the most current teaching techniques From water biochemistry to protein synthesis, Biochemistry For Dummies gives you the vital information, clear explanations, and important insights you need to increase your understanding and improve your performance on any biochemistry test.
Biochemistry of Lipids, Lipoproteins and Membranes by Neale Ridgway (Editor); Roger McLeod (Editor)Biochemistry of Lipids, Lipoproteins and Membranes, Seventh Edition serves as a comprehensive, general reference book for scientists and students studying lipids, lipoproteins and membranes. Here, across 19 chapters, leaders in the field summarize fundamental concepts, recent research developments, data analysis, and implications for human disease and intervention. Topics discussed include lipid biology in both prokaryotes and eukaryotes, fatty acid synthesis, desaturation and elongation, and pathways leading to synthesis of complex phospholipids, sphingolipids and their structural variants. Chapters also examine how bioactive lipids are involved in cell signaling, with an emphasis on disease implications and pathological consequences. As the field advances, each chapter in this new edition has been fully revised to address emerging topics, with all-new coverage of lipid droplets and their role as regulatory organelles for energy homeostasis, as well as their relationship to obesity, liver disease and diabetes. Evolving research in fatty acid handling and storage in eukaryotes is also discussed in-depth, with new sections addressing fatty acid uptake, activation and lipolysis.
Publication Date: 2021
Essentials of Biochemistry (Print + Online SpringerLink) by Herbert J. Fromm; Mark HargroveThis textbook, Essentials of Biochemistry is aimed at chemistry and biochemistry undergraduate students and first year biochemistry graduate students. It incorporates the lectures of the authors given to students with a strong chemistry background. An emphasis is placed on metabolism and reaction mechanisms and how they are studied. As the title of the book implies, the text lays the basis for an understanding of the fundamentals of biochemistry.
Publication Date: 2011
Additional / Recommended Textbooks (Print)
Additional textbooks (these may also be your prescribed textbooks for theory)
Biochemical Calculations: : how to solve mathematical problems in general biochemistry by Irwin H. SegelDesigned to supplement and complement any standard biochemistry text or lecture notes, this book helps provide a balanced picture of modern biochemistry by use of elementary mathematics in understanding properties and behavior of biological molecules. It provides a balanced picture of modern biochemistry by using elementary mathematics to explore the properties and behavior of biological molecules. The text discusses such topics as: * Aqueous Solutions and Acid-Base Chemistry * Chemistry of Biological Molecules * Bioenergetics * Enzymes * Spectrophotometry and Other Optical Methods * Isotopes in Biochemistry. Sample problems are solved completely in a step-by-step manner, and the answer to all practice problems are given at the end of the book. With Biochemical Calculations, 2nd Edition , students will gain confidence in their ability to handle mathematical problems, discovering that biochemistry is more than memorization of structures and pathways.
Principles of biochemistry by Donald Voet, Judith G. Voet, Charlotte W. Pratt.Voet and Pratt′s 4th edition of Principles of Biochemistry, challenges readers to better understand the chemistry behind the biological structure and reactions occurring in living systems. The latest edition continues this tradition, and additionally incorporates coverage of recent research and an expanded focus on preparing and supporting students throughout the course. With the addition of new conceptual assessment content to WileyPLUS , providing the opportunity to assess conceptual understanding of key introductory biochemistry concepts and retrain themselves on their misconceptions
Call Number: KINGSWAY RESERVE COLL BOOKS 572 VOET
Publication Date: 2013 4th ed.
Principles and Techniques of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Keith Wilson (Editor); John Walker (Editor)This best-selling undergraduate textbook provides an introduction to key experimental techniques from across the biosciences. It uniquely integrates the theories and practices that drive the fields of biology and medicine, comprehensively covering both the methods students will encounter in lab classes and those that underpin recent advances and discoveries. Its problem-solving approach continues with worked examples that set a challenge and then show students how the challenge is met. New to this edition are case studies, for example, that illustrate the relevance of the principles and techniques to the diagnosis and treatment of individual patients. Coverage is expanded to include a section on stem cells, chapters on immunochemical techniques and spectroscopy techniques, and additional chapters on drug discovery and development, and clinical biochemistry. Experimental design and the statistical analysis of data are emphasised throughout to ensure students are equipped to successfully plan their own experiments and examine the results obtained.